We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
416 W 8th St, Los Angeles, CA 90014-3002
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$167
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$167
View deal
Official Site
$78
View deal
Hotels.com$167
Travelocity$167
Trip.com$179
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (270)
Room & Suite (113)
Pool & Beach (71)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Freehand Los Angeles
Updated 08/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#118 of 409 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.8
Housed in the historic Commercial Exchange building in Downtown Los Angeles, Freehand LA is truly one-of-a-kind, featuring suites, premium hotel rooms and shared accommodations with interiors designed by Roman & Williams. Home to the award-winning Broken Shaker Rooftop Pool & Bar, Freehand LA offers exceptional food & beverage with a strong sense of comfort and community. Conveniently located with close proximity to the Staples Center, Fashion, Finance and Arts Districts, Downtown Los Angles is home to world class attractions, unique restaurants and a thriving nightlife scene. Come see us here in LA!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Rooftop terrace
Parking garage
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
244Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
48Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
614Reviews42Q+A50Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 260
  • 148
  • 83
  • 57
  • 66
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
James C wrote a review Sep 2022
Bunya Mountains, Australia14 contributions9 helpful votes
Excellent, stayed in 4-bed dorm. Very clean throughout and serviced each day. Quiet side of the building. Beds and bathroom as expected, no complaints. Close to everything downtown, close to Whole Foods, Target, central library etc. Can recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the wonderful review, James! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and its location in DTLA! We do hope to have you back with us again very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The London Traveller wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions
When arriving at the hotel (at 3pm for check-in) our room was not ready, the First Lady we spoke to at the desk (a manager I think) was very unhelpful and basically told us to wait. At around 3.30 our room was not ready (we were going to stay in a shared room) so we approached the desk again however this time was talking to a man (I think his name was Tom) who said he would look into it. At around 4 we went to speak to him and he was very apologetic, arranging a free upgrade for me and my friend to a top room floor with free drinks, which was amazing!! He was so lovely and caring with his service, defiantly a credit to the hotel. There are plenty of bars around the hotel and it’s in a lovely area with a metro close by. I feel if the man was not theta to assist us then the review would be very different as the other people at the concierge seemed uncaring and uninterested. Would 100% recommend for the views, the state of the art rooms, and local connections The room we got moved into was lovely, and there were amazing
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Olivia! Thank you for the candid review. We truly appreciate it. Our apologies for the rough start but glad to see we recovered and, overall, were able to provide you with a good experience! Nice tor read that you like the location as well. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alejandro wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
we arrive at the deskt to do our check in, we were just waiting in line and the manager was just standing there without saying anything, like "Give just one second i am into something or so" he was just sitting, from time to time watching his computer till I finally step up and we could make our checkin. Also I did put my card on the online check in in order to not put it on site, so what is the point of leaving my card details online? We were 2 people, he gave us one good card for the room but the other did not work. The next day when we went to the lobby and ask maria to check this for us (Also plenty of complaints for her, but I will go into that in a few momments) she yell at us asking us "wher did we get this card as it was from another room". When we went to fix our room card, Again, now it was maria just watching at her computer without telling anything to the people that we have been in line for a while. The guys in front of us were asking for some kind of deposit refund that she could not handle so she ask for the manager, so there were 2 people working to resolve one case (she was just yawning seeing how his manager was trying to solve the issue while there were people waiting to resolve simple issue, definitely maria does not have the skills to work in hospitality. When, after waiting for a long time and seeing that she was simply not doing anything, I asked her if she could help us, to which she replied that she was busy. I waited again, suddenly someone from the line approached and asked her for something and she simply attended to him, to which I asked her if she could help us now because we were first, to which she responded by saying that we should be in line, which is It makes me think that she has no idea what is going on around her since we had been in front of her in line and talked previously. I don't know if this person is simply incompetent, rude or racist, but I certainly saw many people dissatisfied with his attitude and service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are very sorry in regard to this experience and will follow-up internally. There is never an excuse for poor service and, once again, we are sincerely sorry.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrepullen wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California7 contributions
+1
Such an amazing stay from the arrival until the departure. The GM and his staff should be applauded for this gem in the middle of downtown Los Angeles. Walking distance from tons of bars and restaurants if you want the feel of the city. On the flip side you can escape to their scenic rooftop if you want tropical feel with amazing views.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Aug 8, 2022
What an amazing review! Thank you so very much and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Please come again very soon! Have a great remainder of your summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian H wrote a review Jul 2022
Port Stephens, Australia11 contributions
I saw this as a hotel extension when booking a flight from Australia. It had to be reasonable if the airline approved of it. As I arrived near midnight and left @7am, there was little I got to experience other than a comfortable bed, a warm shower, and a fabulous view from a high floor. The same guy who checked me in was still on the desk when I left. The valet-parking guy (I had no car) was still on duty, too, and helped throw my luggage in the Uber. Their room was comfortable. Their staff were excellent. Definitely an option next time I get to LA
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Thank you very much for the kind review. Ian! We are very happy that you were happy with your experience and are thrilled to see that you will return when next in LA! Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eduardo wrote a review Jul 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed in 8 person hostel room. Did also see a 4 person hostel room and thought 8 person actually seemed better. Despite it having more people, it was a bigger space and felt less enclosed. As hostels go, seems the best you can get. Rooftop pool and bar a real attraction, paradise up there and plenty of socialising to be done. $19 per cocktail though, but I assume this is LA prices.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Hello and thank you for the very nice review! We are happy that you enjoyed the room option you chose. Being a hybrid hotel, we do have dorm room options, but the majority of our rooms are Private King rooms. Next time you are with us try one of our King Rooms. We are sure you will enjoy. Also, we are happy to see that you had time to check out our beautiful rooftop pool, bar and restaurant; Broken Shaker!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carouanono wrote a review Jul 2022
Buenos Aires90 contributions80 helpful votes
For a family group this is a really bad option. We booked the private quad and even being a group of 3 it was too small and uncomfortable. I cannot imagine being 4 and strangers. The room is small and poorly equipped (no hand towels, no shampoo or conditioner , no hair dryer). The door to the shower didn't close properly. The bed linens are very basic just one flat sheet and one light throw each. Luckily it wasn't a cold night. No closets either. Our staff had to stay in the luggage. The beds are noisy at the lightest movement. I really think for the price we paid there are much better options. The only good part is the location and the building in general is very beautiful. Maybe for a group of friends is a decent option although the cost is not like a youth hostel at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking costs 49 dollars per day and you can find parking for half of that price just round the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Hello Carolina, Thank you for your feedback. As we see you are still in-house, we will come immediately to ensure we can make the remainder of your stay more comfortable. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced and hope we can turn around your perception before you depart.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danny K wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
The room was fine, more or less what was expected. The mattress left much to be desired though, hard and unforgiving which led to a fair amount of back ache and stiffness in the morning. Halfway through my stay they decided that the lobby was now an extension of the restaurant/cafe and that no one could have outside coffee, food, snacks, etc. in the area. Definitely a weird move considering the clientele is mostly younger people looking to work remotely and their coffee/food offerings are mediocre at best. The big issues arose when it came to the rooftop bar/pool area. The situation around getting chairs at the pool was beyond frustrating, especially as a larger person. I was given the run around on their extremely specific seating rules (can't hang out at the bar area while waiting for a pool chair apparently, even if you're planning on buying drinks in both places) and then eventually put on a waitlist, however the hot girls behind us were sat immediately at the pool. Upon returning when I was told it was my turn, my girlfriend and I were told that we could only have one chair to share and that it wouldn't be facing the pool. After being led to the chair we were told that it was soaked through with water and that there was nothing that could be done about it. After being seated the wait staff came over and asked "how are you?" and I replied "not great" we decided to leave. I made my dissatisfaction known to the hosts with a hand gesture and went downstairs to explain the situation to the manager. Upon explaining the situation to the manager, he called over four security guards even larger than myself as a clear intimidation tactic where they tried to gaslight me into believing that I had caused a scene on the roof deck and had verbally assaulted their staff. It was clear that they were trying to provoke some sort of confrontation from me, likely trying to get a physical response out of me. After all of this, the manager decided to give me a reservation for the next day as well as free drinks during my time at the pool, but continued to have the security staff stare me down for the duration of the interaction. Following my stay I was sent an automated email asking to fill out a survey, I filled it out detailing many of the things I wrote here, stiff beds, rude staff, intimidation tactics, etc. I received a prompt reply from the do-not-reply automated survey email address again trying to act like I had verbally assaulted their staff and that I had also subsequently been banned from the pool for the remainder of my stay, conveniently forgetting when they not only gave me further access but reserved said access for me and provided drinks on top. I'm sure that this review will warrant a VERY similar response from the hotel, they might even continue to twist the story further since their take on it has gotten more intense every time they try to tell it. TLDR; staff is rude and discriminates against guests based on size and weight, rooms are fine but lack comfortable beds, pay the extra few bucks to stay at the Ace.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: There are a hundred better places for morning coffee and rooftop drinks within a half mile of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Jul 13, 2022
Hello and our sincere apologies that you did not have an enjoyable visit recently. We recently reopened our lobby bar and restaurant, Rudolph's. As the same with most establishments, we do not allow outside F&B in the bar area. This is why we have a private Guest Lounge for our hotel guests to access where they can comfortably sit, use the facilities and enjoy their personal food and beverage items. We do apologize for your experience at the pool. The pool chairs are first come/first serve. We do have a waitlist once all are occupied. The girls who were sat were on the waitlist. Though all of our chairs face the pool, we are very sorry you did not get one which was to your liking. We had the one chair available and decided to offer it instead of making you and your girlfriend wait longer for two chairs. Security was only called after the staff felt your behavior warranted it. Nothing personal and no "discrimination" just a response when called by staff. With no hard feelings, our Management did try to smooth things over. Again, our apologies and it just seems that this hotel is probably not the best one for your needs.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa J wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Staff was SO friendly starting with the valet parking guy Kevin. Adorable place, amazing food, view & pool. The room was a tight fit but it was adorable - kids loved the bunk beds & I love the old Art Deco building :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Jul 11, 2022
Wonderful to read. Thank you, Lisa. We hope you come visit us again very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elliot D wrote a review Jun 2022
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
The room was clean and there were no major problems. However the medicre rating given was because the safe in the room didn’t work, and during our stay of 4 nights, we told them about this every day and it was never looked at. The lighting in our room was also atrocious, with the curtains closed, even with every possible light turned on, you could barely see. Also $50 dollars to park your car there overnight when there is a car park round the corner that charges $10 was extortionate.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: $50 a night to park your car using valet services which is their only option for on site parking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Thank you Elliot. We do apologize about any issues with your safe. This should have been able to be rectified very easily. We are following up internally. Our lighting design is on the "dimmer" side but we are always more than happy to place extra standing lamps in the room. We do not have on-site hotel paring and must use the garage behind us. The $50 rate is in line and lower in some cases to other hotels in DTLA. We do truly appreciate you staying with us and hope you try us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$102 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesCentral L.A / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
227
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Freehand Los Angeles
Which popular attractions are close to Freehand Los Angeles?
Nearby attractions include Orpheum Theater (0.2 miles), Escape Room LA (0.3 miles), and The Theatre at Ace Hotel (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Freehand Los Angeles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Freehand Los Angeles?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Freehand Los Angeles?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Freehand Los Angeles?
Conveniently located restaurants include SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa, Bottega Louie, and Karl Strauss Brewing Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Freehand Los Angeles?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Freehand Los Angeles?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Freehand Los Angeles?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Freehand Los Angeles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Freehand Los Angeles?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Angels Flight Railway (0.5 miles), El Pueblo de Los Angeles (1.2 miles), and Hollyhock House (4.4 miles).
Is Freehand Los Angeles accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.