We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
486 Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-3343
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lowest price we found
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (120)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (18)

About

#16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.7

Finding an ideal romantic bed and breakfast in Napa does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Cedar Gables Inn, a nice option for travelers like you.

While staying at Cedar Gables Hotel, visitors can check out Riverbend Plaza (0.2 mi) and Riverfront Promenade (0.3 mi), some of Napa's top attractions.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a refrigerator and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the bed and breakfast.

Cedar Gables Inn features outdoor furniture and baggage storage, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts free breakfast. If you are driving to Cedar Gables Inn, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Napa's popular fish and chips restaurants such as Norman Rose Tavern, Gott's Roadside, and Napa Valley Bistro, all a short distance from Cedar Gables Inn.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out The Hess Collection Winery & Art Museum or di Rosa, which are popular art museums amongst tourists.

Cedar Gables Inn looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Napa.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Hindi and 1 more
437Reviews1Q+A71Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 375
  • 28
  • 11
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tiana C wrote a review Sep 2022
Reno, Nevada1 contribution
We had a late check-in and the staff accommodated us very nicely. Our room was easy to find and was very quiet for such an old (squeaky) house. Breakfast was great. Parking was limited, but we found parking on the street.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for a better price ;-)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind feedback about your stay with us. We are glad to see that your experience checking in was smooth and effortless. It's great to hear that you found our place quiet and peaceful during your stay. We are aware that we have a limited parking area. You could have asked our front desk for assistance. They are always here to help you. We would love to have your company again at Cedar Gables Inn and earn a perfect score. Best Regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management P.S. Next time book directly at cedargablesinn.com and save!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blakdogz wrote a review May 2021
Lexington, Kentucky68 contributions23 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
Since we are a couple, we must add our stars together.. total is 10. What did we not receive that we needed? Nothing! This should be known as a Breakfast and Bed. John, the host, is a real pro and a gentleman. We had Eggs Benedict as well prepared and served, as any restaurant in Napa. Coffee better than Starbucks (just no show, just great coffee). As beautiful a venue as the pics show. We will return for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded Aug 11, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful feedback and perfect score rating of your stay at Cedar Gables Inn. It is indeed a pleasure to see that you had a fantastic stay at the hotel. Your kind words directed towards John are very much appreciated, and your feedback shall be communicated to him, which shall undoubtedly brighten his day. He will be thrilled to know about your fantastic experience and will be looking forward to hosting you again in the near future. Best Regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
djs102081 wrote a review Sep 2022
Houston, Texas1 contribution
If you had never stayed at Cedar Gables before the new owners took over then you might think this Bed & Breakfast was ok. Had you be privy to the experience offered to you with the previous owners, you would be so disappointed. I had sold the whole "bed and breakfast" idea to my boyfriend based on how amazing Cedar Gables was in my past. Walking in and expecting the happy hour in thier beautiful gathering room soon came crashing down when we were told that room was made into another guest room. Finding out the most precious kitchen and eating area had also been changed into a guest room was also heartbreaking. At least I had breakfast to look forward to! The breakfast here in the past was mind-blowing. Wow, was I wrong!! The website shows a picture of Frech Toach Souffle, there is NO way the current chef could cook that in their dreams! We got served something that I didn't even know what it was. I asked what it was and was told it was a pancake. I pancak that was raw in the center and had onions and peppers in it. To say it was discusting, is nice. The website also boasts of a fancy coffee machine, NOPE!!!! Hope all you want is black with little packets of sugar or creamer. I am not totally disappointed as our room was perfectly lovely except for the fact that we heard the person next door snoring all night. I know that owners need to look at the bottom line but what they have turned this B&B into, is just so sad. I would never stay here again. We never even saw anyone working after check in besides that kitchen server.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Danielle, Thank you for your detailed feedback about your experience of staying with us. We apologize for not meeting your expectations, and please know that we are trying our best to serve guests with everything they need. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast. I will certainly pass on your feedback and make improvements to our breakfast menu and services. We assure you that we will improve our service the next time you stay with us. Kind Regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Al V wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Keith greeted us spent time giving us excellent suggestions was very knowledgeable and professional. Room was impeccable, vintage yet all the modern amenities. Great location. Breakfast was very nicely prepared and thoughtful of allergies. Friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Park and take Uber while in town.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are so grateful for your All-Star review. We are glad to learn that our well-trained staff was able to provide you with everything you needed to ensure you have a comfortable and great stay. We are delighted to learn that our convenient location made it easy for you to get anywhere you wanted to go while visiting Napa. We are so glad you enjoyed our delicious complimentary breakfast. Our staff's prime concern is the health of our guests and the utmost guest experience.  We would love to have your company once again. Best Regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management P.S. Always remember to book your stay directly at cedargablesinn.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GFN wrote a review Aug 2022
Sacramento, California6 contributions7 helpful votes
Overall a nice experience except that we were woken up at 6am because the guests in the room above us were walking around and making all sorts of noise at the crack of dawn. The walls here are very thin so I recommend getting a room on the top floor if possible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! I wanted to apologize for the poor experience you had at our hotel. We are disappointed whenever one of our guests experiences a less-than-perfect experience. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our notice; we'll look into each of your suggestions and make sure they don't happen again. For us, customer satisfaction is highly fulfilling.  We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience. Warm Regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management P.S. Remember to book your stay directly at cedargablesinn.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stan T wrote a review Jul 2022
Calgary, Canada7 contributions8 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Cedar Gables Inn, Napa. My wife and I stayed there on her birthday. We enjoyed learning about the history of the property and its extensive restoration. Highlights of the stay included a wonderful breakfast featuring Eggs Benedict, a comfy bed and a very gracious host. Thank you. Our 130 year old room had been lovingly restored to its original glory. The bathroom was spa-like with modern fixtures and a glass enclosed shower.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for leaving a Perfect Score review for your stay at Cedar Gables Inn.  We are glad to hear that our staff had an opportunity to host you and your wife on such a special day. Our healthy breakfast is the ultimate way to start the day for our guests at our hotel. We are sure you had a relaxing experience in our spa-like bathroom with modern amenities.  It is an honor for us when our guests are extremely satisfied with our hospitality. We can't wait to host you again soon. Best Regards,  Cedar Gables Inn Management P.S. Don't forget to book directly on cedargablesinn.com to get the best deals and discounts.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
susan r wrote a review Dec 2021
26 contributions9 helpful votes
Cedar Gables far exceeded our already high expectations. From the minute we walked through the door into the welcoming 1892 Arts and Crafts style home we were enchanted. We were greeted by our host and the owner of Cedar Gables. After a few questions about the beautiful floors and the leaded antique glass windows, he told us the story of the building, its little-known but innovative architect, and the years of work he and his Scandinavian wife had put into restoring the home to its current understated elegance. Every detail had been lovingly tended, and there were fresh flowers everywhere. We were given a large, perfectly appointed room with a magnificent antique bed and comfortable chairs. The space was so lovely we decided not to go out to dinner but to enjoy the room and subsist on our road-trip leftovers! We even indulged in the huge tub before settling into bed for a blissful night. Breakfast the next morning began with lovely fresh fruit and muesli, and was followed by a perfect omelet. Each morning of our too-short stay we had a different, delicious, sustaining breakfast. Our host greeted us and at our urging shared more of the inn’s history. The only thing wrong with our visit was that it ended too soon! We loved Cedar Gables and recommend it without reservation. In fact, we would give it ten gold stars is the system permitted!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded Dec 20, 2021
Dear Guest, ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC to know that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with the Cedar Gables Inn. Thank you so much for your detailed review, we sincerely appreciate it. We are glad to see that it was the desired stay and everything went as per your requirements. Appreciation like this for bed and breakfast motivates us to provide these facilities to every guest. We wish you could have stayed a bit longer with us and we can’t wait to host you again! Best regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management P.S. To get discounts and reasonable prices on rooms, book directly on cedargablesinn.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc E wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We travelled all the way from Santa Barbara to stay for one night. We booked ahead of time and when we got to the inn we were turned away because we had a child under 12. Owner was rude, didn’t even want to deal with us, told us it’s not his problem, we are done. We have a crying child that needs to rest and was completely shut down. We had to scramble to find another place. The website was not very clear and nowhere does it say they do not service anyone under 12.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded Oct 4, 2021
Dear Guest, Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience. We do, however, mention that “Cedar Gables Inn is designed for adults desiring a quiet stay in a Historic Mansion filled with highly valued antiques, and as such, is not suitable for children under 12 years of age”. Regardless, we do apologize for any inconvenience you had to face. Regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlwaysForever wrote a review Jun 2021
Pennsylvania, Usa351 contributions199 helpful votes
We loved our stay in the Cedar Gables Inn, a historic mansion in the heart of Napa. The building was beautiful with amazing wood paneling through out the public areas. The breakfast was a treat starting out with Muesli with fruit, and continuing on to a lovely breakfast entree each day. The coffee was excellent. We had a Keurig in the room for the rest of the day. Our room (#5) was huge and furnished with antiques. The bed was nicely made and very comfortable. It had a wonderful spa tub with shower in the large ensuite bathroom. (Only a few small things, which were not a problem for us, but may be for less mobile people. 1- the bed was quite high. 2-the built-in tub/shower required sitting on the edge and pivoting into the tub. 3-no elevator so a lovely staircase is required to enter the house and reach the bedroom.) Our room was very quiet. There was free off-street parking for three cars plus a handicapped space, but free street parking was never a problem. Location was great. We walked to dinner in Napa several times. Finally, with hotel and B&B rates in this area skyrocketing, it offered exceptional value for us. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded Aug 11, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for the PERFECT RATING of your stay with us in Napa. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Gables Inn Hotel. We hope you had a wonderful time in the hotel and enjoyed all the amenities available on-site. We are known for our genuine hospitality, and so we don't compromise with the standards. We work very hard to ensure our guests are well cared for and have a pleasant stay with us. So again, we hope you enjoyed your visit to Napa. We hope to host you again next time your travels bring you to Napa; take care and be safe until then. Best Regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gregg M wrote a review Apr 2021
8 contributions10 helpful votes
I am having a great deal of trouble writing this review. I want to be objective, and review Cedar Gables as it is today. You see, my wife and I twice stayed at Cedar Gables under the previous ownership, and sadly, it wasn’t the same. Gone is the Speak-easy, with happy hour, snacks, and musicians. Gone is the carafe of port in the room. Covered up is the beautiful peacock stained glass windows in the old breakfast room. Gone is the soft mood lighting, replaced by garish blue-light LEDs. If you’ve never stayed here before, you wouldn’t know the difference. Running an inn like this is either a passion or a business. The current ownership chose to make it a business, replacing ambiance with an in-room TV, refrigerator, and coffee maker. We even had an electronic fire place. Despite that, our latest stay was very pleasant. The bed is very comfortable, nice linens on the bed, good furnishings in the bathroom, and newly installed heating and air. The breakfast was fabulous. The price was well below similar accommodations nearby. Keep in mind, that Coombs St. is the main drag from the south into downtown, so there is lots of street noise in the morning. The location is great as downtown is within easy walking distance. Sadly, we won’t be staying there again. It’s not as we remember it. But if you’ve not stayed there before, based on location and value, I recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: East side rooms away from Coombs St. will be quieter.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn
Responded Aug 11, 2021
Dear Gregg, Thank you so much for leaving a candid review of your stay at the Caser Gables Inn. We truly appreciate all your honest feedback and will take note of your suggestions. We strive to provide excellent service and genuine hospitality to our guests. We hope you also enjoyed our other on-site amenities. Our hotel is just three blocks away from Downtown Napa, offering visitors a glimpse into the rich history of this agricultural heartland and its fabulous wine culture. We hope to change your mind and welcome you back again as your guest soon. Best Regards, Cedar Gables Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cedar gables hotel napa
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyNapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cedar Gables Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Cedar Gables Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Uptown Theatre (0.3 miles), Vintage Sweet Shoppe (0.2 miles), and Riverfront Promenade (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cedar Gables Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Cedar Gables Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cedar Gables Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cedar Gables Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweetie Pies Bakery, Celadon, and Napa General Store & Cafe.
Is Cedar Gables Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Napa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cedar Gables Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Hindi, and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to Cedar Gables Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Napa Valley Opera House (0.4 miles) and Napa 9/11 Memorial Garden (0.5 miles).