We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save
Share
200 E Willow St, Long Beach, CA 90806-2624
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
$127
View Deal
Booking.com
$127
View Deal
lovevacations
$137
$124
View Deal
SAVE $13
Priceline$127
ascendcollection
Trip.com$137
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (186)
Room & Suite (77)
Videos (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Updated 06/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 63 hotels in Long Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Pamper yourself at Long Beach’s newest lifestyle boutique hotel. Relax in an oversized guestroom, each with 50” HD SMART TV’s, bathrooms with rainfall showerheads & shower wands, cabinet enclosed refrigerator and microwave, and blue-tooth enabled speaker alarm clocks. Enjoy our large outdoor heated pool with sundeck, firepit & cabanas. Indulge yourself with a selection of savory breakfast sandwiches, breakfast burritos, yogurt parfait, and fresh-baked pastries from our specialty coffee & fresh fruit smoothie bar. Unwind each evening at our Wave Lounge, serving classic cocktails, locally brewed beer, exceptional appetizers, salads, sandwiches, wraps, and pizza.
Read more
Room & Suite (77)77
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
74Somewhat walkable
Grade: 74 out of 100
47Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
721Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 467
  • 153
  • 53
  • 24
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
E. Abrams wrote a review Oct 29
1 contribution
What a wonderful getaway place! We enjoyed our recent two night stay in Long Beach at "the Cove" hotel. Beautifully decorated and very clean room. Great shower with rainfall showerhead and a wand sprayer. Separate soaking tub in the spacious bathroom. The pool and courtyard area in such a relaxing setting. Loved the blue glass firepit! The lobby and lounge area are also very nice. Couldn't ask for a more friendlier staff! Great location for Long Beach attractions and with a 24hr CVS and an Albertsons across the street. A true "hidden gem"! Would definitely go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Courtney M C wrote a review Oct 17
Charleston, South Carolina88 contributions63 helpful votes
This is NOT a great hotel - mediocre and in a sketchy area of town. The check-in took overly long - the only staff there put a caller on hold for the entire time I was checking in (which was over 15 min) and there were more people behind us waiting. The pool area looks beautiful in the photos, but it was very crowded and noisy despite "Covid" restrictions on the number of people allowed. No pool towels were available. The rooms have very low ceilings, are way too dark and areas show wear/tear despite the "recent renovations". One standup light didn't even work. On the positive, the bed was VERY comfortable - and the linens and towels were decent and the rooms are feather-free. The amenities were also decent, and I appreciated the mini fridge and safe. The location is NOT good - in an area with many homeless people, around strip malls and cheap fast rood restaurants. Was not at all what I expected given the reviews. Was not a terrible experience, but I expected much more. It was a mediocre experience at best.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Deone O Dempcy, General Manager at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Courtney MC, Thank you for choosing The Cove Hotel for your recent visit to Long Beach, CA, we appreciate having you as our guest! Homelessness has been a growing issue throughout many metropolis areas in the state and the issue is magnified as bulk items cannot be removed... I'm sure you noticed this is a wide spread eyesore throughout your visit, not isolated to our neighborhood. You are correct in that we do have one person at the front desk at 2:30pm everyday. Three pm is check-in time when we have two people there to assist arriving guests. I'm glad he was able to accommodate you as an early arrival as it is not always possible. When future travels find you returning to our area we hope you will again choose The Cove Hotel! Best wishes, Deone
Read more
Karlita wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
We are now in September, Thyroid Cancer Awareness Month. And I have not been able to reverse an "an overwhelming smell of smoke" charge to my credit card.  July 22 is my thyroid cancer free anniversary. Due to the pandemic celebratory ideas were limited. I decided on a staycation. I just wanted to escape and be poolside. What I thought was a successful staycation regardless of the small hiccups we encountered and ignored. Has now been a real lingering headache. I learned about the $200 charge through my credit card on August 4, 2020. The hotel did not call me to inform me of the extra charges. And they also did not email me a copy of the invoice until I called the hotel to ask about the charges in August. The front desk says they can't help me. So I get transferred to the general manager Deone. He was admitted about the smoke smell. He even said he had to hire a company to extract the smell and that he was just passing along the charges. I asked to see the invoice. He said he would email it to me. I am still waiting on that email.  On August 8, 2020 I reach out to customer service at Choice Hotels. They were unable to help me. Their response team awarded me 8,000 points does not come close to the $200 charge. And to stay at the Cove hotel its 25,000 points a night. And I PAID APPROXIMATELY $140 a night. Also my boyfriend surprised me with roses and placed them over TOWELS. It goes to show how mindful and cautious we are. We did not smoke in the room. I'm attaching a picture from my Snapchat so you guys can see the date along with the roses and towels. Be careful when staying at the Cove.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dempcy, Owner at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Sep 21, 2020
Dear Karkarkarlita, I was adamant, and would like to again confirm... I personally go to any room that housekeeping reports as being smoked in to confirm as we certainly take no chances to falsely accuse anyone of such a disrespectful act. Only when there is no way we can rent the room the following night do I assess the fee. Due to loss of revenue and extra labor the fee is being increased to $250. Let it be known we are very smoker UN-friendly... because we have to be, because we want our future guests to appreciate having a room that is not damaged by smoke. Smoking in the room of a smoke free hotel is defacing property and should be considered vandalism. Regards, Deone
Read more
Craig A wrote a review Aug 2020
Johnston, Rhode Island10 contributions4 helpful votes
The staffing was very friendly. The ambiance of the lobby, and community area was great. Everything was very clean within the room as well as the community area which we really appreciated. The room was good size and bed was comfortable. The hotel bar was good for coffee, food or even late night drink. Though this not completely the hotels fault, I find the hotel is attracting the wrong clientele. We saw numerous 1 bedrooms in which there was 2-3 adults with 2-3 kids coming in and out of the room. We also encountered guests inviting outside visitors with their kids to the pool to enjoy. There was a capacity limit at the pool and sometimes just 2 of these extended guest/overcapacity rooms could hit the capacity limit. When speaking to employees about it, they mentioned they were aware of the situation. There was several arguments and loud children after 9pm but the staffing seemed to enforce quiet hours rule. Paid parking is a good idea as the neighboring area can be shady but spots fill up late at night. If you are looking for a clean, friendly and kid-filled hotel, this is for you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Dempcy, Owner at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Dear Craiga926, Thank you for choosing The Cove Hotel for your recent visit to Long Beach! I appreciate all the compliments you have provided. To allow safe social distancing at our pool we have reduced the capacity form 36ppl to 18ppl and implemented a wristband tracking system. As you confirm we did not have full compliance from all guests with this, and a few other policies... we are pleased to announce we have hired someone 7days per week to oversee the pool and enforce quiet hours! I can assure you next visit we will have fixed these issues that we have never experienced pre-pandemic. It goes without saying typical operations have changed for all businesses, but just like the successful ones we are pivoting! Safe travels, Deone
Read more
Cheyenne S wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Our family had booked and prepaid for a room here through Trip Advisor. We had a reservation confirmation. We were going to stay just one night after a 6 day backpacking trip on Catalina Island. When we arrived we were told our reservation couldn't be found and the hotel was fully booked. I had my printed confirmation for the room from getaroom.com that included the receipt showing I had already paid for the room. The receptionist told me there was nothing she could do, the hotel was full. After 2 hours of phone calls and arguments with the receptionist and getaroom.com - while the kids were sitting in the car in the parking lot after a long day of traveling, in a super sketchy neighborhood, with 2 drunk men having a heated exchange right outside the hotel doors - the receptionist found our reservation, but still couldn't give us a room. Eventually, by pure luck, someone called to cancel their reservation, freeing up a room for us. The only consolation we got? A coupon for 2 complimentary breakfasts - for our family of 4. Worst customer service ever. Plus, note to families - this is not a hotel for you. This is a local party place. Drunk, rowdy people throughout the building.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from DeoneO Dempcy, General Manager at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded Aug 4, 2020
Dear Cheyenne395, Thank you for choosing The Cove Hotel for your night in Long Beach. As I hope my team politely explained we had a technical issue, specifically your reservation did not interface from the third party extranet. I was relieved to learn we were able to accommodate you, but 100% I know how frustrating that experience can be... please trust we make every effort possibly to avoid them! I'm confident if you gave us a second chance you would agree we are the perfect location for families. We had a BIZARRE weekend and it was completely as far from typical as could be. If you could consider this being an isolated incident, that it was, we would love to have you back for a second opportunity to allow you to experience The (real) Cove Hotel. Again, our sincere apologies for the unfortunate circumstances that unfolded on Saturday... and to be fair, the free breakfast and free parking we're not the only consolation made. Please feel free to call me if you wish to discuss. Best wishes, Deone O. Dempcy 562-426-7611
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$135 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn & suites long beach hotel long beach, comfort inn and suites long beach, comfort inn long beach, long beach comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLong Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Which popular attractions are close to The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Nearby attractions include Downtown Long Beach (0.5 miles), Dulceria Candy Spot (0.7 miles), and Magnolia and Willow (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Conveniently located restaurants include In-N-Out Burger, Buono's Pizza, and I Love Vegan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cove Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rancho Los Cerritos (2.4 miles) and The Banning Museum (4.0 miles).