We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Eureka
See the most recent reviews
Showing 489: English reviews
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious, staff friendly. We had a few problems while there-- our first room had not been cleaned by housekeeping so we had to move- lost our ocean view with balcony. Then next room had outlets not working near desk and the tub wouldn't drain. The hotel was booked so we had to wait over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vjeric
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

vjeric, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry about the issues with your room and apologize that those items were not taken care of before your arrival. I am happy to see that we were able to find a solution during your stay. We look forward to serving you again!

Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Had a 2 room suite for 3 days, which needed more furniture (coffee table, easy chair, etc.). Housekeeping very slow - room cleaned at 5 PM first day of stay. Adjoining rooms noisy. On positive side, staff is helpful and pleasant. Worked with us to check in early. Did not charge for 2 breakfasts as a gesture for our inconvenience....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello Peter A, Thank you for writing a review. I am happy that you had a good stay. I will definitely look into adding furniture into the suite. That is a great suggestion! I hope that we can serve you again and hope you have a great day.

Eureka
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've stayed in a few different hotels in Eureka now and the Red Lion had the friendliest staff by far. They had to give us a room with only one bed instead of two (no idea why) but they were at least very nice about it. It was also very conveniently located - right next to Target and just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Jacqui L, Thank you for writing a review. We are working on updates to our breakfast and should have that rolled out soon. Thank you for your kind compliment about our staff. We work very hard to be as friendly and helpful as possible. It is always nice to hear when it pays off. Thank you for your business. We...

Eureka
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Reserved a king bed room and was told on check in that I was getting the last king bed room since it was late and the hotel was full (not sure why that should matter if I reserved a room with a king bed) but the bed only had a queen bed, not a king as promised. Otherwise it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric R
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello Eric R, Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry for the mistake on your reservation. We have found an error in our system thanks to your review and have corrected it. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Have a great summer!

Danville, California
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I think this hotel is still figuring things out a bit. It is one of the nicer hotels (motels) in Eureka, but that isn't saying too much. The staff could make the difference needed for this hotel to continue to charge what it does for a room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rvernon
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Greetings rvernon, Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. I am sorry that our Staff did not impress you with their usual service. We work very hard to be as friendly and helpful as possible. I hope this does not deter you from giving us another chance. We hope to serve you again.

Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here to drop our daughter off at HSU. only stayed because recommended hotels were full. Was ok for one night but definitely won't stay again. Unsavory people hanging out in front and first room they gave us hadn't been cleaned. Beds unmade etc. When I complained to front desk they didn't seem Suprised. Just asked if I wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lmessmore
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello Lmessmore, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for the issue you experienced and our response. This is not the standard we hold and there was no excuse for it to happen. I am sorry that we did not provide a better experience. I hope you would be willing to try us again. Please feel free to...

Plano, Texas, United States
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This was my first stay at a Red Lion and it was nice. It was "back to school" week at HSU and there were several tour groups in large buses staying at the hotel. It was surprisingly quiet. My only complaint was the wretched breakfast buffet options, but there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance that offer breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Susan D, Thank you for writing a review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working on improving our breakfast selection and setup. I am sorry that was not enjoyable. Thank you for your business and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Medford
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I come over for the HumDog Agility trial and was staying at a different Hotel each year trying to find one I like. This Hotel has been clean, quiet and allows dogs. Staff is friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hi Carol R, Thank you for writing a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed stay. We look forward to serving you and you furry friend again!

Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have over 8000 points in the Red Lion Rewards Program. They are changing their rewards program so that all 8000 points will be erased in November. I chose the Red Lion because of their rewards program knowing that I was only one stay away from a free night. Well, not so much. Not only is the rewards program changing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKcabingirlA
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello AKcabingirlA, Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are transitioning to a new customer recognition program. With the current system, members are still entitled to receive the Lowest Rate Period until we can roll out our new program. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions about the transition. Thank you for...

Sedro Woolley, Washington
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The room was spacious and clean. Staff was friendly. We had the pool to ourselves one afternoon. The water was 80 degrees and it was clean. We really enjoyed the pool. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast here. It was not good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melinda C
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Melinda C, Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working on updates to our breakfast offering and should see some changes soon. Thank you for staying with us and have a great summer.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 21 in Eureka
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Price Range: $94 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Eureka staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Eureka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Take a first floor room in the back if you want a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles noworries2000, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“First floor in front have sliding door to parking lot so convenient moving luggage from car. Rooms are loud, very little insulation”
 of 5 bubbles gogirlie3, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room without an adjoining room door”
 of 5 bubbles 655reneec, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“Parking lot side of the hotel if you want a balcony (they are not large, and don't have any chairs on the balcony).”
 of 5 bubbles Weekender327, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Just ask Louis....”
 of 5 bubbles C414UOsusanl, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay