We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Stevenson Monterey

Show Prices
#25 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Stevenson Monterey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 442: English reviews
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ideal position for walking to Montereys attractions. Our room was spacious, very clean with good space for luggage storage. Hair dryer was missing and as soon as I mentioned it to reception one arrived within a couple of minutes. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. A free Continental breakfast was available each morning and free Wi Fi too.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review. You were comfortable, thought the property was clean and the staff friendly. You also liked the breakfast and seasonal pool. We will see you on your return visit to scenic Monterey. More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spacious clean room,great shower,ldeal position for downtown Monterey. Four of us stayed for 6nights,and had a fantastic time, and it's even got a small swimming pool.Reception very helpful with whale watching,and aquarium trips.

Helpful?
Thank Nick T
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We appreciate that you liked the spacious room, great shower and ideal location for downtown Monterey, You had a fantastic time and reception was very helpful. Come back again soon to scenic Monterey. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2 basic things i require in a hotel/motel - it is clean and it does not smell. This place was Dirty! And had a funky smell. The only reason it got a 2 star is b/c it provided breakfast for free. They should spend less time constantly painting the outside to make it look good & invest money in cleaning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vspprllot
Craig S, Manager at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Since we do not know your last name, we have no way of knowing which room you stayed in in order to address any concerns. That is the way Trip Advisor is set up. You are allowed to give minimal information. We apologize that you did not have the normal experience our guests have. Our... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old motel that has been well-maintained over its many years. Our room seemed to have been recently updated and had comfortable beds and a pleasant decor. The facility is clean and offers free parking. It's about a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and only a few minutes further to Cannery Row, so the location can't be... More 

Helpful?
Thank DenverWineGeek
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review. We do appreciate your comments.Thank you for recommending us and coming back soon. More 

Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before I booked a hotel for a one-night stay in Monterey I noticed that the prices of the hotels were all fairly expensive. The pictures of this hotel/motel looked pretty good and the cost was low ($276/night) compared to other hotels. This hotel is nothing more than a cheap motel near busy streets and a gas station. Room was marginally... More 

Helpful?
Thank bjsteadman
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Sorry we did not meet all your expectations. Please try us again on your hext visit to scenic Monterey. More 

Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love staying at this hotel. My fiancé is stationed in Monterey and I have made many trips up. I have stayed here 3 times this summer and the owner is so sweet and so is the staff. Reasonably priced, great location, clean and comfortable, plus free breakfast! The bathrooms seem like they were just remodeled, shower is great! Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank TayMad6
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank for being a repeat guest first and thank you for your review. You like our staff, reasonable price, great location, our cleanliness and how comfortable it is. We will see you on your next visit. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location close to Fisherman's Wharf in Monterey. Hotel was clean and perfect for one night. Bathroom was modern and the walk in shower was great. Breakfast was served in the tiny lobby - we thought it was quite funny. Food was a decent start to the day.

Helpful?
Thank missrfg
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

"Great hotel" makes for a great 4 star review. Thank you for mentioning that we were in a good location, clean and perfect along with a modern bathroom. You like the breakfast too. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The check-in was smooth and front desk agent very friendly upon arrival. Room (3rd floor) was dated, duvet was tucked in between two sheets and it didn't look/smell like the duvet had been washed so we took it out. Bathroom was OK, a bit small, but shower looked fairly new. Noise from the street was very loud, and there is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thedane1
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes we are a very central, 51 unit property. Sorry we did not meet your expectation level. Our beds are triple-sheeted (200m sheets) with a blanket and we do not use a duvet. The redesigned bathrooms are about a year old. We are an exterior corridor property in downtown Monterey and we do have double-paned... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a few nights during the week of the Pebble Beach Concourse d'Elegance. Talk about being overpriced and noisy. Firstly, there was so much noise coming from motor cars and bus traffic literally outside the front door of my room, i just couldn't get to sleep and then when I had nodded off I was woken up... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Herzman
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at this place are great. Funny and pleasant. The same cannot be said for the premises. The building is very old and may have been built in the 50s has the appearance of these old Aussie motels of old that thankfully have been knocked over... I cannot believe that such an old building is still in operation The... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank John A
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have a good sense of humor. We are surprised you would stay with us for 7 days and not ask for a room change or to just simply change hotels. Again this rate was well below the going rate in downtown. Your negative comments are your perception and our other reviews do not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,882 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#28 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Price Range: $81 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay