We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dunes Inn - Sunset

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dunes Inn - Sunset
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 254: English reviews
Start your review of Dunes Inn - Sunset
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a quaint place that is cheap, has comfy beds and good bathrooms. The rooms were clean and serviceable. After some initial confusion regarding our check-in the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is an older style hotel, much like what you see on a lot of movies and we found it to be comfortable and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelo S
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel and I appreciate your recommendation to others. We ARE in a great location aren't we, and I thank you for pointing that out. Again, thank you taking the trouble to write. Peter R.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Hotel doesn't look great from outside, but is a very good hotel. Room was very tidy with comfortable beds, Great bathrooms, In a pretty good spot, only about a 5 minute drive to some main attractions. Most staff were very helpful and polite. Offered a restaurant which was delicious, great VALUE FOR MONEY

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam P
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. I was a little surprised when you said "most staff were very helpful" as we pride ourselves on the fact that ALL our staff are friendly and helpful. Someone must have been having an off day and I apologize for that. Again, thank you for taking the trouble to write. Peter...

Western Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for five nights and picked this inn for the location. I found the rooms a good size and the bed comfortable. There's a denny's across the road and a macca's for breakfast right across the street. Hollywood walk of fame just a five minute walk away. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara929
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I agree our location is a great selling point. I appreciate you taking the trouble to write. Peter R.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I picked this hotel because of it's location and price, it wasn't very expensive and it's very close to Hollywood and more. The room is smallish, the road noise is barley noticeable considering it's on sunset blvd, the room was very clean. To me and my wife the hotel is a staging ground for our activities and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr Benson W
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our hotel. I greatly appreciated you taking the trouble to write and for your kind words. Peter R.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there for a few nights and found it relatively reasonable. The location was the reason I chose to stay there as it is close to everything. The only downside to the location is that it is a little noisy, but it is Sunset Boulevard so that is defiantly expected. My room phone was not working which wasn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AubreyDennings
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

I'm sorry you weren't entirely happy with your room. The housekeepers are usually very thorough, in fact if you read other reviews on this site, you will have seen many comments praising the housekeepers on how clean our rooms are. Thank you for writing. Peter R.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean rooms, close to public transport. Amenities close by. Small room but it is LA. Decent place to rest for a few nights, considering the cost. I wouldn't spend anymore than a few nights there, that was enough for me

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goddessness
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the trouble to write. Peter R.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I didn't get off to a great start with this visit. I had arranged in advance for an early check in as we were arriving early. I was granted permission to check in at noon instead of 2pm and had the email confirmation to prove it. I was a little disappointed to be told by the man on reception that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smilelikeyoumeanit83
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Customer service IS very important to us and I apologize for your disappointing experience. Official check in time is 2pm. and we can't absolutely guarantee an early check in but, as a rule we will check people in early if a room has been vacated and cleaned and that happens in the...

Reviewed December 30, 2016

My wife and I were planning to stay for four nights around Christmas time near Hollywood, but had to check out two days early due to several unacceptable issues. First, This hotel was said on Hotwire to be comparable to a Best Western, a Hampton Inn, or something similar. In actuality, this was much closer to a 1 star motel,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Steven T
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

I am so pleased that such negative reviews as yours are few and far between. Indeed the vast majority of guests who write a review are extremely positive and do not attempt to damage our reputation. As far as the cleanliness of our rooms is concerned, there might be the odd isolated incident where the housekeeper may have missed something...

Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

I feel bad giving two stars, but three would be too many. First impressions carry a lot of weight. Your first impression while checking in is the manager/cashier behind protective glass. This makes it seem as though there is a need for protection while at the hotel. I saw somebody responding to these reviews saying that there is always glass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reingding13
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, from which I was sorry to see that, on the whole, you were not happy with your experience with us. I really don't understand where it would be more beneficial to replace the glass with dry wall. One has to see the customers to check them in! I agree that an open...

Macleay Island, Australia
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Great location, clean, however small things would make all the difference like coffee and tea making facilities, air conditioning a little noisy, garden out the front of room smelt like urine. I also found the elderly reception guy with an English accent a little rude in the three occasions over the week I dealt with him. But other than that,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaelgc34
DIS-Concierge, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

It was a little upsetting to read your review. I am the "elderly" guy with the English accent to which you refer (I prefer the term "older" by the way. We pride ourselves in having very helpful and friendly staff at the front desk - and that includes me. I may not be as gushing as others and am more...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

406 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Full Room (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Single Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (117)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#112 of 347 in Los Angeles
647 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#132 of 347 in Los Angeles
593 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#64 of 347 in Los Angeles
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
#199 of 347 in Los Angeles
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Hollywood

Neighborhood Profile
Hollywood
Hollywood undoubtedly conjures up images of movie stars and high-end lifestyles, and to this day, tourists flock here from around the world to see the iconic Hollywood Walk of Fame, Chinese Theatre and to catch a glimpse of the famed Hollywood sign up close. Celebrity impersonators and crowds give these areas the feeling of an amusement park while many clubs and hotels fill up around the weekends for late-night partying - the Hollywood club scene is a haven for thumping music and table-side bottle service. But parties aren’t the only way to enjoy this area, many visitors come to the neighborhood to sit back with a picnic to watch a performance at the Hollywood Bowl and those looking to stay fit trek along nature trails in the Hollywood hills and in Griffith Park.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Dunes Inn on Sunset, you can enjoy the charms of historic Hollywood during your stay in Los Angeles. You can choose from a single Queen size, two Double beds or two Queen beds. Each room is equipped with satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating unit and hairdryer for your convenience. Every room projects a tranquil environment so that you can feel at home after a long day exploring the thrills of Los Angeles. All of our rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. Our Hollywood CA hotel is located half a block east of the 101 freeway in Hollywood on famous Sunset Boulevard. In-hotel services include free wireless internet, parking, ice & vending machines on-site and a laundromat down the street. Some members of our helpful and friendly staff have been working as long as 20 years to make our guests feel comfortable. Our front desk is open 24 hours to accommodate your needs at any time. We can answer questions, booking tours and some shows, as well as assist with shuttle service ( including a surcharge) to any destination. For your dining needs, we suggest choosing the Dreams Café and Lounge next door to the Dunes Inn Sunset. Our Sunset location is located very close to the famous Hollywood, so it is ideal for business travelers looking to catch a show or concert at the Pantages, Fonda, Dolby Theatre or Hollywood Bowl. Those looking to experience Hollywood through Hollywood and Highland, the Walk of Fame and the Wax Museum can purchase discount tickets through our front desk. You can also take an early morning jog or hike through Griffith Park, or explore the wonders of the Observatory. You can also take the Metro from Hollywood/Western to downtown Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Santa Monica and many more locations around Los Angeles. We are located 17 miles from the Los Angeles International airport and 8 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank airport. At the Dunes Inn, we take pride in accommodating guests as if they are family. Book a room at our Sunset location today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Address: 5625 West Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Price Range: $115 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dunes Inn - Sunset staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Terrigal, Australia
Sandton, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Dunes Inn - Sunset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms face the central parking area. Try and get a corner one for that extra bit of quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles H1411WQangelos, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Do not book if you can avoid it.”
 of 5 bubbles stevent128, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“Further from the street is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 453tamaraw, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem about the same.”
 of 5 bubbles MisterMVA, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
“We had an upper floor room I suppose ground floor are easier for getting your luggage in and out”
 of 5 bubbles Rufusdoug, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question