We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ocean View Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean View Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

My husband and I who are both native SF Bay Area residents that currently reside in the East Bay, decided to go away for the weekend in the Half Moon Bay Area. We came across the Ocean View Inn on line and couldn’t believe what a gem we found! Keep in mind that we do travel a lot and all... More 

Helpful?
Thank bellerjeff
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

My husband found this gem while trying to find a place for us to stay on our first trip out to San Francisco. The hotel is a short drive from the city, the ideal distance for day trips. It's a pretty small town but it had everything that we needed. The owners were incredibly hospitable and gave us numerous suggestions.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Janet Z
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

LARGE rooms, but they have definitely seen better days. The chemical smell in both rooms we rented was almost unbearable, and we wondered what it could be....insecticide? I would also recommend window cleaning to enjoy the view.The host was not very friendly. Breakfast in the tiny restaurant beside was good (other owner?) Hotel not recommended, unfortunately.

Helpful?
3 Thank johan M
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

In review of your stay we see your room just had carpets cleaned, therefore what you may have scented was the soaps used to clean carpets & furniture. We DO NOT use insecticides! Other than soaps, we use a herbal lavender spray. We appreciate your comments, but wanted to correct what you may have been scenting. Most guests enjoy the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montara hotels

Tracy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

The room had a terrible odor and it had a musty smell You couldn't use the back stairs, their in need of repair they were closed The beds were hard,bath room is falling apart mold around the bathtub The bathroom door didn't lock right The TV worked good small coffee pot was nice they had the refrigerator on

Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa F
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

I've been staying at the Ocean View on and off for two years. It's a great get-away and very comfortable. It's true that it's not fancy, but then fancy is rarely this comfortable or welcoming. Just about every room has a large outside balcony. The rooms are huge and have sofas and comfy chairs for reading.

Helpful?
Thank SamNoir
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

The reviews are fair and if you're expecting to be pampered at a B&B and not up for an adventure, you might be disappointed. As far as haunted houses go, it's an easy A and you'll never forget your courageous stay. The staff is a bit sensitive so chose your words carefully when offering up any constructive advice. They are... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BeachLover666
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

My husband, kids,and I stayed in the family suite which was very nicely appointed. The room was spacious and clean. There was a view out the front window and it was a short walk to the beach. The innkeeper (Debbie) was delightful and even left us something special in the refrigerator for our arrival. Debbie was very helpful for things... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
Auburn, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I fell in love with this place the first time I stayed there. Now, it's my chosen place to overnight every week when my job takes me to the City. Why? Well, for one, I hate cookie cutter, white walled chain hotels. Give me a B&B anytime! Historical buildings are also very cool because they just have a whole different... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank blueworld356
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

I never write reviews, but I felt moved to warn others. Unfortunately, most of the othrr negative reviews are accurate even if you are into bed and breakfast and funkiness, the shabbiness, lack of charm, and hostility are outstanding. And the so-called continental breakfast next door was absurd- bagel, toast, or oatmeal, even the "day old " croissant for when... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Amaranth23
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Ruth sorry to read your stay was not to your expectation. Had you notified me, we would have done everything to help you find another property and release you from your reservation with a full refund. The inn is historical and a landmark. Rooms are clean, comfortable with all the amenities of home. With repeat guests returning to stay for... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

This was the WORST place I ever stayed in this price point- or any price. Please see pics. The room was incredibly shabby and dirty. Pro- it was the only place in the area that was available at the last minute. THAT should have given me a clue. Cons- So many, I don't have all night to write. 2 minutes... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank suz b
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Your posting has been reviewed and we hope this response will offer a rounded view. 1. Maintenance personnel was dispatched and repaired your running toilet issue within an hour after your arrival. 2. You were offered a cancellation with a FULL refund when you told me if was too loud for you to sleep at 3:00pm in the afternoon. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
4.1 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its Victorian-inspired decor, specious room suites with dining tables, chairs and seating area. All of the Inn's nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with private bathrooms with shower/deep tub combination or rainfall showers. All rooms are non-smoking. The Inn can accommodate parties of up to 40 people in the garden area for weddings, family gatherings, and other special occasions. Complimentary in room WiFi, premium channel lineup, parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Location: United States > California > Montara
Price Range: $196 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay