We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at 2nd & C

Save
139 2nd St, Eureka, CA 95501-0317
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$188
View Deal
Expedia.com$188
Hotels.com$188
Travelocity$188
Orbitz.com$188
CheapTickets$188
Tripadvisor$188
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (69)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#6 of 21 hotels in Eureka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Overlooking Humboldt Bay in the Historic District of Eureka, California, our newly updated, family owned and operated boutique Inn is housed in the elegant and intriguing Historic Eagle House Victorian (est. 1888). Once inside, you will be welcomed with a friendly smile and enchanted by the Old World feel. Our twenty-three unique and immaculately dressed guests rooms provide all you need for a restful and relaxing get away. Local shops, decadent restaurants, Redwood forests, and the Pacific Ocean are just outside your door waiting to be discovered.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Historic Hotel
116Reviews2Q+A31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 70
  • 25
  • 9
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have stayed here years ago when it was the eagle house inn, updates are amazing. If you have a choice pick a room not overlooking the rescue mission. The windows are quite thin, there were earplugs in the room already. Other than that quiet location with lots in walking distance.
Read more
Response from I5425VDrebeccar, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Thank you for coming back and staying with Gina! We truly enjoy hearing from guests who have a history with the Eagle House and share their experience of their stays, both the past and present. We look forward to having you back for many more years to come!
Read more
+1
It is converted from a 1888 theater building, The location is good, very convenient for dinner and street walking at night. The room is relatively large but in general the rooms are dark and feels high humidity. The breakfast is cold and healthy and simple. The restaurant and bar on site are all ok.
Read more
Response from I5425VDrebeccar, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay. We’d love to get a little more insight as to what room you stayed in so that we can assess the lighting & humidity levels that you described and make any necessary changes &/or updates to ensure our guests are comfortable. Please email or call us with that information. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to hear back from you!
Read more
If you want an old Victorian building to stay in with old but nice furniture, this might suit you. It's clearly got some history. The rooms vary enormously and we looked at most as you can view unused rooms. The beds are good but bathrooms vary in quality with some needing updating as they are 30+ years old. Some rooms have fridges and kettles,others don't. Level of cleanliness isn't too good. Breakfast is poor - continental and there were enough tables for the few guests in the hotel; butter was frozen and unsually, cucumber was available with Babybel cheese. Pumkin bread however good. On the plus side - nice reception and if you ask, staff are helpful. Not sure what they are trying to achieve as the quality just isn't there. Not good value for money but it is different to a bland hotel. Would I return - probably not.
Read more
Response from I5425VDrebeccar, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C
Responded Dec 21, 2019
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback during your stay with us. We’re glad to hear that you got to explore our 130 year old Victorian and see how unique one room is from another, many of them offering additional amenities due to the room type. However I am concerned about your feeling of the level of cleanliness as our Housekeepers work extremely hard to ensure every nook and cranny is spotless. Could you please email us directly at info@theinnat2ndandc.com to provide a little more insight on that as well as your breakfast experience? Our breakfast is a mostly organic & locally sourced one consisting of homemade breads, pastries and granola, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, fresh fruit, cheese and other items that guests ask for (like cucumbers for their toast or as a side for something healthier). If our guests feel that our spread is not satisfactory, we want to hear back from them so that we can take that into consideration when updating what we offer seasonally. We look forward to hearing back from you with more details so that we can improve our processes and the resulting guest experience.
Read more
This place is very unique. Architecture and rooms. Our room was huge and had a modern bathroom. Everything was clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is parking available and you can walk to many different restaurants. The breakfast was a bit boring but could be the result of the many power outages experienced in California when we were there. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Response from I5425VDrebeccar, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C
Responded Dec 17, 2019
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking a moment to share your experience Keld. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Our standard continental breakfast consists of all organic and locally sourced items, most of which are made in house daily. It is quite possible that it was limited if you stayed during the power outage due to health code reasons but we hope to have you stay with us again when you can enjoy all of our tasty treats!
Read more
Unfortunately, this hotel is gross over representing the quality of their accommodations. Look for a B&B with Select Registry qualifications like Carter House Inn down the street. I had a reservation for one of their "most popular rooms" for 6 nights while visiting my parents who lived in the region. The condition of the room and the hotel was absolutely appalling. The room had no heat (in fact, all of the rooms had no heat), the windows didn't fully close, and the room/hotel was very pungent (the rugs and carpets were very dated). I woke to a 50 degree room in the morning after a restless night due to hearing every noise in the street including the morning banter from the kitchen staff enjoying a smoke. I'm guessing that the owners are well aware of the noise issue since ear plugs were provided at the side of the bed. From the state of the radiators, there is no way heat flowed from them since the Reagan administration....which is probably the last time the rugs and carpets were cleaned. In the end, the hotel was clearly not as advertised and I could not ask my family to stay is these conditions. Fortunately, I was traveling in advance of my wife and son who were arriving 2 days later. I suffered through 2 nights at the Inn to try and soften the blow of an early check-out. However, the hotel held rigidly to its cancellation so I ended up paying for all 6 night (nearly $1,200) even though I only stayed for 2 nights. The owners were not willing to budge. If you are looking for an affordable room, there are a ton of high quality chain hotels in Eureka. If you want the B&B experience, stay at the Carter House Inn (which is where we ended up and was fantastic). It has all the antiques and ambiance minus the cold, noise and stink. I can see any reason to choose the Inn at 2nd and C which was expensive and low quality.
Read more
Response from I5425VDrebeccar, Owner at Inn at 2nd & C
Responded Dec 16, 2019
While we take every guest dispute seriously and mostly settle in favor of the guest, we do not take kindly to receiving threats and ultimatums to defame our business if we don’t succumb to your demands. Regardless, since you felt it important to vent your distaste in this public forum, we feel it's even more important to address you publicly (even though we've already done so privately via multiple emails) so that potential guests reading your review can assess for themselves. Like we clearly advertise on our website and all other booking sites, our historic Victorian Inn (est. 1888) has 23 very unique guest rooms, all filled with period antiques and carpeting that are of the highest quality. Our housekeepers do a phenomenal job cleaning each of our guest rooms, making sure that every surface, including the beautiful carpeting, is free from dirt, dust, and grim. In addition, we pay to have our carpets and windows professionally cleaned twice a year. Yes, we are a 131 year old building and therefore our walls and windows are not soundproofed (hence the earplugs), but despite your claim, all of our guest rooms have a heat source and provide ample warmth to the thousands of guests who stay with us throughout the cooler winter months. Our front desk staff are always eager and willing to assist guests with any issues or concerns, yet none were reported to them at any time during your stay. It was only upon your early check out that you informed us that you didn't feel our Inn was a good fit for your family who was arriving the next day. At that point, we graciously cancelled your other room, refunding you fully despite being within the cancellation period of one of the busiest holiday weeks of the year. We don't claim to be the perfect place for every traveler and know that everyone's tastes are unique and particular. We are a small family owned & operated Inn and community event center and we take pride in the history and charm of our grand Victorian. We do not pay thousands of dollars to join and stay members of "Select Registry" properties. Instead we invest in our employees and our community, to ensure that our guests receive the best experience during their time in Old Town Eureka and the surrounding area. We are pleased to hear that you found the Carter House to be more your style and we have nothing but wonderful things to say about them as well. In fact, we have a great referral relationship with them that goes both ways during times where we both get over-booked or when we feel that a potential guest is better suited to more modern accommodations than what our historic Inn presents.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eagle house victorian hotel eureka, eagle hotel victorian
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Eagle House Victorian Inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaEureka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at 2nd & C
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at 2nd & C?
Nearby attractions include Old Town Eureka (0.2 miles), Clarke Historical Museum (0.1 miles), and Old Town Antique Lighting (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at 2nd & C?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at 2nd & C?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at 2nd & C?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at 2nd & C?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sea Grill, Lost Coast Brewery & Cafe, and Los Bagels.
Is Inn at 2nd & C located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Eureka.
Does Inn at 2nd & C offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Does Inn at 2nd & C have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.