We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stagecoach Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stagecoach Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It has taken me a week to think about writing a review as I liked Nett the manager. However, I have decided to write this as I feel the owners either don't get it or don't care. I've been staying in hotels and motels for decades and this has to be the worst place I have stayed, ever. Period! First,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
Fulton, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

I stayed at this motel last April and found it to be lacking in amenities and maintenance* (see below) but the room was clean and comfortable enough that I made another reservation several days ago for this Labor Day weekend. The manager, “Nett,” had been friendly in April and had appeared eager to please guests. But I was concerned that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
Lynette P, Manager at Stagecoach Motel, responded to this review

I as the Manager here @ Stagecoach Motel take Great Pride in customer service & happy guests. I am blessed to see our repeat customer's often since I've been here over the past 2 years. Thank you for your loyalty & confidence in our service in providing a well rested & enjoyed visit to our Motel... Unfortunately I realize that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Tracy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Expedia, what a total dive, I wouldn't let my dogs stay there. The room smelled like smoke, tiled floor, old bedding, the room didn't even look clean. We walked by a room as the other guests were entering and it smelled like pot. I gave it a 1 because the manager authorized my refund with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank megjess22
Lynette P, Manager at Stagecoach Motel, responded to this review

Review from guest on 7/8/16 is from the same guest dated 7/2/16. Sorry to hear your drop in was not what you had hoped for. My only concern, is that you had not even gone in any of our rooms. Best wishes to you & yours in your travels..... More 

uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

After some 50 years of travelling to various parts of the world, I can honestly say that this is by far the worst accomodation I have ever come across. I only stayed long enough to get my booking fee returned from a very understanding lady in the office.

Helpful?
1 Thank Battyhouse
Chico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during the Grass Valley Draft Horse Classic because it was close to the venue. The motel is in a nice setting in the woods. The rooms are dated and shabby, but the price and service were excellent. The manager couldn't have been any nicer or more attentive. I recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Discusdoc
Lynette P, Manager at Stagecoach Motel, responded to this review

Review from guest dated 7/8/16 is from the same guest of 7/2/16... So sorry to hear your drop in was not what you had hoped for. My only concern, is that you had not even seen the inside of our rooms that day.. Best wishes to you & yours in your travels... More 

Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

I see the bad rap for this motel and for obvious reasons. It's old and a bit rundown. However they do make it up in price and spirit. Nett the new manager (we were there in mid July 2015) was very helpful and was trying to live down the bad rap the place has gotten over the past few years.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karl E
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

If you really must stay in Grass Valley and you can't find another motel and you don't mind spartan surroundings and price is no object then give it a go. The manager is actually quite accommodating and trying very hard to make up for a very lackluster facility.

Helpful?
1 Thank Norm H
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This Motel is so nasty, it should be shut down. Nothing but Meth heads running around...stained sheets, gross showers, old furniture, air conditioning unit that didn't work, hard bed and scratchy sheets, flat pillows, no bulb in the lamp, no outlet for the desk and no light there either. No coffee machine, and the third day the maid didn't even... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank 184Travelingman101
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room was very stuffy and smelled extremely stale. There is no vent or window in the bathroom. The only window in the room had no screen. The air conditioner was plugged into a socket with no cover plate and the sockets were broken rendering it impossible to plug in safely. We unplugged it in the middle of the night... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank ravenwm
Oakley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived around 9:00 pm after attending a wedding, no light on at the office, saw instructions in the window to go down the street to get the key, TV did not work, one light over the bed had been torn off the wall, sleazy old sheets (saw some old stains on them in the morning) on a bare mattress,... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.5 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
3.9 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
4.1 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Stagecoach Motel

Address: 405 S Auburn St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-7225
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Price Range: $87 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stagecoach Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Stagecoach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Motel Grass Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay