We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (479)
Room & Suite (217)
Dining (41)

About

#1 of 3 in Little River
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. Offering pet-friendly rooms upon advanced request. Minutes away from the Historical Village of Mendocino.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Restaurant
Vending machine
Tennis court
Board games / puzzles
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
871Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 604
  • 192
  • 45
  • 17
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sharon H wrote a review Apr 2022
Gilroy, California1 contribution
We spent last weekend at Little River Inn, and will revel in that great experience for a long time. Our very pleasant room had an unobstructed ocean view. We are certified foodies, and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner in their garden, which was well heated. The Bouillabaisse broth was excellent, the petrale sole and the vanilla bean crème brulee the best ever. Service was exemplary, both from hostess Sue and waiter Nick. The in-room breakfast was successful, with hot dishes hot. We do look forward to resumption of restaurant service at breakfast. Ole's hotcakes and their scones are the best. We look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Sharon H, Thank you so much for telling one and all about your excellent experience during your stay at Little River Inn. It is so wonderful to hear about your enjoyable stay from the amazing ocean view room to you excellent dining experience. We have all had a rough couple of years and this has brought many challenges for the lodging and dining industries, as well as others. One thing we have learned is that Little River Inn has many amazing guests, like you, who have been so understanding and patient with us through all of this. We finally feel like things are normalizing, which is exciting. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind Regards, Terra W Lodging Manager
Read more
dawnete h wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I am a local and wanted to experience the Inn. I told the clerk my daughter was disabled and we were put into room 228. I was looking foward to a nice hot bath but instead there was only a shower with no safety rails, not even a shower chair. The phone for room service was not working. Fish and chips was awful!! oh my gosh you guys I know you can serve better. Two appetizers and a fish and chips totaled $60...the room $240+ for a 13hr stay. Advice to locals..not worth sending your family and friends to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Apr 14, 2022
dawneteh, I am so sorry to hear how disappointing your stay was. I have looked into your stay and I see that you had made a same day reservation. We only had an upstairs room available of which none were ADA. Our ADA rooms are the rooms that are, of course, equipped with hand rails and shower seats. For future, rather you stay with us or at another establishment, I encourage you to make sure to book in advance if you are requiring a specific type of room. The further in advance the better. This way that property has a better chance of having the room type available you are in need of. Also, if there is ever a problem with a room when you check in or it does not meet your expectations, please let us know so that we can either remedy the situation, or allow you to cancel. We would have loved to have had a chance to address the issue while you were here. In regards to your dinner, I will let the restaurant know about your experience. Normally the fish and chips is something that we are known for and often looked forward to by many of our return guests and customers. I do apologize if this was not on par during your stay. Again, please let us know right away if you have an issue so we can make it right. We want you to know that we do appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us a chance to serve you at another time. Kind Regards, Terra W Lodging Manager
Read more
ScubbyH wrote a review Feb 2022
Millbrae, California43 contributions15 helpful votes
This review is only for the restaurant. Do not come here…. Run! Came here alone for dinner, as I stayed in another place nearby. It was horrible. Hostess was okay, thus 1 star rating. Waitress is something else. She was not attentive. No where to be seen and charged me 20% tips. To catch her with her 40+ min of visit intervals was impossible. I didn’t bother and paid for the tips. Food was also horrible. I ordered sole with veggies. Sole was a bit dry. The only veggie available that evening was green beans. It sounds healthy, right? Think again! The entire dish was swimming in grease. Uneatable. I had to rinse the green beans. It was the worst dinner I ever had in the last 10 years. Yes. It made a record. I talked to a few locals after. This is a failing business that has clearly given up. Business that runs in family is difficult to keep up and I think their time is up.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Foodietraveler41 wrote a review Nov 2021
California City, California, USA42 contributions35 helpful votes
The ocean views are terrific, no doubt about it. Whoever decorated the rooms, and we had a newly done one, should return to the Motel 6 where they trained. Reading in bed? Impossible. Decor . . .as I said, Motel 6 or worse. But the worst thing here, and the reason why we'll never return, is the horrible food. On one occasion, both meals featured "seasonal" veggies which included reconstituted dried mushrooms. What was worse was that they hadn't been fully reconstituted so that they were still dry and impossible to chew. In our most recent visit we figured "how can they screw up a burger?" We found out. They arrived rare (we had asked for medium), they had sat quite some time before delivery to the table and they arrived close to room temperature. Same with the fries, room temperature. We sent it all back and finally got new fries but they weren't able to save the burgers. We brought a special Cabernet. The lady acting as sommelier brings us small white wine glasses knowing full well we had a Cab sitting on the table. We had to ask for proper Bordeaux glasses, which we finally got. As for the sauces, be sure to get the gloppy additions on the side. The only bright light was our nice waitress Tea and the other waitstaff. If you think paying big bucks for the view is fine, then this is your place, but the rest is pretty much not good at all. Staff generally are very nice and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Dec 3, 2021
Foodietraveler41, I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with your stay. I do hope you informed the restaurant staff while you were here of your experience. In case you did not, I will pass this information on to the restaurant manager as well as the Chief. We locally source many of our products, especially produce and fish. We even have our own garden. Of course, if something is not prepared correctly, or to order, it can ruin the entire experience. I was also surprised to hear that you compared our rooms to Motel 6. This is not the usual feedback we receive about our rooms. I would appreciate it if you would contact me personally, so I can understand the details of what made you feel this way. I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you and of course make any needed changes in the rooms. The quality of our linens, furniture and amenities, is well above any Motel 6 I have ever seen. Clearly something was amiss during your stay. We work very hard to give our guests the best possible service, amenities, comfort and experience. Apparently we missed the mark in your case. This I sincerely apologize for. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future to make Little River Inn " your spot" on the Mendocino Coast as so many of our regular, loyal guests have. Respectfully, Terra W Lodging Manager
Read more
Travel before 2020 was fun wrote a review Oct 2021
Fort Wayne, Indiana925 contributions1015 helpful votes
Little River Inn has epic views but outdated rooms and an overall tired appearance that starts with the first impression when arriving. I get the inn probably gets pounded by storms, which probably does a number on the buildings. But when I arrived there was trash and litter on the grounds and most of the painted wood needed a good repainting. At check-in I was never addressed by name nor thanked for staying. I also wasn't asked if I needed any local area info. My room was spacious and had a nice closet and nice bathroom, including the separate tub and separate walk-in shower, but it was a good 10 years outdated. There were ZERO accessible outlets for USB devices. I counted two electrical outlets; neither were convenient to plug in a computer. I had to move furniture around and unplug things to charge basic devices, like my phone. That's just unacceptable in the year 2021. The TV was very small and old (from 2010). 11 years ago. So old that there was a VCR player with the TV. Who watches VCR? The TV remote control didn't work well. I had to manually control it with the buttons. There was no channel guide. The HVAC system. I didn't have a fancy fireplace. I had a gas stove that was controlled by the wall thermostat. Simply pushing buttons and arrow to raise or lower the temperature didn't work. You had to override the system. I've never had to do that before. You shouldn't need to be a HVAC engineer to figure out how to heat your room. Also, when the gas stove's thermostat on the wall senses it has reached the desired temperature, it shuts off. So you can't just keep the gas stove running all night like you could with a fireplace. The bed, a king-sized bed, had lower quality linen on par with an airport Courtyard. The bed had no backboard. Instead, three very hard foam pillows were standing up as a makeshift backboard. I was given two pillows for sleeping. They felt like they had been filled with oversized cottonballs. They certainly weren't down pillows. Getting into the room was a pain because the entrance is a sliding glass door with an old-fashioned metal key. It's not easy to open and close nor lock and unlock. It's one of those things that is great in concept but poor in execution. Zero privacy. You have to keep the shades closed if you're thinking of changing clothes, going to bed or having a romantic moment. Even if you're just sleeping, a pervert or creeper to could just look into your room. The inn is right off the highway. There's nothing stopping someone from walking the hundred yards to look into your room or even break the sliding glass and steal your valuables. I also thought it was unusual that the inn has golf and even a spa but no gym. Would it be that hard t have a small room with treadmills and other fitness equipment since you already have a spa? What the hotel lacked in rooms it made up for in the restaurant at dinner. The service was good, the wine list was extensive and reasonably priced, and the food was good, although the food was a little limited and the menu was pretty heavy on dishes with carbs. I would have liked to seen some healthier options like simply grilled fish. It seemed like most of the menu options included potatoes, bread, croutons, baguettes, or sauces. From a service standpoint, two things could be improved: 1) Replace forks and knifes between courses - don't ask customers to keep them. 2) A sommelier would be nice given the extensive wine list. Or at least recommend pairings on the menu if the restaurant can't hire a full-time sommelier. I can't say the same thing about breakfast. Breakfast is delivered to your room, which in theory is nice. But it doesn't start until 8 am, which is absurdly late. It's also not ideal when there is less than desirable weather. If the inn can't start breakfast at a more reasonable 7 am, it should offer a grab-and-go selection in the lobby with yogurt, granola, etc. for guests who want something first thing in the morning. Overall, my room had epic views that partially made up for the outdated decor and features. Some higher quality bedding, fresh paint, power strips and a new TV would help things feel modern. Also, the breakfast has to be improved. Would I stay again? Mendocino has lots of inns. I would probably look elsewhere because I don't think this property is worth $250-$300+ per night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Thank you travelbefore20wasfun for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We do appreciate all feedback, the good and bad. Feedback such as yours is taken into account when making decisions for all upgrades and changes to rooms and the property. I am happy to let you know that the sliding door is being replaced with French style window doors. I understand that you were concerned about privacy and safety and that you also enjoyed your "epic view". This is why we have considered very carefully the type of doors and window coverings to put in these rooms. We want to make sure you have a full ocean view from your room, but also give you the option to close the shades for privacy. In regard to safety, we do live in a very rural and semi remote area. We do not experience people breaking or looking into rooms. The other improvement we are looking into is supplying our rooms with extra outlets and USB chargers. We know this is a modern day need and are currently looking into some options to fulfill that need. I was a little surprised to hear that you were not happy with the linen on your bed. We use a very high quality linen called Comphy Co and often are asked for their contact information from our guests who were impressed with the feel and quality. Also, we do provide both firm and soft pillows on the beds since guests have different preferences. While we do not offer down pillows, due to allergies, we do have down alternative. If you have a particular preference, we are always happy to bring you extras of that pillow type. If you do decide to stay with us again, which we of course hope you do, might I suggest one of our wood fireplace rooms. That sounds like it was more of what you might have been looking for when it comes to the heat source and ambiance. Otherwise, the gas fireplace rooms do run on a thermostat. Again, we do greatly appreciate your feedback and take your comments and suggestions very seriously. We sincerely hope that you will give us another try in the future and enjoy some of the changes and upgrades we make along the way.
Read more
R L wrote a review Aug 2021
27 contributions4 helpful votes
We were driving north from San Francisco on a little impromptu road trip. Long story short, we ended up quite by "accident" at the Little River Inn. They were fully booked but managed to find us a room at about 9:30pm as we could not find anywhere else to stay. We stayed in a room that is not normally reserved as it is part of the old homestead that was originally there. The room was spotless, everything was comfortable and we were actually upset that we didn't plan to just overnight here! The check in and check out process was smooth and painless and even though the room seemed a bit pricey it was a pleasant stay. To top it off, I actually left my watch in the room by accident and when I called them and left a message two days later (I finally realized where I had left my watch) when I got home they had mailed it to me at no cost. The staff were extremely friendly and concerned even at 10pm at night and they even gave the kids some biscuits as we had not eaten that evening. I definitely want to plan a trip here next time I am in California and stay for a couple of days to enjoy the beautiful view and other amenities. Thank you and keep it up!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Hello RL250, Your wonderful "5 star" review of your stay with us at Little River Inn is greatly appreciated. I am glad we had a room for you and your family at a late hour on a busy night. It does not always work out that way, but when it does, it makes us feel good as well. You and your family were a joy to have with us. We do hope you come back for a visit at another time when you can stay longer. Kind Regards, Terra W Lodging Manager
Read more
MinooTravels wrote a review Jul 2021
Hercules, California201 contributions81 helpful votes
This inn is quite extensive with many types of rooms or cottages. Most have ocean view rooms with decks off of the rooms. There is a spa (not open due to COVID), tennis courts and golf. Rooms are very clean and staff is friendly. Breakfast is served in your room at this time due to COVID but dinner is served nightly in the main dining room or outside, which is lovely setting.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Hello MinooTravels, Thank you kindly for your great review of your recent stay with us at Little River Inn. We appreciate you sharing your experience. I am happy to announce that our spa is now open for massages. Something we are all in need of after this long year. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Terra W Lodging Manager
Read more
GoBlue_traveller wrote a review Jun 2021
Ann Arbor, Michigan42 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed at the Little River Inn in May 2021 on our honeymoon - we wanted something on the water when we were in the area to visit a favorite winery in Philo. The Little River Inn delivered on everything we wanted and more. The website was so helpful in helping us choose exactly the right room - a little bit of a walk back from dinner (which was great after the filling meal!) and wonderful ocean sounds that we could fall asleep to. Our "obstructed" view was a perfect blend of forest and ocean - kind of like a tree house. The room was clean, safe, spacious and featured all the COVID protections we wanted. It even had a fireplace! The hotel staff were friendly and obliging - we were even treated to some snacks and wine as we were visiting while on our honeymoon. We also had one meal at the hotel, which was delicious - the outdoor setting was beautiful and the heat lamps helped with the chill. We would recommend the Little River Inn to anyone and are thrilled we found it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Look at the website - great list of pluses/minuses
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Hello GoBlue_traveller, Thank you for the great "5 star" review of your stay with us at Little River Inn. It brings us all a little joy when we have guests who are celebrating something special during these challenging times. We all feel as though we are celebrating with you in a manner of speaking. So thank you for choosing Little River Inn to spend your special occasion. We would also like to thank you for your high recommendation. We hope you will come and see us again. Maybe for some anniversaries. :) Kind Regards, Terra W Lodging Manager
Read more
NapaSonomaJA wrote a review May 2021
Sonoma, California14 contributions5 helpful votes
Thank you very much to the wonderful Little River Inn for another amazing anniversary celebration! Your staff is wonderful and all safety precautions at check in, in the room and dining areas were all well done and appreciated. The James Dean Suite was incredible and the ocean views are stunning! The hotel and gardens look as beautiful as ever. Your passion is appreciated and obvious. We’ll be back and continue to tell friends in the meantime. PS: Don’t miss Wild Fish across the street too! Special places!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Hello NapaSonomaJA, Thank you for the glowing review of your stay at Little River Inn. We appreciate you spending such a special occasion with us. The room, affectionately called The James Dean Room, is one of my favorites as well. We hope to continue to welcome you back for many more anniversaries in the future. Kind Regards, Terra W Lodging Manager
Read more
Chris874 wrote a review Apr 2021
San Francisco, California70 contributions41 helpful votes
The inn offers a range of rooms. We stayed in the least expensive with a “filtered” view of Van Damm beach and out to sea. It was very nice! From our balcony we saw whales spouting. Many accommodations in the area cost much more, but could not offer better comfort and service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Terra Wagner, Other at Little River Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Hello Chris874 Thank you for the great review of your stay with us at Little River Inn. I am so glad you were able to get a glimpse of the whales that often pass along our coastline. We have seen quite a few lately. We hope you plan on visiting us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Terra W Lodging Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$271 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
little river hotel little river, little river resort, little river inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMendocino CountyLittle River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Little River Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Little River Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mendocino Coast (2.4 miles), Mendocino Headlands State Park (0.3 miles), and Russian Gulch State Park (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Little River Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Little River Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Little River Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Little River Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Goodlife Cafe and Bakery, Luna Trattoria, and Albion River Inn Restaurant.
Is Little River Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the center of Little River.
Are pets allowed at Little River Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Little River Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kelley House Museum (2.4 miles).
Does Little River Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Little River Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.