We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Save
Share
500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Best Price on a Napa Stay
Booking.com
$599
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Expedia.com
$599
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
FindHotel
$526
View deal
Hotels.com$599
Travelocity$599
Trip.com$698
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (493)
360
Panoramas (49)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Updated 08/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 32 in Napa
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Vending machine
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Best Price on a Napa Stay
1555Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,053
  • 359
  • 81
  • 46
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marilyn P wrote a review Jun 20
Roswell, Georgia34 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a very nice corner room in the Embarcadero building, with a view of the river. There was a desk and chair, and another armchair, which is always appreciated. The bathroom was oddly designed (sink is separated from the toilet by a door, and the shower and tub are also through another door). But the whole bath area was extremely nice, just arranged weirdly. A little shop called Sweetie's delivered delicious pastries to our room each morning. A nice French restaurant (Angele) is next door, but it was booked solid so we couldn't try it. We were here 2 nights while visiting wineries in Napa. It was a delightful visit, and we will surely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: River view is nice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded 4 days ago
Dear 939mamarilynw, Thank you so much for letting us know about your most recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and are super happy to see hat you truly enjoyed your selves with us. The lay out for the bathroom is different from a traditional layout, but I feel that helps add to our charm. We cant wait until your next visit back to the Napa Valley. We would love to help you book dinner reservations at Angele as well. Thank you and have a wonderful day. Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
Raychell N wrote a review Aug 2021
Loomis, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
My hubby and I needed a little get away and stopped to stay at the Napa River Inn. The bed was very comfortable- Great location! We walked to tastings, dinner and shopping. Excellent customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded Aug 3, 2021
Dear Rsarcomo, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to tell us about your experience here with us. I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide you and your husband with a memorable stay. Our central location in the heart of downtown Napa and our amazing customer service are some of the reasons why people love staying with us. we cant wait for your next visit to the Napa Valley! Thank you and have a wonderful day! Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
Carl S wrote a review Jun 18
Garland, Texas2054 contributions138 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful hotel spread out over 2 buildings, the main and the annex. Beautifully located on a bend of the Napa River with large well appointed rooms with views overlooking the river. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Well worth it and reasonably priced.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded 1 week ago
Dear CarlS292, Thank you for letting us know about your most recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you truly enjoyed yourself with us. We strive to provide a memorable experience for each of our guest and it looks like we hit the mark with you. Thank you and have a wonderful day. Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
Dee M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Second time staying here, and they did not disappoint! Great location, great service and all the food we tried was delish! Special shout out to Katia (sorry if I got the spelling wrong!!) at the front desk-friendly and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear M4724ZMdeem, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to let us know about your most recent experience with us. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us time after time. Katya will be thrilled to hear that her guest service was appreciated by you. We cant wait until your next visit to the Napa Valley. Thank you and have a wonderful day! Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
CaTraveler66 wrote a review May 2022
Los Angeles, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at Napa River Inn at the end of April, weather was perfect. Check in process was super easy and fast, parking on site was very convenient. room was clean and nice, shower worked perfectly, water pressure was decent. Bed was comfortable. A/C unit can cool down the room very quickly, for us that was important. Hotel provided $10/pp for breakfast each morning at Sweetie Pie, which is on site, nice touch and added convenience. Almost forgot to mention, the lotion in the room smelled so good, available at the gift shop. Yes, we got some. Overall the stay was wonderful. if I have to find something to complain about, that would be: on their website our room looked bigger than actuality. We will certainly stay there again next time when we are in Napa.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: River view rooms are nice, but not sure if that's worth the money.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear CaTraveler66, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We strive too provide a memorable experience for all of our guest and it looks like we were able to hit the mark with yours. I am happy to see that you enjoyed so many different aspects of our property. From the breakfast at Sweetie Pie's to our lotion that we have made only for our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to the Napa Valley. Thank you and have a wonderful day. Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
HppyTrvllr wrote a review May 2022
Redhill, United Kingdom290 contributions221 helpful votes
It’s a nice hotel in a good location in Napa. Our room was very good and we had a comfy stay. The weather was nice and it would have been good to use the balcony to have breakfast and maybe a glass of wine later in the day. But our balcony (and many others near ours) was overgrown with a climbing plant. It just wasn’t possible to use it. Check your balcony before you settle in and ask to change rooms if it’s unusable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded May 17, 2022
Dear HppyTrvllr, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know about your most recent experience with us. We appreciate your honest assessment of our hotel. Looks like for the most part we were able to deliver a great time for your party. It looks like we just need to make sure our balconies are kept up. We will touch base with landscaping to ensure this issue is corrected immediately. Thank you and have a wonderful day! Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
penhalp wrote a review May 2022
Asuncion, Paraguay28 contributions45 helpful votes
Almost ruined our vacations. Booked through expedia, a room with a view of the Napa river. Arrived early, told them I just wanted to park if it was Ok. They insisted on check in us in, early. Ok, no problem. Gave us the key. When we checked the room, it was a room with a view to the parking lot, which we did not accept. Went back and told them this was not the room we booked and we would be coming back later, they excused themselves saying it was a problem with expedia, and that they had had this problem before. Wanted to charge us 30US per night extra for a room with a view which we declined since we had already paid. When we came back later, they told us we could take that room, or nothing, there was not another room available anymore. Things escalated to the point that we were told by their staff that I was beign a little b**tch for complaining about a room with a view. And then they kick us out. Leaving us without a room. Said they will ask the police to escort us. Of course they did not call the police because we were not doing anything more than complain. Thankfully expedia found a hotel for us. But the bad moment that we had, was totally not worth it. Especially since we are not even from the states, we did not have a local phone to call expedia. It costed us a lot in phone calls to get another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded May 11, 2022
Dear penhalp, We are truly sorry your stay didn’t work out at the Napa River Inn. We confirmed with Expedia that you did not book a room with a river-view. Unfortunately, we had a sell out night that evening and no complimentary upgrades were available. By the time you decided to upgrade, someone had already booked that room and we were at 100% occupancy. Due to the fact that you were unhappy with your original room choice we refunded your money immediately with no penalties. I would also like to assure you that our staff never spoke to you in that manner. We have reviewed our lobby video and audio surveillance along with interviewing all employees on shift. We can find no evidence of our employees doing anything other than trying to accommodate you. If you would like to speak further regarding this situation please call me directly at (707) 251-8500. Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
nmiller93 wrote a review Jan 2022
West Palm Beach, Florida13 contributions4 helpful votes
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place and the staff! They were so accommodating and helpful for our families during our stay for our wedding. Anything we asked for they took care of with no hesitation. They were sweet enough to store all our flowers before the ceremony and all our cake leftovers afterwards. They gave great directions and suggestions for food and wineries. The rooms were nice and well kept, and the hotel room had everything you'd need. (And the fridge is small but holds more than you think!) Also, definitely put the sign out for fresh pastries in the morning, they are DELICIOUS!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking is provided at hotel or in parking garage across the street. During covid, no room...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded Jan 19, 2022
Dear nmiller93, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent experience with us. I am happy to seer that you truly enjoyed yourselves with us. We love it when guest decide to stay with us while celebrating such special occasions. We try our hardest to ensure everything runs as smoothly as possible. We look forward to your next visit to the Napa Valley. Thank you and have a wonderful day! Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
Carmelo S wrote a review Dec 2021
Puerto Rico151 contributions67 helpful votes
This small hotel is centrally located in downtown NAPA Valley, it's an small town. Near the shops, restaurants and walking distance to the Wine Train and the Hot Air Balloon. They offer a discount to breakfast next to the lobby. They don't clean the rooms on a daily basis until you make a request. Good service as a whole. The WiFi signal was good, they have free parking. The rooms have an antique decoration but it looks good. It's a good place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: It's located about one hour from the San Francisco International Airport.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded Dec 31, 2021
Dear carmelos445, Thank you for letting us know about your most recent stay with us. Our central location in the heart od downtown is one of the many reasons guest choose to stay with us when visiting the Napa Valley. Our historic décor mixed with our modern amenities really help our property stand out from the others in the area. Happy Holidays. Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
Beth T wrote a review Nov 2021
Ocean Township, New Jersey72 contributions61 helpful votes
This hotel is beautiful and offers proximity to many restaurants and shops. The service is good, and the room is spacious and nicely decorated with mood lighting, a gas fireplace, and a cozy balcony with a river view. It has all the comforts of home except for a comfortable bed. The mattress was terrible. Additionally, the shower had no water pressure, and a door leading to the entire bathroom area would’ve been nice.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ask if there are more modern rooms before you book if you want a comfortable bed
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Bermejo, Guest Services / Front Office at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Responded Nov 19, 2021
Dear 706betht, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to let us know about your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay except for the bed. I apologize and I will look into correcting this issue. I would love to follow up with you as well if you would like. Thank you and have a wonderful day. Warmly, Andrew Bermejo Director of Rooms
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$390 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
napa river inn at the historic napa mill hotel napa, napa river hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyNapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Which popular attractions are close to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
Nearby attractions include The Uptown Theatre (0.2 miles), Quent Cordair Fine Art (0.3 miles), and The Blue Note Napa (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grace's Table, Sweetie Pies Bakery, and Bounty Hunter Wine Bar & Smokin’ BBQ.
Is Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Napa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Napa Valley Opera House (0.3 miles) and Napa 9/11 Memorial Garden (0.3 miles).