We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4360 Highway 78, Julian, CA 92036-9623
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$118
View deal
Expedia.com
$118
View deal
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$97
View deal
Travelocity$118
Priceline$118
Hotels.com$118
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (30)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (1)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Julian
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
3.6
Service
3.5
Value
3.2

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Julian, Apple Tree Inn is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its proximity to great restaurants, Apple Tree Inn makes it easy to enjoy the best of Julian.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the motel.

The property also boasts a pool, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to Apple Tree Hotel, free parking is available.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as O'Dell's Organic Orchard (2.5 mi) and Volcan Valley Apple Farm (2.6 mi), guests of Apple Tree Hotel can easily experience some of Julian's most well known attractions.

Travelers looking to enjoy some shrimp can head to Romano's Italian Restaurant or The Julian Grille. Otherwise, you may want to check out a diner such as Miner's Diner & Soda Fountain.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular history museum like Julian Pioneer Museum, which is a short distance from the motel.

Apple Tree Hotel is sure to make your visit to Julian one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
86Reviews2Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 24
  • 16
  • 10
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gio2020 wrote a review Aug 2022
Elk Grove, California42 contributions7 helpful votes
What a pleasant surprise after a very long day of travel and attending a wedding in the remote town near Julian. The farmhouse was a welcome and very spacious accommodation. The bed was extremely comfy. I definitely appreciated the well appointed extra room compared to standard stuffy hotel room. The patio was really nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Aug 16, 2022
Thanks for the wonderful review. We're so happy to hear you liked our new beds and your stay in the farmhouse. We hope your travels bring you back to us again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gel619 wrote a review Jun 2021
San Diego, California21 contributions34 helpful votes
I love Julian and when i return in 2 weeks, atleast that’s the plan, it will be my 3rd visit in a year to this amazing little motel. First it’s not in downtown Julian so you will have to drive into the cute town. Their is a pizza place across from it. I recommend if you are staying during the off season (during the week) get a kitchenette or rent the farm house as their is no place for breakfast in town. The rooms do have a small fridge so milk and cereal is an option.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Jun 4, 2021
We love hearing from repeat guests and hope you plan on staying with us several times in the future. We're remodeling the bathrooms in the next few weeks and look forward to showing them off to you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travel2jenks wrote a review May 2021
23 contributions
Recently refreshed rooms with LVP flooring which is way better than carpet. White bedspreads which is a must these days to ensure cleanliness ( old school printed ones definitely can hide nasty stuff and aren’t routinely washed). Inside of room had a cottage feel. I think they’re still in the process of the revitalization so soda/snack/ice machine wasn’t in use nor was the pool open since they had drained it to paint. Definitely quiet out here and can easily see the stars.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded May 18, 2021
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our newly renovated rooms. Our pool should be open in the next few days as we will have all new patio furniture and the pool was updated. We hope you can come back soon to see the additional improvements we will be making in the next few weeks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susy wrote a review Apr 2021
Santa Rosa, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently stayed at this motel which pretentiously calls itself an "Inn" yet it even hardly matches the quality of a Motel 6. They charged us $169-$189 per night as if they were a 4-star hotel. Not so! The photos on their website are very misleading.The rooms are only a few feet away from the parking area; when guests leave their motors running the exhaust comes into your room. The motel is on a busy country road. Our bathroom had a moldy shower curtain, it lacked a non-slip surface on the shower tub which is a code violation. Eventhough we placed the sign to have our room cleaned, they didn't make the bed nor cleaned the bathroom (they did refill the coffee pods and left us clean towels). The pool and pool area were dirty as was the entrance to each room. There was a non-functioning ice machine and no drinking water dispenser (water from the tap didn't taste good). There was no clean or quiet place outside to sit and relax. The only decent thing was that management refunded us $100 after we texted to them our displeasure at feeling ripped-off. Evidently most of the critical reviews trigger a "Wow!" response from the manager as if the clients were offending him personally. An appropriate business-like response would be an apology with a commitment to do better.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Thanks for taking the time to write yet another review. Our prices are very competitive with the area hotels, and in fact on the lower end of the price spectrum. The ice machine is currently closed due to covid regulations and we are not allowed to turn it back on until we are in the Orange Tier. The pool is currently closed due to the weather and we will have it open sometime in May once it warms up. At that time, we plan on having new pool furniture and over hauling the entire pool area. We are doing our best to practice social distancing and not having housekeeping go into occupied rooms. We supply new sheets and towels, but do our best to minimize the time they are in the occupied rooms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rho wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed three nights, and was really disappointed by the service and lack of basic features. Bathroom has soap, but no soap dish. Bath towels are tiny and flimsy. The floors have no rugs, making it cold and NOT cozy at all. Insider shower curtain liner had mold. Walls are super thin and you can hear everything. There was a large unsightly tree branch fallen on the roof that never got removed the three days we were there. No-one seems to sweep in front of the rooms of the place. There is no-one in the office to get help. We couldn't figure out the heater, and we are pretty mechanical . . . and yet, there were no instructions on how to work it. Then on the third day, we asked for the maid service. The bathroom was not cleaned and the bed was not even made. When we complained, they said we had belongings on the bed. The only thing on the bed was the extra pillow we asked for. The kleenex dispenser was empty! We had two adults staying, but they only provided one key. For the price this places charge, none of this stuff is halfway acceptable. Even though there is COVID, there was no hand sanitizer. On top of it all, the grounds are unkept. A Motel 6 would be an upgrade to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't bother with the Apple Tree - stay in Julian proper.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Mar 31, 2021
Wow!!! We are amazed at such at the horrible review you have written. We bent over backwards trying to satisfy you and surprised you still stayed 3 nights when you could have easily checked out and stayed in a property that suited you more. You complained about the brightness of the lights and they were replaced immediately. Our property is staffed 24 hours per day, but we are practicing social distancing as a safety precaution to our guests and staff. While our staff is not standing at the front desk, we are on site. We can be reached by phone, text, or door bell any time of the day. We have found most guests like the tile floors as they are more hygienic than carpet. The tree branch you mentioned was removed by the landscaping company we hire that comes once a week. It was on the roof and was not causing any issues that it needed to be removed immediately. Our housekeeping staff sweeps in front of the rooms on a daily basis, but we are in the mountains and the slightest wind blows leaves right back. We are limiting exposure by only cleaning rooms at check out or request. Our housekeeping staff did clean your room at your request, but did not make your bed because they found some of your belongings on the bed. The rest of the room was cleaned. The heater was tested and works perfectly fine. You have to use the remote to turn it on, and instructions are posted in the room. We gave you a very generous credit in an effort to minimize your discomfort and surprised even that wasn't enough for you, but you still decided to stay with us. Most guests that stay with us rave about our staff and property and we are sad to hear you felt compelled to write such a horrible review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BarbH wrote a review Mar 2021
Palm Springs, California5 contributions1 helpful vote
My significant other and I thought this was a cute looking motel and decided to try it. Mistake! First the OK stuff. We did like the check-in policy on cell phones. Quick and easy. We liked the availability of restaurants across the street with outdoor seating and heaters. Now the downsides: The room had no luggage racks on which to put our suitcases. There was no counter space in the bathroom so we had to work out of our suitcases. BUT the absolutely most gross thing was crusty dried stains on the sheets that looked like ejaculate! It was 9:00 PM so we had nowhere else to go. Calling the number in the room produced a hang up first, then someone answered the second time I called. He brought fresh sheets but said we’d have to change them ourselves. Ewww! This is the very last time we’ll stay here. What a waste of the $182 we paid for this hovel! I don’t even pay that much at a Marriott! Good luck if you decide to book.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Mar 3, 2021
Wow!!! We are quite shocked to see your review. We immediately came to your room and offered to change your sheets, but you chose to do it yourself. After closer inspection we found the stain you mentioned was an ink stain that did not come out with bleach and the hot water we washed the sheets with. We find your review unfair and biased as we would have been happy to move you a different room should you have wanted to do that instead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
erikaanne wrote a review Nov 2020
seattle, washington115 contributions76 helpful votes
We didn’t expect much, and so were pretty satisfied. Personally, I liked the check in method. Super easy and no-contact due to Covid. The bed was comfortable and the remodeled room was cute and clean. We appreciated the Keurig with decent coffee, as well as the pet friendly attitude. As people mentioned, there is a No Drink order for the water, but we were given plenty of bottles. I’m sure we could have gotten more if we needed them. I would have given 4 stars if a hair dryer had been provided as well as 2 more pillows. Neither was a super big deal, but would have just made our stay better. But for $80? We were satisfied.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Nov 17, 2020
Thanks for your detailed review. We do offer complimentary hair dryers and can always send additional pillows at no charge. We did have hair dryers in the rooms but guests were taking them with them so we now offer them by request.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael T wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We came to Julian this weekend for our niece's wedding. We chose Apple Tree Inn due to location and availability. We were absolutely shocked to find that the water at the hotel is UNSAFE! Search for "Apple Water is Good Julian" and you will find the notification from the county. The water at the hotel has had a 'DO NOT DRINK' warning since FEBRUARY (8+ months ago) and there is no notification on the hotel website, no prewarning when you book - NOTHING. In the bathroom, there is an old print out that warns you not to brush your teeth, wash dishes or bottles, etc. They provide a few water bottles. I mean, we didn't expect much from this motel given other reviews, but unsafe water? Unfortunately, Julian is booked but we are calling around for other options. Horrible wifi, dirty bathroom, thin walls and unsafe water too? This place should not be running until the situation is rectified. Beyond disappointed and feeling duped.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Nov 17, 2020
Our water has been tested as safe but we are in the process of replacing our water tanks. We are just waiting for the County inspectors to come out and inspect the water. Due to the Covid restrictions we have been waiting for some time to have the inspectors come out and approve the new tanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy B wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
We were surprised to be upgraded to the Farm House on our recent stay. The space was refreshing and renewed our spirits. We felt very safe during the COVID restrictions. The customer service was excellent. We love the location. Great dining nearby is fantastic! Highly recommend! We'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Farm House provides privacy, comfortable space, and great views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal Bissat, Revenue Management at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Aug 13, 2020
Thank you so much for the recommendation. We're so happy you enjoyed your upgrade and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric G wrote a review Jan 2020
Pasadena, California621 contributions275 helpful votes
The property is about ten minutes away from downtown Julian by car. There are two restaurants and a bakery within 200 feet or so from the rooms. As others have written, the check in process is unusual, in that you receive a text with your room number and a lock box code (a lock box is located outside of each room and a key is inside). Our room was fine with rustic and minimal decor, the heater worked well and the beds were very comfortable. The fridge was a nice touch. The coffee machine wasn't working, but it was replaced quickly when we reported the problem in the morning. The WiFI speed was OK when it worked, but it was very erratic and unreliable. Maid service isn't offered by default, but is available upon request at no charge. The walls were a little thin, so we could hear the folks in the room next door from time to time. Everything was very basic, but it was clean and comfortable. All in all, nothing wrong other than the WiFi, but nothing great either.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamal B, Manager at Apple Tree Inn
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. We have someone on staff 24 hours a day, but offer the lock box check-in to make it more efficient for guests that don't want to go to the front desk. Unfortunately, being in the mountains our internet can be a bit spotty, but we pay for the fastest speed available to us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
apple tree hotel julian, apple tree motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaJulian
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Apple Tree Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Apple Tree Inn?
Nearby attractions include Eagle and High Peak Mine (2.9 miles), William Heise County Park (4.9 miles), and Volcan Mountain Winery (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Apple Tree Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Apple Tree Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Apple Tree Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apple Tree Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Julian Pie Company, Jeremy's On The Hill, and Apple Alley Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apple Tree Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Apple Tree Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Apple Tree Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Julian Town Hall (2.8 miles), Main Street (2.8 miles), and Julian Historical Society (2.8 miles).
Is Apple Tree Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.