We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$299
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$299
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
FindHotel
$263
View deal
Hotels.com$299
Priceline$299
Traveluro$304
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1032)
Room & Suite (257)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/17/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Spindrift Inn
Updated 12/17/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Business Center with Internet Access
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
2199Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,592
  • 400
  • 106
  • 66
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
evansvuk wrote a review Sep 2022
Horsham, Pennsylvania292 contributions112 helpful votes
I cannot say enough about the high level of service at this hotel. From the moment of arrival, the staff was friendly and answered all of our questions. The valet, front desk, and housekeeping staff were super pleasant and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The rooms were a nice size and very comfortable. The window seats were a great place to sip a cup of coffee and watch the sunrise. Breakfast tray in the morning was simple but sufficient. Nice way to start the day. WIFI was easy to access and worked well. The location of this hotel can't be beat. Steps away from the Aquarium, restaurants, shops, and of course the beach. Evening wine reception was nice touch. I will say that the decor is a little dated and could use a refresh. However, it did not detract from the pleasantness of our stay. One thing to note - parking is valet. $32/day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Request an end room facing Cannery Row and you get an ocean view too!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alexandra A wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
The Spindrift Inn is just magnificent! I was there to celebrate my birthday and my retirement and wanted a nice place. I had originally booked another hotel and it was so bad that at 1:30 a.m. my first night, I was looking for another place to spend the other two days I was to be there. I called the Spindrift and told my sad tale. The wonderful manager offered to send someone to pick me up right then and there and I said ok!!! When I arrived, the fireplace was going (the other hotel had a sign next to the fireplace that said, "Light at your own risk"!), and I had plenty of ice (at the other hotel, there was no ice machine on my floor and the one they sent me to on the second floor was out of order). The hotel is immaculate and very well maintained and everyone is very nice, everyone. I didn't have to do anything...whatever I needed, just notify the front desk and they would take care of it. My room had a full on view of the bay...waves crashing, birds and sealife in plain view, sail boats and all the blue water you could want to see. The sound of the waves were perfect to sleep to. My room had a lovely window seat to sit and watch as much or as little as I wanted. It's conveniently located right on Cannery Row and all the shops and dining spots are in walking distance and the Monterey Bay Aquarium is down at the end of the street. I think it was the best vacation I ever had. I would absolutely stay again without hesitation. They've ruined me for all other hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Hi Alex, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We are so delighted to hear we were able to assist and provide you with the best accommodations for your first visit to Monterey. We're also, happy to know we made your birthday and retirement a special time for you. We appreciate feedback such as yours and will share this with our staff. We look forward welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ASHLY H wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
I am almost hesitant to write a review as I don’t want to let the secret out… plus I hardly ever write reviews! But… this one is worthy of writing!!! This was the perfect hotel for me and my family. It was clean, adorable and the service was exceptional. I am very hard to please and this hotel definitely exceeded my expectations! We’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nancy J wrote a review Jul 2022
Annapolis, Maryland1 contribution
I was very disappointed in our stay. Although this hotel is located in a great location & the staff was very welcoming and friendly, it is poorly maintained. I understand an older property being a bit worn but this place definitely needs an upgrade. Additionally, we had dirty towels, dirty coffee cups with continental breakfast, the sauna did not work, the TV would not change channels (maintenance came in but said there was nothing they could do to fix it), AND there is a doorstop right in the center when stepping out of the bathtub which I stubbed my toe on and had to put a "cone" over it to avoid another stub. When checking out, we brought this to the attention of the manage, who gave us $100 off the stay which I thought was lame. Should have at least given us one night free. I would love to discuss this with the general manager or someone who can do something about my bill but there is no contact information.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Hello, We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We were all disappointed to hear your most recent stay was not what you had expected. Rest assured, the challenges you mentioned have been shared with our team, which helps us evaluate our product and services offered to enhance the guests' experience. We would like to learn more about your experience; please contact our Hotel Manager at 831-646-8900. We are pleased to let you know that we will be going through extensive guestroom enhancements soon, which will enrich the overall look and feel of the Spindrift Inn. We hope we have more to announce in the future, as well as have the opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more enjoyable stay. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zhen5 wrote a review Jul 2022
San Leandro, California32 contributions56 helpful votes
Sitting on a comfortable window seat with the window open, viewing the bay, and listening to the waves was very relaxing. I didn’t want to leave the room. Big beautiful bed with firm mattress and firm pillows. Big TV over gas fireplace. Bathrobes, ironing board, safe, and a standup A/C available to pull out, if needed, from the wardrobe. Keurig coffeemaker. Small fridge. 2 water bottles. Plenty of electrical outlets. Location on Cannery Row is easy walk to dining places, shops, and just strolling along promenades and paths past the aquarium.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a room with the bay view. Be patient with the slow elevator. Be patient with elevator. ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Hi Zhen, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear you had a relaxing and pleasant time staying with us and enjoyed our location and the amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Monterey. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toona wrote a review Jul 2022
Berkeley, California3 contributions5 helpful votes
Booked one night stay here for a King Bed Ocean View room. Our friends booked the same room type but our rooms were completely different. Their room was on the 3rd floor and was gorgeous — exactly what was displayed on the website photos (except the bathtub was weirdly small but whatever). OUR room was on the 1st floor next to the check in area and right above the public beach access, so noise was an issue. The biggest disappointment was that the room layout seemed smaller/cramped and the overall aesthetic was ugly and outdated. It’s so unfair to book a king bed ocean view room and get something completely different than what’s shown in the photos. Furthermore our room wasn’t even ready when we arrived within the check in time window so we had to wait in our friends’ nicer room until they were ready for us. Guess I was doomed from the start.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don’t get a room on the first floor!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Hello, Thank you for the review and comments. We do our best to accommodate all guests and have rooms ready in a timely manner. We were all disappointed to hear your most recent stay was not what you had expected. Rest assured, the challenges you mentioned are important to us, and we will share this with our team. We hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the future, and we have the opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Will B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Wanted to provide feedback on my reason to not stay eventually at Spindrift Inn. FYI - I’ve stayed at Spindrift on two other occasions. On each of those previous vacations I had no expectations and that could be part of the problem. My 2013 and 2014 my Spindrift stays were one of my top experiences as a traveler. On this stay, I was there with my girlfriend for her birthday. I called two weeks before to gather suggested restaurants and things to do around Monterey this time of year and had an engaging conversation with the front desk clerk. On the morning of our visit, I had a very early photography shoot at Yosemite. On our drive we received a welcome text from Spindrift, a nice touch. We called soon after at 11am to inform the hotel that we would be in town early, ~around 2pm and inquire about possible early check-in and did not receive a definitive answer from the hotel. As we arrived Spindrift, 2:30pm, we began check in and were informed the room was not ready. I informed the receptionist that we’d had a long drive and would appreciate being placed in a room sooner than later. We sat and watched 3 other guests go through intake and receive rooms. At 3:40 I asked to speak to a manager and told her I was disappointed in the customer service and asked if we could cancel our stay to which she said yes. As we were seated another receptionist unaware of the conversation handed me room keys without any of the engagement we witnessed for the other guests. I had expectations on this visit associated with my girlfriend’s birthday and the room selection. Needless to say our expectations were not met and we decided to stay at the Monterey Plaza where we were greeted with a glass of wine, bottle of wine to take with us and a complimentary upgrade to a room with an ocean view balcony. As a retired veteran and IT professional I am blessed with the opportunity to travel and even on this trip stayed in 4 hotels over 12 days, some more expensive, so less all while being unable to discern the quality of customer service extended compared to the cost of the hotel. Spindrift Inn fell short of any travel experience I’ve had in years.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Hi Will, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you have stayed with us in the past and continued to choose our hotel for your most recent visit; however, we were all disappointed to hear it was not what you had expected. We apologize for the issues and miscommunication you experienced. We do our best to accommodate early check-ins as rooms become available, and our staff does their best to have the rooms ready in a timely manner. Due to high occupancy, some guestrooms may take longer than others. Rest assured, the challenges you mentioned are important to us and will be shared with our team. We certainly hope you allow us another opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Monterey to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more enjoyable time like you have experienced in previous stays. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
li_walk wrote a review Jun 2022
294 contributions134 helpful votes
While this hotel is located in a great spot & the staff is very welcoming and friendly, it just felt poorly maintained. I understand an older property being a bit worn & while our room was surely beautiful in its day, there were faded fabrics, paint touch-ups that left paint on the toilet, shower grime, etc. Doors don’t really seal so you can hear every sound from the hallway & the toiletries in the bathroom had stains (almost looked like spilled coffee) on them to the point we didn’t use any. While we weren’t in the room much other than to sleep, for the price, it would be nice to see some basic upkeep and care. It was nice to have the windows open and the great breeze at night. While this didn’t bother us at all (in fact, we enjoyed it), be aware that if you’re on the Cannery Row side, you’ll hear the bands play until about 11pm at the Salty Seal.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and bringing this to our attention. We are currently going through an extensive guestroom renovation that will include all new paint, floor refinishing, new chairs, and all fabrics, which will enhance the overall look and feel of the Spindrift Inn. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with our Maintenance team. We are glad to hear our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our location. We hope to have more to announce soon, as well as have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more enjoyable stay. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GracieT wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco, California96 contributions90 helpful votes
You cannot beat the location. Especially if you want to be right on the water. Lovely and clean room, with all the amenities you could need. Not a modern chain hotel room. The Oceanside rooms are very peaceful, we only heard crashing waves at night. I love that the windows open, not always the case. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Continental breakfast is delivered to your room.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded May 12, 2022
Hi Gracie, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear our staff was very helpful and that you had a lovely and great time staying with us and enjoyed our location and the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Monterey. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SnapDragonfly wrote a review Mar 2022
Campo, CA246 contributions102 helpful votes
This one is hard because I love the location and our room is wonderful but… Check in is 4pm. As we were going to arrive early, we spent additional time driving in but when we arrived at 3:50, we were told that our room wasn’t ready and they couldn’t tell us when it would be. I asked if it would t be ready by our 4pm check in time and was told that it wouldn’t be:-(. Because they only clean the rooms every 3 days of your stay, they don’t have the housekeeping staff to keep up during busy times (spring break). There isn’t really any place to park so you have to use their valet service for “only” $32 a day. Ugh. They took our car before we even were assigned our room. Our room was finally available at 5pm but I had paid for a room with 2 queen size beds and the one they assigned us was a king:-(. I called to ask to be moved to the room I paid for but was told they were sold out of those rooms and as I paid with CC points, I could complain to them:-( But…the staff were apologetic and understanding of my impatience, the room is nice, the view is amazing, the fireplace is a nice touch and there is a window seat to watch the waves from. Plus, we saw sea otters with the provided binoculars:-). The free breakfast delivered to the room was nice. So, would I come back? But I would call to confirm the accommodations after booking through a 3rd party and again at least a week before the arrival date. I might also call ahead to see if they’re in time for check ins.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be prepared to pay $32/day for valet parking as free street parking is at a premium and a bit of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Hello, Thank you for the review and comments. We apologize for the issues you experienced and that a room was not ready upon your arrival. Our staff does their best to assist and have rooms ready in a timely manner and we are sorry for the inconvenience it had caused. We are glad to know you enjoyed the amazing views, fireplace, window seat, and breakfast. We truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Monterey to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$253 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
spindrift hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spindrift Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Spindrift Inn?
Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.2 miles), Monterey Bay (0.2 miles), and The Cannery Row Monument (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Spindrift Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Spindrift Inn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Spindrift Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Spindrift Inn?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Spindrift Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wave Street Cafe, Bistro Moulin, and Crystal Fish.
Are there any historical sites close to Spindrift Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cannery Row (0.05 miles), Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (0.1 miles), and Perry House (0.9 miles).
Does Spindrift Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Spindrift Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.