We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
492 Randolph St, Napa, CA 94559-3395
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (28)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • All employees are fully vaccinated
Updated 08/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/09/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
5.0
This property has identified as Women-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
The George is one of the most successfully executed examples of late nineteenth century residential architecture, and as such, is part of the National Register of Historic Places and Subsequent National Parks Service Evaluation. The property was originally commissioned in 1891 by George E. Goodman Jr., who was the son of one of Napa's most prominent businessmen, George Goodman Sr. Known as the handsomest house in town, this famous property has been re-imagined into a 9-room luxury boutique inn that captures a new balance of contemporary elegance with a stylish grandeur for the 21st century. Our beautifully renovated guest rooms are crafted with equal parts old-world charm and contemporary luxury. Featuring cloud-like Beautyrest Hybrid Plus™ mattresses, Matouk™ luxury bath towels and bedding, heated bathroom floors, Molton Brown™ amenities, and an in-room Keurig coffee & tea station. Our rooms are equipped with all the necessary ingredients for a dreamy Napa Valley stay. Our knowledgeable hosts and concierge are available to you during the day. Guests can easily self-check-in and access rooms with our secure keyless door systems.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Free breakfast
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Adults only
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Spanish, Greek
32Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Khahn25 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Absolutely perfect stay for our trip to Napa. The breakfast was amazing- we loved everything that was provided. The house is absolutely beautiful too and our room was perfect. I will never stay somewhere else when I visit again. Thank you so much!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Use their recommendations for drivers if you do wineries- ours was a great suggestion!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Austin S wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
From booking to check out and everything in between, our stay was perfect. The staff was accommodating, the room was even better than billed, and the breakfast was excellent. We had several unique requests during our stay and each of them was answered with a smile and "of course, our pleasure."
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kristen S wrote a review Oct 3
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Everything about The George was just spectacular. From the personal welcome at check-in, to the elegant, clean, spacious, and comfortable guest room, to the absolutely perfect, walkable location in downtown Napa - we enjoyed every minute at The George and only wish our stay had been longer!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Traveler563347 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I want to start by saying, WOW! This place was just amazing to look at and walk around. The staff was over the top friendly in the best possible way. Secondly the food was amazing, especially the scrambled eggs. I know this is odd since it is scrambled eggs but after you have them, you will be wondering how they did it. Would recommend anyone to stay here, especially if you are looking for that dream way of doing Napa. Thank you for the amazing weekend stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Turner, Guest Services / Front Office at The George
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! You’re group is dear to our heart and so glad we were part of this celebration.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
juliadT8365BN wrote a review Aug 2022
Palm Springs, California2 contributions
The George was fine on the surface, but we had a family hospitalization and had to leave very suddenly. The George management was very inflexible and refused to give us a refund or a credit. I am extremely disappointed and would not recommend staying to any friends or family. The management obviously has no empathy or regard for anything other than profit. That is not how a hospitality business should be run.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Turner, Guest Services / Front Office at The George
Responded 2 weeks ago
First, we hope everything is better now with your family and we sincerely apologize that you felt our staff was not empathetic to your circumstances because that was not the case. As you can understand last minute/onsite cancellations impact our small family business of (only 9 rooms) and puts us in a tight spot. We have clear policies around situations like yours, covid, etc. We offered to credit you back the room cost if the room rebooked and if it did not we gave you a discount on a future stay. Our team works extremely hard for excellence that goes deeper than the surface and our hospitality is not defined by a refund. Again, we sincerely apologize and the invitation for your return is still on the table.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stormin434 wrote a review Jul 2022
South Plainfield, New Jersey77 contributions21 helpful votes
Our first visit to The George will not be the last. We arrived late at night and was provided our codes which worked. They left the light on in our room which was a nice touch. The George is immaculate and the bedding and towels were so soft and luxurious. Every amenity was in the room. Beautifully appointed in a luxury setting. After a day of wine tasting we sat outside in the shade and fell asleep. It was a comfortable setting. We were 3 blocks to the restaurants in downtown Napa in a nice neighborhood. Tracy and Linda were so friendly and welcomed us Home! We could stay there for weeks. The breakfasts were so nice and filling. Always had a frittata and yogurt with fresh fruit and the worlds best “English muffins”. Coffee was good and fresh juice was great. Much better than we expected. They sparred no expense on making this a 5 star Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Turner, Guest Services / Front Office at The George
Responded Jul 25, 2022
We are extremely happy you had this unforgettable time with us! Tracy and Linda loved hosting you and can't wait to see you back soon! Hopefully you can stop by for a nice mild California winter vacation?!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarkR-Sheffield wrote a review Jul 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom4 contributions
Patty & Tracy as hosts made us very welcome and are rightfully very proud of the lodgings they have created here! After a long journey we were treated to champagne & canapés which was a wonderful start to a fabulous stay! The property is stunning & no expense has been spared in the refurb of this historic building, it is beautifully appointed. The bedroom was large & bed very comfortable. Breakfast was different each morning with homemade delights, such as a smoked salmon croissant with crème cheese & a mimosa! The centre of Napa was only a 5 or 6 minute stroll away. Altogether, a wonderful experience!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Turner, Guest Services / Front Office at The George
Responded Jul 8, 2022
Mark, Tracy and Patty loved hosting and spending time with you! We hope to see you back with us in the future and thank you for your kind review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chandra B wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We absolutely loved our stay at The George. It was a beautiful home in a wonderful neighborhood, very convenient to downtown Napa. Breakfast was perfect, and the hosts were very friendly. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Turner, Guest Services / Front Office at The George
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Thank you so much for your review. Our team loved hosting you and look forward to seeing you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
con wrote a review Jun 2022
San Antonio, Texas1 contribution
The George is a beautiful mansion with spacious bedrooms and baths, and a very comfortable bed with luxurious pillows and linens. The staff was friendly, helpful, and gracious. Each morning we were served a good home-cooked breakfast, which included an egg dish, fruit and delicious pastries from a local bakery. The location is convenient for everything in Napa and the wine country. Can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Turner, Guest Services / Front Office at The George
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim C wrote a review Jun 2022
42 contributions39 helpful votes
This property is spectacular. The pictures are accurate - the place is a true gem. The staff is there to please with champagne when you arrive and excellent recommendations for the Napa region. Delicious breakfasts including mimosas and the best English muffins in the world.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in a lovely suite on the third floor - worth the climb.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Turner, Guest Services / Front Office at The George
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so happy you had a nice time and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$360 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyNapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George
Which popular attractions are close to The George?
Nearby attractions include The Uptown Theatre (0.2 miles), Vintage Sweet Shoppe (0.2 miles), and Riverfront Promenade (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The George?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The George?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The George?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The George?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grace's Table, Sweetie Pies Bakery, and Celadon.
Is The George located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Napa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The George?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to The George?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Napa Valley Opera House (0.4 miles) and Napa 9/11 Memorial Garden (0.4 miles).
Is The George accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.