We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
300 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2418
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Travelocity
Only 3 left at
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Tripadvisor$149
eDreams
ZenHotels.com$190
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (326)
360
Panoramas (56)
Room & Suite (255)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Pacific
Updated 10/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding and unique vacation packages, Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Windsurfing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking garage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Fishing
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1335Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 575
  • 423
  • 194
  • 93
  • 51
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
rvineyards wrote a review Yesterday
The room was comfortable and relaxing. Absolutely loved it!! I will return soon with my husband and explore Monterey. This trip was too short, but nonetheless, the room was great. Bed was comfortable. Loved the tub or shower option and the little coffee pot and coffee pack in the room was perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KMM wrote a review Sep 25
Nashville, TN4 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights recently and to say this place was a disappointment, is an understatement. We usually stay at the Portola, but decided to take a chance on this place and regret it. Upon being in the room 30 seconds, I wanted to leave. The rooms look great online, but after the filters are off and you're looking at them in real life, they leave a lot to be desired. The drain in the tub was dirty and rusty with hair in it, there was a rusty bottle opener in our room, and it just wasn't as clean as I would like a hotel room. Water was not complimentary, there was a printed off sign on the mini fridge stating the Diet Coke and water in the fridge was $2,00. Um, ok. Then there was the noise. Constant slamming of doors and there were people loudly talking at all hours. Finally, the complimentary continental breakfast was just sad and I was embarrassed for the hotel for presenting this as something they were proud to serve. For the amount of $$$ we paid per night, expectations were much higher. This place missed the mark and we will know for future reference!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Your comments and feedback are a very important part of our efforts to make improvements and changes to our hotel and the service and accommodations that we offer. I would like to apologize personally for the dissatisfaction that was experienced during your stay regarding the cleanliness of your room. Your comments and concerns will certainly be addressed and shared with our staff and used to help retrain our staff and ensure that this type of issue does not reoccur. Thank you again for your time, feedback, and business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann B wrote a review Sep 24
1 contribution
This morning I woke up at 4:00am to something that sounded like rain. Thinking that I had left the bathroom faucet running, I got up only to find that in the toilet area, water was streaming down from the ceiling light fixture and fire sprinkler. I'm not a building inspector, but I'm certain that this is a building code violation. So, at 4:30am in the morning, I had the night manager come take a look at it and long story short, I got an upgraded room which is great. But, and here's the punchline, the new room is on the third floor and the elevator on that side of the building has been out of order everyday (4) that I've been at this hotel. So I had to use the elevator on the other side of the hotel so I could use the trolley for my luggage, I SO wanted to like this hotel. The rooms are actually quite nice and the location is great.. However, the poor maintenance makes make this property a NOPE! And this made my stay overall not a good value for money. At the time of this writing, I've been up since 4am packing and trying to find a place to store my perishable food. It is now 10am.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I truly apologize about the issues your have had with our property. It was a pleasure speaking with you about the incident regarding the leak to your room. My maintenance staff is currently working to repair the leak so this is not an issue going forward. I likewise apologize about the elevator and issues with moving to your new room. As discussed we are working with the elevator company to get this rectified. While the compensation I provided does not negate the issues, I am truly hoping that the refund along with the upgraded room shows our willingness to ensure our guests are having a pleasant stay. Thank you again for time, feedback, and business with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison H wrote a review Sep 23
Oakland, California7 contributions2 helpful votes
Reading other reviews for Hotel Pacific, I was very apprehensive about booking here. So much so in fact that I emailed the hotel to ask about the issues stated in the reviews before booking. I'm glad I read the reviews, but am even more happy that our stay was nice and pleasant. Pros: -Location: right in Downtown, very convenient Market across the street for easy access to drinks, deli, etc, very quick drive to Cannery Row -Price (unbeatable price relative to other hotels in the area) -Cute, charming rooms with character -Good room size (King Suite) -Balcony -Fridge/Microwave -Friendly staff Cons: -Some stains on some of the furniture give the impression of an unclean room--overall however, the room seemed clean and unlike some other reviews, there were no bugs or dirt (I wore light colored socks and did not have any dirt/residue on them from walking around in the room) -Elevator out of order for our stay -For some reason there was water gathered in front of our door (Rm 328) and soaked up into the doormat so we had to avoid that in order to not track water into the room -Minor issues: --TV power button did not work so we had to manually turn on/off TV with button on TV --No iron in the room, so had to call to get delivered --Sometimes would not get answer when calling front desk, but was easy enough to call back and get a response Our stay was not perfect, but overall, we had a really pleasant stay at Hotel Pacific and would likely return here for future trips to Monterey.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review. We really do strive to ensure each guest has a positive stay and it is always great when we receive notification from our guests that we have somewhat succeeded as well as areas we need to focus upon. Thank you for your business with us. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smartblonde68 wrote a review Sep 22
Texas243 contributions46 helpful votes
First of the staff is absolutely amazing! Check was a breeze and so friendly! Murphy & Brandon were awesome Our toilet was not working and the Maintance man was so sweet and fixed it. Big issue is this hotel has no AC! It’s 75 in our room and that’s with the doors open. Yes rates are cheap but even motel 6 has AC. Everything is dirty, they left a cracked wine glass in the room and the beds have the cheapest mattresses you can buy. I get that it does have a very low price point but they could really improve on things and for that I blame the owners.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for the time taken to respond to our survey, and to bring your concerns to my attention. I would like to extend my apologies for the experience that you had while staying with us. We always want every guest to enjoy a clean, comfortable, pleasant stay & room. Certainly, if any issues encountered at the time had been brought to our attention; one of our team members would have been happy to assist you in resolving any issues that had occurred. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for your time and business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy C wrote a review Sep 21
This was our first stay at the Hotel Pacific. We found the room very nicely appointed, clean and very spacious. The breakfast included was excellent. Good coffee and nice assortment of things to eat. This is a large complex, near downtown and Cannery Row. We were able to walk to most places. Because the hotel has different sectors/buildings, there were large patio areas which are quite lovely.. very hospitable feeling throughout. It some time, though, to figure the fastest walk to the lobby and breakfast room. It was also a bit challenging to back out of the parking spots as the width of our part of the garage was more narrow than the rest. It was a bit noisy, I think because of all the hard surfaces in the outdoor hallways and the modules create echo-like chambers. This was most apparent at night, when revelers returned to their rooms below us after midnight. We chose not to ask staff to intervene but we know they would have, if we had. We were impressed that this hotel was pet friendly, We considered bringing our dog but decided not to. Overall, we would definitely stay again to this charming, stately hacienda like place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your excellent review. We really do strive to ensure each guest has a positive stay and it is always great when we receive notification from our guests that we have succeeded. Thank you for your business with us. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
49erdro wrote a review Sep 21
Patterson, California
Terrible check in. Got our room almost 2 hours after check in time because they weren’t ready. We got there 1 hour before and they kept saying “15 more minutes.” Waited around and was late to a meeting we had.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 5 days ago
I would like to personally apologize for the delay in checking into our hotel during your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to complete this survey. Your feedback is most definitely appreciated. If possible for you, I would like to speak with you directly about your experience. Please contact me directly at the hotel at your earliest convenience, we would like the opportunity to obtain further details of the issues encountered, as well as to make it right with you. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marielamar0 wrote a review Sep 19
Las Vegas, Nevada
We were sold by the pictures- imagining a cozy hotel with views of the area but were quite disappointed to find many amenities lacking. We were in room 418 with a view to someone else's room. The AC panel is locked; unable to make any temp or fan adjustments. There's not even a ceiling fan in the room and the air was stale. We opened a window but there was no screen to keep critters out and hardly a breeze to make any real difference. The king bed had to be the hardest, noisy, and most uncomfortable bed I think I have ever slept in at any hotel ever. Lucky for us, we were only at this particular hotel for one night. My back hurts just thinking about it. The shower took a good 30-45 mins to drain after showering. We each had to wait our turn for the water to recede so that it wouldn't overflow. Also, the room has the tiniest toilet we have ever seen lol. Idk if thats important but kind of hilariously small toilets. Also, the TV doesn't work- no biggie, we were tired and went straight to bed but just FYI. Overnight parking is $20/day for self-parking in a limited stall underground garage. The best part of our stay was the morning breakfast- the ladies setting up the breakfast were so friendly and welcoming and the food was better than expected for hotel continental. The front desk was fine- no one was particularly nice or helpful but did their job. Overall, not the great experience that we were hoping for and we would not likely return or recommend. Please upgrade your beds!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the time taken to respond to our survey, and to bring your concerns to my attention. I would like to extend my apologies for the experience that you had while staying with us. We always want every guest to enjoy a clean, comfortable, pleasant stay & room. Certainly, if any issues encountered at the time had been brought to our attention; one of our team members would have been happy to assist you in resolving any issues that had occurred. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for your time and business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim E wrote a review Sep 13
Houston, Texas
Great location in beautiful Monterey, CA. Room was very nice with a great fireplace. My only complaint is that the shower did not drain properly and a couple of the wall outlets did not work at all; otherwise a perfect little retreat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 1 week ago
I would like to thank you for your time in taking our survey, and for bringing these matters to our attention. They will be investigated and corrected as soon as possible. I would like to apologize as well for the unsatisfactory condition of the shower drains and outlets in your room. What you described is certainly well below our standards, so it is always very important for us to receive such feedback. I am happy that you otherwise found the hotel pleasing and hope to see you again in the future .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
simmondslisha5 wrote a review Sep 12
Encinitas, California
Unfortunately the noise level in the building is off the charts at all hours of the night. So I didn’t get much sleep. I was disappointed. Many accommodations at this price point are available that have more quiet comfort to offer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Murphy Anderson , Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for completing our online survey. I would like to take the time to apologize for the negative experience that you had while staying with us. We try to maintain a quiet and peaceful facility,however some types of noise are outside of our control. Our goal is to always provide comfortable accommodations at a great value for our guests. Had our front desk staff been made aware of any challenges that you were experiencing during your stay, We certainly would have been happy to address them at the time to ensure our goal is reached. Should you ever decide to return to the Monterey area, we would very much appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pacific hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Pacific
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Pacific?
Nearby attractions include Old Fisherman's Wharf (0.3 miles), Monterey State Historic Park (0.08 miles), and Monterey History & Arts Association: Salvador DalÍ (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Pacific?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a spa, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Pacific?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Pacific?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Pacific?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paris Bakery Cafe, Montrio Bistro, and Old Monterey Cafe.
Is Hotel Pacific located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Monterey.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Pacific offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Pacific?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tor House (4.6 miles), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (4.3 miles), and Cannery Row (1.0 miles).