We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River

06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed February 12, 2017

This is our second time staying here and both times, it has been nothing but nice. We been here on weekends, and the bar next door has live music, it's a bit loud, but it's quickly turn off at ten pm on the dot! So don't let that scare you from staying here. The owners are great, and Brett is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank José P
Brett G, Owner at Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, responded to this review

Thank you Jose, it was a pleasure having you guys stay with us again. I am glad you enjoyed the room. It was the same room as the previous guest said was miserable. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Brett Gibbs-owner

Yuba City, California
Reviewed February 4, 2017

There is no staff available when you need someone - and you will need one!!! The water smelled like rotten eggs and then turned BLACK…that’s right Black. (Photos Below) It was freezing cold at night and the room had an insufficient heater. It was 42 degrees outside and 52 degrees inside the room. The sad thing is the heater took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mardijane
Brett G, Owner at Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, responded to this review

Mardijane, I apologized to you via our emails about this and you were refunded all of your money, so I don't know why you are saying you were charged. You checked in at 4:00pm, left for dinner and came back. I was still in the lobby. You said nothing about the heat at that time. The next morning you came...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Lovely place to stay in the Russian River area. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The owner, Brett, was very welcoming and helpful with our questions about restaurants, activities, and wineries. Brett recently lost his wife to breast cancer and I was impressed that he was able to continue competently running the lodge amidst such loss and grief. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biba03
Santa Rosa
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

Long awaited sweet getaway, with the sweetness of a very romantic night. Arrived to meet my sweet date. Followed by a warm sweet welcome from Brett, the owner. We we were shown to our sweet room, no detail missed, premium amenities, top notch linens, high end toiletries! A sweet night of precious nostalgia shared between two lovers, The smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travel5965
Sacramento, California
Reviewed October 9, 2016

The purpose of this post is to describe our experience at the Rio Nido Lodge so that future customers will not be as shocked as we were. The website describes it as an “intimate” bed and breakfast where modern meets urban peace”. Our stay was anything but. Upon our arrival we were met by a police stand-off, complete with helicopter...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dd14670
Brett G, Owner at Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, responded to this review

Don- as I said in my follow up email to, I am very upset that you were this disappointed with your stay. I think your score on the Lodge is reflective of exterior elements and not just your stay here. When you checked in we had a nice conversation about breweries in your area. As I was trying to process...

Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

Where to begin. We arrived at 3:15 and even though the owner was there he wasn't opening up til 3:30. After 3:30 he admitted us. Not a very friendly sort for a B&B innkeeper. Told me if I was leaving in the am to park along the creek so as not to wake others. I asked him if he heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William C
Brett G, Owner at Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, responded to this review

Bill- I am a single person operator as well as single parent. When you arrived at 3:15. I was away from the Lodge picking my kids up from school and I get back about 3:25. In the mornings I take them to school and get back about 8:30. I told you jokingly about the experience we had one time when...

Switzerland
Reviewed September 30, 2016

This place deserves a good rating. You can see it described in many ways, but I would call it ‘back to basic for people who are used to 5 star homes’. Because it is not really back to basic. For luxury you do have good free wifi, a good bed, free parking and a good breakfast included: cooked to order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ski-fanatic-73
San Francisco, California
Reviewed August 31, 2016

We stayed here for just one night after attending a local event. The room was very simple, nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. The music from the place next door finishes early so no problem with that. We had a great breakfast the next day, lots of options, so that was really excellent. The people were lovely and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MargaretNicole
San Leandro, California
Reviewed August 13, 2016

This is our second visit to the Rio Nido Lodge - an annual family excursion to celebrate our granddaughter's birthday. We will definitely stay here for future travels to the Russian River area. 3 nights in a Courtyard King Room - quiet, peaceful, wonderfully comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast! Thank you Brett!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
San Francisco
Reviewed August 9, 2016

We've been coming here once or twice a year since 2013 when the current innkeeper arrived. The reception is warm, the responsiveness is excellent, the breakfasts are yummy - and ample! - and the room is clean and comfortable. Since our last stay, Brett added two things we asked for to the bathroom in "our room" - a soap dish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grey-Snapper
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
9.1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
5.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
506 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A peaceful respite in a picturesque spot with the redwoods providing a serene backdrop where modern meets rustic. This almost 100 year old Lodge has lots of unique accommodations to offer. All rooms with one king or one queen bed for a perfect adult getaway. Banquet and meeting space available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River

Address: 4444 Wood Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-8018
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Nido Lodge At The Russian River Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I would choose and outside room and just ask Brett for a quiet room. Most of them are.”
430jos_p, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“I suspect we got the last room because it was a last minute thing, but our room was still just fine.”
MargaretNicole, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“Note: not ALL rooms have kitchenettes. Maybe there's only one. Courtyard rooms face the morning sun and are cooler in summer.”
Grey-Snapper, Aug 9, 2016 | Read review
“Top rooms have nice views”
Swrdfsh21, Mar 16, 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs are noisy but bigger. Downstairs quiet but small.”
tomlriley, Oct 21, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates