We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 776: English reviews
Oroville, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very disappointed with this motel. First of all, the rooms we reserved were not as described on Best Western Website. Then, they only had one desk clerk at 4pm check in, with a long line of people waiting. Very unorganized staff. The room we finally checked into was ok, but overpriced for what we paid for. Then our room keys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calitraveler2017
California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our car broke down so we stayed here. Staff was nice and hot us on the first floor even if it was a handicap room which probably cost more than the regular king room . They gave us advice on where to eat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DancingTraveler60
Ocean Shores, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

What do you want to say the hotel was OK. The parking lot was small and crowded and I drive a big pickup so parking was a bit of a problem and the elevator had a very strong cigarette odor. The evening wine and cheese was pleasant addition that was not available in other hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertlU9629RL
Vancouver
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was generally a decent place to stay. Staff were nice, offered wine and cheese, adequate breakfast BUT the room smelled terrible. They use some kind of disgusting overpowering chemical deodorizer that never went away despite wide open patio door all night. The smell was so bad that it kept me awake. We travel a lot and this was by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeinVancouver826
HumboldtHouseInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn, responded to this review

MeinVancouver826,Thank you for staying with us and also letting us know about the smell in the room. I do apologize and will be contacting the executive housekeeper in regards to this and see if there is a alternative product that might not be so overwhelming. I hope you return soon to visit and enjoy your stay.

Gualala, Calif
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I always stay at BW, But this one was really bad. First check in took way to long. And the noise on the property ALL NIGHT LONG !!! made it impossible to get any sleep. Heater was not working properly. For the rate we paid I was really disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinyonthecoast
HumboldtHouseInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn, responded to this review

tinyonthecoast, I am extremely sorry to hear about your recent stay at Humboldt House Inn.We do are best to get each guest into their rooms as quick as possible and unfortunately sometimes there are unexpected delays. I will make sure maintenance has addressed the heater. I hope that you choose to stay with us in the future.

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cement in stairwell filthy. Blood? Fingernail polish? On the sheet. Called about broken toilet but they did not fix it. Loud parking lot and people made sleep difficult. Great breakfast. Love the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moxiethebeagle
HumboldtHouseInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn, responded to this review

Moxiethebeagle, we spoke upon check out and I made sure I expressed all the concerns and issues to the executive housekeeper. I would like to apologize for the entire staff.We are happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast.

Ventura, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, son and I spent Christmas here at the Best Western in Garberville. It was a last minute reservation as we were just traveling around NorCal and staying wherever we ended up in the evenings. Everything was great from the moment we checked in to the day we left. We were amazed at the dedication of the staff especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meemawto3
HumboldtHouseInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn, responded to this review

meemawto3,Thank you! I will again be having a few treats for our guest traveling through for the holidays. I will make sure xinthi and our entire team sees this review,thank you again for such kinds words. We hope to see you this year.

Ukiah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No wine and cheese greeting as they state! check in time at 4 pm but told me my room would not be ready until at least 5 pm and then they offered me a much lower price room that would be ready in 30 minutes but did not adjust the price accordingly. I never saw the wine and cheese greeting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellygF7703JC
HumboldtHouseInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn, responded to this review

kellygF7703JC,Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy our evening wine and cheese reception that is held in our garden room next to the front office which starts at 5:30 pm -7:30pm every evening. Our breakfast is also located next to the front office which starts at 6am...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The woman that checked us into our room was absolutely awesome. She provided us with a great bag of "goodies" for our dog that was staying with us and she had the "wine and cheese" room opened for us and another set of guests, even though it was way past the posted hours. Breakfast the next morning was great too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan E
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located at the southern entrance to Humboldt Redwoods state park and the Avenue of the giants. Old but well maintained with a large room and decent bathroom. Bed was on the soft side but acceptable. Parking is outside the room,. Standard buffet breakfast included. Pool available. Staff were friendly and helpful. Recommend, Hope this helps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
64 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn

Address: 701 Redwood Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3104
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Price Range: $141 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Humboldt House Hotel Garberville
Best Western Humboldt Hotel
Best Western Garberville
Garberville Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Salem, Massachusetts
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“first floor with parking outside the door”
 of 5 bubbles HowardP568, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Pick a suite - they're all intersting”
 of 5 bubbles TeamHovis, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in building in the back, away from the streets.”
 of 5 bubbles travelhound2010, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room. If you have kids and want to use the pool, get a room on the bottom level next to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles SeattleGina, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a pool patio I prefer”
 of 5 bubbles 50rickg, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay