Hotel Napa Valley

Hotel Napa Valley

Nice room
Traveler (169)
Panorama of the Aqua Room at the Hotel Napa Valley
360
Panoramas (9)
Hotel Napa Valley
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#10 of 31 hotels in Napa
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Discover Napa from a local's perspective when you stay at Hotel Napa Valley, a historic landmark (est. 1874). Fireplaces & featherbeds in all of our newly restored rooms. No pool, no elevator, but a great home town vibe, plus evening wine reception & chocolates each night, as well as VIP privileges at some of Napa's finest restaurants & wineries. Walk to shops, wine tasting rooms & 50 restaurants!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!

Location

1556 Polk St, Napa, CA 94559-2438
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
40.2 mi
See all flights
Sonoma County Airport
31.7 mi
See all flights
416Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 293
  • 74
  • 31
  • 12
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cielinda A wrote a review Feb 2024
21 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were met by the hotel manager Dolly with a big and warm smile. At the entrance was a layout of home baked cookies and lemon water. Thank you for that, it takes away the stress of the heavy traffic and long drive. And of course, the complimentary cabarnet was especially lovely.
Communication via messaging may take a bit if they’re very busy but otherwise excellent.
As dainty as the hotel's faćade would be a French provincial inspired foyer and two waiting rooms, each complete with their own fire place.
Our spacious room's lay out looked expensive with a big bathroom. Very clean bed and fresh sheets.
Our breakfast was a homemade burrito (mine was a vegetarian choice, specially made for me) with freshly baked raspberry orange scone and fruit granola yogurt.
Parking was in a fenced property.
A few minutes walk to the city proper.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 12 is amazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pam L wrote a review Apr 2020
Johnston, Iowa37 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in one of the back buildings on the property. These rooms and especially the bathrooms need an update. New towel bars, shower, artwork, bedding would go a long way to bring this up to date.
The bathroom was COLD.
The wine and cheese reception and breakfast were good. The host was kind. I wish we could eat in a room on the first floor instead of the basement.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Apr 3, 2020
Thank you for your feedback, comments from our guests are always welcome and we use to improve and make our gursts stay more enjoyable. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyle M. wrote a review May 2022
Dublin, Ohio195 contributions195 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I did 3 nights at the Hotel Napa Valley in March for our anniversary, and overall we really enjoyed our stay. We booked the hotel using a Hotwire Hot Rate deal, so we got an amazing price for the room. The only negative was we were in one of the queen rooms in one of the out buildings instead of the main house, but it ended up being fine because it was quiet; I think we were the only people in the unit for 2 of the 3 nights. The room was very small, only maybe 2 feet on each side of the bed, but we were out and about all day so it wasn't too big of a deal. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great, so the room itself was fine. The only thing we would have changed in the room were the electrical outlets. There was only 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the bathroom, and the one in the bedroom was very loose and we had a heck of a time getting our phones to charge at night.
Check-in was great, we were texted the access code to the room before we arrived, so we never had to go to the front desk. The lobby did have free snacks you could grab, and a fridge with drinks for purchase for very cheap. We also really enjoyed the included breakfast and thought the food was great and more than enough to fill is up. The location of the hotel was also very convenient, it was just a few minute walk from the hotel to the main strip with all the shops and restaurants.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel had a great location and was an excellent value. however, if we went back to Napa we may opt for one of the larger resorts with a pool like the Westin or the Archer. But if you just need a clean, quiet hotel to use as a hub for winery tours, the Hotel Napa Valley is a great choice. If you have any questions about the hotel I'd be more than happy to answer them. Thanks for reading!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Getting one of the king rooms in the main building would have been our first choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. our location is truly unbeatable. We will look into the electrical outlets that you mentioned. Thanks again for staying with us. Regards, Dolly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bajazit S wrote a review Oct 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The “Cellar master suite” is anything but. A more honest name would be Dark, Dirty, Dingy, smelly, basement. DO NOT STAY HERE. It really ruined the Napa experience. I couldn’t believe they had the audacity to charge over $300 per night for this room. The ironing board had gunk on it that would’ve ruined my shirt had I not seen it, it doesn’t seem to have been washed in over a decade. Chips and cracks on the tile throughout. The walls are filthy, not just scuffs, actual filthy fingerprints throughout. Everytime you walk in the room will remind you of how dirty it is with a whiff of foul odor that will hit you in the face. The bathroom light is an LED light designed for a commercial office. It sends off motel 6 in Oklahoma vibes. This is money I will forever regret spending, don’t make the same mistake.

Breakfast was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
davep4ventura wrote a review Feb 2020
Ventura, California74 contributions84 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The inn is a lovely property; no doubt about that.

Unfortunately, the check-in time is not flexible because the establishment is run by a man and woman who are only there during certain hours of the day and, believe it or not, not at the hotel at all during the night.

I have never stayed in a hotel where the guests are there for the night without any hotel employees. Seriously...nobody.

Yes, the structure is a cutout from a different era and stunningly beautiful, but the bed was not comfortable and since there are no elevators, it was a challenge to walk my luggage up the stairs. I am a senior citizen and would definitely recommend that if you are one as well, reconsider and go to a place where you are not making 3-4 trips up and down stairs to get your bags to your upstairs room.

Lastly, we are very careful about our diet and the only breakfast choice was pork sausage and belgian waffles, which I am sure were delicious, but oatmeal and yogurt is my choice every morning. A Starbucks was five minutes away and we ate our usual healthy breakfast there.

If you are young, fairly strong, and still have a lot of 'get up and go', it is a very romantic property, but for an AARP-qualified goat like me, it was a hassle.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Apr 8, 2020
Your feedback is important to us...... Thank you for staying with us... Regards, Dolly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
viewfrom21C wrote a review May 2021
Moorpark, California202 contributions129 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There's no breakfast at the moment due to Covid (other hotels have managed to figure this out though).

Located in a historic residential neighborhood, the hotel is a short walk from downtown with its restaurants and tasting rooms. Dolly reached out to us early on the day of our arrival with full self check-in instructions, making arrival easy. Rooms have numeric codes rather than keys.

There's a main house and cottages across the parking lot. We were in a small room in one of the cottages, with a fireplace tucked into a corner and a large bathroom with whirlpool tub. The comfy king-sized bed faced a flat screen TV that was as large as they could possibly fit into its space. The cottage had a common area we shared with our neighbors, including a small refrigerator, a seating area, a dining table, a hot water dispenser (with tea and French presses, no coffee) and loads of books.

Missing: coffee! It's available in the mornings in the main house, but that means dressing and going outside to get some.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Jun 1, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Truly our location is unbeatable... Just for fyi, in case you come back to stay with us, our french press coffee has coffee in it and just need to add hot water.... We hope to see you again. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire K wrote a review Feb 2020
Hove, United Kingdom1,859 contribution132 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We struck gold finding this glorious hotel. Perfect location in a wonderful town, we were shown round this fabulous hotel & got a potted history thrown in, by the superb manager. We had a bed big enough for three, wine tasting at 4.30, decent coffee provided 24 hours a day & just a warm friendly feeling throughout. Heavenly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Thank you for ranking us a 5!!! We greatly appreciate it and so pleased you enjoyed our unsurpassed location. We look forward to sharing your positive commecnts with the rest of our staff. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again the next time you are in Napa. Regards, Dolly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon K wrote a review Mar 2022
Santa Cruz, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent last weekend in Napa and the Hotel Napa Valley got lovely reviews. We liked the location for its walkability and convenient parking, and appreciated the pre-arrival text and the contactless check-in. We did not partake in breakfast, but did have coffee one morning. We expected a quaint and historic building, and did not mind the small room and drafty bathroom. We were in one of the cottages, and our main complaint was the noise. We were woken up both nights by our neighbors talking and having the TV on, and were awoken again at 2am when someone was pacing around the adjacent room. I don't think they were trying to be noisy but the walls were so paper thin it was as if they were in the room with us. Unfortunately would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry to hear about the noise that you had experienced. Thank you for staying with us. Regards, Dolly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam B wrote a review Aug 2021
Richmond, Virginia82 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I ended up booking this hotel quickly in Napa as I was able to get a deal, and we were SO pleased with this place! The location was lovely for walking around Napa, and it was easy to park the car here and get in and out if we wanted to drive somewhere too (although Napa has some weird roundabouts). They were very clear about their COVID precautions and I actually really loved the numeric locks on both the inside/outside doors as well as the rooms themselves. The rooms are small, but it's very clear when you're booking the size of the room, and I felt like we knew what we were getting into. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Courtney wrote a review Jul 2021
18 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dolly is wonderful! She texted us the code to our keypad for the room, left us a note and bottle of wine for our honeymoon, and upgraded us since she had availability. While pricey, pretty sure all of Napa is. Good walkability to restaurants. We stayed in the main house (there seem to be a few other buildings with rooms), and the only complaint is that on the first floor it is easy to hear the creaky floors as the people above you move around. Our room was so comfortable and the bathroom very updated and large. Loved it! The snacks were nice, and while it seems small, it was nice to be able to purchase a soda from the fridge in the hallway area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Thank you so much for such great comments, we're glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. Wd hope to see you again should you be back to Napa. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie B asked a question Apr 2021
36 contributions26 helpful votes
Are you still having afternoon and evening wine receptions?
Answer from laydeedoll64
Oakdale, California1 contribution
Hi, As of right now, we had suspended our breakfast and wine reception. Regards, Dolly
Cindy P asked a question Sep 2019
modesto33 contributions5 helpful votes
Do you have afternoon wine reception
Answer from Joan L
San Francisco, California72 contributions77 helpful votes
Hi Cindy, Glad to answer your question about the hotel's wine reception. Yes! They have one around 4 pm. I never went over, since I was out each day and came back too late. But, I heard that it was very nice. Love their breakfast!!
unhappy20124 asked a question Jul 2017
Baton Rouge, Louisiana6 contributions6 helpful votes
How close is your hotel to the Napa Valley Wine Train and the airport?
Answer from Penny E
Vero Beach, Florida85 contributions52 helpful votes
The wine train is within walking distance-about 15 minutes max-not sure about the airport
Leticia S asked a question Sep 2016
Victoria, Texas, United States57 contributions24 helpful votes
Do you have any rooms with 2 twin beds or 2 full size beds? Prices for March -May?
Answer from CLCoronios
Chatham, NY162 contributions34 helpful votes
Leticia, so sorry I hadn't seen your question earlier. I was away and not paying much attention to e-mails. I don't know the answer, but hope you've taken another's suggestion to call. Some king beds (not necessarily at this location) are actually twins, so that MAY be a possibility. I loved this inn - so if you can figure out a way to get your party bedded comfortably, I'm sure you'll enjoy it!
rita l asked a question Jan 2016
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Do any of your rooms have private deck or balcony
Cielinda A wrote a tip Feb 2024
21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 12 is amazing "
Read full review
cshaller wrote a tip May 2023
Puyallup, Washington5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away"
Read full review
Linda P wrote a tip Mar 2023
Silverthorne, Colorado12 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"We will not come back."
Read full review
Rosalie L wrote a tip Mar 2023
Seattle, Washington56 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No front desk staff at the time, but check in experience was smooth. We were sent a text with entry codes. "
Read full review
Bajazit S wrote a tip Oct 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Napa area.
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyNapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Napa Valley - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Napa Valley
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Napa Valley?
Nearby attractions include Quent Cordair Fine Art (0.3 miles), John Anthony Vineyards (0.2 miles), and Cadet Beer and Wine Bar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Napa Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Napa Valley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Napa Valley?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Napa Valley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Napa Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grace's Table, The Kitchen Door, and Tarla Mediterranean Bar & Grill Napa Valley.
Is Hotel Napa Valley located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Napa.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Napa Valley?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Napa Valley?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Napa Valley Opera House (0.4 miles) and Napa 9/11 Memorial Garden (0.3 miles).
Is Hotel Napa Valley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Napa HotelsNapa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NapaHotels near Hotel Napa Valley
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars