We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed February 15, 2016

This property, while overall exterior appearance is good it is occupied by "rental residents" with a large number of homeless people using the grounds and dining room, etc. Staff was largely absent, rooms were old and in disrepair. Lots of noise from rental residents/guests upstairs. I wound not use this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Forrest M
HAMID K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks, we'll see you next time. These guests always come back!?

Central Valley of California
Reviewed January 31, 2016

We stayed here for four nights recently. It is conveniently located though it may be hard to find if you don't know where it is. Though the hotel is located near the freeway there was a surprising lack of road noise. Unfortunately, we could here water running in the pipes in the walls. It wasn't loud, but it was there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richansen53
HAMID K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for responding! Glad you had a nice stay!

Reviewed January 20, 2016

I've stayed here many times because it has such a good location, comfortable beds, good prices and free breakfast close to my business meetings. I would recommend getting a room in the main building where the office is. Within walking distance of several restaurants, a small strip mall including Raleys, and a nice used book store.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
HAMID K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had a great stay! We look forward to seeing you again!

Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Reviewed January 19, 2016

Hotel is well located, close to shopping and dining. Rooms are clean, but are showing wear and age. Breakfast was average to good, potato logs were not so good, eggs and bacon were good. Overall the price was to high for the quality of stay. Have stayed in BW's for less that were better.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby C
HAMID K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Glad you had a great stay! Look forward to seeing you again!

Walnut Creek, CA
Reviewed January 3, 2016

The staff was great, the room was clean, the Internet quick, refrigerator/microwave a plus, good value, the breakfast generous and the location superb. The mattress was uncomfortable and the facility/rooms were inherently dated but made over to maximize their appeal and comfort. It is this best of limited options available in this area any where near this price point. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank unpre10ous
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We're glad you had an enjoyable stay. We are currently making updates to the property and guest rooms. Thank you, Management

Reviewed January 2, 2016

This hotel is listed as a Best Western Plus but after being at many plus Best Western hotels I would rate it a plain Best Western, The rooms are clean and the walls are painted but it is missing that something really nice that I have come to expect from a Best Western Plus hotel.. The staff was very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerkjunkie
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

We're glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed our friendly staff. We are actually not a Best Western plus not sure where you got that idea. But thank you for your response, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time. Thank you, management

Berkeley, United States
Reviewed January 1, 2016

Exactly what I was looking for. Clean, easy to get to, good value, below the snow line but easy access to snow play. Close to restaurants and stores. Great staff. I have stayed there seven times and will use them again and again!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you soo much! We look forward to seeing you each and every time! Best Wishes, Management

Sandpoint
Reviewed December 30, 2015

This is a good clean place to stay for families or singles. The free breakfast is filling and has a wide range of the usual motel breakfast items and then some. Always hot coffee in the lobby. Convenient location to the area attractions.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wk542
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Glad you felt you got a reasonable value during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you, Management

Grass Valley, California
Reviewed December 21, 2015

Basically imagine your typical motel 8 or Super 6 or Travelodge. Have a good mental picture of that? Now imagine paying $130. That is this hotel. It looks like a travelodge, not a Best Western. Room looks tired, nice TV but otherwise...eh. Sheets are clean but you can clearly see old stains. Room is well lit, but lights are dated....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Good_Apollo_BSIV
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Nowhere in Grass Valley can you get a 59 dollar room, and there are no motel 8 or travelodge in Grass Valley. Roseville has a number of cheaper hotel's where you may find the type of rate you're looking for. Thank you, Management

Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

For some reason all the stays in Grass Valley/Nevada City are way over priced, even the dumpy hotels. Gold Country Inn is no exception. Too much money compared to other Best Westerns. The rooms are nice and fairly clean but the bed killed our backs. The breakfast is just so so. Don't understand the reason for charging $20 per reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerry C
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. The pet fee is due to the extra deep cleaning that may be required from the presents of a pet. Thank you, Management

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
2.0 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Price Range: $111 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“second floor rooms are probably quieter, but we still heard freeway noise. The motel is right next to Hwy 20.”
 of 5 bubbles Longpier1, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“Dont end up in the detached building!”
 of 5 bubbles coyote77north, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“Don't take a room at the far back of the property as it abuts the freeway and is a bit noisy. The remainder of the property seems quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Dejaceo, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Conveniently located next to the freeway and sits across from a Safeway with a Starbucks.”
 of 5 bubbles morganv226, Jul 6, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a clean room.”
 of 5 bubbles 807pams, Jun 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question