We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
22 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$599
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/16/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
$539
View deal
Snaptravel
$599
$480
View deal
SAVE $119
Priceline$599
Hotels.com$509
Expedia.com$509
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1262)
Room & Suite (360)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Surf & Sand Resort
Updated 09/21/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand. All 154 guest rooms and 13 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
2485Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,691
  • 371
  • 190
  • 121
  • 112
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fin172 wrote a review Apr 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution1 helpful vote
When coming from out of town and booking everything by picture only you never quite know what to expect. THIS PLACE WAS WORTH EVERYTHING THEY EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS. Valet was great and Sam I think the young lady at the front desk made the check in even smoother and quick. Just awesome experience
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela H, Other at Surf & Sand Resort
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Hello Fin! Wow! Thank your for your great review of Surf & Sand and for letting first-time travelers know what to expect when staying with us! Thank you also for the compliments of our Front Desk associate and our GREAT valet team! True assets of the resort. Please reach out to us in the future when you are able to return. Warm regards for a great summer season ahead!
Read more
Jen T wrote a review Apr 2021
5 contributions5 helpful votes
The room was outdated and incredibly noisy. The guests above woke up at 4am to shower and the pipes squealed, we could hear every step as they walked across the room and the old, outdated shutters were super loud. Next door we could hear every word of the guests conversation starting at 6. Not a great sleep which is really disappointing on vacation. The bed was very comfortable though! The view in 318 is also very disappointing... there should be full disclosure that it's more of a pool building view than anything else. Overall I was really underwhelmed, especially since it's so expensive.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela H, Other at Surf & Sand Resort
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Hello Jen: We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay, which is shared with our entire management team. Our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations and you were not able to fully enjoy your time with us. Hopefully, you will be able to return in the future when we would be able to accommodate a more desirable beachfront room location. Please call upon us directly for assistance, which is our pleasure to meet your needs! Warm regards,
Read more
Yoda005 wrote a review Apr 2021
Los Angeles, California36 contributions20 helpful votes
We booked a sea facing kind bedroom at pretty hefty rates to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. Two issues - hotel check in is not until 4pm and check out is by 11am which I find a little unfair. More importantly we did get a sea facing room but it was almost six feet directly above the swimming pool. Which is OK except it is incredibly noisy and full of screaming kids. Not really ideal at all for a couples romantic getaway. We did bring the issue to the notice of the front desk who offered to refund our money if we chose to leave! Really poor attitude reflecting no empathy. Several guests in line ahead of us were given options of rooms and another couple was offered an upgrade because they were celebrating their anniversary. White privilege in action!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela H, Other at Surf & Sand Resort
Responded Apr 8, 2021
Dear Yoda005, Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment in your guest room. For any future stays, I suggest requesting a room on a higher floor when booking a Seaview room. These rooms do overlook our pool and then the ocean. Additionally, you may want to try an Oceanfront room in the future. These rooms are directly on the beach with fabulous views. It feels as if you are on a cruise ship when you’re on the balcony! You will hear the lovely noise of the crashing waves if you book these rooms. Please know that all guests are welcome here. I assure you that the team did not discriminate against your race, although I deeply regret that you felt otherwise. Again, I apologize profusely for the disappointment with your stay. I do hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future. Feel free to reach out to me directly if you have any future needs. It would be my pleasure to personally oversee your accommodations to ensure perfection.
Read more
lindacbonnici wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Beautiful hotel and view, great dinner at Splashes and loved the live entertainment in the courtyard area on Friday and Saturday nights!! Accommodated our every need very efficiently. Was unable to use the fireplace in the room or the pool during our 4 day visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela H, Other at Surf & Sand Resort
Responded Mar 31, 2021
Hello Linda: Thank you for your high rating of Surf & Sand. We are so pleased to have met your needs; however, do regret the fireplace and pool issues (we have been at extremely high occupancy ever since the Covid restrictions have been somewhat lifted). We hope to have you back in the near future. Happy Spring!
Read more
chelsea931 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
When I checked in, I was told that my room had a partially obstructed view of the ocean, because the pool is in the way. I was offered an upgrade to a room in a tower for an additional fee, but I declined because my original booking was already fairly expensive. It turns out, my room was on the ground floor directly in front of the pool. The partial obstruction of the ocean view isn't an issue for me, but the pool noise was an issue at times. The kids playing Marco Polo was so loud and incessant inside my hotel room at one point that I thought I was going to lose my mind. I had to go walk around somewhere else. There was also an outdoor birthday party by the pool one night with music that got loud. The valet is such a plus in this area, where parking at many neighboring
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela H, Other at Surf & Sand Resort
Responded Mar 31, 2021
Hello Chelsea: Thank you for your positive review of Surf & Sand and the amenities we offer. We apologize that your room type was not as you had expected. Please contact the resort directly in the future to ensure you book your desired room type. We hope to have you back in the near future! Warm regards,
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$338 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the surf and sand hotel laguna beach, surf and sand hotel, surf sand hotel, surf and sand resort
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountyLaguna Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
167
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing