We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5301
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (139)
Room & Suite (204)
Pool & Beach (9)

About

#8 of 12 hotels in Marina del Rey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location in Marina del Rey, with water & beach views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free taxi to & from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Free airport transportation
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Patio
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
DVD / CD player
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
367Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 114
  • 155
  • 60
  • 16
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
_mccuan46 wrote a review Apr 2020
Herrin, Illinois8 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a special which was to give us 2 free nights if we stayed for six nights. However after staying the first night in a standard room we switched to a room with a view. We should have only been charged for the difference in upgrading for the remainder of our stay, but the manager charged us an upgrade fee for all six nights and did not give me a receipt showing the extra charges even though I asked for a receipt as we checked out on our last day there. I thought that to be strange. Then I saw the charges on my credit card for the overage. I feel like I have been scamed and the manager refuses to credit me for the overage. I will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not get a standard room unless you don't mind looked at the parking lot
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Fearless437102, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Responded Apr 23, 2020
We were sorry that your stay was not as you expected because of the discrepancy in fees charged. I will reach out to the Manager & see if he has an explanation or can rectify the situation. Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Sooz K wrote a review Mar 2020
Los Angeles, California2 contributions
This is an outdated property, which it makes up for in its price and location but any place that you pay money for should have hot water! Unfortunately one night during our stay, there was a hot water outage when we desperately needed to shower after a sweaty day of hiking. The receptionist isn't allowed to call maintenance herself and had to wait for the property manager to handle and he wasn't immediately available. So, she took matters into her own hands and let us walk 15min to her personal apartment complex to shower in their gym shower. She should get promoted for that creativity but as a paying guest, that is a very uncomfortable and unusual situation. Once the manager arrived, he provided no credit or any other customer service support to make up for the lack of hot water. He had me leave my mailing address behind and said they would talk to the owners who would send me a check, but I have yet to receive one. I followed up via email but get bounce backs that it is not working. Also, the rooms are right on the Marina beach, which is nice, but it is a volleyball area so there is noise from people playing volleyball all day and does not feel very private.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room are top floor feel more private. Bottom floor is beach level with random people right...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Fearless437102, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Responded Apr 23, 2020
We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not what you expected. Especially the lack of hot water. We have been working through some changes to our overall system. I will send a copy of your response to the Manager and see if he has a record of this incident and can help you out. Thank you for sharing this experience. We hope to get it resolved..
Read more
Nancy wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff is phenomenal! They were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Our room was very clean, the beds were extremely comfortable and we loved having our own patio with a view of the marina. There is a wide variety of breakfast choices, more than any other hotel we've ever stayed at. You can even eat your breakfast outside with umbrellas providing you with ample shade. We enjoyed all aspects of our stay at the Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel and highly recommend this hotel. Nancy
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Fearless437102, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Responded Apr 23, 2020
We appreciate the great review of your stay at The Foghorn Harbor Inn. Sorry for the long delay in responding things have been overwhelming recently and am trying to get caught up. We were glad to hear that you found your room very clean with comfortable beds. You enjoyed having your own patio with a view of the Marina, which truly makes a big difference in enhancing your visit. Your other remarks were all pleasing to us. Please come visit us again.
Read more
30+ Country Traveller wrote a review Dec 2019
Singapore, Singapore69 contributions56 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights in December Pros - very helpful and lovely staff - great location - very good breakfast - great selection of food - has car parking Cons - very noisy, especially room facing car park - old furnishings with saggy bed - overpriced, especially as I drove and didn’t utilise the free taxi
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Fearless437102, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Thank you for sharing your likes and dislikes regarding the Foghorn Harbor Inn. We appreciate your feedback. Love your comments about our staff, location & breakfast. Sorry you found your room noisy & our furnishings old. We are working on improving those. If you travel this way again and stay with us we hope to have updated our furnishings to make you more comfortable.
Read more
MLYNNE13 wrote a review Sep 2019
TORONTO1 contribution
When we arrived at inn I checked in then went out to get our bags. I was travelling with someone who had mobility issues and when we came back in together to go to our room he called me over. He told me I owed them another $20 US saying it was because he gave us an upgraded room as it was on the main floor since she couldn't walk down the stairs.When I told him that he never mentioned anything about this at check in and he said he didn't notice it on our reservation at first and if I didn't like it he could put us downstairs !! Seriously,I couldn't believe it!! Who would say something like that ? I paid around $300 US already for the room, WAY too much for what it is. But I had prepaid for the room ahead of time with no refund so I had no choice but to stay and pay the extra since she couldn't walk down stairs or I would of left. There are much nicer places to stay around area for the same money or even less..I only booked for the free parking- big mistake. Terrible start to my long awaited vacation
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Fearless437102, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Responded Nov 3, 2019
We apologize for your bad experience and would hope this would never be an issue in the future. The manager will be made aware of your complaint (if he has not yet read it). So sorry. We do not like this kind of review.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$258 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
foghorn harbor hotel marina del rey, hotel foghorn harbor
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMarina del Rey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marina Beach (0.06 miles) and Marina Beach (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cheesecake Factory, Beachside Restaurant & Bar, and Killer Cafe.
Does Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Marina del Rey.
Are there any historical sites close to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Annenberg Community Beach House (4.3 miles), Luminaries of Pantheism Mural (0.7 miles), and Shotgun House (2.1 miles).
Does Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.