We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 493: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We found the Best Western El Rancho on Main in Mirro Bay, CA after we had booked a room at another motel down the street aways in which we found a couple little bugs and no sleep.....hard to sleep worrying about bugs and way to late to leave. Should have left since I did not sleep that night anyhow. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelliamador
Peter P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Tucson, Arizona
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed October 9, 2016

My husband and I did a great circle visit of California, combining visiting friends and relatives with sightseeing. Hearst Castle was one of our visits, but rates for hotels in San Simeon made me look a little further out. We arrived at El Rancho just at 4. Our room was not quite ready. The owner offered us coffee and gave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AZtraveler661
About Hotel's Favorite Review
sugeilCS, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Dear AZtraveler661, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. I am honored that you chose to stay with us when you were in Morro Bay. I hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future! All the best, Sugeil

salinas, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

tired from a long day drive our check in was warm and greeted by professionals Danny & Briana offered us water bottles. rooms were clean , not having a air condition did not bother us as temperature here was pleasant. ceiling fan worked well & did the job. Briana in the morning was very attentive in breakfast area,kept items well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj P
Peter P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

on behalf of Briana Baker and myself we want to thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. It was a pleasure to meet you and help make your stay pleasant. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we...

Baja California, Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I checked in march 12, 2017 for two nights and the gentlemen named Danny Baker went the extra mile to make sure my room was prefect. He just arrived as the new general manager. The view of the ocean was wonderful. We had friends that were staying at another hotel. They liked where we were staying and Danny got them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cail2098
Peter P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We were pleased that we could help you and Briana Baker and I thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We value your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a...

Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hosts are incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is perfect close to the beach and restaurants. We received information about the area and attractions to see during our visit. Very affordable as well.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
Peter P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are pleased that your stay was a pleasant one. As you know with our clean and comfortable rooms and free hot breakfast, its just a added touch to make your stay better. Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling...

Madera, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights, the 12th & 13th of March. We have stayed here before & really enjoyed our stay. The place is one level which is great for Seniors & also less noise factor because no one is above you. The motel is exceptionally clean. Danny Baker & Briana went out of there way to take care of...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GFB33
Peter P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We are so happy that you were pleased with everything including the staff. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience...

Napa, CA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stay during the second week of February in 2017 was incredibly dissapointing. Morning waffles were doughy and stale, room not cleaned on Presidents day as the cleaning team was given day off by owner without telling manager. 2 other days of 6 day tour the rooms were not cleaned. Sheets never changed. I had to go get new towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fenderson
sugeilCS, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Dear Fenderson, Management is are aware that you have stayed with us before and were happy with your stay. Unfortunately things did not go well with your recent stay due to indifference's in the management team for which i accept responsibility. As of today I have personally taken control of the property and want you to know that your business...

Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewed February 7, 2017

Love this place. Great location. Right by the ocean and very quite. The new rooms are really great since the upgrade as is the wifi connection. Breakfast is okay but the coffee, pastries and juice is perfect.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 768tonib
sugeilCS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, WE thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We invite you back to stay with us anytime. We look forward to providing you excellent customer service. Peter P.

Visalia, California
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights, never received housekeeping services, had to request toilet paper, new towels, we had ants all over the table. We were told we could move rooms, but they never followed up. The bed was super uncomfortable. Unfortunately we will not be staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank courtneyclark87
sugeilCS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Dear Cortneyclark87, Thank you for providing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear about some of the frustrations you experienced while staying with us. While upon checking our housekeeping records it shows that your room was serviced one day, and the two other times the room was not serviced because you had a...

Oxnard, California
Reviewed December 30, 2016

The front desk clerk Chris is rude and when we arrived said you better not have a dog in your car. The mattress is very low end and hard and bouncy (painful). The maid was terrific best part of the stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colleen W
sugeilCS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Dear Colleen W, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. This is the first I'm hearing of this situation. I wish to apologize, on behalf of the whole team, for any negative issues you encountered while staying with us. Thank you for both your visit and for taking the time to share your feedback. All the best, Sugeil

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
815 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
653 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Price Range: $84 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN El Rancho staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN El Rancho staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“to enjoy sunset, rooms in building away from the office is a great location.”
 of 5 bubbles 507pankajp, 1 week ago | Read review
“rooms near office a little bigger than the ones further away.”
 of 5 bubbles Fenderson, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are at ground level, hallelujah, no stairs to navigate with luggage and belongings!”
 of 5 bubbles se770, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“One level but would check with motel on handicap accessibility”
 of 5 bubbles 316jeanm, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Not the type of hotel for those who want a high end hotel with all of the high end amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles W9850ZYchristines, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question