We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
Panoramas (48)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 517: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed August 14, 2015

Hotel is in a great location, away from the downtown San Diego frenzy but, close enough to enjoy. Hotel and guest rooms are very clean. Pillows are very comfortable, bed was a bit firm for me. AC can be a bit loud at times. One big suggestion, do not eat at "Goodies". Food quality is horrible. It is definitely previously...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zianyaf
Jeff M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

August 19, 2015 Dear Valued Guest, We are so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay here at our hotel. Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of our hotel. We really appreciate you staying with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here and were so positive about our cleanliness, amenities and location. We also...

Las Vegas
Reviewed August 11, 2015

Our usual places to stay was on Shelter Island. However, we were traveling in August instead of a more inexpensive September. We were not able to find a hotel with both lower prices and free parking. Upon looking further we found the Best Western Marina located in National City. It was in our price range and included the rare amenity...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill L
Los Angeles, United States
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Staff were very helpful with answering my questions and worked together to ensure our stay was comfortable. Free parking, convenient and accessible location right off the freeway makes for a great location to stay at in San Diego.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edna B
Brandon, United States
Reviewed August 10, 2015

This hotel is well located for business throughout the San Diego area. Commute to Coronado island was easy from this location. Fitness center is good and the hotel staff were superb. Rooms were clean and the maid service was prompt and right on the ball. Proximity to restaurant next door made meals easy. I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

Lovely staff, lovely hotel which was clean and the rooms were spacious and clean, the pool was nice also. The only complaints are that at night it can get noisy - don't stay in a room facing goodies as there is live music playing until late at night (also don't eat at goodies - it was disgusting!!!!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tillyb1998
san diego, United States
Reviewed August 2, 2015

very nice décor and loved all the palm trees outside. pretty cool lobby too. large room & comfortable bed.. Goody's restaurant across the parking lot has live music on weekends .the staff was very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanci R
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

Used this hotel for our family vacation for visiting San Diego attractions. Hotel is clean renovated and the pool is nice. Easy access to the I5 highway to most attractions. For value this hotel exceeds itself. Parking is free and the Mexican border is about 15 minutes away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
Florida
Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in July. This is a very modern and clean hotel. Rooms are very comfortable. Staff is very friendly. hotel. You will enjoy your stay. The only thing is they do not offer free breakfast. Thanks best western.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank florida1998
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed July 15, 2015

This hotel is excellent. Everything looks brand new. The room was quite big. The bed was very comfortable, but not the pillows. There was a complimentary microwave, fridge and coffee machine in the room. The employees were really heplful and nice. The pool and the jacuzzi were nice and clean. The hotel is located in National City near the Naval...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Miminifee
Richmond, Canada
Reviewed July 13, 2015

If you book via 3 party eg Expedia; all extra request are denied. Expected more from this hotel. The manager is not as friendly but most staff ok. House cleaning will always foget to give enough towels for guest. Swimming pool towel is minimal to none. Room sink slow drain and did not repair. Heating and A/C not consistant too...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Victor L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

321 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (142)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Double Queen Suite (29)
Viewed
King Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Standard King Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
1,907 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
307 reviews
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
445 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Address: 800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950
Location: United States > California > National City
Price Range: $118 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Restaurant right next door”
 of 5 bubbles mesheald, 1 week ago | Read review
“All rooms are nice. Rooms at front of hotel may hear music from sports bar.”
 of 5 bubbles mcpartland2016, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“If you do not want to listen to the live music ask for a room that overlooks the marina”
 of 5 bubbles isay691, Jan 29, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the room with view. I had absolutely zero view, whatsoever....it was horrib”
 of 5 bubbles Kudoku_11, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the back of the hotel, upper floors, if you are a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles coolspot18, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question