We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
290 Atascadero Rd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1517
Lowest prices for your stay
$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com$102
Travelocity
FindHotel$107
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (79)
Room & Suite (44)
View from Room (2)

About

#26 of 31 hotels in Morro Bay
Location
3.7
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.6
Value
3.6
Welcome to Morro Shores Inn & Suites in tranquil Morro Bay, California. Located off Highway 1, we are a block away from the Pacific Ocean and just a 5-minute drive to downtown. A newly built 29 unit craftsman style motel opened in 2007, The Morro Shores Inn offers some of the best lodging on the Central Coast. The Morro Shores Inn & Suites offers guests with an astounding selection of guestrooms and suites featuring several amenities that are sure to meet your needs. Here at our Morro Bay hotel, you will enjoy a collection of comfortable, designer decorated deluxe rooms or luxury suites, all with free Wi-Fi and 40" LED HDTVs, pillow top mattresses, and balconies.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Fishing
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
313Reviews0Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 80
  • 96
  • 64
  • 19
  • 54
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steve D wrote a review Jul 2022
Northern California222 contributions183 helpful votes
First - they will NOT allow you to check in a minute before 3pm - without looking at the reservation, simply "the rooms aren't ready yet" They don't give you an internet access code unless you specifically ask for it. Room was marginal - but the noise from other occupants was terrible. Next door there is a dog barking because their owners went out without them - several people two doors down sitting outside the room talking and joking loudly (9:30pm) - sounds like a soccer game is being played upstairs (thud thud thud - silence - thud thud thud back) - 1/2 of a parking spot available (spots are so tight every one ends up squeezing left to allow room, taking up part of the next parking space) - no other spaces left - luckily the sounds of the road drowns out some of the occupant noise (freeway on-ramp) Oh - did I mention the TV doesn't work..... Almost worth throwing away the nights rent to move to another hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Jul 31, 2022
Dear Steve, Thank you for your comprehensive review detailing your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel, and we apologize for the many issues that you encountered. We have reviewed all of your comments as a management team, and each department head will formulate a plan to ensure that the risk of such issues occurring again are minimized. We also understand the importance of staying connected, especially for work, so we will have our service provider make a trip out and eradicate any future concerns. Despite this, we're happy to be your accommodations of choice, and we look forward to meeting all of your needs the next time you visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris K wrote a review Jun 2022
Orange, California6 contributions2 helpful votes
The location of this hotel is great; the rooms are basic but clean. Other people had to go to the front desk to obtain the extra blanket that was supposed to be in the room. I was third in line, to obtain a hair dryer - which I got after about 10 minutes of searching for one, but with instructions not to use it on anything but the low setting. My problem with this hotel is the booking process. I am not an inexperienced traveller, and I was on the hotel's website, but during the booking process was redirected to hotelvalues.com My room charges were high for this type of hotel, but I expected them because of the high demand due to the Cal Poly SLO graduation. I did NOT expect to pay Tax Recovery Charges & Service Fees the equivalent of a third room night! In total I paid more than $1,000 for two nights...payment in full at the time of booking, no refunds. I thought the hotel was getting scammed so advised the guy at the front desk, but he only asked me to send an email to his manager, and when asked he would not provide me with the manager's name, just the email address. Upon check out I asked for a copy of my folio and all line items just said "Prepaid"...when I asked for a detailed breakdown, I was told to get it from booking.com
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Has basic amenities. Rooms were clean and quiet. No elevator, so ask for first floor, if slepping...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Hi ChrisKet1, Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. It's great to hear that our staff was accommodating, and the location was great however, I do regret that you experienced several shortcomings during your stay especially during check in. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an unusual experience. We take this quite highly and your feedback will be shared with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie D wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
If I could give no stars I would! Booked a room through booking.com for the price of $353. Upon entering the room I noticed the room definitely did not meet standards. Not only was there black mold on the walls, but the mini fridge was absolutely disgusting. Clearly cleanliness is highly disregarded! I spoke with a woman at the front desk and explained to her the severity of the situation and she offered no solution other then an email address, I was to send my complaint to. I explained to her I wanted a full refund for the room due to the fact that I would be no longer be staying at an establishment that so obviously disregards any type of cleanliness and proper sanitation protocols. She refused to give me a refund and told me to contact booking.com, because the room was booked through them there was nothing she could do. I asked for managements name she wouldn't give it to me, I asked for her name she wouldn't give it to me. I call booking.com to file a complaint and try to get a refund and was told that the hotel denied the dispute and there was nothing they can do as far as taking care of the refund. If booking.com does business with theses types of establishments they should share some form of responsibility when it comes to customer complaints. Especially when sending over proof of the matter. The health department needs to come out and do a thorough inspection on this nasty place!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded May 24, 2022
Dear nataliedR2176IM, I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an unusual experience. We take this quite highly and your feedback will be shared with management so that appropriate steps can be taken especially with the condition of the hotel and cleanliness during your most recent stay with us. Despite this, we're happy to be your accommodations of choice, and we look forward to meeting all of your needs the next time you visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jessica a wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We booked this hotel on Expedia because it was the cheapest in the area and looked decent for the price. When we checked into the room, it was nothing like the pictures. It was so out dated, they never put any money into this place. It smelled so bad I had a headache once I left. We were also scammed out of the room we book and "management" was trying to force us to pay again for a room we already paid for. She refused to give us the room we paid for and said we had to pay more for the room we already paid for. We asked for a refund because it was so dirty and disgusting, but she said "you can try to get your money back, but you won't." I ended up calling my bank and telling them how these people lied about the quality of the rooms on the website and took our money 💰 Expedia was no help when we reached out to them about the terrible dirty rooms 😒. I'm disappointed in Expedia and their customer service. I won't be booking with Expedia again. They do not care about customer service. Avoid this scam of a place. The rooms are nothing like the pictures they are 100× worse than they look. It's smells, it's dirty and once you check in they got your money and credit card info so its too late and they will make it hell for you to get your money back. Gross.. almost ruined my vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded May 10, 2022
Dear Jessica, We are sorry to hear you weren't happy with your accommodations at Morro Shores Inn and Suites. It is disappointing to learn that you weren’t satisfied with several things during your stay. We apologize that you had to experience someone in the hotel smoking. Please know that we are a non-smoking hotel and do charge for smoking offenses. We would have handled the situation if we had been informed of the matter, we would have dealt with the situation. We apologize that the management and the front desk staff couldn’t accommodate you in another room. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had trouble with the refund. We ensure that such an incident isn’t repeated from our side. We hope you will give us another chance in the future so you can see that this was an isolated occurrence. Sincerely, Morro Shores Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joshua G wrote a review Feb 2022
Bakersfield, California2 contributions
Really nice spot, great location (at intersection of 41 and 1), clean and everything. Only issue is they scam you on the price and over charge. We were staying at the Morro Dunes RV park with my younger kids and we arrived early in the day while my wife was getting our older son to take her after her shift at the hospital ended at 7pm. She reserved two nights @ $67/night online week or two prior to our trip in February 2022. We stayed their before and thought the price was great. Because the office closes at 10pm or so I had to get the room. So I did and got charge $207 total which I assumed carried a deposit of $50. I didn’t think anything of it since many hotels charge deposits. After our trip ended and we got home my credit card charge cleared and it was not a deposit. My wife called in to clear up the situation and got the run around. Unfortunately, they are liars and scam you on the price, stay at the Motel 6 next door.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great location, scam on price
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Mar 1, 2022
Dear Joshua, We are very sorry for the experience you faced at the Morro Shores Inn and Suites. Please understand that we do not try to scam our guests. Please contact us at morroshoresinn@gmail.com with your issue. I will forward this review to our reservation and booking department and get the issue resolved. Please accept our apologies. Sincerely, Morro Shores Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
This room was great. Comfortable king size bed, in-room gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub, allows pets for an extra fee. Clean with a park right next door to walk the dog and close to Morro beach. Only sidebar was the small refrigerator froze everything so keep your things on the bottom shelf and the shower pressure is a bit low but tolerable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Dear Jacqueline, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. We are happy that you loved our comfortable beds, and cleanliness at the property. We work hard to ensure our guest’s comfort and convenience. We would love to host you again on your next visit to Morro Bay. Thank you for staying with us! Kind regards, Morro Shores Inn Management P.S. To avail of discounts and offers, try booking directly from our website Morroshoresinnandsuites.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John R wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Our room 101 had a tv that kept shutting off, a telephone that doesn’t work, and a refrigerator that leaks water on your food. The host could not fix the tv and they recommend using your cell phone instead of the room phone? Really? Overall I would not recommend this hotel because of the poor customer service and low quality room amenities. Save yourself the hassle and stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Nov 24, 2021
Dear John, I wanted to apologize for the poor experience you had at our hotel. We are disappointed whenever one of our guests experiences a less-than-perfect experience. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our notice; we'll look into each of your suggestions and make sure they don't happen again. For us, customer satisfaction is extremely fulfilling. Please accept my sincere apologies. Kind regards, Morro Shores Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven wrote a review Oct 2021
Fresno, California1 contribution
Beds and pillows were among the best I’ve come across in ages, I travel a lot for work. The room was spacious, especially for being within walking distance to the beach. I was sad the hot tub was closed due to COVID but understandable. Friendly staff, small/safe property. City park with children’s playground right across the way. Right off Hwy1, about a mile from the downtown harbor area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking will accommodate a full size pickup truck.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Oct 11, 2021
Dear Steven, Awesome! Thank you very much for providing us with a PERFECT SCORE. I'm glad to hear that your stay was overall enjoyable and satisfying. I'm pleased you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms, and I appreciate your compliments to our staff. I'm also delighted to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and proximity to local attractions and restaurants. I hope your next visit to Morro Bay won't be too far away and you choose to stay with us again. Thank you for staying with us! Kind regards, Morro Shores Inn Management P.S. Book your stay directly at morroshoresinn.com to book your stay at our lowest rates!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carolyn R wrote a review Sep 2021
Bishop, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a great weekend stay here. It's a small, two-story hotel and the property is well-kept, as are the building and rooms. Everything seemed clean and neat, and well organized. Room was quiet despite being right next to Hwy 1. We could easily walk into town for dinner; it was about a mile on bike paths and non-busy roads along the water. No continental breakfast at the moment because covid; no big deal. We would
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Book directly on their website for the best deal.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Dear Carolyn, We appreciate the time you took to leave a valuable review. It is so good to know that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. We are so glad to know that you had such a great weekend with our comforting amenities. It is so nice to hear that you found our rooms quiet, homelike and cozy for your stay. We are glad to know that you found the place pleasant and peaceful even though it is located right near Highway 1. It is so amazing to know that you had a wonderful trail in the neighborhood. We apologize that you had to face the issue with complimentary breakfast and we sincerely appreciate your understanding of the unusual times we are experiencing. We will try to resolve your issues as soon as possible. We would be grateful if you give us another chance to serve you. Kind Regards, Morro Shores Inn Management P.S. For discounts and offers to avail, try booking directly from our website Morroshoresinnandsuites.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James E wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights. Late on the first night when I lay down on one of the beds I sank to the floor. A prior customer, it seems, had removed the mattress and busted all the crossbars on the box-springs. It was less than useless. I went to the front desk and rang the bell. I reported the problem to the woman and she said I should report it in the morning, that there was nothing to be done about it. So....I slept on the floor, because our family couldn't all fit on one queen bed. The next morning before we left to go sight-seeing I reported it to the same woman at the front desk (the managers live in an apartment just off the front desk). The woman thanked me for reporting the problem and said "we will take care of it." Then we went out sight-seeing. When we returned late that night, the box springs had not been replaced. I went to the front desk. The same woman answered and told me there was nothing to be done about it. I slept on the floor again. The next morning I went and asked for some kind of discount, due to having to sleep on the floor, and having rented a room with 2 queen beds when there was only one usable bed. She said they would make it right. I sent an email requesting a partial refund. I told them I'd be leaving reviews and I would like to tell people that they did something right. I received no response. They did nothing right. They botched every step. It was terrible customer service and a terrible place to sleep at Morro Bay. The location is great. Try the Motel 6 right next door. As weird as it sounds, I'll bet Motel 6 is amazing by comparison.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Try the Motel 6 nearby for a better experience at a low price.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Sep 1, 2021
Dear James, Thank you so much for your detailed review. We sincerely regret that we were not able to provide you with a new box spring right away. Please be on the lookout for an email back from us as we want to do everything in our power to make it up to you. Our management team will thoroughly investigate all of your concerns, and appropriate steps will enhance the customer experience and ensure a situation like this doesn’t occur again. We apologize once again for the unpleasant experience you had with us. Kind regards, Morro Shores Inn Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
morro shores hotel morro bay, morro shores inn and suites
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountyMorro Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Morro Shores Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Morro Strand State Beach (0.2 miles), Morro Bay Maritime Museum (0.6 miles), and Hey 41 Antique Emporium (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Morro Shores Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and express check-in and check-out.
Which room amenities are available at Morro Shores Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Morro Shores Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Morro Shores Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frankie and Lola's, Taco Temple Morro Bay, and Carla's Country Kitchen.
Are pets allowed at Morro Shores Inn & Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Morro Shores Inn & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Is Morro Shores Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.