We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strawberry Creek Inn

26370 Scenic Hwy 243, Idyllwild, CA 92549
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (86)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (5)


#2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
A tranquil retreat that will rejuvenate your spirit and relax your body, the Strawberry Creek Inn offers peaceful luxuries and simple pleasures. Just two hours or less from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles and San Diego, the San Jacinto Mountains will envelope you in the rustic beauty of Idyllwild, California. * Walk along Strawberry Creek * Savor a homemade breakfast of fresh, organic ingredients * Read in the library * Bask in the summer sun * Snuggle in front of a roaring fire in winter Come visit and rediscover life’s quiet joys.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
202Reviews1Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 125
  • 45
  • 17
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
smsd wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
AVOID! I should have booked at Grand Idyllwild Lodge again after a great visit last time. I made a mistake booking on this site for a weekend away. They have "very strict" policies (ask Sara the manager, she will quickly explain and then hang up on you). I don't mind the cancellation policy BUT my mistake meant I did not know if I could fix OR if I would receive a room at all. The inn does not respond same day to calls (it's 2021) and despite me emailing as soon as I saw the mistake - no one called me for OVER 24 hours and then I got a call at 1:30pm next day saying we could now check in (30 min notice) which is insane. We could not drive to Idyllwild without knowing if we even had a room. I take issue with the lack of accountability. We didn't get a weekend away at all because they couldn't pick up the phone and respond, then had the audacity to charge "per cancellation." I got condescending general emails finally (several after 24 hours of no communication) so when they respond to my 1 star review with their generic "I'm sorry but" just know that will be your experience there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Response from Marc K, Owner at Strawberry Creek Inn
Responded Jun 17, 2021
Dear SdMagpie, While your experience is not typical of our guests' stays with us, we wish we had an acceptable answer to your requests and expectations. We respect you may not agree nor accept our replies. As it turns out our messages and emails were returned timely, though of course we do not have a 24 hour desk nor do we have several folks answering phones/emails... it seems some of our replies didn't get through to you timely. The definition of 'timely' may also very in our minds from person to person in our highly automated world today. As a small B&B with just 10 rooms or cabins, we are definitely more focused and different than larger hotels in our offerings. Also, its tough to ignore the global disruptions that COVID has had and continues to have on all our lives around the world. While we too wish it wasn't so, we cannot deny we have had some disruptions throughout the year. You are correct, however, that we rely on our guests to book what they need, and that there is limited flexibility on only certain rates when you are making a reservation last minute. In order to treat everyone fairly and equally in housing, we don't usually make any exceptions and apply our reservation terms equally. This is typical of most smaller boutique hotels and inns, but "last minute" in the city can be 3 days or 2, and in the country is generally 1-2 weeks, though you should always check with each lodging stay as rates do vary and some places, like ours, do have several different options of flexibility. Generally the more flexible the rate, the higher the price and that choice is left to our guest to choose what is best for you. We wish you a pleasant journey, wherever your travels take you.
Read more
Bibi C wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I ended up staying 3 nights instead of the scheduled 2 because we had the time and the weather was so nice. We were fortunate that we were the only guests there so we enjoyed personal attentions, as well as peace and quiet and of course, the delicious breakfasts. We found Heather to be a very helpful in-keeper / manager, who went out of her way make us feel comfortable and welcomed. I would like to add that I have read the other reviews and agree with some of what was said like expecting the Inn to be further in from the road, but that is something that cannot be changed however, I would have loved to see the main house decorated with the string of lights as shown on all the photos. We also did not have a view from our room but liked the sky light above our bed. As a designer's point of view let me say this: everything is appreciated first and foremost by sight - first impressions count very much. From what we experienced, I would like to suggest the following things which can easily be done: The outside needs some tending to. On the inside, please add area rugs for each side of the bed to keep your feet clean before getting in or not stepping on a cold floor as soon as you get up and also, it would be nice to have a place in the shower to put ones things (like a shower caddy). Overall, our room was very nice and clean, and we had plenty of space to put our things - and the robes were nice touch too. We look forward to coming back some day soon!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Kimberly M wrote a review Nov 2019
San Diego, California8 contributions
My husband and I stayed for 2 nights, November 9 & 10. POSITIVES: Overall we enjoyed our stay. We were in the Autumn room, which was very spacious, very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. At first I was disappointed in the electric fireplace as I was expecting a real one. But I have to admit that I enjoyed the convenience of the remote control and turning it off/on from my bed. The TV was great, although the bedpost got in the way of viewing it. Bathroom was great. Loved the robes. Bed was comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfasts. Every employee we met was very nice. NEGATIVES: When we first stepped into our room we were overwhelmed by a strong musty odor. We got used to it after a few minutes but noticed it every time we entered the room from the outside. Although the inside of the main house and our room was extremely clean and tidy, the outside areas were not well maintained. The photo of the main house that is often used in advertising (pretty building with string lights)...well, it doesn't look like that in real life. There were lots of empty flower pots, leaves in need of blowing/raking, garden decorations that have fallen over, etc. Finally, the employee who checked us in said that she would be there until 6pm. Several times we went into the main house looking for her to ask a question, and she was nowhere to be found. That said, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Inn to others.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Response from 92549marc, Group GM & Innkeeper at Strawberry Creek Inn
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Dear Kimberly, Our Strawberry Creek Inn B&B team is thrilled you had such a lovely stay, and thank you for your 4 bubble Review! We also want to thank you for taking the time to provide us your thoughts and feedback on where we can improve, and allowing us the opportunity to update TA readers here. Thank you for letting us know about the odor. While smell is a very individual sense, we use an commercial ozinator to correct such issues, and housekeeping regularly airs out and cleans rooms. We're sorry if your experience may have fallen below our standards during your visit. While it's true that if you visit after a windy rain storm that the grounds may be a bit dissheveled, we definately aim to do our best to restore them quickly. One important thing to note is that our flower pots in late fall or winter are not empty. They often house dormant bulbs or root plants that spring up. Snow, though light in Idyllwild, is also really good for the soil. Similarly, early in fall they will look a bit 'dead' or pretty sad, and that's because you have to 'energize' the plant and let the leaves die out. I have to admit I had to learn this myself having grown up mostly in the LA/OC city areas. You are correct in that we need to update our photos. We've put on a lovely green roof, added new modern and elegant seating, and refurbished much of the inside and outside of the house including all new picture windows! The twinkle lights are on hiatus as the prior owners did not properly install safe electrical wiring and safety is more important than the added charm. All in all, most guests agree that rooms and public spaces are certainly better than the pictures, although probably not right after a storm or rain shower. Lastly, we're sorry you were not able to get a hold of an innkeeper. We are onsite from 8AM baking fresh scone and grinding coffee, and stay till 6pm preparing the next day's breakfast. Sometimes we have to step out to tend to duties or other guest needs, and you can always call to leave a message or email and we will get back to you (or pick up the phone if we're just upstairs). We look forward to you and your husband's return; try us in spring for a different feel, or come back for fall foliage and winter wonders again soon!
Read more
SR26 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My friend and I booked the cottage at Strawberry Creek Inn with the expectation that we were staying in a secluded luxurious bed and breakfast type of accommodation. What we found was anything but that. The location of the cottage was steps away from the street and we could hear cars going by day and night even with all the windows closed. Additionally, the cottage was described as having a creek view and there was none. Overall, the accommodations were mediocre at best. Upon being shown in by the manager, she began to review the features of the cottage. The website advertised a whirlpool tub but she informed us that it had to be filled with three separate batches of water because the water heater wasn't large enough to heat the amount of water needed to fill the tub. She said that if we wanted to use the tub we would have to fill it 1/3 wait 10 minutes for the water heater to refill, fill another 1/3, wait 10 more minutes, and then fill the last 1/3. Ummmm...okay...I guess we werent using the tub. We were then informed that we could not use the tub, upstairs heater and the upstairs fireplace at the same time because it would blow a fuse....hmmm...okay...did I really pay $300+ per night for this place? Downstairs there was a stone fireplace and we were provided with one of those instalogs, additional logs would be an extra charge. For $300+ per night, you would think they would include the supplies needed to actually enjoy the amenities they were advertising. On top of all that we found that that the place was musty and dirty. I had the pleasure of using the shower first so I was the lucky one who got to rinse away all the dead ants that had accumulated there. It really seemed that no one had cleaned the place in while. Dead bugs in the windowsill, cobwebs in the corners. Talk about false advertising. On top of all that, when you stay in the cottage, you have to pay for breakfast separately, $20 per person/per day. So overall we were paying $340+ per night for shabby accommodations. We only ended up staying one night because my friend injured herself badly after she slipped in a gravelly ditch while we were walking back to the cottage from breakfast. There was no walkway between the cottage and main house where breakfast was being served so we had to walk along the street where there was no sidewalk and that's where she slipped. One night was more than enough in this disappointing cottage. Not the vacation we were looking for and we definitely wouldn't recommend it to a friend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from 92549marc, Group GM & Innkeeper at Strawberry Creek Inn
Responded Nov 3, 2019
Dear Miss SRBIB, As we responded to your email communication where you sent us a draft copy of this planned review, we are not able to offer a refund or monetary compensation in exchange for a positive review or to prevent a negative one. We don't believe that is right. We are saddened to see that you chose to follow through with your promise. We apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations. We're also very sorry your friend slipped near the B&B property as you were walking down the street, and we understand how this could have ruined your entire experience. Our team definitely wishes her a swift recovery. Additionally, we wanted to clarify a couple of facts: Although our inn is a historic landmark, we have worked very hard to not only refresh and refurbish all modern amenities but to also maintain its charm and character. After all, if you wanted a fully modern building, you would book a modern hotel or resort, not a historic country cabin inn. That said, all our rooms and cabins are thoroughly maintained, cleaned and kept up to date. We continue to have upgrades and improvements at Strawberry Creek Inn, so much so that many of our guest can see the difference. Yes, there are some quirks that being in a mountain destination in a cabin may evoke, like taking care not to turn on all four major appliances all at once to avoid the possibility of a circuit switch popping, or that on colder days with freezing temps it may require a few minutes to fill the tub. Our innkeepers apprise guests of this so that your experience is much more comfortable. Moreover, in just two years we've added the latest in modern heating/AC with individual controls (a rarity in B&B type inns), HD and 4K tvs with on-demand programming, and upgraded internet to "city-speeds" --currently 400 MBPS vs our rustic 45 MBPS DSL from just a year ago. As to the creek, the Strawberry Cottage (the one that just had a new red roof added last year) has not one but two decks that overlook the forest and facing iconic Strawberry Creek. While it's no Niagara falls, it's right there. There is indeed a path that goes from the main inn historic craftsman house to the cottage, and many guests use this to both get to the creek and the creekside Strawberry Cottage right on the creek. The gate even has a latch accessible from the cottage side. We're not sure why you didn't use or if you just chose to walk along the highway. Understandably, this is not a typical stay for our guests, and the slip accident is certainly sure to have soured your stay. We wish you pleasant journeys, no matter where your future travels may take you.
Read more
Harry M wrote a review Sep 2019
30 contributions5 helpful votes
After an arduous ascent to Idyllwild due to blocked roads, rock slides, mud slides, and the infamous SAGE fires that burned over 50,000 pine trees, we were pleased to find the 'central village' fairly intact.The service was very good and our plate was oversized.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Response from 92549marc, Group GM & Innkeeper at Strawberry Creek Inn
Responded Oct 12, 2019
Hello Harry, It's great you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay!!! Yep Idyllwild village is up and ready to welcome guests... we just need you all to come on back. The perception of road closure is, sadly, larger than the reality, thanks to crazy sensational news stories on slow news days.... As an FYI for those reading this now on TripAdvisor: Both our two main roads are back up and running, and had been for a while (one with pilot before, now fully open without one), Only the Banning Pass from the 10 fwy (the third way, a roller coaster of doom ride we never recommend) remains closed until Nov/Dec 2019 according to CalTrans. The Palms Desert route is always our recommended one, and though it's 10-15 minutes longer than the now-closed Bannig Pass, it is a much easier, more pleasant drive with great pullouts for photo ops. You can also use the Hemet / Valle Vista road off the 60. Our San Diego and OC guests' drive remains unchanged. Tip: Don't just trust google or waze! If you see anything but clear roads from San Diego, Hemet or the Palm Springs area, or have a question. It's best to check our website links to CalTrans or simply call us and we'll give you the latest.
Read more
$216 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
strawberry creek hotel idyllwild
United StatesCaliforniaIdyllwild
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Strawberry Creek Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Strawberry Creek Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mount San Jacinto State Park and Wilderness (0.4 miles), Idyllwild Nature Center (0.7 miles), and Middle Ridge Winery (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Strawberry Creek Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Strawberry Creek Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Strawberry Creek Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Strawberry Creek Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Strawberry Creek Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Kettle, Gastrognome, and Mile High Cafe.
Is Strawberry Creek Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Idyllwild.