We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (286)
Room & Suite (112)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#122 of 361 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Hilton Checkers Los Angeles hotel is recognized as the finest hotel for the discerning business traveler in downtown Los Angeles, California. The Hilton is the downtown area's only deluxe European-style boutique hotel. Located in the heart of the business and financial district of Los Angeles, the historic Hilton Checkers Los Angeles hotel is only blocks from the LA Convention Center, Music Center, Staples Arena, The Broad, MOCA, and Disney Concert Hall. Guests at the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles hotel will experience our beautifully appointed guest rooms with an elegant residential feel. Featuring WiFi access, flat screen televisions, and refrigerators. On our open-air rooftop deck, guests of the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles enjoy breathtaking views of downtown's iconic skyline. *Please note we do not have a rooftop pool/hot tub.* Checkers Restaurant is open for breakfast, and is consistently rated by Zagat and Gourmet Magazine among the finest dining rooms in Los Angeles, California.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
1733Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 637
  • 547
  • 292
  • 127
  • 130
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Davielle A wrote a review Feb 18
San Diego, California1 contribution
Of 2 beds in the room, only 1 was comfortable - the 1st sagged so much we got up & moved to other bed at 3 am. Room was clean; restaurant food at 9 pm was good. Neighborhood - very busy street, and hotel parking was $51 PLUS TAX (taxable parking?!) per night! Lovely vintage lobby with mosaic tile floors was nice. At Check-in: they tried to tell me we had not pre-paid (which we had) ~ took 5 minutes to get it right. Very disconcerting and time-consuming. Overall ~ we will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be warned: parking is $51 per night PLUS TAX!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 206daviellea, On behalf of our team, please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit. It is disappointing to learn of the issues you experienced with our front desk during check-in. Your satisfaction is our top priority; therefore, we apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding the parking fee. We will address these issues appropriately with our team. As you mentioned that you liked our clean, well-maintained property along with delicious food, we request you give us another opportunity to show you the exceptional stay you deserved on your last visit. Thank you once again. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lorettatata wrote a review Feb 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom68 contributions48 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Three night post cruise stay. Room on 5th floor. Clean and very comfortable hotel, with traditional styling. The room was a good size with a Queen sized comfy bed. Great bathroom, had a powerful shower and good Crabtree and Evelyn bath products. The carpet looked pretty new, large flat screen TV and there was a coffee maker, hairdryer, a safe and ironing facilities. Efficient check in and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. We didn’t eat there as too expensive (same as most city hotels). Area is more of a commercial district not tourist but felt safe. You can find some eateries and Starbucks or Walgreens for drinks/snacks in walking distance only a couple of blocks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Not particularly near tourist attractions except the Walt Disney concert hall.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Feb 13, 2023
Dear Lorettatata, Thank you for staying at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles for your post-cruise stay. It's so nice to know you found your suite comfortable and that you were pleased with the exceptional service from our staff. We work hard to provide high levels of service, so we will share your compliments with our team to let them know their efforts are appreciated. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sam0sa wrote a review Jan 2024
Cerritos, California18 contributions21 helpful votes
Overpriced and underwhelming hotel in the heart of the financial district. Bottom line, this hotel should be flagged as a doubletree versus a full service Hilton. The hotel is fine— a bed and a bathroom is all you need for a decent night. However, with a weekend night price point of almost 300 plus parking, this is not worth it. Rooms— king room was small, but we chose a corner room ourselves and while small it was well organized. Furniture was old but worked fine. Lunch — no restaurant open for lunch Dinner— did not bother trying the food, but did not look great Breakfast— no service at a buffet that just didn’t have much. Could not even order a la carte. Luckily was able to get someone to get me some eggs from the back. Check in- was fine but when I went back at 8pm to grab some water, was offered two bottles— suddenly Denise came by and yelled at us saying water is only for checkin and we should refill our bottles if we run out. Not so nice. Valet— expensive but no comments. Could not charge my ev.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Overpriced and underwhelming.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Jan 14, 2024
Dear Sam0sa, We appreciate your detailed feedback, and we're sorry to hear that your experience fell short of expectations. Your comments on pricing, room size, and dining options are duly noted, and we'll use them for potential improvements. We apologize for any inconvenience during check-in and appreciate your understanding. Your insights are invaluable, and we'll address these areas to enhance our guest experience. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to provide a more satisfactory experience in the future. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark R wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
I recently stayed at this hotel and here is my review breakdown for it. Accommodation and Pricing: As someone who typically opts for budget hotels, this hotel leans towards the pricier side compared to my usual choices. During my recent 3-night stay, I booked a room with ‘2 Double Beds’ for $229. The room featured two comfortable Serenity brand beds and a notable 55-inch TV, the largest I’ve encountered in a hotel. The adjustable TV swivels for optimal viewing angles. A surprising highlight was the extensive selection of cable channels, including complimentary HBO, a rarity in my hotel experiences. Room Amenities: A notable drawback, however, was the absence of microwaves in the rooms. Given the rate I paid, I expected this basic amenity, especially considering that even budget hotels I frequent provide them. This omission left me baffled and disappointed. Parking Situation: Another point of dissatisfaction was that they only offer Valet parking, priced at a steep $51 according to their website. While I assumed this was a daily charge, my final bill at check-out revealed a reduced total of $129 for the three nights (equivalent to $42.98 per night). Though I didn’t inquire about the reduction, I was relieved not to exceed my anticipated expense of $153. Elevator Issue: During my stay, I noticed that one of the two elevators was unresponsive and very slow. This issue seems to have been highlighted in reviews, with a response comment mentioning they were going to fix it eight months ago. It appears that this concern remains unaddressed, indicating a potential lack of responsiveness to guest feedback. Staff and Service: Despite these concerns, I enjoyed my stay. The Front Desk staff were welcoming and accommodating. Overall Rating: Considering the price paid, I expected additional amenities such as in-room microwaves and a more reasonable Valet parking fee. For further insights, please refer to the pictures from my stay. I’ve rated this place 4 stars, considering the points mentioned in my review.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: There is no self-parking here. Valet only.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Jan 13, 2024
Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles. We appreciate your kind comments about our comfortable beds, spacious rooms, and attentive staff. We also want to express our gratitude for highlighting areas of concern. Your insights are invaluable, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by the elevator and the absence of in-room microwaves. Rest assured, we are addressing these matters to enhance our guest experience. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back for an improved stay. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zoe P wrote a review Dec 2023
Los Angeles, California79 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
My family and I stayed one night to celebrate my birthday and had a wonderful time. The 1927 lounge had great food (the grilled shrimp cocktail and vegetable pasta really hit the spot). We stayed in a fantastic king bed room with lounge, it was fun and let us spread out a bit. Staff was so nice and helpful. It’s a great spot for a weekend downtown. We did take a Lyft since we live in town and the price for parking was so high. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and quite a few bars. LA Live is also pretty close, if you don’t mind a bit of a walk. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Jan 1, 2024
Dear MrsPatino, Thank you for choosing Hilton Checkers Los Angeles for your birthday celebration! We're delighted to learn that you and your family had a wonderful time enjoying the fantastic room and the delicious food offerings. Our team strives to ensure each guest has a fulfilling stay, and we appreciate your kind words about their service. Further, we thank you for mentioning your love for our excellent location near various restaurants and bars. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the heart of downtown Los Angeles! Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ringa2023 wrote a review Oct 2023
Santa Maria, California1 contribution
I was really happy with the choise of this hotel. Clean, friendly. Beautifl view from the roof. I got the room with the city view, so happy with my choise. Have nothing to complain about this hotel. I had my 3 kids with me and they were excited about the place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Oct 19, 2023
Dear ringa2023, We appreciate you being our guest at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, and we're delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay! It's a pleasure to know you appreciated our immaculate accommodations, attentive service, and the beautiful city views from our rooftop. We aim to provide a comfortable and memorable experience for our guests, and we're pleased we made this happen for you. Thanks for choosing us, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another great stay in the future. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
miminicer wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
Great hotel , very clean , very kind workers , loved the room , great location in the heart of downtown , I had a very warm welcome and I was recognized as a member , everything works perfectly fine in the room loved the view
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Sep 23, 2023
Dear miminicer, Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing Hilton Checkers Los Angeles for your stay! We're delighted to see that you had an excellent experience with us, from our clean and comfortable rooms to our friendly and welcoming staff. We're also pleased that you enjoyed our central downtown location and the warm recognition as a member. Your positive feedback motivates us to continue delivering exceptional experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay in the heart of downtown Los Angeles. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Regulrtraveller wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
The cold water tap in the sink didn't work. I told front desk at the beginning of my stay. Nothing was done about the issue. I requested a corner room away from the lifts. Was given the complete opposite room closest to the lift. Rude and dismissive bar tender that didn't seem like they wanted to be there. Bar tender didn't have knowledge of what cocktails they had on menu or what they could make. No knowledge of the whiskeys they had in the bar.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Sep 17, 2023
Dear Regulrtraveller, Thank you for sharing your review and the details surrounding your recent stay. We regret that our staff did not promptly respond to your requests and apologize for the frustration this caused. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, and we will address them right away. Our team's priority is exceptional service to our guests, so we are very disappointed this was not your experience. We hope you will give us another chance to show how much we appreciate having you as our guest. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Daniel M wrote a review Sep 2023
Middletown, Pennsylvania82 contributions31 helpful votes
The Checkers is a nice hotel. The room was clean and well maintained. The fitness center was good for a small hotel. I was disappointed with the WiFi situation. You have to pay for it separately and it is very weak and difficult to connect to. I did not try the restaurant, but have read good things about it. So, overall, not a bad stay. Just a bit expensive for having to pay extra for breakfast and internet.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Sep 3, 2023
Dear danielmG8802TX, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay. It is gratifying to read that you loved our well-kept rooms and thoughtful amenities. However, we always aim to ensure a seamless experience for our guests throughout their stay, and we apologize for the issue regarding our WiFi service. We have addressed this with our engineering team to see what went wrong and prevent such matters from impacting future guests. We hope you will consider choosing us again in the near future so we can deliver the seamless visit you deserve. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bex wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location for MOCA, The broad and Walt Disney hall. We had a few days here and it was a comfortable hotel. Our only problem was with the slow wifi which caused our teen daughters some angst ! The rooms were clean, well serviced and the whole hotel was well kept. The valets were helpful and reception gave us good advice about metro vs driving to different places. We didn’t eat in the hotel - but did have a drink in the bar which has a relaxed vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Starbucks’s is just a minute down the street and was perfect for breakfast especially as our kids...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Responded Sep 3, 2023
Dear relh79, We are glad you had a great time with us and appreciate your generous remarks. Our team makes every effort to ensure a seamless experience for our guests, and we are delighted you recognized the efforts of our attentive associates. It is also a pleasure to see that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and relaxing bar. However, we do regret the inconvenience caused by our WiFi, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We have addressed this with the concerned individuals to prevent such matters from affecting future guests. Thanks again for the review; we hope you are back soon for another exceptional stay. Best Regards, Althea Abdallah General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Los Angeles area.
PRICE RANGE
$208 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton hotel los angeles, hilton los angeles, los angeles hilton
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesCentral L.A / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
193
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON CHECKERS LOS ANGELES $197 ($̶2̶2̶9̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Nearby attractions include Angels Flight Railway (0.2 miles), Mrs. Fish (0.2 miles), and The Rooftop at The Standard Downtown LA (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bottega Louie, Water Grill, and SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Checkers Los Angeles offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Angels Flight Railway (0.2 miles), El Pueblo de Los Angeles (0.9 miles), and Hollyhock House (4.1 miles).
Is Hilton Checkers Los Angeles accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.