We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
7955 La Jolla Shores Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3301
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$345
$291
View deal
Expedia.com$291
Priceline$291
Hotels.com$291
Curio.com$291
FindHotel$291
Traveluro$345
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (418)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (249)

About

#17 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
This chic boutique hotel embodies the easy-going vibe of SoCal, and is located a short walk from world-class surfing at La Jolla Shores Beach and minutes from La Jolla Village, the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, and University of California, San Diego. Spa-like hotel décor creates a laid back and authentic atmosphere where guests can feel rejuvenated and relaxed. Every room has either a balcony or a patio and comes equipped with a refrigerator, safe, white noise machine and a 50 inch HDTV. Some offer a peek-a-boo shower. WiFi is available for a fee, but free for Hilton Honors members. Freebies include morning coffee, and bike and beach rentals, such as toys, boogie boards and chairs. There's also a heated outdoor pool adjacent to the Hiatus poolside lounge, state of the art fitness center, and an 11th-floor restaurant, Cusp Dining and Drinks, offering California coastal cuisine and creative cocktails, that can be enjoyed against the backdrop of stunning ocean views.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Parking
Free wifi in the business center
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
84Good for walkers
Grade: 84 out of 100
24Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1405Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 556
  • 389
  • 213
  • 127
  • 120
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Adan M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I went to La Jolla with my wife and kids and decided on the Hotel La Jolla due to close prox. to beach ~9 min walk which was convenient. The hotel however is really lacking, customer service doesn't seem to be a high priority and neither is room cleanliness. I cleaned the bathroom sink upon arrival, the shower and dusted the desk and nightstand. I also requested a change of sheets/comforter because there were stains and hairs on the ones that were there. The small chair and ottoman were really filthy - I got some disinfecting wipes to wipe down the surfaces which were black due to buildup - could be due to people sitting on it and they still have sunscreen/sand on their body but nonetheless, it looks bad and gross. There is no food service, they don't have drinks for sale as any hotel does, no coffee and we barely got our water when we checked in. I'm a diamond member and the only perk (only one- is I had a $14 discount per night on parking, parking is $39 per night and I paid $25 per night), literally nothing else. I understand the hotel is old, but service and cleanliness can be prioritized - heck, it felt like getting towels was an issue. Maybe they don't really care because people will continue to stay but if you don't mind a 10-12 min drive, there appear to be much nicer, newer and probably cheaper hotels by just driving a bit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 5 days ago
Greetings 567adanm, Thank you first and foremost for taking the time to submit a review based upon your recent experience. I would like to apologize that overall, your experience was not more positive. As you outlined, there were a few opportunities that we could have done better for you in your room. I am hopeful that these items were brought to our teams attention and they were allowed to address them. As cleanliness is our top priority, our housekeeping team does try their best to go through rooms and do a through job. With respect to the food service. I would like to say that we are trying our best to get our outlet back open for normal hours of operation. Its taken some additional time to do so with fluctuating occupancy as well as the challenge of rehiring staff. Thankfully, only about 10 yards away from our lobby is a Starbucks and other options as well as a block walk there are about 8 restaurants for your all day enjoyment. I would like to apologize that you did not feel that your diamond status yielded you much with us. Discounted parking is at this time one of the only options that we can provide. Again, I am hopeful that you brought this displeasure to our teams attention - before submitting a review. Our hotel is not the newest on the block, I don't think that there is any secret about that. Cleanliness through this last year has been a priority, and will continue to be. As our team tries their best to catch everything, there are times when our guests who are looking for particulars catch something else. We are thankful when these items are brought to our attention and allowed to address and remedy. As you have submitted a few other reviews on other channels, we appreciate the time that you have taken. Similar to other responses, if you are wanting to return in the future, please reach out to me and I will personally look after you. Best, Mike
Read more
conlawprof wrote a review Jul 2021
Lincoln, Nebraska20 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Stayed there the week of June 23. We had a wonderful experience. The room was beautiful and the service was fantastic. This is the place to stay in La Jolla. Mike the general manager was incredibly helpful. We will be back next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a room with an ocean view and a balcony. Sunsets were gorgeous.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings conlawprof, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience with us. The team and myself appreciate that we have the opportunity to daily welcome new faces with the hope of being able to our guests again next time their travels point them in our direction. It is certainly not the easiest of tasks these days to manage a hotel with the amount of constraints as well as with the level of expectations of a few. I personally appreciated the face that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay as well as we can count on you to return. We appreciate you and your kind words! All my best to you! Mike
Read more
elwkc wrote a review Jul 2021
Kansas City, Missouri1 contribution
Upon arrival we found a filthy and smelly bathroom. Room 1000. Moved to room 1008, not much better. Poor exhaust in restroom and A/C inadequate. Surfaces were dirty. No microwave in room. A Hampton Inn is better than this and it was very expensive. Balcony very narrow and scary with aluminum railing. I would never stay here in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
Greetings elwkc, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience with us. I would like to personally apologize for the recent experience that you had with us. Its always our intention from the time that when your reservation is made, you are checked in, you stay, and you depart - to deliver a positive, clean and comfortable experience with wonderful service in a great location. As it seems like housekeeping was the largest issue between these two rooms, you can rest assured that we will work with our team to address these items. Additionally, I will check in with our engineering team to see if we can pinpoint the challenges that you pointed out involving the AC units. On the lobby level we do have a microwaves for our guests use. Additionally, how our building was constructed the balconies on floors 6 and up, which ironically are our oceanview rooms, are a bit more narrow then those on lower floors. I apologize that you are not eager to stay with us again in the future. If you do have a change of heart, knowing that we know that we could and will do better for you, please reach out to me and I will personally look after you. Mike
Read more
Audrey R wrote a review Jul 2021
washington97 contributions80 helpful votes
We stayed for one night, it wasn't too far from the beach. We had a lower level room. The fact that there is no restaurant on the premises for most of the week is bad. The rug in the room was loose fitting and not snug, presenting a tripping hazard in the room. The shower was small with a weird motorized feature so people can see you shower while in the bedroom? For $275 for each room, we had two, this place needs work.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings 354audreyr, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. I would like to first and foremost apologize that you did not have a more enjoyable time with us. As you outlined, our restaurant has not been able to fully open yet due to a lot of reasons, but we are trying our best to increase staffing, stabilize occupancy, and re-inventory. As we have fantastic offerings in our outlet, the schedule and process of getting it back online has in some ways been out of our control. The reasons that we are able to control have allowed us the ability to open it a few days a week in the evening. Our goal since June 15 was to get it as opened as soon as we could. Both myself and ownership had hoped by mid July we would have it open but the struggles of rehiring 50+ team members, all while experiencing sharp increases and decreases in occupancy has hindered this effort. Thankfully, we have too many options 10 yards from our front door, as well as within a block walk. La Jolla is known not only for its food scene but also for being outdoors and our location provides both for our guests. Hopefully while you were here you did bring the carpeting issue to our attention and allow us to remedy the situation. From guest to guest we try to fix areas of opportunity. However some of the best eyes that rely on are our guests. As there is not much to go on, I will try to review our recent guests stays to pinpoint the room that you speak of. Additionally, our unique showers are either embraced by our guests, while others - such as yourself are not fans. Not all our rooms have them, so if it was not to your satisfaction, we could again remedied the situation and found you accommodations that you were more comfortable with. Location and amenities are items that come in to play when staying at a hotel and I apologize that you did not see the value in either while being here. A hotel such as ours, with in minutes walk of the beach and the neighborhood do tend to have different pricing. I apologize again that the experience was not more to your satisfaction. Every member of the team tries their best to ensure that our guests are pleased - from our engineering team, to housekeeping to front desk - they are all eager to please. We are at the beck and call of our guests and when we are able to do something while you are here if something does not feel right, we are more then happy to. Best to you and yours in your travels. Mike
Read more
CanalKat wrote a review Jul 2021
Sarasota, Florida8 contributions5 helpful votes
My 2 grown daughters and I traveled to La Jolla from Florida for a family wedding. We stayed 4 nights as part of the wedding block. Everything about our visit was wonderful! We were on the 8th floor overlooking the ocean, a beautiful view! Our room was clean and fresh. We had a small fridge in the room and a coffee maker, which by the way wasn't used much as there was a Starbucks within steps from the front entrance! We used the restaurant once, a delightful experience with great food! My sister and I relaxed by the pool for an afternoon . The staff morning and night were great, always pleasant and helpful with supplies for the room or towels for the pool. I have a background of working for hotels, so I feel qualified to give this most excellent review. Keep up the good work and thank you. I will see you next time!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We had an Oceanview room with a balcony
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings CanalKat, Thank you for taking the time to compose such a thoughtful review of your recent experience with us. As you know, within hotels and your travels, this is not the easiest time for either of us. Coming out of a pandemic has shaken up all our lives completely. Devastating the hospitality industry, and forcing us to face a "new" normalcy for the past year has taken a toll on both operators as well as travelers. We know that we need to step up our game for those that we welcome and we all - from housekeeping, to engineering, to front office to management - try our best to do so. Your positive recognition of the team means a lot to me. I personally try to ensure and keep our team energized, however when it come to those with a no-so-positive outlook it tends to forces us all to question our efforts. Every job and position has its limitations and I am so pleased to hear that we were able to deliver to you and your daughters exactly what we all set out to do - welcome and look after our guests so that they will share with others the job that we are doing. Just as you are eager to return, we are just as eager to welcome you back. With my sincerest appreciation to you... Mike
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel la jolla shores, at the shores la jolla
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoLa Jolla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include The Sea Caves (0.3 miles), La Jolla Art Association Gallery (0.2 miles), and La Playa Gallery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piatti, Shorehouse Kitchen, and Osteria Romantica.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial (0.9 miles).