We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carneros Resort and Spa

Save
Share
4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
17 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$849
FindHotel$849
Hotels.com$849
Orbitz.com$849
eDreams$849
StayForLong$1,041
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (889)
360
Panoramas (165)
Room & Suite (1026)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Carneros Resort and Spa
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 30 hotels in Napa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Carneros Resort and Spa is the authentic Napa Valley escape. Nestled on 28 acres surrounded by rolling vineyards, this newly revitalized resort lets guests experience stylish cottage-style accommodations and elevated amenities that reflect the area’s distinct charm. Relax in a private cottage featuring unique touches like alfresco showers and a private landscaped garden. Indulge in seasonally inspired dining at one of the resort’s three restaurants, FARM at Carneros, Boon Fly Café, and the guest-exclusive Hilltop Dining Room. Enjoy a relaxing spa treatment at the new Spa at Carneros, or lounge poolside and enjoy panoramic views of the countryside.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycle tours
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Family Resort
1563Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,090
  • 252
  • 122
  • 59
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jmkly wrote a review May 8
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent $4000 on a 2 star experience. It’s hard to over state how bad this place actually is. The staff are actually quite impressive, really hard working and doing their best as the front line against what is arguably terrible management and training. We sat waiting for breakfast this morning for 90 minutes and when it came, my husbands food was inedible and mine barely but because I was starving, I picked my way through. Other guests in the room simply left after waiting over an hour to be served. We thought of doordashing at one point so I dont blame them. There were two guys loitering in the breakfast room and we couldn’t figure out if they were frustrated guests, like us, or staff. Turns out they were some sort of leadership and they had no clue how to solve anything let alone communicate anything resembling leadership to the staff. Hence the awful experience. Then comes dinner. Ha! Cost $500...we sat for over an hour to get our starters. The bartender had no idea what a Negroni Spagliato is. We had oysters arriving with starters and then starters arriving commercial refrigerator cold...sure, go spend $500 on a meal which clearly has no competent head chef driving the show. I could go on...no leadership or attention to detail will define your stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Edward Costa, General Manager at Carneros Resort and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jmkly, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and for being our guest at Carneros Resort and Spa. I would like to sincerely apologize for the disappointing visit at our resort. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further. I have sent you a follow up message in hopes to discuss your stay further. I can also be reached directly at ecosta@carnerosresort.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Carneros Resort and Spa. Sincerely, Edward Costa Managing Director
Read more
Lucien C wrote a review Apr 2021
Burlingame, California74 contributions28 helpful votes
This was our first visit to Carneros Resort. We are a family of 4 who stayed for 5 nights over spring break in April in the Jasmine cottages. Highlights: Beautiful property and grounds. Lots of space for kids to run around outside. The bikes for borrow were really fun. The pools are beautiful. The gym is nice and well equipped. The spa facilities were beautiful. The cottages themselves, while small, had some nice touches: fireplace, outdoor fire pit, heated floor in the bathroom, comfortable beds. The Farm restaurant has excellent food and some of the best service on the property. Lowlights: In short, the service. Several days before we even planned to arrive, we contacted the concierge about family friendly wineries to visit (because of covid, lots of places weren’t allowing kids). They said that many of the guests were looking for the same and they were trying to find options. They didn’t know of any offhand. They said they’d follow up with us when/if they found some. We never heard back. We didn’t feel confident about this, so luckily we asked the Amex platinum concierge and our personal assistants to do some work on it. Collectively they found enough places that would meet our needs for the week. I almost offered to give the list to the concierge for the benefit of other guests, but didn’t feel like I should have to do their job for them.... The other major service mishap was housekeeping. I don’t think they changed the sheets a single time while we were there (5 nights). I also don’t think they changed the towels until we specifically requested them after 3-4 days. Several days they didn’t restock the water. And they often didn’t clean up all the trash. One day, we accidentally left the do not disturb light on. When we got back at 6pm I asked if they could clean the room that evening. They said they could only do turndown and not a full cleaning. Not the response I would expect for the price point. The hilltop adult pool was beautiful. We couldn’t use it because we had kids. The kids pool - while lacking any view - was nice. But it felt like a slap in the face to not have any food or beverage service at the kids pool area. We literally had to go pick up our own food and drinks for lunch. I know they offered the service at the other pool, so I don’t think this lack of service was a result of covid. Last, the spa treatment was underwhelming. I’ve been to 200+ spas across the world. I would say the massage itself was in the bottom 10% of massages I’ve ever had. The facilities and ambiance was very nice - but the massage itself (which is a big part of the whole experience) - was definitely subpar. Conclusion: The cottages themselves are pretty small for a family. If I were to go back, I’d definitely either go without the kids or book a bigger room. But at the current price point, I think the service is really lacking. If the price was 30-50% lower, the service gaps would be more acceptable. I think and hope this is something the hotel can easily fix.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
S K wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
There aren't many options in Napa for children. Carneros is a great option because you get the privacy of your own cottage, family-friendly pool, and the luxury touch. For this particular trip, I want to mention that a manager named Alice helped make our trip extra special. Initially, we were placed in a different room than what I reserved. It would've been a n upgrade with an outdoor bathtub, except we needed one more bed. Alice gave us a whole additional room (a second room) to give us that extra bed for that night, which was already amazing. Then the next night, she gave us another upgrade because she didn't want us to miss out on the outdoor bathing experience that my children were now spoiled with. In addition, she stayed in touch with me our whole stay there (textine me, checking up with me every time she saw me on the property) and sending us a care package (s'mores package and Easter eggs for the children - they loved!) with a hand written note! I really appreciated the personal touch. Overall, a great experience this time. Higly recommend with children.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Heike Pacchetti, General Manager at Carneros Resort and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear O9937VHsk, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Carneros Resort and Spa. We strive to provide our guests with a luxurious and memorable experience and are so pleased we were able to do so for you. Please know your kind feedback about Alice has been shared. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family again soon. Sincerely, Heike Pacchetti Hotel Manager
Read more
Patrick L wrote a review Apr 2021
Lafayette, California31 contributions34 helpful votes
Checked in on a Saturday for a last minute trip. This is such a great location and the rooms are fabulous. I suppose the service issues might be the result of re-opening after COVID, but oh boy, they have got a ways to go. We usually stay higher in the valley at one of the Auberge hotels, but they were booked. We stayed here years ago and were not impressed. They have definitely remodeled the rooms and hotel. My wife and I were both impressed. Unfortunately, the service just doesn’t match the accommodations and location. The hours posted about restaurant hours (Hilltop) was wrong. The restaurant staff just walked around me without even telling me anything for 10 minutes. When I called the manager, he gave me the nice platitudes he learned at school then promised he would find me - nope. Then when we found him in the reception area, he awkwardly tried to avoid eye contact. Dude, just apologize and say the hotel made a mistake. We are all pretty happy just to get out after COVID. Quality of food with room service was outstanding Overall, we will likely return but I hope they get their game back when it comes to service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Heike Pacchetti, General Manager at Carneros Resort and Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Patrick L, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Carneros Resort and Spa. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the frustrations you experienced during your recent visit. Our team strives each day to create memorable, truly delightful experiences for our guests, and we are so very sorry we fell short. I have reached out to you directly in hopes to discuss your experience further. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Carneros Resort and Spa in the future. Sincerely, Heike Pacchetti Hotel Manager
Read more
Chris M wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We were eagerly anticipating our romantic weekend at Carneros Resort so much we came at 11am to see if we could check in early. Our room wasn't ready early and they offered to let us use the facilities while we were waiting. When the female manager (Hiki?) overheard the disappointment from my wife, she stepped in and upgraded us a larger room that was ready immediately. It was so nice we barely wanted to leave the sunny private backyard, but so glad we did as we probably had the best breakfast ever at the Hilltop pool-see picture. Thanks to all for the unbelievable weekend. We can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heike Pacchetti, General Manager at Carneros Resort and Spa
Responded Mar 31, 2021
Dear Chris M, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide our guests with a relaxing and memorable experience, and I am so pleased we were able to deliver an unbelievable weekend for you. Thank you for being our guest, and please visit us again soon. Sincerely, Heike Pacchetti Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$786 - $1,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the carneros hotel napa, carneros hotel napa, carneros inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Carneros Inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyNapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carneros Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Carneros Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Grape Escape (3.1 miles), Oxbow Public Market (4.3 miles), and Skyline Wilderness Park (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carneros Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Carneros Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Carneros Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Carneros Resort and Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carneros Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hog Island Oyster Co., The Model Bakery, and Alexis Baking Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carneros Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Carneros Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Carneros Resort and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Carneros Resort and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Carneros Resort and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Napa Valley Opera House (4.1 miles) and Napa 9/11 Memorial Garden (4.1 miles).