We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Budget Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 45: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall was a good experience for a last minute booking. Nothing to write home about, but certainly nothing to complain about. The free breakfast was a little misleading, as all they had was coffee and prepackaged danishes. Other than that, the room was clean, the staff was very friendly, and I would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Shawn T
SUNIL R, Front Office Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you staying at our motel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay . We look forward to seeing you again. More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We paid $100 for a last min booking for a night. We were on our way to Yosemite. Very stingy breakfast - danish and tea/coffee. Be aware that they don't supply shampoo but at least they have a couple of bar soap. The room wasn't that clean and many things were old. However, the front desk lady was very kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank mla44
Fullerton, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Went on a family vacation to Yosemite. We needed a place to stay after having checked other hotels, which had already been booked up for the weekend. Given that fact that it was a last minute reservation, it was an okay purchase.

Helpful?
Thank villanilla
SUNIL R, Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

It was pleasure to have you stay at our hotel during the long weekend. We look forward to seeing you again and all the best in your future travel plans. More 

Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

The grounds were clean and attractive upon arrival. The manager was friendly and personable upon check-in. The room was very clean, quiet and had provided all the toiletries and towels we needed. The location was convenient to both highway 99 and easy access to downtown and the university.

Helpful?
Thank Tawn1219
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently . We are glad to hear to you enjoyed staying with us. We looking forward to seeing you again and wish all the best in your future travel plans . More 

Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

I like that the area is mostly residential. It's quiet and peaceful. The front desk is always courteous and helpful. They get you in quickly and tell you how to get to your room. The room is always clean and fresh. I have never had a problem. The location is easy to find, and there are restaurants, stores, and even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony P
SUNIL R, Guest Relations Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again and thanks again for staying with us. More 

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

Nice staff, clean rooms, the new and improved wifi is fast and works great in all locations. Free phone calls, top notch coffee and juice. Also the added peek of a discount at the adjacent Dennys. Will continue to stay here

Helpful?
Thank Biztrav57
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. General Manager. More 

Albany, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

i have stayed here a couple times now. The rate is good, the wifi is top notch. Good coffee and OJ in the mornings and the Dennys adjacent gives a discount so you can't beat it. The ladies at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfy.with brand new flat screen tv. I will continue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We do look forward to seeing your soon on your next visit to Merced. I will pass on the good word to the front desk and the housekeeping. More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

Needed a place to stay on my way north for business, and decided to stop late. This was right off the 99 freeway, staff was friendly and checked me in quickly. The room was clean and the price was awesome. I was able to also walk to get food nearby.

Helpful?
Thank stelllaa
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be looking forward to seeing you again. Thanks again More 

San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Check-in was pretty quick. Keycard was a little temperamental- wouldn't always work on the first try. Motel is near the highway (Hwy 99), so it is a little noisy. The area around the motel seems a little rough trodden. But there is a Denny's restaurant next door that seems to be a popular spot. If one has a room on... More 

Helpful?
Thank cmasc
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

Charged me twice for one reservation due to website failure and won't refund me! The manager is VERY RUDE and UNREASONABLE when I tried to solve this issue with him!! Please stay away from here if you don't want an unhappy booking experience to spoil your trip...

Helpful?
Thank Jing M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
1.9 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Merced
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are centrally located in city of MERCED right off the Highway 99 for easy access with FREE WI-FI and onsite laundry facilities for guest use with 24 hr staff AT FRONT DESK.WE ARE LOCATED CLOSE TO DINING PLACES -MC DONALD'S AND DENNY'S OPEN 24 HRS. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 1215 R St, Merced, CA 95341-5869 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Merced)
Location: United States > California > Merced
Price Range: $52 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Merced
Merced Vagabond Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay