We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
31106 Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-8130
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay Longer, Save More!
$349
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/26/21
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (302)
Room & Suite (72)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Ranch at Laguna Beach
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Our pristine 87-acre canyon oasis makes The Ranch at Laguna Beach one of Southern California's top resorts and spas. This romantic getaway, nestled just a short walk from one of Southern California's finest beaches, brings the best of coast and canyon together in one uniquely Laguna experience. Harvest Restaurant specializes in California style cuisine, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Enjoy food and drinks from the comfort of your room with in-room dining, or poolside soaking up the sun at the Pond Pool Bar. Spanning over 3,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor space, including four treatment rooms and a 24 hour fitness center, Sycamore Spa by Hudson captures the bohemian vibe of Laguna's laid-back beach lifestyle. Our 9-hole golf course is situated in what's arguably the most serene and natural setting in Orange County as it is carved into the naturally dramatic and lush walls of Aliso and Wood Canyons. Guests can also dine at Lost Pier Cafe, which is located at Aliso Beach.
Read more
Room & Suite (72)72
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Longer, Save More!

Location

Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1,352Reviews14Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 945
  • 254
  • 105
  • 31
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Z9476FJdaniel wrote a review Sep 17
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
It was my first time at this resort but I found a few things that made my stay uncomfortable. The Rooms were great and clean but a few things I did not enjoy. 1. The only restaurant they have on the resort is always booked, no matter if you call a week in advance which isn't cool because you want to enjoy a nice morning or dinner and you can't get in. Hostess are not very inviting, snobby. They should really consider first come first serve. 2. Pool is a bit small and gets pretty crowded at 12PM to a point that you can't even sit anywhere. 3. No extended checkouts, even for rooms that cost $1,500 per night, not so cool! Other than that, the resort is very clean and nice!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Laurino, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ranch at Laguna Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Z9476FJdaniel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Due to COVID-19 restrictions set in place by the governor of California, both the pool and restaurant are limited to the seating capacity allowed. We understand how frustrating this can be for our guests, but we must obey the restrictions. We do offer in-room dining as a dining alternative. Regarding late check-outs, due to occupancy levels, our housekeeping team must prepare the room for the next guests arriving. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please reach out to me at sean@ranchlb.com. Sincerely, Sean and The Ranch LB Team
Read more
RachelBross wrote a review Sep 12
Torrance, California43 contributions6 helpful votes
Caution, long review 🤓 My husband and I first visited for golf in June. We had such a wonderful time! The nine hole golf course is challenging enough for “real” golfers (our playing partners) but not discouraging for beginners. After a fun round with lots of wildlife the four of us had lunch on The Harvest patio overlooking the first hole. Sadly the day the day wound down and it was time for us to drive back to Redondo Beach and our family to head back to San Diego - but not without the four of us planning a follow up date a month later 😊 The second trip we stayed overnight because we were drawn by the outdoor patio and live music as well as an opportunity to golf two days in a row. The third trip we stayed two nights because there was more stuff we wanted to do! Each visit we felt welcomed and appreciated. The rooms are small but lovely and if you can get in building six I strongly recommend it! I treated myself to an excellent massage and we headed home feeling rested and spoiled. Looking forward to our next getaway at the ranch and absolutely recommend this property!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Laurino, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ranch at Laguna Beach
Responded 5 days ago
RachelBross, We appreciate your continued support and are thrilled that what started out with a round of golf led to some return visits with overnight stays. It sounds like you have enjoyed all aspects of the resort and it is great to hear that our team has delivered a high level of service to make you feel welcomed and at home. Thank you for the recommendation to others and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Sean and The Ranch LB Team
Read more
esmerelda w wrote a review Sep 1
los angeles7 contributions23 helpful votes
We were so excited about our family trip to Laguna Beach and staying at a National Geographic Lodge! Having stayed at many of those in the past, we expected a unique and remarkable hotel in a beautiful setting. The Ranch at Laguna Beach delivered the latter. Yes, the canyon is gorgeous. But the hotel is depressing. Our room--a two-bedroom "cottage"--is really a dark and unattractive condo. The decor is heavy and bland--how this was chosen for a sunny, beachy place I don't know--the ceilings low, the shower slow-to-drain. Ugh. Since we were staying during the pandemic, the Harvest restaurant was fully booked (at half-capacity) which required us to simply hang out in that dreary room and order room service. We couldn't bring ourselves to eat in that kitchen so we dragged furniture out to our patio and ate with the to-go boxes on our knees. It was unbelievably disappointing that we left after one night, and just sucked up the $1000 room rate for the second night. Would have much rather been home than in that bleak spot. So, can someone from the hotel please weigh in on why you've been awarded a National Geographic Lodge of the World designation???
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Two bedroom "cottages" are basically crappy condo units with low ceilings.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylie Wikle, Sales at The Ranch at Laguna Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Esmereldaw., We are deeply disappointed to read your review. Our resort was handpicked by National Geographic because of our deep commitment to an exceptional guest experience and sustainable practices, in addition of course to the beautiful canyon location which we are happy to hear you enjoyed. However, we are sad to hear you were disappointed by other elements of your stay. While great thought was put into our hotel design, we have had to rethink our guest rooms by temporarily eliminating multi-use amenities to keep our guests safe during Covid. We apologize if anything did not meet your expectations because we always want our guests to leave happy with their stay at The Ranch at Laguna Beach. We are open to discussing this further with you if that is a possibility and welcome any additional feedback you have or details on what occurred during your stay. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our Director of Operations, Chris Wylie at Chris@ranchlb.com or 949-715-1388. Kindly, Kylie and The Ranch LB Team
Read more
mwolfsheimer wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
We enjoyed our stay at the Ranch! The room was beautiful and it was very clean. During these times, I appreciated the cleanliness and attention to this detail. Staff was very courteous and professional. The dinner at the Harvest Restaurant was excellent. I loved the French onion soup and loved my scallops. I am ready to go back!! —monica w.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylie Wikle, Sales at The Ranch at Laguna Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Monica W., Thank you for joining us at The Ranch at Laguna Beach! We appreciate your kind words. Our team works tirelessly with CDC approved sanitizers to ensure guests are safe and everything is clean. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Harvest dining experience, too. The French onion soup and scallops are some of our favorite items on the menu. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon! Kindly, Kylie and The Ranch LB Team
Read more
Danielle S wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful anniversary weekend.Room was beautifully decorated and staff was attentive and accommodating. The shower in our room (703) was the best I've experienced. We have stayed at many resorts all over the world and this was one our favorites. Harvest restaurant was delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kylie Wikle, Sales at The Ranch at Laguna Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Danielle S., Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate at our resort! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and time in Laguna Beach. It sounds like you were truly able to soak up all The Ranch has to offer with our beautiful rooms, attentive staff, and one-of-a-kind signature restaurant Harvest. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kindly, Kylie and The Ranch LB Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$301 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOrange CountyLaguna Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ranch at Laguna Beach
Which popular attractions are close to The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Nearby attractions include Aliso Beach Park (0.4 miles), Treasure Island Beach (0.6 miles), and Goff Island (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Starfish, Montage Lobby Lounge, and Studio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Ranch at Laguna Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ranch at Laguna Beach?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Los Rios Historic District (4.9 miles), Capistrano Depot (4.9 miles), and The Hide Drogher (4.3 miles).
Does The Ranch at Laguna Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.