Escondido Lodge

Escondido Lodge

2650 S Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025-7336

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#13 of 16 hotels in Escondido
Location
3.3
Cleanliness
3.3
Service
3.5
Value
3.1
This hotel is no longer a part of the Choice Hotels International, Inc. hotel system, and is no longer authorized to operate as an Econo Lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
73Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 18
  • 15
  • 15
  • 9
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
seawolf1963 wrote a review Nov 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada178 contributions128 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Escondido Lodge is an excellent value for the low price.

My wife and I recently stayed there while visiting family in Escondido, CA. The room and bathroom were neat and clean. We asked for and received quickly two (2) extra pillows. The TV worked. The continental breakfast was okay.

If you are looking for a no frills place just to sleep I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Nov 29, 2019
Thank you for being our recent guest and evaluating your stay with us! It was a true pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
X3525CUnan wrote a review Dec 2015
Escondido, California1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location and amenities are ok. The room was out of the 50's, baseboards missing. The phone was a challenge to get a connection. I had to find my own way to get connected to use WiFi, and then had to re-connect every other day. There is no continental breakfast to speak of. Four choices of boxed cereal, milk, orange juice, bananas, the smallest apples ever, what appears to be danishes of some sort in packaging and coffee. Not even bread or a toaster to have a piece of toast. Ended up eating breakfast out. The pool and hot tub, tiny, the photo deceiving. I will not return nor would not recommend this as a vacation motel in sunny California.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick O wrote a review Jun 2014
Cedar City, Utah1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My buddy and I stayed here when we came to our friends wedding and we were a little put off by the reviews that had been left by other people, but the place was great. It was CLEAN, no stains on our sheets, and the room was well taken care of. Only complaint I have is in our room (204 i believe?) there was a slight lump in the floor right where the bathroom door closed so it drug a little. Nothing major. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RAS wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We planned on a long weekend and this place was convenient location. Checked in and got to our room. It reeked!! Cigarette smoke and ash tray smell so bad you can taste it. Called down to front desk and was told to "turn on AC and open the door" Did that for an hour and a half, still stunk! Room didn't have smoke alarm, door lock broken, big unpainted areas on walls, crack pipes laying around parking lot . . .
We left and found a clean, fresh place to spend our weekend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Aug 28, 2021
Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review, as we truly value our guests' comments and opinions. We are sorry there were several issues with the appearance of your room during your stay. We have made several changes to our policies based on your feedback so that we do not repeat these mistakes going forward. We would like an opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff J wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
SCARY, stay away! This place isn't as advertised or even close to the descriptions. Cockroaches everywhere and breakfast IS NOT provided. Just absolutely ghetto (neighbors) and I've lived south of the border near Tijuana for years! Photos of COACHROACHES and the larger one got away into the tub before we could take photos. I left even without a refund for the second night. The pool wasn't any better. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Aug 4, 2020
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience during your trip to the Escondido Lodge. We are sorry that we did not provide you with clean, comfortable accommodations you deserve and should always expect from us. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and please be assured that we take matters such as these with the highest importance. We regret we were unable to provide you with a resolution to your satisfaction as we never want our guests to leave with an unfavorable opinion. Our hotel follows the most rigorous industry standards when it comes to the cleanliness and pest control of our rooms. However, the room and surrounding rooms have been professionally inspected and treated as a precaution. We have shared your concerns with our staff to improve our service delivery going forward.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EscondidoGirl wrote a review Sep 2014
Washington58 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is no longer an Econo Lodge. It is now known as the Escondido Lodge. We stayed here from 9/19/14-9/23/14. The room was clean and comfortable. AC worked very well. Bathroom was very clean with nice amenities. The towels were nice and fluffy. Housekeeping did an excellent job of cleaning the room every day. The pool was clean, and the free breakfast had many offerings. There is a diner to one side of the property and a Mexican restaurant to the other. There are two washers and two dryers on the property and prices to operate are much cheaper than a laundromat. There is a computer in the lobby for guests to use. The staff are very pleasant. It is located near the freeway, but it is very quiet at night. It is very close to the Westfield Mall and a few miles from the San Diego Zoo Safari Park. A great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rhino_Labeling wrote a review Jan 2012
4 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Out of hundreds of hotels I stay in per year, this is one of the worst!....Choice Hotels should be ashamed to have this place affiliated with them!....Horrible rooms, and killed two cockroaches crawling across the carpet there. When I spoke my mind to the counter staff, I could tell they've heard thiese same complaints over and over again...They didn't seem to care....As an FYI....there is a new Quailty Inn in Escondido (formerly Americas Best Value Inn) that I would highly recommend as an alternative!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert A wrote a review May 2017
Morongo Valley, California8 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well i found this place to be in the perfect spot for family and adult only. Kids parks ONE END and Casinos ONE OTHER WAY just perfect. Not the prettiest from outside nice inside. Staff great to accommodate me on my mistake the manger was like a best friend the rest staff made fell like i was with family My jewel not to smart letting this one out
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: let your hair down relax asked the staff about local stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nick d wrote a review Apr 2014
Anaheim, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was sceptical of staying here off the reviews. But to be honest, it's the best place and a really homey feeling. I travelled from Orange County to here just to do a job and this place was awesome. I would definitely come back again. Front desk service was awesome along with housekeeping. Great place without paying crazy prices.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James A wrote a review Aug 2012
Leeds, United Kingdom69 contributions27 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights, just on spec. It's a basic hotel, but clean, with friendly staff (and the Centre City Cafe next door is great too!). Pool was good for relaxing and location suited us well. Escondido seems like a nice town. Parking was good and not too much noise from the road, so slept well. Could perhaps do with more pillows on the bed, but I didn't ask for them, and I'm sure they would have provided if I had.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
408kathleenb asked a question Oct 2015
Corning, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
Is this hotel part of the Wyndham Rewards program?
Dissapointed wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you see the room before you pay for it. The online pictures don't show reality."
Read full review
Barbara A wrote a tip Aug 2018
12 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be very careful when you book online. All specifications were in our comments, room downstairs, etc. They tried to change everything on us!!"
Read full review
jogrow7 wrote a tip Jul 2018
Ventura, California76 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else"
Read full review
Wayman B wrote a tip Apr 2018
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room in the back"
Read full review
Robert A wrote a tip May 2017
Morongo Valley, California8 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"let your hair down relax asked the staff about local stuff"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Escondido area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge escondido, escondido econo lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Econo Lodge Escondido
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaEscondido
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ESCONDIDO LODGE

Frequently Asked Questions about Escondido Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Escondido Lodge?
Nearby attractions include San Diego Zoo Safari Park (4.0 miles), Bernardo Winery (4.1 miles), and Queen Califia's Magical Circle (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Escondido Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Escondido Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Escondido Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Veranda Restaurant, Vintana Wine + Dine, and EscoGelato.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Escondido Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Escondido Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park (9.9 miles).
Is Escondido Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Escondido HotelsEscondido Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EscondidoHotels near Escondido Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars