We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara

Save
Share
8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117-2474
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!STAY LONGER, GET MORE
Expedia.com
$779
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/21/22
RitzCarlton.com
$699
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/21/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$849
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/21/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$779
Hotels.com$779
Priceline$849
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1718)
360
Panoramas (48)
Room & Suite (529)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Updated 11/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 12 hotels in Goleta
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
Set against a backdrop of golden beaches and lush mountains, The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara embodies the charm, beauty, and energy of the Mediterranean in the heart of Santa Barbara. The iconic Central California resort spans 78 acres and features 358 guest rooms and suites, two natural beaches, lush gardens, and a collection of amenities including: a 42,000 square-foot spa and wellness center; three salt-water infinity pools; six culinary venues including the signature Angel Oak, housing the resort’s 12,000-bottle wine collection; robust activities program for guests of all ages; and 70,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. The property is distinctly nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Santa Ynez Mountains, offering easy access to the region’s best vineyards, and is just minutes from the center of charming and historic Santa Barbara.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Boating
Hiking
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Evening entertainment
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Kids club
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:STAY LONGER, GET MORE
3178Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,726
  • 558
  • 389
  • 272
  • 235
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ariel M wrote a review Aug 14
6 contributions
Stay with family and paid a fortune. Rooms are small, outdated and very noisy. AC didn’t work so we called at 10pm the front desk and no one came. We called again. Nothing. So we didn’t sleep the all night. Zero. At breakfast we waited 45 minutes for our meals. No one apologies. The resort is very crowded. I’ve stay in lots of Ritz Carlton around the world last 20 years and this is the worst. Only plus is a very professional and nice check in by amazing person I forgot her name (from Serbia originally). Other then the bottom line is that I’m not coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Janicek, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. My apologies for the issues with the AC and the poor follow-up by my team. Regarding breakfast the slow service is not acceptable and something you have my word we will acting upon. Your positive comments regarding our staff at the Front Desk is most appreciated and I will be sure to find out who that person is and thank them personally. I do hope you give us another try in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LBDKSK wrote a review Aug 14
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania29 contributions27 helpful votes
Lovely hotel with excellent staff. As usual for a Ritz-Carlton. Located on beach. Three pools- including a small quiet adults only pool. Nice spa. Beautiful grounds. Easily located off the freeway so exploring the area is easy using this as a base.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
RJS_92694 wrote a review Aug 13
New Almaden, California17 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Soooo disappointed in this place! Came here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, as we canceled our trip to Europe due to Covid and the war. Thought we would go to a really nice place to celebrate for a few days - boy, were we wrong in our choice! This is nothing more than a WAY OVERPRICED Marriott - don't waste your time and $$$$$. The rooms have been neglected, the place is dirty, the staff isn't trained, and some are rude. My wife couldn't get the cafe to make her an Arnold Palmer since they would have to brew tea... how's that for service? We asked for a split of champagne, and they brought my wife a 1 cup of champagne. This place has NOT been maintained, it's dirty with dead plants and trash that need to be cleaned up! Pathways are filthy and stained. Oh, and the toilet paper is like sandpaper - why do they buy the cheapest, thinnest, roughest paper on the market. We won't be back - especially at the exorbitant prices they charge for a Marriott!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: No good rooms available - Hotel grounds and rooms are dilapidated and in need of repair.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Janicek, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, I am so sorry we fell short to your expectations when celebrating your 25th Wedding Anniversary and I have already began the follow-up internally to make sure the items mentioned in your comment's never happen again. I would happy to discuss and see what we can do to rebuild your trust in our property and can be reached at 805-571-4400. Once again my apologies.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Slammy805 wrote a review Aug 13
Portland, Oregon5 contributions
Took my teen daughter for a “fancy” pedicure which was a b-day present. Staff was courteous, attentive and friendly and made us feel welcome and comfortable. We used all the fun spa things; steam room, sauna, hot tub, pool, lounge etc and then had a wonderful pedicure. Fani and Noy were our nail artists and they took great care of us. Our toes looked amazing and it was just a wonderful afternoon all around. There was some confusion about the valet cost being validated which seemed silly after how much it cost (just validate, OK? Or add it to the overall cost. There is no option BUT to valet park) but that’s my only criticism.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t forget some cash to tip the valet!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Erika S wrote a review Aug 6
Seattle, Washington117 contributions68 helpful votes
From the drive in, this resort is very Santa Barbara glam. It was in the perfect spot for our college tour road trip and just minutes from the UCSB campus. My family and I love luxury travel and recently had the opportunity to spend some time at the Montage in South Carolina. The levels of service were night and day. The staff here is definitely friendly. However, you will find that the property is quite hilly. On one of our uphill treks no less than 4-5 empty golf carts whizzed by us and not once did anyone ask if we would like a ride. We found this a bit perplexing. I understand that we could have called and requested a ride...but it seems like something that should just be engrained in these drivers when passing walkers. Our room was good. Others have stated they were dated, but I found them charming. We had a large balcony and spent quite a bit of time outside. We also appreciated that the bathroom was split so that you had two sinks in separate areas. The bathrooms were probably the most in need of an update. The thing that surprised us most with regards to the rooms -was the bedding -the pillows were awful, and the bedding was literally two sheets with thin blanket in the center.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brian C wrote a review Aug 6
Westwood, California294 contributions168 helpful votes
Ritz Carlton is one of my favorite brands. The Ritz Carlton Bacara does not come close to living up to the Ritz Carlton brand. The service was poor and the rooms are woefully in need of an update. Food throughout the property is not even mediocre. It’s almost as if seasoning is outlawed on this property. They didn’t make up my room one day. Walls were scuffed and our headboard was peeling. This is an amazing property with so much potential. All this place needs is a staff of hospitality professionals. So much potential. All they need to do is pay attention to detail. I wish I had booked at the Four Seasons in Santa Barbara as they are more consistent with living up to their brand. Perhaps the Marriott ownership of the Ritz Brand is the issue. I could have been far more brutal with my review but again, there is just so much potential.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Janicek, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the comments regarding your room and stay with us. We will go inspect the room you were in and make sure repairs are made immediately. Regarding the seasoning within our resorts I will make sure those comments are heard by our Culinary team who I know always welcome feedback from our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
iXJamesT wrote a review Aug 5
1 contribution
We had a very similar experience to the last reviewer, jwb1011, and we can totally relate which is why I decided to review the hotel. When we arrived we queued to check in due to lack of staff, to eventually be given a room on a bottom level with no view for £800 a night. The room we booked was "Deluxe Guest room, 1 King, Resort view, Balcony". There was no resort view, just garden and the room was dark and unwelcoming. I went and queued at the desk for a room upgrade, and was told that nothing else was available. However, by the time I arrived back to my room we were told via a phone call that a room upgrade suddenly became available, but at double the cost per night! Reluctantly we agreed to the upgrade to improve our experience, but only because such trips have become a rarity over the last few years. The new room was twice the size and had a better view. However, one toilet wouldn't flush and the air conditioning made a lot of noise. Worth more than the last room? Yes. Worth £1600 a night? No way! It then transpired that our bags had been lost since we dropped them with the porters. It took them two hours to relocate them and deliver them to us, stating that they delivered them to the old room (which they never did because I checked). The truth was they didn't know where they delivered them to, and had to go and work it out. Thankfully eventually they were found, but not exactly £800 or £1600 a night service. Service at the restaurants varied from excellent to sub-standard. Some consistency should be worked on here to make it worth the stay and service charges. We didn't find the pool too noisy, but there were a couple of lads kicking a football into it which blocked some of the pool off. No one at the hotel did anything about this. We complained on exit about the room quality and porters, and were credited some Marriott points to cover our issues. However, then when our bags were delivered to the taxi the porters forgot another one of our bags! Thankfully we noticed and went to their office to locate and free it! Who are training these porters??? We complained again online when a feedback survey came and we received an email apologising, and stating that we would get an additional 60k points in compensation. So far only 10k have actually been credited to our account since this review has been posted. If this hotel wants to charge premium prices, they really need to step up their game in service and room quality. We won't be returning next time in Santa Barbara and instead will try the Rosewood, or hope that the Four Seasons re-opens again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay here, or if you have to upgrade to the more pricier rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Janicek, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the feedback and my apologies for the service breakdowns you encountered. We embrace the words shared and act upon them as we strive to exceed all expectations throughout our resort. I will be sure to look into the 60,000 Bonvoy Points being placed back into your account and once again thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jwb1011 wrote a review Jul 2022
St. Petersburg, Florida176 contributions160 helpful votes
This was one of the most disappointing ritz experiences I’ve had, and it’s sad because the setting and grounds are quite lovely. When you arrive, despite having 6 spaces for check in, you’ll have to stand in line 15-20 mins to see someone since they’re clearly understaffed. I booked a garden view room with a terrace, however the room I was given was literally a dungeon. Located in the basement, no natural light and a terrace that was completely walled in with a tiny slit of light across the top with bars… literally felt like a jail cell and was nothing like any of the pictures presented online. If they had been honest and said this was the condition of the room, I would have never booked it to begin with. Despite being titanium elite, I was not offered an upgrade, even though a few suites still showed available online. I called and asked if I could have another room, and was told they were sold out. I noted the availability still showing online and said I was willing to pay the up charge difference to have a proper room and not be trapped in a dungeon. Again they insisted they were full, and I was put on hold for 15 minutes and then hung up on. Called again, got someone else, same run around, on hold, then hang up. At that point I was so frustrated I just went back to the lobby, stood in line again and asked to cancel the reservation as I had also called the Rosewood and had a room there waiting for me. All of a sudden, the hotel magically has another room available! I shouldn’t have to check out and go to another hotel to just be given another room, the dishonesty and ambivalent attitude of the staff and management made me want to refuse it, but in the interest of second chances, I accepted the new room placement. I will note the rooms are extremely beat up and worn. Stained and ripped furniture, ripped headboard they try to cover up with pillows, scratched floors, dinged walls, cracked sink, doors that sag and don’t close, and plastic light switches and plugs that have yellowed with age. I’ve attached a few photos for reference. Next is the service. After moving rooms, the hotel lost my luggage, I had to wait over two hours to get my bags to my room, I wanted to just go to the luggage storage and get it myself but was told that was impossible even after insisting, the answer was No. So there went my whole afternoon just waiting on bags. Next I requested a custom mocktail as I don’t drink alcohol and was told No. So I called back again and asked for the individual ingredients to make a mocktail and had no resistance. Delivery of any room service order takes at least an hour, they say it’ll be 35 minutes maximum but that never happened. Both mornings my breakfast was lukewarm at best once it arrived. The last service note was waiting almost an hour to have a bellman come get my bags, again I should have just taken them myself and trudged up the hill to the front. Once the bags were picked up, they couldn’t find them at the valet so I had to wait another 10 minutes until they were retrieved, meanwhile there’s at least 10 valets standing around with their hands in their pockets but no one volunteering to help. Other general notes, the pools are very crowded with screaming children, the spa pool is adult only but there was a couple with a young baby screaming its lungs out all day on a balcony overlooking the pool which kind of ruined the ambience. The beach is full of stinky dead kelp and the sand has natural tar in it which will stick to your feet. Most hotels provide tar wipes in the room but I had to call and request them and wait an hour… why not just put them in the vanity with everything else? The one positive note I’ll mention is the spa. I had the best facial with Elena and she really got me to relax which I needed by this point. I come to Santa Barbara every two to three months and have stayed at all the hotels there both 4 and 5 star and can confidently say the Ritz was the most disappointing experience I’ve had and I will not return. Be warned and take heed of all the negative reviews, they’re valid.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Janicek, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon and thank you for sharing your feedback. Monday I am going to inspect the room you were checked into and see what we can do to improve the lighting into that room as well as inspect overall condition. Regarding the upgrade and not extending that immediately upon request I do know we get many requests however while it may of been open that 1st night I am not sure what was available for the duration of your stay. I do know our team makes every effort to accommodate the many request we get and I am sorry for how it was handled as well as the poor service delays in luggage pick up. Regarding the beach I too wish we could do more to clean up some of the items nature leaves behind however we are prohibited from doing so by The Ca. Coastal Commission. I would be happy to speak with you further as your feedback is important and I want to make sure you know your feedback is heard and responded to. I can be reached at 805-968-0100
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zwinbawie wrote a review Jul 2022
Fort Worth, Texas130 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful hotel, excellent service from valet parking, restaurants , check in , bars, pools excellent service Rooms are very clean and comfortable with a romantic view to pool and ocean. They have a Falcon to make sure birds don’t come to the pool and outdoor restaurant
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Come during weekdays . The weekend are quite full
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nancy1625 wrote a review Jul 2022
Jacksonville, Florida5 contributions1 helpful vote
I’m here with my husband who’s a speaker at an event. The massage I just got from Owen at the spa was the best I’ve ever had. Sittee at the locker desk was so kind and enthusiastic about my visit, on the way out Cher at the front desk was so nice checking me out. Great experience. Sorry if I’ve misspelled any names
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Owen was incredible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$874 - $1,327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
santa barbara bacara resort, bacara spa resort santa barbara, bacara resort santa barbara ca, bacara santa barbara, bacara hotel santa barbara
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Bacara Resort & Spa
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaGoleta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
358
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Which popular attractions are close to The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Nearby attractions include Goleta Butterfly Grove (1.5 miles), Coronado Butterfly Preserve (0.1 miles), and Rancho La Patera & Stow House (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jane At The Marketplace, Cajun Kitchen, and The Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara have airport transportation?
Yes, The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.