We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Eureka
See the most recent reviews
Showing 508: English reviews
Gulf Breeze Florida
Reviewed September 24, 2014

I have quite a bit of experience traveling, and have stayed at plenty of Hotels. This Red Lion stay (My first with this franchise) was very good. Friendly people, good breakfast, bar was fine. Nice comfortable beds...very adequate all around. I'm all for staying again...and I wouldn't just say that...It's comparable to any 3 star I've stayed in, and although...

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunandFun20142014
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello SunandFun20142014, Thank you for your great review. We are always happy to see when a guest enjoys their stay. We look forward to serving you again and hope you have a great day!

London
Reviewed September 23, 2014

If this hotel were anywhere else, I would up its star rating by 1. The room was fine and the staff were friendly and efficient. We had a meal in the restaurant - pretty good, but there were not many vegetarian options on the menu. The real downside of the restaurant was the multiple TV screens booming out a football...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonpairLondon
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

LondonpairLondon, Thank you for taking time to write a review. I will speak with our bartenders about making the breakfast room available for more peaceful dining if needed. I apologize that wasn't offered during your meal. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your tour was exciting. We hope to serve you again.

Eureka
Reviewed September 17, 2014

Our stay was very enjoyable. All the staff, through out the hotel, were very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and quick, the rooms are very nice and roomy. Updated furnishings, TV, microwave and fridge.

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Kimberly W, Thank you for writing a review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again!

Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewed September 16, 2014

We pulled in behind 2 tour buses that had just arrived but our check in was very speedy but not quite so efficient. The front desk clerk wrote the wrong room number on the key jacket and I arrived to a room already occupied requiring a trip back to the lobby to get it straightened out. Having stayed at many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CouleeCat
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello CouleeCat, Thank you for taking time to write your review. I really appreciate this review as it gives me great training items for front desk and housekeeping in our meetings. I apologize that for the issues and hope we can serve you again soon. I would like to see another review that says "All good" in the future. Again,...

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed September 13, 2014

This was our second night stop-over with the tour in late August. We have not heard much about Red Lion Hotel but this hotel is quite good or above average. It offers all basic amenities including of course Wi-Fi., room was clean and everything worked well Our room was on the street level, so we did not take a chance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benfamily11
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Benfamily11, Thank you for your kind review. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again.

Eureka
Reviewed September 12, 2014

Nice clean hotel most of the staff were exceptional the sports bar was a great place to watch the football and the bartender was great and accommodating. Don't fall for the breakfast deal unless your an elite member and get it for free orther wise it's over priced.

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Lee F, Thank you for your review. We have some of the best and friendliest Bartenders in town. I am happy you were able to enjoy your time with them. We are working on changes to our breakfast so don't give up yet! Thank you for your business, we hope to see you again.

Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

While the front desk staff is more than accommodating, this hotel is in bad shape. We checked in about 2 hours after check in began. They were still cleaning rooms and maid told us our room was just cleaned. Room has a serious odor...actually the whole hotel has an odor. Rugs are badly stained and shampooing them will not help....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank v E
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

v E, Thank you for writing a review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We want every guest to fell confident that their room is clean and that they can rest comfortably. Please feel free to contact me to discuss your visit in detail. I would really like to know how we can create the...

Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff, particularity Henry and Christina were very helpful. They even arranged for the hotel shuttle to drop off us off downtown. Nice beds. Big rooms and the rate was very reasonable. The breakfast buffet was very busy and understaffed. The hottub jets were broken. This needs to improve to move this hotel up a star. I'd stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigcityd
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello bigcityd, Thank you for your review. Henry and Christina are both fantastic front desk agents and have a great team. I apologize for the state of the hot tub. Thank you for your business and have a great day!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Overall still a good deal - secure building with 24hr front desk services and support. We've come here for over 7 years, sometimes staying a few weeks. Management has changed several times and each change presents more reductions in services. No more room service, which used to be terrific. Rooms still have old chairs, and there's mold in the bathrooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 525TheresaL
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

525TheresaL, Thank you for your detailed review. I will work with the front desk and staff on the items you presented in the review. Also, thank you for the great recommendations! When you return, please come see me as I would love to meet you and discuss other ways we can improve. Have a great day!

Reviewed September 9, 2014

Very secure hotel building, with doors to the rooms on the inside. Eureka itself is passable at best, so ignore the low ratings complaining about homeless people, etc. There are homeless people everywhere in Eureka. I was nervous, but I found this to be a very clean, very safe, good value for the money hotel stay. Staff was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello Sarah S, Thank you for your kind review. We have also added night security in our parking lot to help ensure a safe and secure stay. The Red Lion club is also being upgraded and will be in full swing by the end of this year. Along with the great rate we will give instant rewards for your stays....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Highway 101 near the towering Redwoods of Northern California, the Red Lion Hotel Eureka is close to the area's finest attractions and just 15 minutes from the Eureka/Arcata Municipal Airport with our complimentary airport transportation. Take a walk down the beautiful Victorian Seaport of Old Town Eureka filled with boutique shops and art galleries. Visit state and national Redwood parks just minutes away. Enjoy the nearby Pacific Ocean, whitewater rafting and deep-sea charter fishing. Our 175 spacious guest rooms include nine suites and feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush pillowtop beds, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Guests can also enjoy relaxing and working out at our outdoor pool, and fitness center. For your dining pleasure, the Pacific Grill serves distinctive Northwest cuisine or step into R.J.'S Bar & Grill and enjoy a drink while watching your favorite sport team. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. Don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 6,800 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we are able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, Red Lion Hotel Eureka is committed to care, comfort and value. And bring your pets - we're pet friendly! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Address: 1929 4th St, Eureka, CA 95501-0725
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Price Range: $107 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Eureka staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
richmond
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Eureka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Balcony Rooms are the bomb”
 of 5 bubbles causey24, Jan 21, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are quiet on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles marieclairenichole, Jan 14, 2017 | Read review
“Take a first floor room in the back if you want a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles noworries2000, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“First floor in front have sliding door to parking lot so convenient moving luggage from car. Rooms are loud, very little insulation”
 of 5 bubbles gogirlie3, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room without an adjoining room door”
 of 5 bubbles 655reneec, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question