We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Escondido Lodge

Save
Share
2650 S Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025-7336
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 17 hotels in Escondido
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This hotel is no longer a part of the Choice Hotels International, Inc. hotel system, and is no longer authorized to operate as an Econo Lodge.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
72Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 18
  • 15
  • 15
  • 9
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Jeff J wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
SCARY, stay away! This place isn't as advertised or even close to the descriptions. Cockroaches everywhere and breakfast IS NOT provided. Just absolutely ghetto (neighbors) and I've lived south of the border near Tijuana for years! Photos of COACHROACHES and the larger one got away into the tub before we could take photos. I left even without a refund for the second night. The pool wasn't any better. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Aug 4, 2020
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience during your trip to the Escondido Lodge. We are sorry that we did not provide you with clean, comfortable accommodations you deserve and should always expect from us. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and please be assured that we take matters such as these with the highest importance. We regret we were unable to provide you with a resolution to your satisfaction as we never want our guests to leave with an unfavorable opinion. Our hotel follows the most rigorous industry standards when it comes to the cleanliness and pest control of our rooms. However, the room and surrounding rooms have been professionally inspected and treated as a precaution. We have shared your concerns with our staff to improve our service delivery going forward.
Read more
seawolf1963 wrote a review Nov 2019
Las Vegas187 contributions80 helpful votes
The Escondido Lodge is an excellent value for the low price. My wife and I recently stayed there while visiting family in Escondido, CA. The room and bathroom were neat and clean. We asked for and received quickly two (2) extra pillows. The TV worked. The continental breakfast was okay. If you are looking for a no frills place just to sleep I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Nov 29, 2019
Thank you for being our recent guest and evaluating your stay with us! It was a true pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Dissapointed wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
We booked this hotel for four nights, two weeks in advance since it was rated 4 out of 5 stars on reviews. #1) We were told it was a non-smoking room. It smelled like smoke the second we walkied in. Found a cigarrette butt on the floor under the sheets. Then realized that it didn't have a smoke alarm in the room!! #2) There was water on the floor coming out from underneath the leaking mini-fridge. #3) There were ants on the toilet. #4) There were what looked like baby cockroaches on the bathroom floor...where there's babies, there's mamas too!!! We checked out immediately, and had to find a new hotel at 12:30 AM. To add insult to injury, my money was locked up on my debit card, and I had to call a family member to help me out with getting a room at another hotel, since I was charged twice for the room. They did refund it all, but it still messed me up for a few days before the charges were reversed. Took us till 3 AM to find another room when we refused to sleep there!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before you pay for it. The online pictures don't show reality.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Aug 14, 2019
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry we could not meet your expectations in regards to your stay at the Escondido Lodge. We'll be working very hard to correct the issues and improve the condition of your room. Please accept our apology for your inconvenience. We'd like to welcome you back and restore your confidence in us.
Read more
blairhankins33 wrote a review Mar 2019
San Jose, Costa Rica76 contributions40 helpful votes
The lodge is a basic strip motel that is well maintained and in good shape. We had the unfortunate experience of being in a room next to a couple who were having a fight - both verbal and physical. The fight ended about 2:00AM. The thin walls didn't help. Both adjacent properties are under construction so there is noise from that. The included breakfast was just coffee, toast, cereal and cheap danish. You get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Apr 4, 2019
Thank you for being our guest. It is disappointing to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies. If there is a disturbance, please advise the front desk and we will take care of it for you. We value your business and hope to welcome you back for a much better outcome. Thank you for your business.
Read more
seawolf1963 wrote a review Feb 2019
Las Vegas187 contributions80 helpful votes
The Escondido Lodge is not a resort. It is a hotel or motel that is great for an over night stay of a few days while visiting Escondido. The rooms are very reasonable. The rooms are large, clean and have a fridge and micro wave as well as a flat screen TV. The bathroom was good size and also clean. There is also a continental breakfast that is very adequate. I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Feb 19, 2019
Thanks very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to hosting you again in the future on your next visit to Escondido. Thank you for your business.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge escondido, escondido econo lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Econo Lodge Escondido
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaEscondido
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Escondido Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Escondido Lodge?
Nearby attractions include San Diego Zoo Safari Park (4.0 miles), Bernardo Winery (4.1 miles), and Queen Califia's Magical Circle (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Escondido Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Escondido Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Escondido Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include EscoGelato, Peterson's Donut Corner, and Veranda Fireside Lounge & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Escondido Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Escondido Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park (9.8 miles).
Is Escondido Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.