We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 513: English reviews
South Pasadena, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was clean and roomy. The location is fine but if you walk down the hill to the stores, it's a hike to walk back up. The lobby has mini menus for many of the local restaurants and very helpful to suggest places. The breakfast area is very small so plan to take food back to your room. Over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni I
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night and were very kindly welcomed by the owner. The rooms were a little old fashioned but large and comfortable. All was clean and functional. The breakfast was simple but we felt welcome and liked it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jehanne L
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon. -Martha

San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the room after reading "scenic view". We assumed our room would have a window facing the bay. Nope! And found out the room had no heater, so had to ask for a blanket (none provided in the room). The clock was set to the wrong time. No cups by the sink--had to use a coffee cup. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anaundda E
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

We are really sorry we did not meet your expectations, we will continue to try and improve .Thank you for your feedback. -Martha

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in Morro Bay for a family event Saturday and Sunday night over Veterans Day weekend. We called from the road to see if we could check in an hour early and were told if we upgraded to a room with a view of the rock for an additional $25 a night a room would be ready. So we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

Cindy, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon !

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had just asked for a refund at the Creekside Inn, in Cambria Cal. And was just looking for some place to stay the night. Wish we could have spent some time there. This was the nicest staff, comfy bed, exceptionally clean room. We checked in late and were greeted like it was mid day. If your ever traveling through,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T6356BFjamesp
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate the review and hope to have you back soon again! Thank you -Martha

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only stayed one night. Hotel staff friendly, check in fine. Room was clean, a little on the small side, but had all the amenities associated with a Best Western. Parking free & OK. Shower fine. A few minutes walk from the harbour and bars/restaurants. All in all, an excellent stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PHEL56
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us . We hope to see you back soon. -Martha

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed October 22, 2016

When I booked a room here, I failed to note that this is a Best Western. Not a Best Western Plus. Not a Best Western Premiere. So what you get is a pretty basic motor inn with clean rooms, an okay bed, and not much more. No views. No elevators. No restaurant or bar. Their "breakfast room" seated a total...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OnTheRoadAgain1954
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Best Western Tradewinds. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to improve all areas of our hotel. Unfortunately, the weekend you stayed was Cal Poly parents weekend and the rates were high at all of the hotels across San Luis Obispo county....

Reviewed October 22, 2016

The staff is friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and well taken care of. The hotel is small but it offers a continental breakfast and a spa with a view of Moro Rock.. It's a short walk down to the Embarcadero to shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

Michelle, I would personally like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and are glad you were extremely happy with our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future. The next time you are planning to return to the area you can call...

Reviewed October 12, 2016

The Best Western hotel was clean and comfortable. The room had been updated and looked very nice. While it was a bit small, that didn't affect our stay as we were not in our room except to sleep. Good location; in walking distance of several restaurants and the ocean. Would recommend as a good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliawO1258WI
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind on your future visits to Morro Bay. Thanks, Cindy

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 11, 2016

This motel at Morro Bay is ideally situated just one street back from the beachfront. There is a free outdoor spa with a view of Morro Rock. The rooms were a good size with a table we put to good use playing board games and the breakfast was a breakfast bar arrangement in the reception area ( which had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAMMC
vinukala, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your nice compliments. Please keep us in mind when making any future visits to Morro Bay. Thanks, Cindy

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2001
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Price Range: $82 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Tradewinds staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Tradewinds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Upstairs as all rooms face the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles AnaunddaE, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“No elevator, so if climbing stairs is an issue(only 1 short flight).”
  • Upgraded 2nd floor room with
 of 5 bubbles cindysR5658SU, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Nothing wrong with the main level. No stairs or elevator to take and you park right out front.”
 of 5 bubbles blibin, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“From what I saw, all the rooms were very nice and clean”
 of 5 bubbles bruceb567, Jul 16, 2016 | Read review
“Request a lower floor if stairs are an issue for you.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTexsn, Jun 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay