We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emma Nevada House

Save
528 E Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2213
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (95)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (13)

About

#2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Emma Nevada House is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Nevada City, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Close to some of Nevada City's most popular landmarks, such as Shoe Tree (0.2 mi) and ART OnSite Tribute Trail (1.1 mi), Emma Nevada House is a great destination for tourists.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the bed and breakfast.

The property also boasts free breakfast, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to Emma Nevada House, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Nevada City's popular shrimp restaurants such as Lefty's Grill, New Moon Cafe, and Sopa Thai Cuisine, all a short distance from Emma Nevada House.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Nevada County Hospital (0.9 mi) or Firehouse Museum (0.3 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Nevada City!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Historic Hotel
280Reviews4Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 255
  • 18
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nice historic place, good parking & adequate snacks. Access to water and soft drinks was a plus and breakfast, although on the sparse side was good. Hospitality was good. Place could use some attention to finishes and upkeep.
Read more
It was our first time at a bed-and-breakfast and a shop owner in town told us we picked a good one. I would have to agree because we had fresh baked cookies lots of books and magazines to read, a fireplace in our room and Jacuzzi. Breakfast was a southwestern soufflé quality bacon and very yummy!
Read more
We had stayed here years ago, booked without looking elsewhere this time. This trip was to celebrate my Husbands Birthday and they had flowers and a card. Very sweet!! We chose Nightingales Bower. The room was very nice. The little fireplace was not working when we arrived. This disappointed me as its chilly December. My husband got it working within a few minutes. Yay!! The room and bathroom clean and everything was very nice. The bed was a bit on the older saggy side, which was a little bit of a disappointment but we still enjoyed the stay very much. The breakfast each morning was delicious!!. The hospitality was top notch. I very much enjoyed the innkeeper. She was very accommodating to our needs and so kind. I loved the home is within walking distance to everything we needed. Dinner, shopping....we enjoyed it all very much.
Read more
Response from DianeB1675, Manager at Emma Nevada House
Responded Dec 5, 2018
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The gas fireplace gets cleaned and tuned up once a year for safety. It was scheduled to be done the day you checked out. We could not get a workman here before that date. Sorry, circumstances out of my control. Its nice you got it going and you were cozy and warm. Thanks for bring the bed issue to my attention. I will look into it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This is a nicely appointed and maintained B&B. Some of the decorations are on the “cute” side but appropriate for the period décor, although our room (the “Mockingbird Nest”) seemed a bit cluttered for the small space. Our bathroom (shower only in our room) was spotless and the towels were high quality, soft, absorbent, and whiter than white. Our “Nest” was a bit stuffy. It was on the upper floor and the one window provided little relief from the unseasonably warm temperature. There was an electric fan but it only moved the warm air around. The only way to have cross-ventilation was to leave our door open, not a good option for overnight. Breakfast, a quiche Lorraine, was fine but was in that in-between temperature, neither hot nor cold. There were bowls of mixed fruit as well and the coffee was delicious. In spite of these positive comments our overnight was not without problems. The room we were given was not the room we’d reserved. I was puzzled when the proprietor led me up a spiral flight of narrow-tread stairs to the Mockingbird Nest on the second floor. My wife has difficulty negotiating stairs and I had taken great care to ascertain that the original room was on the ground floor. I returned to our vehicle and reported to my wife the fact we would have to climb to our room. We were tired. We’d just driven 565 miles. It was Saturday night. The town was crowed with visitors and the likelihood of obtaining another room this late in the day was poor. We decided to remain. We settled our things in the room and I asked my wife to leave everything undisturbed. I wanted to retrieve my printed copy of our reservation and ask the proprietor why we didn’t receive the room we’d booked. She didn’t seem surprised when I asked about the change only offering the fact the person who was now ensconced in our original room had booked it for two weeks…obviously after our booking. She offered to give us our second night free. Nice gesture but we’d booked for only the one night. Ultimately, we did receive a discount for the Nest. Coincidentally at breakfast, we sat at the same table with our interloper, who was pleasant and we were courteous enough to remain silent about her being given our room. I was in the hospitality industry for eleven years. I’m well aware of the rough edges of dealing with the traveling public. The very first rule of inn-keeping is to recognize one’s mistake, own up to it immediately, and then offer solutions. The courtesy of a phone call to us immediately upon renting the room to the third party was paramount. We deserved not only the option of another room but of cancelling also. Letting us arrive without notice was inexcusable. Our discount did little to alleviate that disappointment. After breakfast we checked out. As I returned the keys to the proprietor I thanked her for the discount but mentioned nothing else. She offered no further apology or invitation for our return. Over the next twelve months we’ll be travelling through Nevada City at least twice and perhaps more. “Emma” is not on our list of probable accommodations.
Read more
Response from Diane B, Manager at Emma Nevada House
Responded Aug 20, 2018
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay at our B&B. After reading your confirmation letter you handed me, I realized I made a mistake. Mistakes do happen. I was apologetic and felt bad that a mistake had been made. I did not have another room to put the guest in. We were full. I did give the guest $ 100 discount. Not at anytime did the guest relay to me that they were unhappy with the stairs. At breakfast the guest seemed happy with the breakfast thanking me and said it was good.
Read more
My wife and I stayed at Emma Nevada House to celebrate our 15th anniversary. Rebecca was our host for two days and went out of her way to make us feel like ENH was our home, including making excellent recommendations for restaurants and day trips to the nearby river and Empire Mine State Park. The room was wonderful and the breakfasts were superb. We'll definitely be back!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$193 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNevada City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Emma Nevada House
Which popular attractions are close to Emma Nevada House?
Nearby attractions include The Nevada Theatre (0.2 miles), Utopian Stone (0.2 miles), and The Fur Traders (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Emma Nevada House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Emma Nevada House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Emma Nevada House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Emma Nevada House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Treats, New Moon Cafe, and South Pine Cafe-Nevada City.
Is Emma Nevada House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Nevada City.
Are there any historical sites close to Emma Nevada House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bourn House (4.2 miles) and Lola Montez House (4.1 miles).