We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mariposa Inn and Suites

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mariposa Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

704 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 595: English reviews
Houston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location at Hwy 1 plus easy access to Monterey bay via Pacific St. Walk to Whole Foods, shopping and movie theatre. We stayed in room 208 with great outdoor patio, fireplace, two TV's, sitting area. I have pine allergies so the a/c in the to was great each night. Hyatt Monterey where we stayed last time doesn't have a/c.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deatra W
CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for three nights and were very comfortable. The hotel is more of a motel as there are no closet doors, but they put a nice effort into making the room feel nicer. A gas fireplace with a marble sitting ledge was a nice touch. The room had everything you need including a microwave and refrigerator. Conveniently located near... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doghappy23
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pretty average hotel. Room was a bit tired but clean and functional. Didn't touch the throw on the bed as I am not sure how often it is cleaned. We were on the 2nd floor but somehow it was lower than the road so the room was quite dark. It was cozy to have a fireplace & nice have two... More 

Helpful?
Thank lokseenfung
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We sincerely regret to hear of your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with flawless service and product delivery. Our apologies that you did not feel comfortable with your room. As a guest your stay here should be clean, comfortable and pleasant. We would like assure you that we clean all the rooms thoroughly before guest's... More 

Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was very comfortable even had a fireplace in our room. It was very clean & comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights. You would need a car to get into the town It had all the amenities you would need, tea & coffee making facilities & a pool. Very much enjoyed our time spent here

Helpful?
Thank Lynneb2200
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Professional customer service and comfortable rooms with great amenities are always what we strive for and I'm so pleased to hear that we achieved our goal your visit. Thanks for your stellar review, and we can't wait for your next stop in! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel rooms are modern with throw blankets at the foot of the beds for extra flare (one was a bit smelly, so I had the maid service replace it). The rooms have fireplaces which is a really nice touch. There are also 2-seat bistro patio sets on the deck. The queen size beds were comfortable. I would definitely stay there... More 

Helpful?
Thank taraahenderson
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We're glad we could provide you with comfortable accommodations and amenities that helped you rest well. We hope you had a wonderful time in Monterey. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was a good 30 minutes from Montery, but, if it is shopping you want, there is the Del Monte shopping Mall just across the road and a small line of shops, including a laundromat) just around the corner. We were taken in bye first view of our room, with its own fireplace, comfortable Kingsize bed and softurnishings. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katebw
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We sincerely regret to hear of your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with flawless service and product delivery. Our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. We have contacted our WiFi provider and they are looking into this to ensure this does not happen again. As for the room service, it is... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The owner of this hotel tried to scam us. We booked a 2 level town house using Expedia. We were 1st given a room with a hot tub in the center. After requesting a change we were placed in a double bed room with view of the 4 lane st. After looking up my booking and heading back down to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grace A
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our 2nd time visit within 6 months. it's very close to highway exit and del monte mall, which you can get your food, movie, even grocery there. about less than 10 min driving if u are going to the seaside or pier area. their bed is nice. both time, we stay in room with fireplace. loving it. night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cecilia N
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

It's great to hear from a returning guest! We're so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and that your room was a pleasant environment to relax in! We apologize for the parking, we do have sufficient parking for all our guests, but during busy seasons parking lot does get busy. Thank you for your review. We look... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely location a little drive from the centre, nice welcome at reception. Lovely pool and patio area. Room very dark, grubby curtains that dont fit the windows. Bathroom thebiggest disappointment, blood on shower curtain, peeling wallpaper. No bath mats available, bath extremely slippy. Contacted reception regarding shower curtain (she huffed and said it would be changed in the morning) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We sincerely regret to hear of your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with flawless service and product delivery. Our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. We were very distressed to learn of your impression of the hotel. As a guest, you should be welcomed with warmth and smile, and your stay... More 

Manteca, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The suite was amazing. Loved the extra space and the amenities. The bed was comfortable and our room was quiet (no street noise) The location was great, close to Monterey attractions, the 17 mile drive and Carmel. The only disappointment was that we couldn't stay another night.

Helpful?
Thank homezoomom13
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your stellar review. We're glad we could provide you with a pleasant and comfortable place to stay. Our goal is for our guests to feel as if they're at home, and it sounds like we achieved that. Thanks again for recommending us. We hope you will stay with us longer next time you visit the area. Safe... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

191 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (190)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Price Range: $150 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay