We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mariposa Inn and Suites

Traveler (269)
Room & Suite (114)
Pool & Beach (18)

About

#28 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room service
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

Full view
69Somewhat walkable
Grade: 69 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
841Reviews
9Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 312
  • 317
  • 129
  • 39
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Finding this property was a bit challenging due to its location (the last one of a long strip of hotels) and small driveway. There are also some renovations taking place, but they did not interfere with our stay. Upon our arrival we were welcomed by a very pleasant and efficient young man named Mario, who helped us locate our room and explained the inn’s amenities. Our room, located on the second level, was surprisingly spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, and comfortable. The mattresses were fantastic, and my husband and I slept wonderfully. We also had a pleasant view of the terrace and swimming pool, which had plenty of nice furniture on which to lounge. Breakfast was temporarily served in one of the guest rooms while the breakfast room was being renovated. The coffee was outstanding and there was a nice selection of muffins and oatmeal bars, and the usual bagels, cereal, English muffins and toast. The waffles were yummy! Eggs would have been a welcome addition. We look forward to staying here in the near future.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded yesterday
Dear William, Thank you for your feedback; we are pleased to have provided you with suitable, comfortable, clean accommodation, and a great stay. We are pleased to note that you would stay with us again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon! Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
We loved this hotel. Nice pool and great location to mall with all sorts of food choices. Nice clean room but we had a skylight which was nice but woke you up earlier than younmaybe wanted to. Nice breakfast with lots of choices.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tara, To see that we were able to provide our guest with such a wonderful experience is the highest compliment we can receive. Thank you so much for sharing! Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
The place is being remodeled and the rooms are actually nice for the price point. The location isn’t terrible. Some street noise but you don’t really notice it in the room. The big issue in my opinion was the rodents in the ducting.. We had ducting that was directly over our bed and the critter in the duct literally woke us up. It was clearly rodent type as it ran back and forth a couple of times. Very unnerving and made going back to sleep a challenge... Unfortunate, I want to like this little spot... hopefully they will address the problem.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are very sorry and absolutely shocked that you appear to have had such an experience during your recent stay with us. This is not the usual feedback that we get, and not the usual experience that our guests have. We believe that we provide a clean, safe and comfortable place for our guests to stay. Thank you for your comments - we will investigate this. However, we sincerely wish that you had let us know about these issues with your room during your stay because we would happily have given you another room to ensure you had a great stay with us. We would love for you to stay with us again - we are sure that everything will be to your satisfaction on your return visit. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we really appreciate it. Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
looked forward to staying after reading positive reviews about this place.arrived to find the hotel was being redecorated for the upcoming US open golf at nearby pebble beach. some rooms were complete others were not. quite a bit of noise,sanding,banging about and dusty around hotel, our room was ok,clean,jus,t a bit dated. our safe would not work in the room,asked three times to get it looked at but to no avail,after hearing a couple of feeble excuses we gave up!! luckily our stay was only 3 nights.we did get a small discount on checking out after expressing our dissapointment. the hotel would have been better off shutting down for maybe 2 weeks or so earlier in the year to get it ready.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Pat, We apologize profusely for the problems that you encountered during your recent stay. This is not the type of experience that we want for our guests. We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you, should you choose to stay with us again. Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
We have stayed in a few motel rooms in our time, but this was way beyond a motel room! Newly refurbished, gorgeous decor, huge bed, great shower over the bath, quiet air conditioning unit, all you would expect plus all the little extra such as nice big cotton bathrobes and a gas imitation log fire. We booked the wrong date in error but the dates we needed were a lot more, however, my husband emailed them and the general manager did the preferred date at the same price. Heated pool, fantastic breakfast, friendly staff, free parking, great location and easy walk to a few restaurants and shops. Deserves it's 5* and more. Thanks for a perfect stop over.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, To see that we were able to provide our guest with such a wonderful experience is the highest compliment we can receive. Thank you so much for sharing! Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mariposa hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing