Stargazer Inn and Suites

Stargazer Inn and Suites

Traveler (90)
Room & Suite (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#37 of 58 hotels in Monterey
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.9
Value
4.0
Stargazer Inn & Suites is part of the Monterey Signature Collection of accommodations. Situated in the center of Monterey's historic downtown,Stargazer Inn & Suites is a newly renovated, smoke-free hotel in one of California's most picturesque coastal communities. Monterey is the gateway to Big Sur, Carmel and other vacation spots, making the Stargazer Inn & Suites an ideal hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike. Our rooms feature bedding and bath collections for ultimate comfort. In addition to 40" flat screen TVs, our guests have access to complimentary high-speed wireless internet. Last but not least, we offer an indoor heated pool and spa facility.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Hot tub
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1046 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4513
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Monterey Peninsula Airport
641Reviews3Q+A86Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 196
  • 209
  • 124
  • 53
  • 59
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Camda wrote a review Nov 2022
Wellington, New Zealand881 contributions454 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Easy 20 minute walk to downtown Monterey and Fisherman’s Wharf. Big complex but quiet enough. We had a 2 bedroom unit upstairs (no elevators) with a small balcony. Spacious unit and recently remodelled. Very clean. Indoor pool warm and nice hot tub. Complimentary coffee and hot chocolate from Starbucks machine in the lobby. On site laundry at $3 per wash and $3 per dry
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian E wrote a review Nov 2021
Fort Atkinson, United States2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were not sure what we would find as the choice was based on price and reviews. The one item that sold us on trying it was that from the reviews there appeared to be a willingness to try to do better when there was an issue.

While the hotel is an older hotel, improvements have been made on the inside of the rooms. Our room was very spacious. The outside of the hotel and indoor pool is older, but it is still maintained very well.

The hotel is very convenient to things to do in Monterey and is very well priced. We will probably stay here again next spring.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Stargazer Inn and Suites
Responded Nov 10, 2021
Dear Briane, Thank you for the positive rating. We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay so much. We appreciate you telling us that you found the accommodation pleasant. We are happy to read that you will revisit us, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future. Best regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kent H wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I found this hotel while looking for a place close to my father's senior community for myself, my brother and his wife. The one bedroom suite layout worked perfectly having a queen bed in the bedroom, and a queen bed in the main room for me. The bathroom access gave privacy to both rooms. All the staff, from the office to the cleaning people, were very kind and accommodating. During a stressful and emotional trip, it was nice to have no issues to deal with at a hotel. Everything worked. Though it is an older building, our room had been updated recently (although the furniture didn't seem very new). But the beds were comfortable. The microwave was small but powerful. And the refrigerator was on when we got there! So nice not to have to turn on a mini fridge and wait for it to cool down when you have something to refrigerate. If you're not looking for absolute perfection, and you're okay with a few quarks, it's a great place and with a balcony one can see the ocean from, if you look over some of the buildings closer by. I'll be going back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Stargazer Inn and Suites
Responded May 19, 2021
Hey there, We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests in relation to their stays with us, and we are delighted with your rating and comments - thank you very much. We are glad that you found our accommodation pleasant and the staff helpful. We also hope everything was in order and you had easy access to your essentials. We are happy to read that you will revisit us, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future. Best regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jim r wrote a review Jan 2020
Farnham, United Kingdom111 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stargazer Inn and Suites is an ideal location as a 10 minute walk into the city centre and less than a $10 dollar taxi ride into all the restaurants in Cannery Row. We had booked a one bedroom suite that is actually 2 separate bedrooms and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. Warm and friendly staff on hand to help plus a pool and spa to relax in. One small downside is that there is no on site breakfast but plenty of local eating establishments nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Stargazer Inn and Suites
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear Jim, hanks for your review and we appreciate you giving prospective guests relevant information about our location and proximity to restaurants. We are also glad that you were very satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We hope everything was in order and that you had a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James S wrote a review Aug 2020
Atwater2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely under any circumstances would I even consider staying here if it was the last place in town with a room. I’d sleep on the sidewalk which it sounds like another review has stated. Also experiencing unhelpful staff. Dirty rooms that are now being claimed that there was nothing wrong with the first room. Then why the hell would you switch us rooms?! After going back and forth with the hotel and hotels.com still haven’t received a refund after only being on the property for an hour tops with a room switch and a completely different hotel switch.

Front desk staff when switching rooms said she needed to give the room to someone else without cleaning it as long as we didn’t use the toilet. Therefor leads me to believe that the rooms were not properly cleaned in the first place and probably not cleaned after.

If you care anything about your health and family safety book somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany B wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon checking in, the staff was wonderful, the location was great and the layout seemed secure. We noticed our room was nothing like the photos on the website. No carpet, damaged dresser, shampoo & conditioner bottles that were used by multiple visitors before us, holes in the wall, and unfinished trim at the top of the wall. We requested an extra pillow, as I am a nursing mother of a newborn and we were told extra pillows were not available. Everything seemed pretty clean, until my husband went to the pool. We were told the pool was heated. It absolutely is not. The hot tub was so filthy that it smelt terrible, there was a thick layer of grime and dirty foam, and the water was so murky that you could not see the bottom. Also, the room was so narrow that I did not have a nightstand because there was not room between the bed and bathroom door. Poor design. We are very disappointed and will not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Stargazer Inn and Suites
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Hey L9466KEtiffanyb, We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at our hotel. It certainly does not sound as if you had the experience that we strive to provide for our guests, and we sincerely apologize if our hospitality and attention to detail left something to be desired in this case - this is very unlike us. We take guest feedback very seriously, and we will endeavor to find out what specifically arose and see to it that it doesn't happen again. We hope this aspect of your visit will not deter you from staying with us again. We look forward to a chance to redeem ourselves with you and restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Best regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis M wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been going to this hotel since my kids were young. It’s the one of the only hotels that have an indoor pool so if you have kids this is the place to go. The pool closes pretty late so after dinner take the kids swimming for an hour and guarantee when they get back in their rooms and after a quick shower they’ll be sound asleep until the next morning.

The hotel is also 2 min away from Del Monte Shopping mall which has all the normal stores for teenagers, movie theater, restaurants, a pharmacy and Whole Foods. But make sure you check out Paris Bakery for some fresh bread/pastries which is just down the street.

Enjoy and have fun!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Road717905 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you still decide to stay here make sure you fully examined the room fully. The next day we opened the blinds and they were broken. we got charged $100 which i'm sure those blinds do not cost near $100. Supposedly the cleaning lady checked them the day before which was a lie! It was also very dirty, we got to our hotel on Saturday at 3 pm to beer cans outside someone's hotel. Not a very pleasant site to see as you're first walking into your hotel at 3 pm. We went to the warf later in the evening and came back to so many people outside smoking weed like there was some type of party going on. Do not bring your kids here because it is not kid friendly at all. I did not feel comfortable coming home let alone going to my car if i forgot something.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Stargazer Inn and Suites
Responded Mar 23, 2021
Hey there, We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at our hotel. It certainly does not sound as if you had the experience that we strive to provide for our guests, and we sincerely apologize if our hospitality and attention to detail left something to be desired in this case - this is very unlike us. We take guest feedback very seriously, and we will endeavor to find out what specifically arose and see to it that it doesn't happen again. We hope this aspect of your visit will not deter you from staying with us again. We look forward to a chance to redeem ourselves with you and restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Best regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eusnna wrote a review Jun 2021
pleasant hill ca87 contributions60 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very hardworking cleaning crew. Comfortable bed and nice bedding. Our double queen room was basically two bedrooms, so have a door between them cut down on noise (possible snoring and TV) and provided privacy.
Room was updated nicely BUT the furniture was a little banged up. What turned me off was the really stained seats of the chairs at the table. Just recover them! Also the was a pair of men's underwear on the ground outside of the balcony. If each room has a balcony, maybe someone could clean up the debris back there from time to time
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Stargazer Inn and Suites
Responded Jun 3, 2021
Hey Eusnna, Thank you for your review of the recent stay with us. We are sensing some mixed sentiments in your review which is a perfect measure of the kind of hospitality that we're providing and the necessary improvements which still need to be introduced from our side. There's nothing called a perfect hotel experience if the guests do not take to this platform to voice their opinion with extreme honesty. We thank you for sharing your concerns with us along with the positives. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Again, we assure you that we'll look into these areas and take the necessary corrective action. We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you the best of our services in the future! Best regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindsey B wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great experience staying at StarGazer for 7 consecutive nights in Oct 2020. The queen balcony suite was just the right size for our family with the amenities we needed and used. The rooms were clean and housekeeping was prompt, thorough, and friendly. We ended up having to cut our reservations short by a day and StarGazer had no problem processing us and refunding the amount for the last night. Great experience- we would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Lyn J
Madison, Wisconsin41 contributions5 helpful votes
I thought it was a pretty nice pool -- larger, warmer and deeper than most. The entry is kind of funky (you'll see what I mean if and when you get there), and you do have to enter the pool area from outside, and get towels from the office. Not only is there no continental breakfast -- there also is very little nearby in the way of restaurants, except Jack-in-the-Box. Monterey in general is pretty hard to navigate.
Answer from Olga K
San Francisco, California182 contributions31 helpful votes
No, this hotel does not serve breakfast but there are plenty places around plus there is a fridge and microwave in the room so you can bring some from home.
shari u asked a question Jun 2015
Hollister, California
Hello, what hour is the pool/hot tub open until? thanks
Answer from TRASERDESIGNINC
California77 contributions13 helpful votes
I believe 10 or 11pm. both are indoors
artbird wrote a tip Dec 2023
Portland, Maine4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring earplugs if you are sensitive to noise. And if you stay in the rooms above the pool, expect to hear everything during pool hours."
Read full review
J K wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Inexpensive and smallish rooms, but clean and comfortable beds and pillows, perfect for a night's rest while you are traveling or visiting."
Read full review
helgap wrote a tip Dec 2022
Perth, Australia127 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hire bikes if you want to visit town as parking in Monterey can be quite expensive."
Read full review
Shawn wrote a tip Dec 2022
Berkeley, California4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No elevator & limited parking"
Read full review
Kimthuy L wrote a tip Oct 2019
Da Nang, Vietnam1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Overall it’s a very nice room ,and good location, reasonable price, only it gets noisy in the morning "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Monterey area.
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clarion hotel monterey, clarion monterey, monterey clarion
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STARGAZER INN AND SUITES $140 ($̶1̶5̶8̶) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Stargazer Inn and Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Stargazer Inn and Suites?
Nearby attractions include Dennis the Menace Park (0.7 miles), San Carlos Cathedral (0.4 miles), and Colton Hall Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Stargazer Inn and Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Stargazer Inn and Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Stargazer Inn and Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stargazer Inn and Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paris Bakery Cafe, Montrio, and Estéban Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stargazer Inn and Suites?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Stargazer Inn and Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Monterey.
Are there any historical sites close to Stargazer Inn and Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tor House (4.0 miles), Cannery Row (1.7 miles), and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (1.8 miles).
Is Stargazer Inn and Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Monterey HotelsMonterey Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MontereyHotels near Stargazer Inn and Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars