We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Red Cottage Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Cottage Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Cottage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 183: English reviews
Calistoga
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

The Red Cottage Inn has been a carefully guarded secret among generations of Stanford parents and frequent business travelers to Silicon Valley. It is a small, meticulously maintained motel on the border of Atherton and Menlo Park. The motel is located just off El Camino which is busy during the day but quiets down at night. Downtown Menlo Park with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Calistoga Grower
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind remarks.Your recommendations is genuinely appreciated.We are glad you and guests enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next stay. More 

Sonoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

I spent a very uncomfortable night at the Red Cottage Inn and Suites. As a professional I sent a letter to the manager expressing my concerns and suggestions. Unfortunately, after two months, I have not received any acknowledgement of my communication nor a response. I am very disappointed since my issues are resolvable.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mariyln K
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that you were disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Unfortunately, we did not receive any letter regarding your concerns. We will be more than happy to address your concerns and suggestions and if you have time please send us an email at frontdesk@redcottageinn.com. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

This is a straightforward motel with good average accommodation, but in no way luxurious. The location is good, a little way back from the busy Camino Real. A fairly basic breakfast but with good cereal. The rate we were charged was not justified by the accommodation and breakfast

Helpful?
Thank EKandBSK
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you felt that our hotel is just average, not luxurious and overpriced. Over the years the market and overhead cost of doing business in Menlo Park has increased. With that being said, we still find that our rates are significantly lower than our competitors together with the complimentary services we offer like free parking,... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

I had given this hotel a high rating previously, but I am downgrading it since they have more than doubled their rates, putting it well out of my price range, even with a AAA discount. I don't know if they are under new ownership, or have just gotten greedy. I won't be staying here anymore.

Helpful?
Thank Laura V
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that you felt that we have more than doubled our rates but over the years the market and overhead cost of doing business in Menlo Park has increased. We do offer discounted rates like AAA discount, Advanced Purchase rates and Extended Stay discounts to offer our guest better deals. We still find that... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night in July. Rooms were tidy & well appointed if smallish in size. I was upgraded to a suite which was very spacious, but with rel. little privacy in living area as this faced straight into pool area do folks taking a dip stared straight into the living area. Service was good. Room was clean although I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank kiwikruiser
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that the unusual spider incident did no dampen your stay with us. Our fitness room is located near the office, apologies if guest services agent did not informed you upon check in . Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your detailed account of your experience with us..We look forward to the... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I stayed at the Red Cottage Inn and Suites for work and found it to be more than adequate! The room was spacious for one person and had a nice sized refrigerator and coffee maker. It was very comfortable and the free breakfast provided was all I needed. Protein such as boiled eggs and yogurt were available as well as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irishlassy2014
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward in welcoming you back. More 

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

This older motel has been well maintained. Grounds are nicely landscaped with a sweet courtyard. Rooms are small but acceptable. Pet friendly. Nice staff. They don't charge for parking, which is a plus. Biggest drawback is a commuter train just blocks away, which rumbles by until 10 pm.

Helpful?
1 Thank lauren98604
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice feedback. We look forward in welcoming you back. More 

Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights and was pleasantly surprised. The property was lovely, room was larger than expected, and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. I arrived quite early from the east coast and was able to check in very early, which was extremely convenient. The breakfast was much better than the usual continental. The wifi was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank KShoeWoo
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are renovating the fourth quarter of this year and one of our focus would be upgrading to a bigger bathroom. We hope to see you soon and showcase the new look of the hotel. More 

Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We stayed here 4 nights May 2015. Very quiet peaceful inn. Nice swimming pool. Small exercise room that is perfectly adequate with treadmill, horizontal bicycle and step machine. Very nice staff. No complaints at all. For quietest rooms, ask for upstairs, facing pool near back. Microwave, fridge and coffee machine in room. Hot water and fruit 24/7 in lobby. Average... More 

Helpful?
Thank p c
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward in welcoming you back. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Stayed 2 nights over Passover/Easter weekend while visiting my brother in Menlo Park. The lower rooms have two full sized beds and upstairs have king beds. Lower level rooms have an outdoor deck with a little table and two chairs. Very charming. There is a fireplace and chairs for all to share outside as well as a pool. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shoshana H
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words and we are very excited to inform you that we will be renovating the end of this year that will expand our breakfast area. We look forward in welcoming you back and showcasing the improved look of the hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#3 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Price Range: $167 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay