We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

3299 Holiday Ct, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-1830
Visit hotel website
14 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Sheraton.com
$159
View Deal
Travelocity
$159
View Deal
Cancelon
$164
$155
View Deal
SAVE $9
Agoda.com$159
Orbitz.com$159
ZenHotels.com$164
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (261)
Room & Suite (229)
Dining (42)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock SoCal Savings!
Hotel deals
1,717Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 811
  • 517
  • 243
  • 94
  • 52
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
One of the reasons we chose this property was because we did not want to stay in a High Rise 'cookie cutter' hotel, where the windows do not even open. We liked the idea of a low rise hotel, surrounded by greenery, with a pool in the centre of the complex. This hotel fit the bill and then some. Granted, it is not a fancy place and has a Motor Inn /Motel feel to it, rather than the elegance of a large hotel lobby, but for our purposes, it was totally fine. If you ask at the Front Desk, they will provide you with a map of the area, There are a few shelves of tourist brochures outside the front entrance of the hotel. Also, I found a WHERE MAGAZINE (for San Diego) on a table down a hallway, as I was exploring the lobby. I find this free publication very helpful when getting oriented to a city. There is a wealth of information in there. When we went into Little Italy, in San Diego, for dinner, we simply took an Uber, as parking is at a premium. We had a room with two Queen Beds (on the main floor), as we were travelling with our daughter. Although the bathroom was on the small side, it was fine and the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. I loved the fact that they provided an empty fridge in the room, so we could store our ice packs and water bottles (it even had a tiny freezer). Also, the hotel gives you two free bottles of water daily, which is a nice touch. Thank-you! The coffee maker acted as a kettle for us,, so we could have tea. Another convenience was being able to drive around to be close to the entrance to our building. (which requires the hotel card for entry) I had requested a quiet room and they compiled. Although it faced the parking lot, it was indeed quiet, (and the windows opened, so we could get fresh air, rather than using the air conditioning), compared to the rooms that faced the swimming pool. It always baffles me how hotels can get away with charging for parking, when they have plenty of space on the grounds and are not in the city. Even so, $20/night is more reasonable than the larger hotels. (that often charge $40.00 +) We did not eat at the hotel, as there are a few cafes/coffee shops literally a few steps away in the shopping centre that adjoins the hotel. As you enter the parking lot, go straight to the end, (rather than turning down one of the arms of the lot) and you will see a few steps and a gate. Once you enter the gate, you are already at the shopping centre, (you need a hotel key for the gate, to get back in) with a Cafe, Coffee Shop, CVS, Whole Foods, Nordstrom Rack, Mendecino Farms and a Trader Joe's, Ralphs, Ross, Marshalls, DSW etc. across the street from that. Very convenient. As we were attending a wedding in La Jolla, we found the location ideal; away from the hub of downtown La Jolla Village, but a quick ride to our relative's home. The hotel is very popular for families and was completely filled when we were there, We waited a whole day to get our room cleaned, (twice; the first day, we simply told the maid not to bother, as it was too late), but other than that, it was perfectly fine. The fact that we were able to use our Marriott points, was an added bonus.
Read more
Not a great experience at all. I have been a long time Marriott member and chose this hotel vs a non-Marriott (that the rest of my team is at). The experience has been dismal on many fronts. I was thinking being in La Jolla would be amazing. Nope. The bad news is when you pull up, you have immediate regrets. It is worn and the greenery covers the hotel. Check-in is in a musty part of the hotel. You will begin to worry. The good news is the executive rooms have been re-done. They are clean and big. You don't have charging options near the bed (which is odd and inconvenient). Don't pay extra to use the club. It is not worth it. The food was stale at breakfast and for appetizers tonight it was yesterday's cheese kabobs and mini-corn dogs. If you get it free, I guess it would be ok. But paying for it as an additional option is not worth it. The E-building is in the back of the hotel. When you check-in they don't tell you that. So if you have lots of luggage or in my case boxes, getting to my room was not easy. Getting an uber means going to the front office. I got the uber in through parking and couldn't get out without calling the front desk directly. I encountered a very rude operator that wasn't interested in helping me. When I got back tonight, I called the GM. He wasn't in but Chris the front desk manager, asked how he could help. After I explained the experience I was getting, he said I should talk to the GM and mocked while I was calling. Then he ended his sarcasm with how I should call back tomorrow. Is this really happening? Why is the employee attitude sooooo bad here? Customer service at it's worst. All it took was an apology for my experience to at least get us to a good place. Clearly, he was not interested in that. Hotels mess up all the time but I judge them on how they react to feedback. This hotel was a fail. I have a message into the GM because I am certain "Chris" will not let him know I called. There are many great people out there, fire Chris and hire someone who wants a job working with people.
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Tracey A., Thank you for reaching out to me directly in regards to your stay. We value our guest's feedback and hope that the remainder of your stay is the memorable Sheraton experience we want to deliver all of our guests. Thank you for your time and loyalty. Kind Regards, Craig Reber General Manager 858-453-5500 creber@sheratonlj.com
Read more
I had a nice, relaxing time during my recent stay at the Sheraton La Jolla hotel. The hotel is in a great location. It is right next to UC San Diego and a short Lyft drive to the La Jolla Villages. The resort is nice and spacious. The ground are nicely maintained with a nice size pool, hot tub and Koi pond. There is a really nice fitness center overlooking that area. My one negative with the fitness center, however, is that there are no bathrooms anywhere close. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and pretty large. I have a big kitchenette area with fridge and microwave. There were plenty of cabinets, however, there were no supplies in the room. Even something a simple as some paper plates, cups and utensils would have been appreciated. After buying a bottle of wine, I realized there was no opener in the room. The restaurant staff were nice enough to open the bottle for me. I think add a few of these essential items to the room kitchenette would be great. But for now, if you plan to use that space, I recommend bringing some of those items with you. The staff was wonderful as well. Definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, General Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear aboyer8, Thank you for the recommendation of Sheraton La Jolla Hotel. We are thrilled to read about your rejuvenating stay and how much you enjoyed our beautiful property. We offer a relaxing retreat with 7.5 acres of lush, tropical gardens, including cascading waterfalls and a Koi pond. We also appreciate your valuable suggestions as it helps us in perfecting our guest experience. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Craig Reber, General Manager
Read more
Booked a 3 night stay that the Sheraton La Jolla. I am a lifetime Titanium Elite, so I know the brand quite well. Sadly after one night I checked out. The hotel looked like a motel that simply had Sheraton branding. It was outdated and not kept up. I was given an "upgraded" room which was actually okay. The biggest issue was when I stopped by the executive lounge for coffee. It was disgustingly dirty. I was shocked. Trash overflowing, dirty, flies and small insects. There were dirty dishes in a sink, half eaten food etc. I left and called to speak with the GM. Craig, the GM, made it clear he did not care. He was sorry I felt it was dirty and that it was the first he had heard of it. I knew that nothing positive was going to happen with this conversation, so I ended it quickly. I called Marriott and moved to another property. Please do not consider the La Jolla property. It is truly an embarrassment to the brand and needs new management and refurbishment.
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Seattlefly, Thank you for staying with us and for being a Titanium Elite Marriott Bonvoy member. We are disappointed to hear the issues you had during your recent stay and want you to know we take your review very seriously. I want you to know that I have personally reached out to all departments involved and we are investigating the experience that you had at our facilities. We do appreciate your loyalty and are grateful for your feedback. Kindest Regards, Kris Reyes Director of Guest Services 858-452-4025
Read more
We were going to check in to this property, as I had made the reservation just a little bit before on my Bonvoy app. My husband is Titanium Elite and he called in to the hotel to add me to the reservation as he was not coming in until late that night. Jaimee told me that "because I used the app they don't do upgrades." Those were her EXACT words. I asked her to repeat what she said and I wrote it down so I would not forget. I called into Bonvoy and they told me THAT it not a reason to NOT give upgrades. Everyone was rude and not willing to help solve the issue. We left, never checked in--AND--they still charged me for the night's stay of $156.74. So now I get to deal with the hotel again for this!!!!! WTH! Horrible experience overall. We walked out and went elsewhere.
Read more
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear thismermaidtravels, Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I have reached out to the Director of Guest Services that helped clarify the situation over the phone. Being that your husband is an elite member, Marriott is very specific on who is granted benefits. When Marriott had called our property, they were unaware that your husband was not present at the property with you, and that was communicated to them during our phone call with them. The member does have to be present at the time of check in to receive the complementary benefits with the membership. If any further clarification is needed, please feel free to reach out to the Director of Guest Services, Kris, at 858-453-5500 so that he may assist you. Thank You, Craig Reber General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$157 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton la jolla, la jolla sheraton
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoLa Jolla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
252
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing