We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
416 W 8th St, Los Angeles, CA 90014-3002
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$122
Booking.com
$122
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
$64
Hotels.com$122
Travelocity$122
Lol.travel$176
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (280)
Room & Suite (113)
Pool & Beach (73)

About

#121 of 413 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
Housed in the historic Commercial Exchange building in Downtown Los Angeles, Freehand LA is truly one-of-a-kind, featuring suites, premium hotel rooms and shared accommodations with interiors designed by Roman & Williams. Home to the award-winning Broken Shaker Rooftop Pool & Bar, Freehand LA offers exceptional food & beverage with a strong sense of comfort and community. Conveniently located with close proximity to the Staples Center, Fashion, Finance and Arts Districts, Downtown Los Angles is home to world class attractions, unique restaurants and a thriving nightlife scene. Come see us here in LA!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Rooftop terrace
Parking garage
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
198Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
48Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
623Reviews42Q+A53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 260
  • 151
  • 85
  • 58
  • 69
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eunice B wrote a review Dec 2022
7 contributions
Came November 2021 and most noticeable thing is that this is a busy hotel. People are always coming in and out, and although that wasn’t a problem for me, I just thought it would be important to note for anyone that prefers a more quiet stay. I could hear people through my room but I did have a room right by the elevators so that’s probably why. Other than that, this is a nice hotel and the design of it is why I ended up staying here. I felt safe by myself and the single bed had enough room for my things and has more than enough room for two people. The bar upstairs is super cute! Food is okay but the drinks were pretty decent and the view is nice too. I hear it gets busy on the rooftop bar but when I went it was very lowkey. Not sure if I would say it’s in a walkable area aside from the immediate food places on the same street but I wouldn’t recommend walking anywhere in dtla alone anyways. I didn’t do the valet service but I was told by the valet people where to park my car and it was fine on all the days I was there. Don’t leave anything valuable in there though, because there was a car nearby in the same garage that got broken into. Overall nice place for a short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the review! We are glad to know, overall you had a great stay besides the noise. There are plenty of restaurants and bars near the hotel that is walkable and safe. We hope to see you soon again for longer stay and have another amazing time. When you come back, please request a room away from the elevator. Then after you settled in your room, come by the desk for all the places, restaurants and bars near the hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Legal Helpers wrote a review Dec 2022
Do NOT stay at Freehand Hostel downtown Los Angeles 1. They put four stranger's in the tiny rooms (despite also this pandemic going on), and force them to share a single ensuite bathroom. Housekeeping does not clean the showers. They also never clean nor disinfectant with wipes nor spray, the bunk beds sides/walls/mini-counter nooks. The room's nor the hallways nor lobby have no hand sanitizer dispensers. They barely dust off the stairs of the bunk beds, with a duster. They don't disinfect the mattresses before changing the bedding. They dont disinfect (via wipes nor spray) the lockers. They also do not ever clean nor disinfect the two-seater couch nor the wooden stool. They dont disinfect any common touched surfaces (door handles, locker handles, window latch handles, light switches, toilet handles, shower handles, shower head's, sink handles, wall hooks, wall bars (where they place hanging towels). Thank God I travel with Lysol and Lysol wipes. The blanket is thin and designed with wholes all over them allowing the cold rooms to keep you cold unable to sleep. 2. The locker's have no hooks to hang anything. 3. The bedding (linens and pillow cases) has white little lint balls all over them that come onto and all over your clothing/sleepwear and hair. 4. The 5% off discount code that their own website offers stating that if you sign up for the e-newsletter and book there on their website rather than on a travel website; 5% will be deducted from your total; does not work (is not applied to your total). So they're committing Bait & Switch and Fraudulent Misrepresentation, which are both illegal consumer protection violations. 5. The 'kitchen' if you want to call it that, in the basement, has no paper cups for the hot water dispenser, but plastic clear cups for the cold water dispenser. Moreover, there's no way of telling if that water overall is filtered or not. There are no pots nor pans nor any cooking utensils. There's no oven, only a stove top that might or might not work. There's no toaster oven, only a cancer causing radiation-emitting food nooking device (a microwave). 6. There are no disinfectant/sanitizer dispensers in the kitchen nor around any other public areas of the hostel, nor in the bathroom of the rooms (nowhere in rooms nor hallways). 7. They charge a senseless $50 deposit literally for NO PURPOSE, and, they dont accept cash for it which is even moreso Damaging. They're nosy and want to illegally invade your privacy your confidential information look at your bank statement when swiping the card (same card they swiped for room payment, mind you) that clearly jas a Visa/Mastercard/Amex logo on it, is sufficient. And, they dont put on the receipt nor the registration print out anything about the $50 deposit nor it being refunded; whixh is also illegal. 8. They don't provide guests with at least coffee. Yet they charge $4 for a cup at their cafe stand in lobby. 9. The room's door's slam closed, instead of the hostel building them to slowly and quietly click closed or otherwise to be manually closed quietly. You're therefore awakened and otherwise scared/startled and heart pounding hard from the sudden BOOM! 10. Ask for two pillows at the least, or an extra bath towel to put over your pillow. The pillows are not firm, give no support, no lift. 11. Positive's: The low lighting of the lobby and rooms, is cozy. The bed was firm. I didn't go in it, but there's a workout room. The housekeeper barely vacuumed, and, without first sprinkling baking soda nor any disinfectant spray down. ###
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded 3 weeks ago
This review is false. No need to respond.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mariaxangelina wrote a review Dec 2022
Brunswick, Ohio952 contributions119 helpful votes
Stayed here during DragCon this year and it was a great location, easy 20 minute walk to the convention center and also close to the show we went to night 1 and fun downtown bars. I didn't feel unsafe in the area at all. The six bed dorm was definitely cramped, but the ensuite bathroom was nice (separate room for shower and toilet with sinks outside in the public space) and there were lockers to store belongings. I did really love the rooftop pool and Broken Shaker bar up there. It had a hybrid feel between being hostel and hotel, but I enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Dec 15, 2022
Thank you for your review, Mariaxangelina. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you visit again soon! Freehand Los Angeles
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guide55680724876 wrote a review Oct 2022
San Diego, California1 helpful vote
Hotel has a nice location conveniently close to Cvc, Whole Foods and nice restaurants. Room was smaller than the one I had stayed before but ok. Expensive rate for the size. Pool and bar at the rooftop are nice, always crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Oct 26, 2022
Thank you for the review! Glad that, for the most part, you had a nice visit with us recently. Feel free to always request your preferred room/room type. We will always do best to accommodate. Thank you for your continued patronage!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alonsoelena wrote a review Oct 2022
Santander, Spain23 contributions27 helpful votes
First of all, this is not a hostel. There is a Hotel, with rooms for sharing. The welcoming was cold, and the staff very rude when I asked why they needed my credit card again, if they had token money already. By the way, they over charged me. Anyway, I went to enjoy the lobby, "living area" that's no other thing than a bar. So you can not to drink or eat anyting from outside. Then I asked for a beer than in the menu cost 7$. The "charming" bartender told me that it was 9$ en total with the taxes and the tip. Why did he decide how much money I had to leave as a tip? And the last surprise... I went to the swimmimg pool. It was full, and they had to put my name in a waiting list, telling me I could only stay for two hours. I had to leave, because in 15 minutes, every member of the rude staff, came at least twice, asking me if I wanted to have something to drink. More money! The next Day, I discovered that was "another" comun area where we could drink and eat our own stuff. A tiny, dirty, and smelly windowless room in the basement. It also had a kitchen where the stove didn't work, and not a pot, piece of cutlery or crockery to find around. It looked more like a staff-cantine area. One of the worst experiences of my life. NEVER EVER COME BACK!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: There is not a Hostel. It's a Hotel with not usefull living áreas.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Oct 17, 2022
Sorry you did not enjoy. Freehand LA is a hybrid hotel. The majority of the hotel is comprised of Private King Rooms and a smaller portion dedicated to a Shared Room concept. So, correct, we are not a hostel. As with any guest, we take a deposit for incidental charges at check-in. This is simply a hold, and all unused funds are returned to you card after check-out. It is not a charge. This is explained at check-in. Our lobby area does have a bar which opens in the late afternoon. As is the same with many bars in restaurants today and 18% gratuity is added. This goes directly to the employee, not the hotel. We have a smaller pool area and we do initiate a 2-hour limit for pool chairs when busy, so all of our guests have a chance to enjoy. It is customary for staff to come around and inquire for service. Should the alternative be that nobody comes by to see if a guest would like something? We do have a Guest Lounge area next to the Fitness Center. The Guest Lounge is a communal place our guests can go to watch TV, get complimentary cold-filtered water, use the microwave or fridge, get ice, etc... We do not provide a stove for cooking due to liability reasons and cutlery is on own for hygienic reasons. Again, we are very sorry you did not have a good experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew A wrote a review Oct 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom56 contributions57 helpful votes
The hotel is in the downtown district of LA, but not the smartest area of downtown. We were uncomfortable walking the streets in the area when it was dark. Our check in experience was not good, and there was a lot of noise from the street overnight. Having said that our room was fine, clean and tidy, and the hotel overall has a nice feel to it. The Pool deck and bar is very nice, especially in the evening. We ate in the Exchange restaurant the menu is eclectic and interesting and the quality of the food and service was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Downtown LA is a good location to get around the Los Angeles area. Perhaps Santa Monica is a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Thank you for the review, Andrew. Sorry you did not have an amazing stay but glad, for the most part, you enjoyed. We are actually located in one of the more central and better parts of DTLA. Apologies for any issue with the exterior environment but you will find this all over DTLA and LA in general. Again, thank you very much. We truly appreciate your staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe C wrote a review Oct 2022
Identity Crisis. This place is either a very nice hostel or a poorly run boutique hotel. There are dorms and backpackers paying $40 for a bed and regualr guests paying $300 for a room. But you have to compete equally for guest services. I paid $300 and expected better. Same long line at check in. Want ice? Take yourself all the way down downstairs to get it. Same for extra towels. Desk staff had no basic hospitality skills and some were outright cold. Like I should feel lucky to be staying there. The restaurant is fine but over priced and despite us being in the middle of an expensive meal, the waiter let us no the kitchen was closing at 930p (on a Saturday) and it was last call. Ordered "Duck Carnitas" for $42 and received two small crispy duck legs and some slaw. Was tasty but not sure what it had to do with carnitas. The pool has a 2 hour limit for use. So forget about a leisurely afternoon catching the rays. The timer goes off they kick you out. The rooms are tiny and lacking in any sort of amenities that might justify their price. Bottomline, if you are 19 and traveling the world, DEF stay here. If you are a grown person, stay anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Thank you very much for your candid feedback. Though we are very sorry you did not enjoy your recently visit we do truly appreciate being able to see where we can do better. We have distributed your comments internally to the respective departments which will review and follow-up. In regard to the pool, we do institute a time limit on busier days. Our pool area is not very large, so we facilitate a time limit to allow all of our guests to enjoy. Again, our sincere apologies.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher D wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Could easily be zero stars. Original room was 93 degrees upon check in, the air conditioning unit was poor by anyone's standard, we asked to switch rooms. They did not offer to come get our bags, or move us to a new room so we brought our luggage back down to the front desk. We were then given a second room. Again, no offer made to accompany us and see if the new room was up to standards. This room was 92 degrees upon entry. After a second phone call, they sent up staff to change the filters on the AC unit. That team told us the AC was functioning well and blowing cold air (it was blowing cold air as if you had a few ice cubes in your mouth and blew on my neck) and to use the blackout curtains (after a sort of condescending explanation of what blackout curtains do) and give it some time for the AC to work. We went out to dinner for about two hours and came back to a nice cool 87 degree room. We once again took our belongings back downstairs. We were then told by the front desk staff that since we booked a room with a king size bed all of those rooms faced the sun and would all have similar problems (why would that be an acceptable answer?) and they could do nothing more for us since they accommodated us once already. I had no idea their idea of accommodating someone was to put them in a room with the same problem that the previous room had but what do I know, I am not in the hospitality industry. We were then told that the hotel was completely booked so no further "accommodations" could be made. We asked for a refund and this is the first time they reacted with some conviction, they were happy to let us leave. Must be nice to be able to turn away business. At no time were there any apologies, any remorse, just matter-of-factly let us leave. My wife and I don't argue or yell, we never feel its worth it, but we left angry and hotel-less on a Saturday night in Los Angeles. We scrambled to find a new hotel but the damage was done, they took our entire Saturday away from us, which no refund could ever compensate for, they temporarily took our joy to be in town on our own as we are parents and do not get much time away. We did take our business elsewhere, to a Hilton, they seem to understand that to relax you need a room that is slightly cooler than a sauna. We were able to salvage the remaining days of our trip. Also the elevators at the Freehand are old (charming?) and constantly in use because of the rooftop bar so it took us waiting for a few packed elevators to get up and down to the hot AF rooms which probably added to our level of frustration. But it was mostly the Sahara like environment of the hot room. Did I mention the rooms were hot? Also maybe use a free hand to open a book on what hospitality looks like, I think your staff may be surprised. (see what I did there?)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Hello and thank you for your candid feedback. Our sincere apologies you did not have a good experience at the hotel last month. We truly appreciate your candid feedback and are currently following up internally in regard to this situation. We are so sorry your Saturday was ruined and that you had to endure such poor accomodations and service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James C wrote a review Sep 2022
Bunya Mountains, Australia14 contributions11 helpful votes
Excellent, stayed in 4-bed dorm. Very clean throughout and serviced each day. Quiet side of the building. Beds and bathroom as expected, no complaints. Close to everything downtown, close to Whole Foods, Target, central library etc. Can recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Sep 20, 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review, James! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and its location in DTLA! We do hope to have you back with us again very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The London Traveller wrote a review Sep 2022
7 contributions
When arriving at the hotel (at 3pm for check-in) our room was not ready, the First Lady we spoke to at the desk (a manager I think) was very unhelpful and basically told us to wait. At around 3.30 our room was not ready (we were going to stay in a shared room) so we approached the desk again however this time was talking to a man (I think his name was Tom) who said he would look into it. At around 4 we went to speak to him and he was very apologetic, arranging a free upgrade for me and my friend to a top room floor with free drinks, which was amazing!! He was so lovely and caring with his service, defiantly a credit to the hotel. There are plenty of bars around the hotel and it’s in a lovely area with a metro close by. I feel if the man was not theta to assist us then the review would be very different as the other people at the concierge seemed uncaring and uninterested. Would 100% recommend for the views, the state of the art rooms, and local connections The room we got moved into was lovely, and there were amazing
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Sep 5, 2022
Hello Olivia! Thank you for the candid review. We truly appreciate it. Our apologies for the rough start but glad to see we recovered and, overall, were able to provide you with a good experience! Nice tor read that you like the location as well. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesCentral L.A / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
227
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FREEHAND LOS ANGELES $64 ($̶2̶5̶3̶) - Prices & Hotel Reviews - CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Freehand Los Angeles
Which popular attractions are close to Freehand Los Angeles?
Nearby attractions include Orpheum Theater (0.2 miles), Escape Room LA (0.3 miles), and The Theatre at Ace Hotel (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Freehand Los Angeles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Freehand Los Angeles?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Freehand Los Angeles?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Freehand Los Angeles?
Conveniently located restaurants include SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa, Bottega Louie, and Karl Strauss Brewing Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Freehand Los Angeles?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Freehand Los Angeles?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Freehand Los Angeles?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Freehand Los Angeles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Freehand Los Angeles?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Angels Flight Railway (0.5 miles), El Pueblo de Los Angeles (1.2 miles), and Hollyhock House (4.4 miles).
Is Freehand Los Angeles accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.