We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain's Inn at Moss Landing

Save
Share
8122 Moss Landing Rd, Moss Landing, CA 95039-9617
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$129
Booking.com
Hotels.com$129
Orbitz.com
Travelocity$129
Trip.com$207
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (210)
Room & Suite (98)
Pool & Beach (24)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 04/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Captain's Inn at Moss Landing
Updated 04/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
If you are looking for a romantic and cozy getaway, we are the place. In the evening, you can capture the beautiful sunsets from your room in the Boathouse or on one of the 2 decks. The waterfront view is breathtaking. There is always an amazing array of wildlife including sea otters, birds, harbor seals and wild turkeys nearby. You can take a brisk walk on the local sandy beach or take a relaxing stroll through our little community. Almost everything in our community is within a short walking distance. We are located in a very peaceful and relaxing setting. Away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby cities. We are centrally located between Monterey and Santa Cruz, 1 block off Hwy 1.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
304Reviews4Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 212
  • 57
  • 20
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Wendi821 wrote a review Sep 2022
Benicia, California19 contributions14 helpful votes
Booked our room on Expedia where it states FULLY REFUNDABLE room. I canceled two weeks prior and should have received my $100 deposit back in full but hotel kept $15 for “credit card fee”. What other shady practices happen at this hotel?????
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Crew, Guest Services / Front Office at Captain's Inn at Moss Landing
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Wendi, You shouldn't have been charged a $15 CC processing fee if you have booked a fully refundable room. We have tried reaching out to you on your cell phone and have left a message. We don't want you to take a wrong impression of the property and would love to hear back from you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the confusion with your reservation. It is our intention to keep errors of this nature at a minimum. Unfortunately, reservation mix-ups do occur. I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to see you again when your travel plans require a night's lodging.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brent w wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Room 101 is virtually on the Highway. Noise is terrible. Asked manager to change me at check in. He said sorry. He’s full. No sleep tonight. Charged $197 when web site says 157. Room is clean and comfortable. Doesn’t matter if you don’t sleep
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Crew, Guest Services / Front Office at Captain's Inn at Moss Landing
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Brent, It seems you have put your review on the wrong property :(. We are not by the Highway & we don't have Room number 101. We have tried reaching out to you so you can place your review at the correct property but seems we are not able to reach you. I hope you can read this feedback and post your review at the correct property where it belongs.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
margot k wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I wish I could live there... It is one of the most tranquil, inspiring places I have ever stayed...great place too write a good book. I look forward to returning one day soon. The bathtub is amazing...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
franktraveller wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, CA33 contributions29 helpful votes
I loved my stay in the boathouse building on the 2nd floor overlooking the estuary. My husband and I sat in the chairs in front of the big window watching the sunset and afterglow with great pleasure. We got a grilled salmon and a grilled halibut plate at sea harvest a mile away and enjoyed being able to have it with a glass of wine and the great view. I like this little town because it is not full of rich families cutting in front of you in long lines for depressing tourist items. It is a sleepy little fishing/boating/birding town that is pleasant to walk around in in my opinion and delightfully far from the madding crowds. We had a romantic and special stay. I look forward to returning and trying another boathouse room. I liked it that everything worked fine but there was no one on site pestering you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Troels E wrote a review Jul 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark22 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed for one night and the rooms were really nice with hot tub. Nice view of the sea. The property is located around old worn houses and the area is not really nice. Too expensive all in all, and the frontdesk staff are only to be reached by Phone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jenee G wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
A really beautiful and well-maintaned property! Our "River Front" room had a stunning view, the room is very cozy, beautifully decorated and well appointed - there is even a window in the shower so you can enjoy the view from there! The "self check in" worked seamlessly and all staff were friendly and professional. Totally mesmerizing to get a close-up view of the otters playing, the tide wafting out, and the ongoing drama of all the birds - including turkeys! A fantastic stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Boathouse rooms are all right on the estuary and have fantastic views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We stayed three nights in the Pelican Beach room (on the 2nd floor of the boathouse), and were mesmerized by the view of the estuary: pelicans (brown and white), gulls, otters, the occasional seal, and even a skunk ambling by on the far side of the dike protecting Moss Landing proper from the highest tides and surges. Captain's Inn is easy walking distance from whale watching cruises, and any business / restaurant you might want to visit in Moss Landing. The room is comfortable but not large, showers in the soaking tub were a little awkward, the bed offers a great sleep but you have to be okay with needing the step (provided, stable, easy to use) needed to get up to over-the-catamaran height, and the ceiling that slants down toward the head of the bed -- but the funkiness of the room is part of its charm. And that view ... unbeatable. We'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marian W wrote a review Jun 2022
Uckfield, United Kingdom130 contributions96 helpful votes
We stayed in the boathouse for 1 night in early June and thought it was great. We had lovely views over the wetlands where we saw pelicans, other birds and a skunk! Our room had a large shower for two and a nice big comfy bed. The bed was on a boat trailer so was a little high but they did provide a step which I was able to use to get in and out of bed. There is a nice decking area for guest's use which we took advantage of and it as lovely to sit out there and relax and watch the wildlife. Apparently you can go into the main building and get snacks or breakfast items but we didn't need anything as had an early start. There are some nice places to eat within walking distance and if you're doing whale watching in the area this is the perfect place to stay as it's close to the harbour. Like another reviewer has mentioned, there is a note asking for tips due to the staff working for a minimum wage but we felt that is something the owners need to deal with (ie increase the wages so they're not on minimum wages!) and not something we should have to worry about when we've already paid for our stay. We didn't encounter any of the staff during our stay as check in and check out is done remotely using your phone. We would definitely stay here again if visiting the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Room Tip: We stayed in the boathouse which has lovely views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kevin M wrote a review May 2022
Sacramento, California6 contributions1 helpful vote
Great place to unwind! Staff was friendly, even when we made an honest mistake on checkout time! We stayed at the River Front room and thoroughly enjoyed watching the flocks of different types of birds....I recommend getting the romance package with the Prosecco and truffels.... it was a wonderful stay...we'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: we loved the river front room....especially the double shower....*wink
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
D L wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Stayed in the pelican Beach room in the boathouse, bed comfortable, large soaking tub, and a beautiful picture window looking out on the Slough watching the birds in the otters. Very quiet and nice getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$152 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
captain`s hotel moss landing
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMoss Landing
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Captain's Inn at Moss Landing
Which popular attractions are close to Captain's Inn at Moss Landing?
Nearby attractions include Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve (3.2 miles), Moss Landing State Beach (1.2 miles), and The Shakespeare Society of America (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Captain's Inn at Moss Landing?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Captain's Inn at Moss Landing?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Captain's Inn at Moss Landing?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Captain's Inn at Moss Landing?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Captain's Inn at Moss Landing?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moss Landing Cafe, Phil's Fish Market and Eatery, and Haute Enchilada.
Is Captain's Inn at Moss Landing located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Moss Landing.
Are there any historical sites close to Captain's Inn at Moss Landing?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Castroville Japanese School (3.0 miles).
Does Captain's Inn at Moss Landing have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.