We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean View Inn

Hotel website
8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean View Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

LARGE rooms, but they have definitely seen better days. The chemical smell in both rooms we rented was almost unbearable, and we wondered what it could be....insecticide? I would also recommend window cleaning to enjoy the view.The host was not very friendly. Breakfast in the tiny restaurant beside was good (other owner?) Hotel not recommended, unfortunately.

Helpful?
3 Thank johan M
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

In review of your stay we see your room just had carpets cleaned, therefore what you may have scented was the soaps used to clean carpets & furniture. We DO NOT use insecticides! Other than soaps, we use a herbal lavender spray. We appreciate your comments, but wanted to correct what you may have been scenting. Most guests enjoy the... More 

Tracy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

The room had a terrible odor and it had a musty smell You couldn't use the back stairs, their in need of repair they were closed The beds were hard,bath room is falling apart mold around the bathtub The bathroom door didn't lock right The TV worked good small coffee pot was nice they had the refrigerator on

Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa F

Travelers are raving about these Montara hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

I've been staying at the Ocean View on and off for two years. It's a great get-away and very comfortable. It's true that it's not fancy, but then fancy is rarely this comfortable or welcoming. Just about every room has a large outside balcony. The rooms are huge and have sofas and comfy chairs for reading.

Helpful?
Thank SamNoir
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

The reviews are fair and if you're expecting to be pampered at a B&B and not up for an adventure, you might be disappointed. As far as haunted houses go, it's an easy A and you'll never forget your courageous stay. The staff is a bit sensitive so chose your words carefully when offering up any constructive advice. They are... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BeachLover666
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

My husband, kids,and I stayed in the family suite which was very nicely appointed. The room was spacious and clean. There was a view out the front window and it was a short walk to the beach. The innkeeper (Debbie) was delightful and even left us something special in the refrigerator for our arrival. Debbie was very helpful for things... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
Auburn, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I fell in love with this place the first time I stayed there. Now, it's my chosen place to overnight every week when my job takes me to the City. Why? Well, for one, I hate cookie cutter, white walled chain hotels. Give me a B&B anytime! Historical buildings are also very cool because they just have a whole different... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank blueworld356
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

I never write reviews, but I felt moved to warn others. Unfortunately, most of the othrr negative reviews are accurate even if you are into bed and breakfast and funkiness, the shabbiness, lack of charm, and hostility are outstanding. And the so-called continental breakfast next door was absurd- bagel, toast, or oatmeal, even the "day old " croissant for when... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Amaranth23
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Ruth sorry to read your stay was not to your expectation. Had you notified me, we would have done everything to help you find another property and release you from your reservation with a full refund. The inn is historical and a landmark. Rooms are clean, comfortable with all the amenities of home. With repeat guests returning to stay for... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

This was the WORST place I ever stayed in this price point- or any price. Please see pics. The room was incredibly shabby and dirty. Pro- it was the only place in the area that was available at the last minute. THAT should have given me a clue. Cons- So many, I don't have all night to write. 2 minutes... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank suz b
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Your posting has been reviewed and we hope this response will offer a rounded view. 1. Maintenance personnel was dispatched and repaired your running toilet issue within an hour after your arrival. 2. You were offered a cancellation with a FULL refund when you told me if was too loud for you to sleep at 3:00pm in the afternoon. I... More 

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Although this old house could do with some work, it was a lovely place to stay. The room was huge and very quaint, the bed comfy and the staff were really good. There are a few rules to adhere to but if your there for a quiet time it's no problems. Party house this is not. Watch the showers! Depending... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiwiFeijoa
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile

We paid nearly $270 for our room and it was certainly overpriced for what we got. The inn is in a nice location with sea glimpses. Our room was very clean, but also shabby. There were iron burn marks on the carpet and the place needs a revamp. The TV is old and we had to reset the cable to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 51traveller
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
HI-Point Montara Lighthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay