Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest

28951 Los Alisos Blvd, Mission Viejo, CA 92692-5934
Traveler (168)
Room & Suite (87)
desayuno
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$164
Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
No prepayment needed
$131
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 5 hotels in Mission Viejo
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. We welcome travelers with all the modern amenities you have come to expect from the Ayres name and all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Take in the exquisite views of Saddleback Mountain by hiking or mountain biking on one of the mountain's many scenic hiking trails. Relax with various spa treatments, like an Aromatherapy Massage or Chocolate Body Wrap, available at the Athena Day Spa located inside the hotel. Or indulge at the Old Camp Bar and Grill also located within the hotel. The on-site restaurant offers various types of cuisine including burgers, pasta, and ribs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
507Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 292
  • 129
  • 51
  • 20
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dimika B wrote a review Sep 2020
39 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t know what’s wrong with people but the reviews did not even come close to matching the experience of this hotel. First of all it was secluded and a ways away from town which was perfect if you just needed some rest. Since we had done some sightseeing and hanging out with family when we got back we really just needed rest and nothing more. Every morning the we had breakfast and when I read that it was grab and go I thought for sure we would get some microwave junk. However, the hotel surprised us by having hot fresh cooked meals each time we went down. The rooms were clean and the staff was an absolute treat. The only thing I didn’t like was the woman cooking the breakfast on one day she seemed to be rushing me when I ordered even though I was the only one there. Otherwise it was perfect! Definitely give this place a chance cause it was so worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Quiet floors, larger rooms, floor choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JR C wrote a review Dec 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
LOOK NO FURTHER... We stayed two weeks in a Suite (that just means there is a nice couch and work table sitting area). First, the basics... I checked about six other reviews for other hotels and I noted a common theme of unclean. That was not the case at Ayers. These folks have their act together. The attention to detail in design is spot on. Having a small frig in the room and the Microwave is perfect for anyone staying for a few days on, etc. We worked for extended hours at the work table (two of us at the ends... they got us another chair) and the comfort and chairs never left us unhappy. The free breakfast was spot on. The evening lounge is pleasurable and the restaurant small plates (burgers, tuna burger and nice salads) come from their scratch kitchen.

The internet was pretty consistent at 7megs up and down. Do note on mobile devices that to use the internet often required daily re-log in with name and room #. I mention it because my ipad defaults back to Verizon and I used up my data. This is no different at many hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lenore M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are large and beds are very comfortable. Front desk person was very friendly and accommodating when we requested a late check out. I was surprised that we had until 1pm. This gave us a chance to have the good free breakfast and lounge by the pool before heading out. The restaurant/bar is great as well. Great location an adequate parking for both hotels (suites and spa hotels are right next to each other). I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schreiner wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is clean and seems well kept. Public areas are nicely decorated and show the staff cares about the first impress upon entering the property. We booked this hotel primarily because of its covid 19 guidelines, ( each room is empty for 24 hours before assigned to a new guest).
So it took me by surprise to see the parking lot filed to capacity in the morning. Was really no one here the night before?
Rooms are clean with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and had all necessary amenities, but also some problems. Noisy AC and bathroom vent made it hard to get a good nights sleep which is the main reason for staying in a hotel. Shower head was loose. It would be nice if the care shown in the public areas could be extended to the guest rooms.
Breakfast is good with a nice variety of items to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pretty_65 wrote a review Feb 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom30 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Ayers hotel from 4th to 26th Jan visiting family. On arrival hotel looked ok at reception, up to the room it was so dark, brown and blue carpet, dark furniture, dark beige on the walls, these room need to be a bit brighter and move away from carpets in them very unhygienic.

Bathroom was clean but no walk in shower, shower over a bath not suitable for people that can’t easily get in and out a bath.
The room lighting was so poor despite ample lighting outlets, just a change of bulb colour would have made a space more welcoming, they had a microwave and a fridge that was good, also had two TVs in the room, one in the bed area and one in the seating area.
Breakfast complimentary (although costed in the price of your stay) I’m glad it was, because if I had paid for the breakfast in addition to the cost of the stay I would have asked for a refund, asked for a bagel one morning to be told NO! Cereals, two lots of fruit loops and a sugary granola, some apples and oranges, yoghurts, bagels (when they were supplies), scrambled eggs and sausage patties. Food availability varies, maybe due to the amount f produce leaving the area from guests who appeared to be planning for a lunch and dinner option, leaving nothing for other guests, management were informed, but appeared unconcerned. The breakfast room was so busy some mornings, one in particular having in excess of 100 people in a space comfortable for around 40, think out the 21 days there we used the breakfast room about six times and when they had conferences on the breakfast room was a covid fest, really not suitable.
We went to Santa Barbara for a few days and stayed in the holiday inn express Carpinteria this hotel is heads above the Ayers hotel.
Most of the staff were always smiling but the work load for the house keeping staff, breakfast room staff, falls short they need some help!
They have a beautiful courtyard very rarely used, never tried the spa, had a meal at the old camp bar and food was very nice.
Won’t return as in my opinion the rooms need renovated and brought into a modern feel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KJ1223 wrote a review Feb 2020
Seattle, Washington6 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 5 nights for a swim meet. Unfortunately, the noise from the freeway (toll road) and the street in front of the hotel is excessive. This is the main reason I would not stay here again. The noise is loud and CONSTANT.
Second, I have never stayed in a hotel that does not offer a daily newspaper to its guests. The front desk attendant seemed totally shocked that someone would expect this.
Third, the service at the evening restaurant was abysmal. The food was decent but there was only one server who not only was working the tables in the restaurant, but she would leave for long periods of time to deliver room service orders. Long wait to order, long wait for food, long wait for water, long wait for bill.
Fourth, the a.c. stopped working, sigh.
There was some good: The made to order omelettes on Mon-Fri were totally unexpected and excellent. The mushroom and spinach scrambled eggs and hash browns were also great.
The rooms were clean and big.
Unfortunately the cons ( mostly the street noise) outweigh the pros, and we won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CALobster wrote a review May 2022
Palm Springs, California2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Starting with the good...Housekeeping staff pleasant and personable. Breakfast Buffet staff great considering the disorganization. They take pets.

Bad...lengthy checkin process. About 25 minutes. Advised during checkin that we would be required to move after second night because of some sort of wiring project in process. 10 minutes after checkin call to tell us we did not have to move after second night.

Ugly...Notice posted on exit doors that power would be shut off by due to an unexpected power outage which really was because of new construction adjacent to property. Nothing communicated directly to guests. Then an 8:30pm visit from the GM asking us how we got into our room and hotel since they show room blocked out for construction. Said they had called us all day but we did not answer. No messages on phone or cell phone. Needed us to pay immediately or we would be locked out. Requested an updated folio receipt to show all charges. Never came. Reviewed final bill and charges to credit card and consists of 5 separate transactions totaling over $2000.00 for 3 nights stay.

Something is very wrong with front desk staff and their ability to communicate and handle out of the box situations in the hospitality industry.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Make sure you review your bill very closely.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SimonNottin wrote a review Oct 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were subjected to a horrible, abusive and aggressive confrontation from another guest whilst staying in this hotel. The reception staff apologised but took no action to safeguard us during our stay. So concerned about our personal safety we checked out immediately. We believe the hotel should have done more to ensure all guests feel safe within their property, particularly considering this hotel is fairly isolated and not close to any local amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dee T wrote a review Feb 2022
Wrightwood, California17 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean and I slept comfortably. This was, however, after I was awakened by a barking dog. This is a pet friendly place and the dog must have been located close by. In the morning, if I wasn't already awake at 8:00, a family in the courtyard below eating breakfast also had a dog that barked quite loudly and would have awakened me, as I am a light sleeper. At breakfast, a man had a dog in the dining room and carried it with him while going through the line. I thought health code did not permit this. They were out of breakfast meat at 9:00, an hour before breakfast was over, and out of things like butter...shredded cheese...etc. It was hard to get into the coffee area, as the hostess was wiping things down and there was a line waiting. Not very well situated in the first place because there is just enough room to stand in front of the coffee dispensers with a wall behind your back. While I sat there, they ran out of coffee...before breakfast was over. We told the manager and he was a good listener and seemed sympathetic but I doubt we'll be back. There are many other lovely hotels around near the toll road in Mission Viejo.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest
Responded Mar 3, 2022
Dear Dee T, Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay! We are pleased to see that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort of our guest rooms. I would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have encountered in regards to our complimentary breakfast and the surrounding noise. Our goal is to provide the most exceptional experiences, and we appreciate your feedback as we can use it as a learning tool to better improve for the future. If you are ever in the area again, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a 5-star visit. Sincerely, Hayley Burbank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shalla412 wrote a review Apr 2022
Arlington, Virginia95 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff is very friendly and the building itself is nice. The main Floor is nicer and has a nice shop offering a decent choice of water and snacks. Our room however was disappointing. While it’s spacious It’s outdated and bed not comfortable. The carpet is worn and unappealing. The work out area was also disappointing and very small. No small towels offered in it. The one elevator demonstrates this property is in need of an update. One night our room was so hot we couldn’t sleep event though we lowered the air to 65 the AC wouldn’t run. The next night we noticed that overnight the AC doesn’t run as much as it does during the day. I also had some bug bites from our first night stay. We had friends staying in the suites and it sounds like they were nicer..smaller but nicer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest
Responded May 5, 2022
Dear Shalla412, Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay! We are pleased to see that you were satisfied with the service you received from our team. I would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have encountered in regards to the amenities we offer and the comfort of our guest rooms. If you are facing any issues throughout your stay, please let our team know so we can work to get them resolved promptly. Your feedback is appreciated as we can use it as a tool to better improve for the future. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a 5-star visit sometime soon. Sincerely, Hayley Burbank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kent S asked a question Apr 2017
Santa Clarita, California204 contributions104 helpful votes
Hello. What are the onsite Restaurant hours?
Answer from Ayres Hotels
Costa Mesa, California99 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello, Hours at Old Camp Bar & Grill are Monday - Saturday 4pm–10pm. We hope to see you soon!
Monica R asked a question Oct 2016
WEDDINGTON124 contributions66 helpful votes
Do you have an onsite restaurant and bar?
Answer from Ayres Hotels
Costa Mesa, California99 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello Monica R., We do have an onsite restaurant and bar called Modjeska American Bar & Grill. Thank you for your inquiry and for choosing Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo!
Calimermaid31 asked a question Sep 2016
San Dimas, California1 contribution
Do you offer rooms with accessible bathroom
Answer from Ayres Hotels
Costa Mesa, California99 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello Calimermaid31, We do offer accessible accommodations. Please reach out to the hotel directly at (949) 305-7200 ext. 0 to ensure you book the accommodations best fit for you and your party. Thank you for choosing Ayres Hotels!
relevart2 asked a question Jan 2016
California58 contributions78 helpful votes
What time does breakfast start? I usually have to check out early to get to work.
Answer from Michael G
Boulder City, Nevada69 contributions26 helpful votes
I think at 6am. Your best bet is to call and ask always
Answer from Mel0725
Mission Viejo, California15 contributions5 helpful votes
If you have an uber you can check the estimate amount
Bill S wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the cream before you put it into your coffee or tea. It was a little dated."
Read full review
bhn74 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Seattle, Washington8 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find another hotel that has better service and with closer locations for shopping, sightseeing, and activities."
Read full review
CALobster wrote a tip May 2022
Palm Springs, California2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you review your bill very closely. "
Read full review
Joseph P wrote a tip Aug 2021
Chicago, Illinois5 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not expect customer service or an understanding if your room has an issue"
Read full review
Dimika B wrote a tip Sep 2020
39 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quiet floors, larger rooms, floor choice"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mission Viejo area.
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ayres hotel and spa mission viejo, ayres hotel mission viejo
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountyMission Viejo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AYRES HOTEL & SPA MISSION VIEJO - LAKE FOREST $120 ($̶1̶3̶1̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest
Which popular attractions are close to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Nearby attractions include Saddleback Church (1.5 miles), Cinepolis Luxury Cinemas (1.9 miles), and Heritage Hill Historic Park (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hanna's Restaurant & Bar, Carmelita's, and Avila's El Ranchito.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ramakrishna Monastery (1.8 miles).
Is Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mission Viejo HotelsMission Viejo Hotel DealsHotels near Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo - Lake Forest
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars