We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
13745 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9746
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Only 1 left at
$166
View deal
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$144
View deal
Booking.com$166
Hotels.com$166
Priceline$166
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 12/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
4.0
Value
3.5
Whispering Pines Lodge is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Kernville, offering a quaint environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Guest rooms offer a refrigerator, air conditioning, and a seating area, and Whispering Pines Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available. In addition, guests can enjoy a large pool, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Kernville burritos restaurant such as El Rio Mexican Restaurant, which is a short distance from Whispering Pines Lodge. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular parks such as Riverside Park. 6 acres of land allow for direct private river access from the property. Enjoy your stay in Kernville! Please note: we do not currently serve breakfast, and not all fireplaces work. We are striving to change that!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Canoeing
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fishing
Patio
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
98Reviews2Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 50
  • 18
  • 10
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CPTaMerica wrote a review Sep 2022
Los Angeles, California38 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
Ryan and CiCi are excellent hosts! They have taken over for their parents and the place has never looked better. I hear they’re also going to offer yurts soon. The pool is clean and the new furniture is very becoming with a great view. The rooms seem to be refreshed and with new mattresses. We were in room 118 and it has a hot tub large enough for two middle-aged adults. The trail down to the river is beautiful and you can take your kids fishing right there. Several rooms cooked some soup on the outdoor grill and we all shared. The Whisper is back in the Pines! If you have been here before, you’ll enjoy it more this time around as Ryan and CiCi are awesome!! I highly recommend. BTW, this is next to several restaurants, all with breathtaking views and price moderately to high-end. There’s also a gas station and a market less than 500 feet from the hotel. Very close to all downtown nightlife, could very well walk if you did not eat a very big meal… Kernville is very quaint!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sheri V wrote a review Oct 2021
Bakersfield16 contributions
Property's Favorite Review
This property has always been blessed with a fantastic location but with the new improvements and upgrades in 2021, it is a premier lodge on the Kern River. This is a family run property and they really went over and above for my dear friends’ stay for their anniversary. They booked them at the last minute when they lost their reservation up river due to the fires. Then Cici was kind enough to set up a special romantic package for them with a cheese and picnic platter and roses for their room. I would recommend Whispering Pines Lodge to all my friends and look forward to our next stay there for my husband and I.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are great and close to the river.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Emslie, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded Oct 31, 2021
Thank you for the kind words! We are grateful everything worked out so nicely. We are under new management, previous reviews should be taken with a grain of salt ;) We look forward to you and your husband stopping by when the time is right! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian J wrote a review Mar 2022
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica8 contributions8 helpful votes
Great location and friendly staff. They were very accommodating and more than willing to ensure we had a great stay. My family and I can’t wait to come back and stay here again! We feel very fortunate to have found this place, it fit our family’s vacation perfectly in all ways.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan and Cici, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded May 2, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words! It means a lot to us and our staff. We sincerely appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the future when the time is right! Thank you for staying with us, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed everything.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LightPacker530091 wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
We had a great stay at Whispering Pines Lodge. We had a river facing King Room with a kitchen. We stayed in room #3, we had a tempurpedic mattress and beautiful balcony with River Views. The central heat in the room worked absolutely well! I definitely am coming back and will stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: This is close to town and in walking distance to the Market
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan and Cici, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded Mar 1, 2022
Hello! Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate you taking the time to write this detailed review. It's awesome you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable. Come back anytime, it was a pleasure to host you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K B wrote a review Jul 2021
Lafayette, California363 contributions228 helpful votes
This is a really beautiful property that seems to have fallen on hard times. We picked it via AAA Tourbook. We should have read Trip Advisor reviews! No doubt once upon a time this was a 5-star property but sadly to say, no longer. I might have blamed Covid for the many issues we encountered but reading some Trip Advisor more recent reviews, it looks like the problems may have started earlier and have just gone on. We noted the property is for sale. We can only hope someone who cares purchases the place and gets it back to where it once was. As other TripAdvisor reviews have noted, although this says "Bed and Breakfast", there is no breakfast. The owner, Louise, said due to Covid but other places we stayed, including B&B served at least a light "to go" breakfast. Looking at other reviews, it seems breakfast has not been served since 2017, far predating covid. Of course there was no reduction in rate with this 'minor' subtraction. Property upkeep is on the wane. In the office are several celebrity photos but frankly I cannot imagine a celebrity would come here now. Things are worn. Things are missing. First room, AC did not work; we were given a different room but there coffee maker did not work. It was, admittedly, replaced the following day. But no kleenix, have to ask for TP: things even a small cheap unassuming place would provide without having to ask. As another review noted, we seemed to be the only occupants one night. The other, appeared to be maybe 4 occupants max. Sadly, 3 of the nicest units were lost to fire; said to have been started by unauthorized guest BBQ that tipped over. We got the identical impression of another Trip Advisor reviewer who blunted stated the owner "doesn't care". She told us she was 72. Husband has passed away. Children live far away. Our overall impression is she seems simply weary of the whole affair. I feel bad that I cannot give the place the 5 stars that it assuredly once merited. The experience was not totally awful so I guess 3 seems fair. But I would strongly suggest taking this and other reviews with similar assessments under advisement before booking here and being aware the price to stay is high. When I say rooms are "very good", they are fairly large, ceilings high, nice decks, large nice baths with tub and shower. But furnishings worn, could stand to be updated. Location of hotel right on the Kern River is outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: River view rooms have full sun in afternoon but decks lovely in am. Birds and deer on property...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan and Cici, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded Nov 27, 2021
Hi KB, Thank you for your feedback. We are now under new management. I would suggest people disregard the previous state of affairs, as we have lofty goals for this place and are doing our best to turn things around. We have since removed the breakfast language, to be transparent and up-to-date. I am sorry you had such a bad experience. The previous owner is not indicative of the current state of affairs. Things are changing. I would strongly suggest anyone who chooses to stay with us in the future, understand the context. Essentially, this review was created at a time that is is considered outdated. We are by no means perfect, but the idea ownership doesn't care, rooms don't have basic amenities, is no longer relevant. The choice was to not serve breakfast due to covid, that is a choice we decided for the health of the owner in her advanced age. We appreciate your opinion celebrities may longer longer wish to stay here, but it's also about the history of this location is very rich and unique. That is something nobody can ever take away from the Whispering Pines. While the 3 largest units were lost in a fire, we are still running 14 other units, and the only difference is there is no suite. We are unable to control accidents that happen, so we respectfully disagree it's "all bad." Things happen, and you move on. We still have river view rooms, rooms with a kitchen, and all kinds of amenities. Now, however, while we still do not serve breakfast, that could change in the future and we think this hotel has plenty to offer still with lots of opportunity. 6 acres of land to explore, minutes from any room, is not something you can find at a hotel surrounded by concrete. Expect things to change, but don't expect them to change in one day. We are working diligently to turn this place around! We would argue the lodge is not in a sad state of affairs. Rather, it is in a transition period that while we have experienced numerous challenges, is in the midst of making a strong comeback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gunter Z wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed there for one night, were probably the only guests that night. Rooms are spacious but several items not working. The owner informed us about the nonfunctional fire place, did not care much. Entering the room we were greeted with the strongest odor from disinfection, still full ash tray on the balcony. All items worn, the place has seen better times. In the afternoon passed out drunk person next to the pool. In the morning no warm water, nobody was in the lobby, all locked up and owner gone. Will not come back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan and Cici, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded Nov 27, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. The drunk person passed out by the pool lacks context, and it's not our job to inform people who to enjoy themselves during their stay. The implication a hotel caused someone to do something you disagree with is not relevant. Please note: we are under new management, so this review is outdated and no longer applies. We are working hard to ensure our guests have a high quality experience. Some of the fireplaces still do not work, but they are slowly being repaired. It is not something that will happen overnight, but the idea we no longer care no longer applies. Thank you for reminding us where the lodge used to be, because it no longer is as you have stated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry T wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Stayed on 2/27. The TV did not work. The sink in the bathroom leaked, we had to put towels down. The towels were shredded and filthy. The shower curtain was filthy. We left a note upon checkout and no one cared to call. I called the office today, 3/16 and spoke to a person who said they were a manager (did not give a name). I explained all the issues and asked to be reasonably accommodated. They refused. I let them know that I would post a review with photos and they did not seem to care. I told them I would also let the Kern County Health dept. be aware of the issues we experienced since they are health related. They did not care.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan and Cici, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded Nov 27, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. We are now under new management, this review no longer is in alignment with the current reality. We are sorry you had a bad experience, and look forward to future guests coming here to enjoy theirselves knowing things are changing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KeithandAlison wrote a review Jun 2020
20 contributions
We stayed in room 107 which overlooked the river. The location was perfect because you could walk down to the river or less than a 5 minute walk up the hill to a few restuarnts and a brewery. The price was on the high side around $250 so our expectations were high. At first glance upon arrival the lodge was very cozy and had a lot of charm. Once we entered the room we were slightly disapointed because the room was a little tired and outdated. Positives: - Comfortable bed - Balconey overlooking the river with a spectacular view - Coffe pot - Mini Fridge - Air Conditioning worked well - Cable TV - Friendly staff - Perfect location Negatives: - No hot watter in the shower but plenty hot from the sink - No serperate door for the toliet - Outdated decor - No breakfast that we knew of (might be because of COVID) - A few mice and ants on the balconey in the evening - Coffee was not very good (weak like drinking tea) - Price versus value
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan and Cici, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded Nov 27, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. A lot of these could have been resolved, I am unsure if you brought any of these issues up during your stay? Breakfast is no longer served, it it wasn't updated on the website that was not intentional and we apologize for any confusion, that has since been updated. Mice are simply part of living in the mountains, but even then we are taking aggressive steps to remedy and it has not been an issue for months. The decor is by choice, for a "classic" feel, we are sorry it wasn't what you like. We are glad there were some pros! We are under new management and doing our best to make that list longer, and the "cons" list shorter.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Early B wrote a review Nov 2019
Ramona, California256 contributions58 helpful votes
Whispering Pines is an attractive setting in the trees several hundred feet above the Kern River immediately captures your attention, even when arriving at night. The first impression of Room 107 continued to impress. It appears to have been recently refreshed with new flooring, paint, ceiling sprinklers and more. It has dual sinks, a fireplace and a large balcony overlooking the river. As a person that has spent 100’s if not 1,000’s of nights in hotels, the first impressions were great. However by checkout time the list of minor and major irritations grew long enough to force me to do this review. I’ve deleted smaller items from a longer list, but patrons may need to know the following few. 1. The street sign partially burned out, making it very hard to find at night. 5. The HVAC unit has no obvious controls. Once you do find them, you have to lay on the floor, tucked between the unit and a table, with a flashlight, to find them. Lay on the floor. Really?!?! 8. The fireplace has no obvious controls. We couldn’t use it, and the left door is broken. 11. There were no Kleenex/tissues. This is far more serious than it might seem. 12. Two remotes were required to control the TV. It required much experimentation to make any progress. All functions could have, and should have, been programmed in one unit. Instructions are also needed. 15. It is still advertised as a B&B, but they no longer provide breakfast. There is nothing in walking distance, and the nearest nice restaurant wasn’t even open for breakfast. We reported all this in detail via email after the trip. Twice. Never got a response.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan and Cici, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded Nov 27, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. However, note: we are under new management so a lot of these issues have been remedied. 1. We apologize about the sign, it's not a simple fix but we have not received many other complaints it's hard to find. 5. The HVAC unit for 107 had a remote, perhaps it was missed? There would be no need to go on the floor for that. We have no intention of forcing people to do yoga in order to control the temperature. 8. The fireplace may not have been working, but I wonder if you asked anyone about this? Any guest who has an issue should reach out, and give management an opportunity to remedy issues like this. However, a number of fireplaces have not worked for some time. It is not due to negligence, they require parts and service that are both backordered and delayed for the time being. We are doing what we can to slowly get this resolved, but it will not happen in one day. 11. The Kleenex/tissues, if so serious, warrants again, a phone call to the office in the future. It would take a matter of minutes to deliver this to your room. 12. Thanks for letting us know about the remote issue. The cable company has advised it is required until further notice, but the idea of instructions is a good one we can certainly look into. 15. We have updated the B&B note online everywhere, to set everyone's expectations appropriately. Also, PLENTY of things are in walking distance. I have been able to live at the lodge for the last 4 months, without a car, and been able to reach any shop, restaurant, or service in downtown Kernville in less than 15 minutes. We apologize you never received a response via email, we are moving more towards having a presence online and using technology more, the previous owner did just about everything offline, that has now changed. After review of all these items, it appears like a lot of other negative reviews, the review itself can now be considered outdated since this was under the previous management. We appreciate the feedback regardless! Thank you for taking the time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked, I showed... and no one in the office. Tried calling and it rang... called the other number on the phone message and got voicemail. I was stranded, my friends were stranded at 6:30 pm and it was dark. Luckily after calling every single place, another spot had a cancelation and we had a roof over our head. Whispering Pines does not answer calls and says they will refund me but have not seen it yet and I have to keep calling. Be aware; don't get stranded.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan and Cici, General Manager at Whispering Pines Lodge
Responded Nov 27, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. This occurred under previous management. The concern about being left stranded no longer exists within the realm of possibility. Thanks for taking the time to let us know and we know it was a while ago, but we are saddened you had such a bad experience. Do not expect that to happen again should you decide to stay here in the future and need accomodations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
whispering pines hotel kernville
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaKernville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Whispering Pines Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Whispering Pines Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Kern Valley Museum (0.5 miles), Riverside Park (0.6 miles), and Kernville Saloon (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Whispering Pines Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Whispering Pines Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Whispering Pines Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Whispering Pines Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Whispering Pines Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kern River Brewing Company, Cheryl's Diner, and Cracked Egg Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Whispering Pines Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Whispering Pines Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Kernville.
Is Whispering Pines Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.