We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morro Shores Inn & Suites

Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (28)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Morro Shores Inn & Suites in tranquil Morro Bay, California. Located off Highway 1, we are a block away from the Pacific Ocean and just a 5-minute drive to downtown. A newly built 29 unit craftsman style motel opened in 2007, The Morro Shores Inn offers some of the best lodging on the Central Coast. The Morro Shores Inn & Suites offers guests with an astounding selection of guestrooms and suites featuring several amenities that are sure to meet your needs. Here at our Morro Bay hotel, you will enjoy a collection of comfortable, designer decorated deluxe rooms or luxury suites, all with free Wi-Fi and 40" LED HDTVs, pillow top mattresses, and balconies.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
278Reviews
107Photos
0Q+A
34Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 69
  • 91
  • 61
  • 16
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We called ahead to ask for an early check-in and were told we could check in at 1:00p. We arrived around 2:00p and were told we wouldn't be able to check-in until 3:30-4p (even worse than the standard check-in time of 3p). The cleaning crew did us a solid and let us get in
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Nov 21, 2018
Hello Philip, We appreciate your comments - thank you for taking the time to leave us with feedback about your recent visit. It's unfortunate that you did not experience the usual level of satisfaction that other guests have but we love that you have pointed out the things that we can improve on. Your comments on the TV and AC are duly noted - we will have someone look at these at the soonest so they may be repaired or replaced. We also apologize for the delay in the check-in process. While we would love to accommodate all requests, we sometimes end up with too much on our hands and end up providing our services a bit late. Thank you for your feedback and we will try our best to improve on each aspect. We would love if you would come back to stay with us again - we have no doubt that the next time you would have the wonderful experience that the vast majority of our guests have. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
My family and I came to stay at this place for one night. We arrived early and came in and double checked our times for check in and we were told that check in time was at 3pm. No problem. We left had lunch, walked the beach, and had a lovely afternoon. We returned at 5:45pm
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Nov 21, 2018
Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments - thank you for taking the time to leave us with feedback about your recent visit. It's unfortunate that you did not experience the usual level of satisfaction that other guests have but we love that you have pointed out the things that we can improve on. We apologize for the delay in your check-in. It sounds like there was an emergency so it was challenging to prepare the rooms on time. While this may be true, we agree that things could have been handled better - we will see to it that our staff is properly coached on this. We are also sorry for the inconvenience brought about by the other concerns you reported. We will look into these and take immediate action. Customer service is important to us and we are glad that you have pointed us in the right direction to improve. We hope that you might stay with us again, and we have every confidence that you will experience the hospitality and professionalism that we are renowned for. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Rude customer service. They pushed our check in time 3 hours past what they had already told us. Our rooms were missing the hair dryer, sheets were ripped, and didn’t have a smoke alarm. I will not be coming back.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Nov 21, 2018
Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments - thank you for taking the time to leave us with feedback about your recent visit. It's unfortunate that you did not experience the usual level of satisfaction that other guests have but we love that you have pointed out the things that we can improve on. We apologize that there seems to have been a need to push your check-in time. It must have been a very busy day but we will work on a better scheduling system to avoid situations like these in the future. Also, we have a standard check-in time - were you asked to come in 3 hours after that? Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
We were in Morro Bay for the triathlon. This place was very convenient (passed it on the bike leg) and reasonable. We had an “accessible” room so it was a bit large which worked great for all my stuff. No fancy amenities, but clean and comfortable. Definitely not a resort
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Nov 10, 2018
Hello Suzanne, It is great to hear feedback from you regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found good value for the money you spent and that our hotel met the requirements that you were looking for. Thanks for mentioning our location - we are glad that it made things more convenient for you. We are also glad to hear that you found the room to be spacious and clean. We hope you had an awesome stay in Morro Bay and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
During our road trip we stayed here for one night...An alright place for one night,rooms big and decently clean,easy check in,parking,great location to drive out in the morning...Nothing special,just alright for the night
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Responded Oct 28, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found everything to be in order and that you found the rooms to be spacious and clean. It's also nice to hear that you liked our location. We hope you had a comfortable stay. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in the area. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementMorro Shores Inn & Suites
King Standard Bedroom
The king bed
Rusty toilet fixture - filthy floor
Dust and dirt on top of headboard railing
Light fixture in Bathroom
PreviousNext
123456
"There are rooms which look out on a park instead of the highway"
"Go check out the places closer to town first."
"Don't accept room/suite 114!"
"Rates were showing a normal rate of $80-$250 a night depending on which room you reserve."
"Big rooms family friendly"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
morro shores hotel morro baymorro shores inn and suites
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMorro Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing