We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$238
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$238
View deal
Trip.com
$221
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
FindHotel$238
Agoda.com$238
eDreams$238
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1195)
Room & Suite (779)
Pool & Beach (181)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 04/22/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Updated 04/22/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 17 hotels in Escondido
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
The Welk, a San Diego Area resort by Vacation Club Rentals, is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park, LEGOLAND, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Gaslamp District, SeaWorld, Temecula wineries, casinos, and beaches! The Welk offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, new state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Tennis court
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Kids club
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2559Reviews153Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,133
  • 719
  • 281
  • 185
  • 241
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ojrancher wrote a review Sep 24
Ojai, CA17 contributions18 helpful votes
We have stayed at property numerous times BUT the new management and supporting staff have run this place into the ground. Arrival there is a sign that directs you to drive-thru check in that does not do check in (?) only front desk does any service requests. Room place in Mountain Villas... don't agree to level 1 as they are below grade and dark. Security is non existent as we were given keys to an occupied room and walked right in to another guest. After calming down we exchanged pleasantries to de-escalate the situation and were told they had checked in 45 minutes before we popped in. Jacob, Front Desk Manager and Luisa, General Manager couldn't explain how we were assigned an occupied room. Went to the Grille and there was a software issue to cash and room charge only folks. Four calls to engineering during our stay with broken shower faucet, replacement dishwasher and missing doorbell. Dishwasher replacement caused water logged carpet and debris all over the living and dining room. Dishwasher third call to engineering was to get it anchored to the cabinetry. Mess in the room caused US to call for carpet cleaning as there was no follow-up from staff dispatched to the room. In short we will not be back any time soon. The staff is tense, unresponsive and disconnected. It is obvious the line staff have been coached to shield the management despite requests by the guest to escalate. Sad as the property itself is nice and we have always enjoyed our stays before
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: In Mountain Villas never first floor, in general high floor is best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the experience you described in your review, as it is far from the experience we want for our guests and Owners. Please contact the Customer Advocacy team to speak with a manager in the corporate office, so they can gather more information about your concerns. You may call them at 800-936-6824 or email customer.advocacy@vacationclub.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce M wrote a review Aug 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana20 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I don't own here at Welk-Escondido, CA, but have exchanged into this resort several times via RCI. I really like the location, grounds and staff. While those of us who own timeshares don't always "feel the love" when it comes to getting the sense that you're getting your value from them, Welk tilts the scale and makes you feel glad that you purchased and keep paying that maintenance fee. It's nice to come here instead of always going to where I own.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent visit and all your other visits, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Preston D wrote a review Sep 22
1 contribution
+1
You’re on vacation but I’m the middle of nowhere and all their “attractions” are out of order. Your room is in disrepair, there is one roll of toilet paper and the toilet paper holder falls off the wall upon touching it. The folding hairdryer won’t stay open and there’s no shampoo, soap, etc. You “get to” cook all your own food and do your own laundry too! No one’s gonna come make your bed or tidy up! Just like home! There’s no Wi-Fi in the bedroom so forget reading the news in bed next to your sleeping spouse. Just like a crap motel! But that’s okay because the walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone on all sides of you at all times. Just like an apartment. And all this could have been ours for $16,000 up front and then no less than $600 a year to start for the rest of our lives and our kid’s lives and our kid’s kid’s lives. Apparently timeshares become a genetic disorder that stays in your lineage FOREVER. We did our tour at the beginning of our stay so we kindly asked to read the contract and circle back at the end of the trip after we got to try out the resort. We were told we couldn’t read the contract before signing and if we came back tomorrow in love with the resort and wanted to sign it would now cost $159,000! NOT SUSPICIOUS AT ALL! Nothing to see here folks! So I recommend to everyone sign up for as many timeshare presentations as possible. Get the goodies. And then ask to read the contract and sample the wares! Free vacations for life. With a price tag of free, we got our moneys worth! Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded 5 days ago
We are sorry you left feeling the way you described in your review. There are many wonderful aspects of vacation ownership, and although it may not be for everyone, we appreciate you allowing us time to provide you with information. We wish you the best during future travel, and hope you choose to stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Horsestarr24 wrote a review Sep 22
Fort Lauderdale, Florida1 contribution
After a charge in the market store posted 5 times on my bank card, it is now 4 days later and I have not received any return calls from a manager about resolving this issue and receiving my refund. Multiple visits to the front desk and to the store, leaving my info each time with not even a courtesy call back. Now having to go through my bank to dispute the fraudulent charges.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded 5 days ago
Horsestarr24, we apologize for the experience you described and the challenges you've shared. Since you have not heard from the resort, please contact the Customer Advocacy team to speak with a manager at the corporate office, so they can look into this further and work to resolve your concerns. Their phone number is 800-936-6824, or you may also email customer.advocacy@vacationclub.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CARtrips66 wrote a review Sep 21
Las Vegas, Nevada9 contributions
Had a 2 bedroom Resort Villa unit for a week. Large size rooms w/vaulted ceilings being on 2nd floor. Only got a faint freeway noise with doors & windows closed but sitting on balcony you could see it a bit & hear it. Liked the layout of the rooms and having a water/dryer was useful. Love the large dining table next to the kitchen, used it daily. Having the different grouping of room units each having their own Rec Center & Pool area was nice, we explored each one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased to learn you had a wonderful stay and look forward to your return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan S wrote a review Sep 19
Las Vegas, Nevada4 contributions3 helpful votes
At first view, it all seems good. But once You’re there a few days, You realize what’s lacking…There was very little on sight activities to get involved in. There was NO daily update news paper to advise of any events, had they existed..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded 6 days ago
Alan, thank you for your review. We are sorry your experience fell short of exceeding expectations, but appreciate your feedback. We are hopeful you choose to return and stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TA1234 wrote a review Sep 16
Chester, United Kingdom247 contributions114 helpful votes
We exchanged here through RCI, and earlier this year read some very concerning reviews, so were quite apprehensive. But were very pleased to find our 2 bed / 2 bath unit spacious and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms were huge, plenty of hanging and storage space in the very comfortable bedrooms. Nicely located by the side of the golf course, we enjoyed breakfast on the patio while watching the golfers. The pool we used was beautiful, and we enjoyed walking all around the resort. Yes, the resort is some way out of Escondido, but anyone who complains about that clearly hasn't looked at google maps. My reason for only giving 4 stars is because of the on site restaurant, which we tried once for dinner. The food was dreadful and the ambience little better, so we didn't repeat the experience. But we had a totally different experience at the Stone Brewery in Escondido, which we highly recommend seeking out and eating at ----- the beer tasting flight is pretty good too ! So apart from the restaurant we had no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded 1 week ago
Patricia, thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable and memorable visit, and we hope you return again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peterperrone wrote a review Sep 13
Henderson, Kentucky2 contributions2 helpful votes
Everything about this property was excellent. The rooms, the beds, the bath rooms, the view, the staff. Close proximity to where we were going and what we wanted to see. Everything we asked for we immediately received.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded 1 week ago
Peter, thank you for your incredible 5-star review. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your accommodations, interactions with our associates, and proximity to everywhere you visited. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pdorschel wrote a review Sep 13
Escondido, California148 contributions66 helpful votes
Such a beautiful resort. The kids loved the pool area and water slide! Plus the splash zone was good for the littles. We brought in pizzas and had our birthday celebration on the patio! Really relaxing! Drinks were great out by the pool too! Tropical Mai Tai!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded 1 week ago
Penny, thank you for sharing such a wonderful review from your visit. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed our pool area and drink offerings. We can't wait to welcome you again for future celebrations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pattygirl2015 wrote a review Sep 12
Fort Worth, Texas3 contributions1 helpful vote
My son and I went to the San Diego zoo and also spend some time at the Welk's farmers market, which had some amazing vendors. The next evening dance and listen to a live band with guests staying at resort under the stars. I had a blast. My husband and I spend a day wine tasting at the Temecula wineries and also had dinner at the Side Yard pubic house minutes away from the resort. My grandson loved the all the pools,especially the slides. We highly recommend this resort.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hyatt Vacation Club, Other at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your amazing review and feedback. We are elated you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and cannot wait for you to join us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
welk resort san diego hotel escondido, welk hotel escondido, welk resort escondido, welk hotel san diego
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaEscondido
NUMBER OF ROOMS
712
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals
Which popular attractions are close to The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Nearby attractions include Welk Resorts Theatre (0.05 miles), Moonlight Ampitheatre (4.7 miles), and Alta Vista Botanical Gardens (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciao Ristorante Italiano, Prohibition Brewing Co., and Canyon Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Welk by Vacation Club Rentals?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park (9.5 miles).