We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kimpton Goodland

5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117-2319
Visit hotel website
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
Kimpton
$164
View Deal
Lol.travel
$231
$133
View Deal
SAVE $98
Agoda.com$164
Travelocity$164
ZenHotels.com$231
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (308)
Room & Suite (79)
Videos (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Kimpton Goodland Hotel is a boutique surf hotel in Santa Barbara's sister city Goleta. This new beach chic hot spot features an outdoor pool, on-site spa, fitness center offering daily classes, restaurant and lobby bar. Brand new fresh carpet and wood flooring. Evenings are filled with live music, movie nights in the courtyard and more entertainment. The Goodland is conveniently located near UCSB, Goleta's business district and downtown Santa Barbara. It's all good at the Goodland: Book Now.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Members save at least 25%
Hotel deals
619Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 219
  • 151
  • 114
  • 79
  • 58
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We checked in at 5pm having driven from Orange County. We had asked for adjoining or close rooms and ended up with rooms along the same outdoor hallway, which was fine. We weren't offered the complimentary beer at check-in that was mentioned online, but it was ok as the wine hour was just beginning. Wine hour was great! It was chardonnay or cabernet and they had blistered shishito peppers as a snack and it was delish. The genteman pouring was friendly and nice. We dined at the restaurant in the hotel, The Outpost, and everything was really good. One of the items was made incorrectly, but the quality was very good and our server is also really nice. We stopped by the room for sweaters and noticed one of the rooms didn't have a record player so we called and asked for one. Since it seemed to take some time we asked if we could leave and they would drop it off ans they said yes. I was also a bit disappointed that there was no welcome note or anything. Every time I have stayed at a Kimpton, we have been welcomed by a cute note or even a cheeseboard and prosecco. I was a Kimpton Karma member and now an IHG member, it was the great perks that kept me choosing Kimpton. Sure, this is not standard, but I have never had a stay without it especially when coming to celebrate something specifically (birthdays, anniversaries, graduation, and this time a bachelorette celebration). We went out and sat around the firepits excited to make s'mores, as noted online too. One person in our party was able to get two little kits for our party of 6, but was told that was all they had. I went to the desk to ask myself, and was told they were out and wouldnt have more until tomorrow night. Disappointed, our friend drove to the grocery store to get s'mores items so we could enjoy the evening as planned. We got back to the room around 9:30pm and noticed they still had not dropped off the record player so I called again. I was told many of them were broken so if they can find one, they would drop one off. A bit frustrated thay we weren't just told that before, I went to our other room and grabbed the record player. When I came back, one of our friends was on the phone, as they were calling saying we were too loud. Talking and chatting with no music, no TV, just after 10pm on a Friday night, it felt like a slap in the face. The next morning we headed down to grab coffee before morning yoga, as scheduled on the events calendar. Others in our party went down grab coffee right after us and it was empty (just before 9). The front desk asked if they were going to yoga (they were in workout clothes) and told them the instructor called out sick and it was cancelled. Again, yet another piece of our plans for the weekend not delivered. Frustrated, the other member of our party let the front desk know it was like strike 3 of bad experiences and told her about the s'mores. The front desk was very confused, saying they always have the kits and there were PLENTY in the back and couldn't understand why we were told they were out. We still have one more night here, but feel pretty disappointed and defeated. We spent $1500 to book two nights here, knowing the great perks, amenities and reputation of Kimpton. Never have I had an experience anything like this at a Kimpton.
Read more
This property nails kitsch, starting with an Airstream and vintage car parked in front. But the hotel (it's actually a refurbished motel, so the rooms open to the outside), falls short on substance. Case in point: There is a record player in every room, but not a coffee maker. On the weekend I stayed, they were out of coffee makers. I did not love schlepping outside and down a flight of stairs to get coffee in the lobby first thing in the morning. But if you travel with your collection of vinyl, you are in luck. The pool area is lovely, as it should be since the hotel charges an amenity fee. But the fitness room is a sad joke. There are many yoga blocks, but not a bit of space to do yoga. And there are four -- and a half -- sets of dumb bells. But the rooms are large and clean and have plenty of outlets and lots of drawers. If the Goodland focused a bit more on substance, it could be great.
Read more
When booking the hotel I expected the quality and refinement of a Kimpton Hotel. It was disappointing to see that Goodland is a renovated motel. The room was comfortable with a couple of hip pieces of furniture but it still had the feeling of being in a Motel 6. The walls were scuffed, the fixtures in the shower were rusty and hard to operate. The door had a gap between it and the door frame that would allow a nasty draft in the cooler months. The lobby area looks cool but I noticed areas of the floor that were dirty. The pool is big with numerous lounges and umbrellas. The rack rate on the door of the room was $350. Kimptons website has a rate of $249. We were fortunate to find a travel site with a rate of $130. If we had paid $249-350 per night we would have been livid. (There is an additional $25 “amenities fee” because they have vinyl you can borrow to play in your room, and for your complimentary beer when you arrive.) Unfortunately, Kimpton has tried to put lipstick on a pig and this does damage to their brand.
Read more
Response from KimptonGoodland, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland
Responded 4 days ago
Good Day DTrautman, Thank you for choosing Kimpton Goodland. We appreciate your feedback and your critique of the hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to address the issues you noted. Each Kimpton hotel is unique in its design and no two properties are the same. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with the hotel design and layout. Hopefully you had a good time while you were here and the team took care of you. All the best, Barry Dorsey General Manager barry.dorsey@thegoodland.com
Read more
Found out at checkout that this used to be a holiday inn express, and it was pretty obvious that was the case when we got to the room. The bathroom had a used hand towel hung up, and large pieces of broken candy (?) on the floor. I requested for housekeeping to do a second cleaning, but that didn’t happen. The robes were also dirty and unwashed - they had tomato sauce/blood stains on them. Walls were very thin and there was hardly any privacy because the wall facing the pool and corridor was a window. It was difficult to sleep because there were people partying in the pool past 11.30pm. I wouldn’t recommend coming here and it was definitely not worth the price. I wish management tried harder with working on hotel maintenance and cleanliness instead of focusing on making the hotel look good for instagram photos. Gross experience overall and I won’t be staying at any Kimpton hotels in the future.
Read more
Response from KimptonGoodland, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland
Responded 1 week ago
Good Day Samantha S, Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. It is disappointing to hear of your experience. I apologize that we dropped the ball on your stay. Your feedback will be shared with the housekeeping management team and we will correct the room inspection issues you mentioned. Each Kimpton Hotel is distinctly different and that is what makes Kimpton the premier boutique hotel brand in North America. We would look forward to a future opportunity to serve you at this, or another Kimpton Hotel throughout the world. All the best, Barry Dorsey General Manager barry.dorsey@thegoodland.com
Read more
We came here for Labor Day weekend and purchased a 3 night NR deal for about $900. For the Santa Barbara area, this is a great deal because weekends are really expensive. As a hotelier, I've stayed at many brands across the country and the world. I typically will book Kimpton hotels knowing that they offer a good value due to more limited services, but they have good dining outlets, and their hotels have some personality. On the positive side - the service we received as an IHG member from the text we received prior to arrival - and throughout our visit from Chelsea, the front desk, the restaurant - were all excellent. They were very quick and responsive. The food in the restaurant was also really good - my kids loved the chicken fried sandwich. Unfortunately, we had a pretty terrible ant problem in the bathroom. At first it was a few ants, but by the 2nd day, it was a stream of ants. The front desk responded right away, and they took off the service fee. It was pretty much fixed but not completely. The staff acknowledged that its a constant problem. As far as the rooms, it is very much like a motel. If you stay, you should request a room facing the pool away from the parking lot. However, if you are anticipating to be in a location that you can walk to town or the beach, this is not it. This is Goleta and in an area of strip malls and shops. However, that is what we expected as we knew the area, and the price point is about $200-$300/night less than their sister hotel in Santa Barbara. The pool area is also much like a motel experience - again, a bit what we expected based on the price. And yes, like others have mentioned, there are always wedding parties.
Read more
Response from KimptonGoodland, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland
Responded 1 week ago
Good Day siuyink2015, Thank you for taking time to provide a review of your stay with us. I apologize that you encountered ants in your room during the visit. The ants are not a constant problem as the staff stated, however during the recent high temperatures we have experienced ant activity. We appreciate your praise and recognition of the staff. As a hotelier, you know that such feedback is priceless to the team; and makes the work uniquely rewarding. I guess the conversion of a previous property does keep some of the infrastructure in tact. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you. All the best, Barry Dorsey General Manager barry.dorsey@thegoodland.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$182 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn santa barbara - goleta hotel santa barbara, santa barbara holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaGoleta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing