We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Save 10% on your stay!
Expedia.com
Booking.com
eDreams
$241
$184
View Deal
SAVE $57
Free cancellation until 02/14/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
StayForLong$241
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (999)
Room & Suite (557)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Spindrift Inn
Updated 07/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available.
Read more
Room & Suite (557)557
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Hotel links
Special Price:Save 10% on your stay!
2,178Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,581
  • 396
  • 104
  • 65
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Review2XS wrote a review Dec 2020
Phoenix, Arizona113 contributions120 helpful votes
+1
Spindrift Inn 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021 This is a very quaint older hotel located on Cannery Row. Yes, the same Cannery row that is the title of a John Steinbeck book. It sits right on the ocean. I will start as I do with all my reviews. I do this to assist the travelers to make good choices with all the information possible. I also want to share the information with the owners and managers of the places reviewed so that they can run the best business possible. To start with they were beginning a remodel as we were leaving. They are taking advantage of the Covid closure and said they were remodeling. I know that the last night we stayed we saw them hauling out the old mattresses. We were also told that the beds were being replaced. I honestly slept like a baby but would love to see the curtains over the bed go away. The Spindrift Inn is old and dated. My wife called it quaint and slightly aged. She also referred to it as European and Victorian. I am confused about which of those are accurate, but we both agreed that it is in desperate need of updating and cleaning. Remember I am very picky about hotels. The first thing I noticed was that the room is small, and it was musty. Next were the dirty floors and the Victorian style things (curtains) hanging above the bed. Musty I figure is because it sits on the ocean and I have some grace for that. If you want a good ocean view you will have to pay for it. The front desk refused an upgrade because I was a “long Term” stay (6 nights). They did give me a corner room on the 3rd floor. It had a partial ocean view which was very partial but a true statement. I did get to leave the window open and hear the ocean at night. It was very nice. Most of the windows are painted shut, but there was a nice window seat. I wont waste too much time with the curtains over the bed because they are removing them. Smart move. I even tried to kill a spider that just found its way back into the curtains hanging above my head at night. Yuck! The Hardwood Floors are beautiful but need to be refinished. They were scuffed and very dirty. The room over all just needs a fresh coat of paint and a good cleaning. There were two nice chairs and a footrest, but again they were completely filthy. There is a gas fireplace that was a great touch and nice to sit by in the evening. Oh, before I forget…The management has to do something with the heater controls! It was confusing! We had a good laugh when it came off the wall and the batteries flew out, but it was frustrating to say the least. It is also programmable. The programable part is horrible as someone set this thing to heat when I did not want it too and freeze us out the rest of the time. You need to put in a simple thermostat switch. I do not believe that there is air conditioning since it sits on the ocean. I would like to see all of the windows fixed so that they open and I could get a nice breeze flowing threw the room. The continental breakfast was delivered daily and wonderful. The lady that delivered it was so sweet early in the morning and the food was very fresh. During our stay we had fresh fruit, toast, coffee, juice, hard boiled eggs, and cheese. All the food was fresh and delivered right on time. We filled out a card and hung on the door each night. There was not daily room cleaning due to Covid restrictions, but they gave me a trash bag and towels every couple of days. They told me to leave the trash outside the door and they were very good about keeping the halls cleared of food trays and trash. The staff at the Spindrift Inn are very friendly and accommodated any of our needs. I even had my son come to the hotel and they were gracious enough to park his truck for the hour he was visiting. There is a valet only parking and there is a pretty high charge for that daily. Make sure you account for that in the total room fees. There is a fridge that is very small and no microwave! Overall, the hotel is in a great location, has great staff, and it appears they are going to clean and remodel. I will be back to see how it turns out. I would recommend asking for a remodeled room and pay for the ocean view. I hope that they paint the whole place and refinish the floors. We also ate at the attached restaurant Lalla Oceanside Grill and it was great. I will review that separately. Here are my ratings. Remember 5 is the best. Location 5 stars, Cleanliness 3 stars, Friendly Staff 5 stars, Breakfast 4 stars, Value for the price 4 stars, overall rating 4 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Pay for an Ocean View on a higher floor and possibly a remodeled room. Rooms with the Ocean View...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for the review and comments, we will share this feedback with our team. We are happy to announce we have several projects in progress: we are painting the exterior of the hotel, new mattress sets have been ordered and will be installed, and we are converting the wood burning fireplaces to gas. Also, we are working on a model room to include: all new paint, floor refinishing, new chairs, and all fabrics, which will enhance the overall look and feel of the Spindrift Inn. These projects are scheduled to be done by the end of the year. We are glad to hear you had an overall great time staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
Samar H wrote a review Jun 2020
Petaluma, California3 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
Amazing!! We loved our stay here. The room was beautiful, clean and very romantic. We were pleasantly surprised that there was a sauna in our room. The balcony is lovely and the fireplace made it that much more gorgeous. This was one of our favorite stays at a any hotel!! I highly recommend this hotel and we be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Jun 29, 2020
Hi Samarhattar, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear you had an amazing stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Sincerely, Management of Inns of Monterey
Read more
AlanP wrote a review Dec 2020
San Diego, California3 contributions3 helpful votes
I've stayed here several times now and it is always a great experience. It's historic but not an old feeling hotel. Very well maintained, classic place. I've had both Cannery Row and bay views and neither disappoints. It's located in the hear of the row, and still only a 5-10 minute walk to downtown. The staff is amazingly attentive. The pandemic has not impacted the great service in any way. Overall one of my favorite getaways.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: 4th floor, oceanview was great. Sounds of the ocean with great sunrise viewing. Fireplaces in the...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Dec 7, 2020
Hello, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're glad to hear you have continued to stay with us over the years and that we are one your favorite getaways and always have a great experience each time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
Karen N wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
Just a few negatives first: I had expectation of a fancy schmancy room because of the photos on the website. The room has seen better days. The furniture is a bit beat up. This is just nit picky on my part, but the photo showed the room having an area rug in front of the fireplace, and my room didn't, so it lacked the visual warmth from the photos. Second negative is that there's no heating in the bathroom. On a December morning, it was a bit cold for a shower so I waited till I got home. Those two things aside, I love this place. They really do got out of their way to please you. I had mentioned to the person at the front desk that I was a little disappointed by the appearance of the room, and was offered a bottle of wine of my choice! I also made a few requests with my breakfast (still warm toast, if possible, an extra egg, and different fruit, also if possible, all of which they did!) Nothing beats waking up and seeing the sunrise over the ocean. Or the moon set on the ocean. I had my breakfast in front of the fireplace. The location is great, the service is fabulous, and the Ocean View King is spectacular. I will be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The fourth floor has the best views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Dec 7, 2020
Hi Karenna, Thank you for the review and comments, we will share this feedback with our team. We apologize for the issues you experienced, we strive to provide each of our guests with a comfortable stay. We are happy to announce we have several projects in progress: we are painting the exterior of the hotel, new mattress sets have been ordered and will be installed, and we are converting the wood burning fireplaces to gas. Also, we are working on a model room to include: all new paint, floor refinishing, new chairs, and all fabrics, which will enhance the overall look and feel of the Spindrift Inn. These projects are scheduled to be done by the end of the year. We are glad to hear you had an overall lovely and fabulous time staying with us and happy to know our Front Desk was very helpful during your stay. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
Don wrote a review Nov 2020
13 contributions
+1
Stayed at the Spindrift Inn to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we discovered the room looked exactly like the photos online needless to say we were very pleased and the Spindrift gifted us a bottle of wine. The views from our room were perfect and the wood burning fireplace was enjoyed. Breakfast was delivered daily at the time requested on a silver platter with a friendly greeting. Check in was a breeze and the bell man helped us with our luggage. The room was charming with mid century decor and the bed was super comfy. We stayed on the fourth floor in an ocean view king. With Monterey county in the purple covid tier we spent a lot in time in the room enjoying the view and the relaxing fireplace. Housekeeping due to covid is limited however, they accommodate requests. We noticed the morning we left to renew our vows they had gone into our room and tidied up and gave us fresh towels without us asking. That was a nice touch Spindrift Inn. The front desk was always friendly and helpful and the bell men were always ready to offer a helping hand. We stayed three days and wished we stayed longer. We definitely recommend the Spindrift and look forward to staying with them again. Preferably after Covid. During our stay we ordered room service from the Lalla Oceanside grill. The food was delicious and worth the price. We had Fettuccine Alfredo with blacken chicken and the Italian brick chicken. Photo of our food included.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Spindrift Inn
Responded Nov 12, 2020
Hello, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear you a perfect and charming time staying with us while celebrating your 30th wedding anniversary. We're also happy to hear our staff was very accommodating and helpful during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
spindrift hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spindrift Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Spindrift Inn?
Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.2 miles), Monterey Bay (0.2 miles), and The Cannery Row Monument (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Spindrift Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Spindrift Inn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Spindrift Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Spindrift Inn?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Spindrift Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Moulin, Wave Street Cafe, and Hula's Island Grill.
Are there any historical sites close to Spindrift Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cannery Row (0.05 miles), Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (0.1 miles), and Stevenson House (1.3 miles).
Does Spindrift Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Spindrift Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.