We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$59
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/13/20
Snaptravel
$59
$56
View Deal
SAVE $3
Booking.com$59
Priceline
eDreams$59
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (120)
Room & Suite (50)
Pool & Beach (14)

About

#24 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast buffet
Fax / photocopying
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
1,054Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 297
  • 439
  • 219
  • 55
  • 44
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pamela C wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Very spacious rooms and very clean rooms! I will never stay at another motel in Monterey!! Hands down my favorite place to stay. Pool area sis very clean and well maintained, rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. Rooms are great size for the price you pay!! We will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Agency / Consultant at El Castell Motel
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Hey Pamela, What a lovely review! Reviews like yours are what keep us going the extra mile to deliver our best and provide 100% value and quality services at all times. We are glad that you found the rooms clean and spacious, the beds comfortable, and the pool area well-maintained, and we hope your stay was relaxing, and you had easy access to your essentials. Thank you for telling us that you will revisit us. This means a lot to us. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Shellie wrote a review Sep 2020
Yosemite National Park, California18 contributions1 helpful vote
Check in was quick and easy. It would have been better if there were a sign on the door directing guests to use the night check in window, as the front office is closed due to covid. Room was clean and comfortable. It looked just like the pictures online. Close to main attractions, just a short drive.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Agency / Consultant at El Castell Motel
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We appreciate it. We are glad to hear that our accommodation met your expectations, and it's nice to read that our proximity to key attractions suited you. We are also pleased to know that you had a quick and seamless check-in experience, and we are happy to learn that you found the room clean and comfortable. Your suggestion for a sign on the door directing to the night check-in window is duly noted, and we thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to having you back soon for another pleasant stay during your next trip to the area. Best Regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
A Tripadvisor Member wrote a review Jun 2020
Quick check in, property kept nice and clean. Room very clean too. Only thing I would say is the shower-head needs to be replaced, water didn’t run nicely. The location was great lots of restaurants, Grocery stores and shops nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Agency / Consultant at El Castell Motel
Responded Jul 6, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We really appreciate it. We are glad that our location suited you, and it's nice to read that you had a quick check-in experience. We are also pleased to hear that you found our accommodation clean and well-kept, and we hope your stay was relaxing and you had a good night's sleep at our property. Your comment about the shower-head is duly noted, and we thank you for telling us how we can enhance the experience for future guests. We look forward to having you back soon for another pleasant stay during your next trip to the area. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
sarahbE2018ED wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions
I was very pleased with this hotel. I had 2 rooms booked for 2 nights each and was satisfied with the comfort and cleanliness of the motel. The staff was helpful and pleasant and the rooms very clean. I have decided to come back in 2 weeks and will book this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel
Responded Jul 1, 2020
Hey Sarah, We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests in relation to their stays with us, and we are delighted with your rating and comments - thank you very much. We are glad that our accommodation satisfied your needs in relation to comfort and cleanliness, and it's nice to read that you found the rooms clean and our staff pleasant and helpful. We also hope everything was in order, and you had easy access to your essentials. We are happy to hear that you will revisit us, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future. Best Regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
A Tripadvisor Member wrote a review Jun 2020
First time here only booked because we needed a one night stay. Pretty affordable and newer renovated 3 bed suite was spacious and nice. Only downside parking lot is very small. We did late check in because we were at Carmel beach. The attendant was very dry and rude otherwise stay was great.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel
Responded Jun 15, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We appreciate it. We are glad that you liked the 3-bed suite and found it spacious, and it's nice to read that our price suited you. We also hope your stay was relaxing, and you had a good night's sleep at our property. Your comment about the parking lot is duly noted. Parking is a significant concern in the city due to space constraints. Nevertheless, we do provide convenient parking for our guests and try our best to accommodate all our guests for this facility. We would dearly love to have more parking available for our visitors, but, unfortunately, space around our property is very much at a premium. We have also noted your feedback about our staff, and we sincerely apologize that our hospitality left something to be desired on this occasion - this is very unlike us. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and we have taken your comments on board for the betterment of the guest experience. We will also ensure that our staff is aware of your impression, and see to it that we provide better customer service moving forward. We look forward to having you back soon and hope to delight you with an even better stay during your next trip to the area. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$61 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el castell hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Castell Motel
Which popular attractions are close to El Castell Motel?
Nearby attractions include Monterey Lanes (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at El Castell Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at El Castell Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at El Castell Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Castell Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monterey's Fish House, Black Bear Diner, and Monterey Cookhouse - Wood-Fire Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Castell Motel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to El Castell Motel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (4.8 miles), Cannery Row (2.5 miles), and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (2.6 miles).
Is El Castell Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.