We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
816 W Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5402
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$145
Travelocity$145
Hotels.com$145
Priceline$145
Agoda.com$145
eDreams$145
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (39)
View from Room (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 10 hotels in Grass Valley
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Nestled under the redwoods, three blocks walking distant to Old town Grass Valley's shops and gourmet restaurants. Free wireless for the business traveler and vacationer, quiet, peaceful, beautiful, wine tasting just down the street. Tour the gold mines, beautiful country walks, lovely bike rides, close to lakes and rivers for whitewater rafting, water-skiing, fishing and recreation. Come stay with us and enjoy our area - we look forward to welcoming you!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
231Reviews4Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 153
  • 55
  • 13
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jeanine Sande wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
I LOVED my 2-nite stay at the Sierra Mountain Inn in Grass Valley. The room was spotless, inviting, extremely comfortable. The mattress was wonderful, the small kitchen very convenient, the area quiet and beautiful. We could walk to town. I will be back. Thank yoiu!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
LLRBWH wrote a review Apr 2022
Oakland27 contributions9 helpful votes
We recently stayed in Grass Valley for a concert and exploration of gold country with a geologist friend. The Sierra Mountain Inn was the perfect place to stay. Easy walk to downtown, quiet, ample parking and a very friendly and helpful manager. Clean, comfortable and convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
SJR wrote a review Mar 2022
South Carolina8 contributions10 helpful votes
This inn was exactly what I needed: clean, comfortable accommodations close to the center of town. When traveling, I like to book a room with a kitchenette whenever possible; it helps me save $$ on meals and I can brew a cup or coffee or enjoy a chilled glass of wine at any time of the day or night without having to work around a restaurant's schedule. That's another reason SMI suited me so well on this two-day stay. Also, the manager, Diane, made me feel very welcome. She was even able to answer some questions about my rental car! I highly recommend this inn. The only small improvement I could suggest is to outfit each room with a steam iron and a small board. We all want to look our best when meeting up with family!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kat B wrote a review Feb 2022
13 contributions
This inn is so great! We stayed in the cottage and it is so cute and well maintained. It was so clean and the staff is so friendly. The property is well maintained and so charming. I Love staying here when I come to grass valley. If I could give it 10 stars I would.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Becky L wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
If I ever find myself in Grass Valley again I won't even give staying anywhere other than the Sierra Mountain inn a thought. On our way up from Southern California, only 30 minutes away from checking in at the Inn we were hit and our car was out of commission. We found ourself 500 miles from home without a car and momentarily stranded. After connecting with a friend we got a ride and able to call the Inn. I called and spoke with Diane and told her we would be there late. I explained our situation and she was so genuine in her asking if we were okay. She told us not to rush, she would turn the heater on for us and some lights. After the stressful day we were able to walk right into our room which was so warm and welcoming. When we found out our car is not able to drive for the foreseeable future we needed to stay an extra night. The inn was able to accommodate (even though later it was not needed) finding us a room. I truly recommend the staff, accommodation, and location of the Sierra Mountain Inn. If I could give them more than 5 stars, I would give them a least 10!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Maryal B wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I found this gem on the Internet...I actually prayed and said "LORD, where shall I stay?" and Sierra Mountain Inn was highlighted! I was looking for a quiet, clean, charming place which I got for my two night stay, PTL! The Manager and two Staff I spoke with are friendly, accommodating, wonderful! One evening I sat outside in a comfy chair on the grass lawn as I wrote notes for a teaching I was giving the following day...my room didn't have a desk, that is the only item I would recommend (It would have to be small but at least somewhere to sit and work on my laptop). Great WiFi and glass coffee mugs instead of Styrofoam or paper. Would definitely return...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
P B wrote a review Sep 2021
Union City, California14 contributions4 helpful votes
Advertised as two bedrooms with a kitchenette, we booked a space for four adults and one toddler. One bed was in a small room with a no air conditioning and the other was in with the kitchenette. The temperatures were in the nineties. There was no space for luggage. The floors turned my granddaughter’s feet black, they were so dirty. Perhaps the dirt was from the major construction going on next door, which was not mentioned when we booked. Although they knew months in advance we were a party of 5, they provided 3 towels and 3 coffee cups for four adults. There was no housekeeping for the Labor Day weekend. When I asked for more towels and cups they did bring the towels and a disposable plastic cup. My granddaughter had to sleep on the floor, as there were no cots or rollaway beds available. They could have warned us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Only stay here if you have no other choice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Sierra Mountain Inn
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Dear Pamela, We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You booked your room through a third party called Expedia. The reservation you made specified it was for 2 people. We were totally unaware that you had more than 2 people until you called us the day of your arrival and asked if your daughter could pick up the key as she was to arrive before you. We were more than happy to accommodate your request. Your daughter did come into the office to request a rollaway but it was already reserved and being used by a guest inhouse. We are a small Inn and only have 1 roll away. I am sorry we were unable to accommodate your request. The carpets are professionally cleaned monthly or as needed. We take great pride in the cleanliness both inside and outside of our guest rooms as stated by the many reviews from our previous guests. Due to COVID-19 for the health and safety of our guests and staff we do not offer housekeeping . We do offer custom care packages that are delivered to your room upon request during your stay. It is stated under lodging policies in the confirmation that was emailed to you from Expedia and stated upon check-in. I am sorry we did not provide you with enough towels and cups. We are very careful to check all the rooms after the housekeeping staff is finished. It was our oversight. We are glad that the additional towels and cups you needed were provided for you. We do let our guests know about the construction during the week. We do not mention it to our guests on Friday as there is no construction on the weekends. On behalf of the entire Sierra Mountain Inn management and staff we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Read more
Linda M wrote a review Aug 2021
Atascadero, California53 contributions18 helpful votes
My family all stayed at Sierra Mountain Inn while in Grass Valley. We had 4 rooms altogether. The rooms were all impeccable and the beds comfy. The staff were the best. They were there to accommodate all our wishes. We will definitely recommend this facility and use again when we are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
WorkingMomTraveler wrote a review Jul 2021
Moraga, California79 contributions54 helpful votes
I was fortunate to get a stay in GV last minute. This inn has a lot of potential. Great location just up the road from town. Outside areas to sit. Porch on most rooms. Air and fans work well. The rooms and reception are very clean. The kitchenettes are well done. All the basics and more. TV, wireless too. Shower had very nice tiling, thick towels and toiletries are current for a BnB. The potential comes from visual repairs needed on porches and walkways, paint etc. And the decor was a bit mismatched. Art work, lamps, misc items very inconsistent, mix of antique, with contemporary and just dated. They are challenged likely by staff access to continue upkeep and Income loss from Covid to invest. The property could be very quaint but first outside impression was not as good as when I walked into reception which looked very nice and current. Diane was very informative and welcoming and I wish them the best. I still would stay again though know there is some street noise.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Park on street if you have big car. Go to FV farmers market!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
William W wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Booking the reservation was fast and easy. Diane checked us in. She was very friendly and provided information and suggestions for eating and sightseeing. She was also helpful to give shortcuts for driving to where we wanted to go. The room, #7, was very open and comfortable. Two baths and kitchenette along with a TV in the family room and one in the bedroom. Rooms were clean and everything we needed was there (glasses, plates, corkscrew, shampoo, hair drier, etc.). Nice sitting areas inside and outside. Street has traffic but folks are not speeding by and traffic is not heavy. The Inn is less than 1/2 mile from downtown old Grass Valley and less than a mile from the modern downtown. If we go back to Grass Valley, you can be sure we will be staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: On the north side of the property, suggest backing into the parking spot for easy exit onto the ...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sierra mountain hotel grass valley, sierra mountain motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaGrass Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sierra Mountain Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Sierra Mountain Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lazy Dog Chocolateria (0.4 miles), Holbrooke Hotel (0.3 miles), and The Center for the Arts (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sierra Mountain Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a picnic area.
Which room amenities are available at Sierra Mountain Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Sierra Mountain Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sierra Mountain Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cirinos At Main Street, Tofanelli's, and South Pine Cafe-Grass Valley.
Is Sierra Mountain Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Grass Valley.
Are there any historical sites close to Sierra Mountain Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bourn House (1.6 miles), Holbrooke Hotel (0.3 miles), and Lola Montez House (0.4 miles).
Is Sierra Mountain Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.