We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2650 S Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025-7336
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#14 of 17 hotels in Escondido
Location
3.3
Cleanliness
3.3
Service
3.5
Value
3.1
This hotel is no longer a part of the Choice Hotels International, Inc. hotel system, and is no longer authorized to operate as an Econo Lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
73Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 18
  • 15
  • 15
  • 9
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
RAS wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We planned on a long weekend and this place was convenient location. Checked in and got to our room. It reeked!! Cigarette smoke and ash tray smell so bad you can taste it. Called down to front desk and was told to "turn on AC and open the door" Did that for an hour and a half, still stunk! Room didn't have smoke alarm, door lock broken, big unpainted areas on walls, crack pipes laying around parking lot . . . We left and found a clean, fresh place to spend our weekend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Aug 28, 2021
Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review, as we truly value our guests' comments and opinions. We are sorry there were several issues with the appearance of your room during your stay. We have made several changes to our policies based on your feedback so that we do not repeat these mistakes going forward. We would like an opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Read more
Jeff J wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions
SCARY, stay away! This place isn't as advertised or even close to the descriptions. Cockroaches everywhere and breakfast IS NOT provided. Just absolutely ghetto (neighbors) and I've lived south of the border near Tijuana for years! Photos of COACHROACHES and the larger one got away into the tub before we could take photos. I left even without a refund for the second night. The pool wasn't any better. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Aug 4, 2020
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience during your trip to the Escondido Lodge. We are sorry that we did not provide you with clean, comfortable accommodations you deserve and should always expect from us. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and please be assured that we take matters such as these with the highest importance. We regret we were unable to provide you with a resolution to your satisfaction as we never want our guests to leave with an unfavorable opinion. Our hotel follows the most rigorous industry standards when it comes to the cleanliness and pest control of our rooms. However, the room and surrounding rooms have been professionally inspected and treated as a precaution. We have shared your concerns with our staff to improve our service delivery going forward.
Read more
seawolf1963 wrote a review Nov 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada191 contributions126 helpful votes
The Escondido Lodge is an excellent value for the low price. My wife and I recently stayed there while visiting family in Escondido, CA. The room and bathroom were neat and clean. We asked for and received quickly two (2) extra pillows. The TV worked. The continental breakfast was okay. If you are looking for a no frills place just to sleep I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Nov 29, 2019
Thank you for being our recent guest and evaluating your stay with us! It was a true pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Dissapointed wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
We booked this hotel for four nights, two weeks in advance since it was rated 4 out of 5 stars on reviews. #1) We were told it was a non-smoking room. It smelled like smoke the second we walkied in. Found a cigarrette butt on the floor under the sheets. Then realized that it didn't have a smoke alarm in the room!! #2) There was water on the floor coming out from underneath the leaking mini-fridge. #3) There were ants on the toilet. #4) There were what looked like baby cockroaches on the bathroom floor...where there's babies, there's mamas too!!! We checked out immediately, and had to find a new hotel at 12:30 AM. To add insult to injury, my money was locked up on my debit card, and I had to call a family member to help me out with getting a room at another hotel, since I was charged twice for the room. They did refund it all, but it still messed me up for a few days before the charges were reversed. Took us till 3 AM to find another room when we refused to sleep there!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before you pay for it. The online pictures don't show reality.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Aug 14, 2019
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry we could not meet your expectations in regards to your stay at the Escondido Lodge. We'll be working very hard to correct the issues and improve the condition of your room. Please accept our apology for your inconvenience. We'd like to welcome you back and restore your confidence in us.
Read more
blairhankins33 wrote a review Mar 2019
San Jose, Costa Rica85 contributions59 helpful votes
The lodge is a basic strip motel that is well maintained and in good shape. We had the unfortunate experience of being in a room next to a couple who were having a fight - both verbal and physical. The fight ended about 2:00AM. The thin walls didn't help. Both adjacent properties are under construction so there is noise from that. The included breakfast was just coffee, toast, cereal and cheap danish. You get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Apr 4, 2019
Thank you for being our guest. It is disappointing to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies. If there is a disturbance, please advise the front desk and we will take care of it for you. We value your business and hope to welcome you back for a much better outcome. Thank you for your business.
Read more
seawolf1963 wrote a review Feb 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada191 contributions126 helpful votes
The Escondido Lodge is not a resort. It is a hotel or motel that is great for an over night stay of a few days while visiting Escondido. The rooms are very reasonable. The rooms are large, clean and have a fridge and micro wave as well as a flat screen TV. The bathroom was good size and also clean. There is also a continental breakfast that is very adequate. I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Feb 19, 2019
Thanks very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to hosting you again in the future on your next visit to Escondido. Thank you for your business.
Read more
Mary R wrote a review Jan 2019
Simi Valley6 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed here for three nights including New Year's Eve. Not too far from casinos. Excellent front desk service and good price. Clean, decent bed but, could use new pillows.Quiet area. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Jan 19, 2019
Thank you M. Reed for your kind feedback in regards to your stay at the Escondido Lodge. I'm really happy to read that we met your expectations and that you would stay again! Thank you again we look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
AKTraveler wrote a review Nov 2018
Escondido, California176 contributions78 helpful votes
Not much else to say about this place other than its close and convenient. A place to shower, clean up and sleep a bit before repeating the next day. Not a resort or vacation place, but was clean enough and served the purpose of resting up so I could go back to the office the next day. Didn't do much else but shower, shave, sleep and take a shower. I'd go back in a pinch as it beats driving 110+ miles to sleep in my own bed...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre L, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Nov 14, 2018
Thank you for being our guest. We're glad you stayed with us at the Escondido Lodge. We work hard to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay with us, so we are pleased that your experience was a positive one and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
dstephenson73 wrote a review Oct 2018
Oklahoma75 contributions9 helpful votes
This is a small, older hotel in Escondido. I was Leary, traveling alone, but my son checked it out and I was happy with the room. The girl at the front desk was a delight. The room, Small, with a king bed, new linens, ample lighting. Bathroom had been redone and it was clean. The furniture is older, but I don't mind. I went to sleep around 9p.m. exhausted from traveling and time difference. My neighbors woke me around 11pm talking loudly and watching tv. That proceeded to be my night, drifting in and out of sleep inside thin walls and people walking around outside my door. It's not the place, it's fine. The 3 stars are for the lack of sleep and inconsiderate neighbors.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad F, Reputation Management at Escondido Lodge
Responded Oct 18, 2018
We appreciate your time in writing this review and are glad you found our hotel to be clean and amiable. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Read more
Becky T wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution
Check in was on Thursday, Got there at 210pm Told us we could not check in till three Walked around, There were several rooms available Come to find out they couldnt check us in Because they had no Internet, Theyre computers were down. Finally got in our room, They said the internet would up n rolling as soon as someone got there, Went out still no internet . No ice, Ice machine down, Hair dryer almost cought fire, So old..... Saturday morning No change. Checked out. Come to find out Sunday still no change.. Horrible place They were so rude, and not accommadating. dont stay here Dinner Place on one side closed down, And to the other side as well..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge escondido, escondido econo lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Econo Lodge Escondido
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaEscondido
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Escondido Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Escondido Lodge?
Nearby attractions include San Diego Zoo Safari Park (4.0 miles), Bernardo Winery (4.1 miles), and Queen Califia's Magical Circle (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Escondido Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Escondido Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Escondido Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Veranda Fireside Lounge & Restaurant, EscoGelato, and Peterson's Donut Corner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Escondido Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Escondido Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Escondido Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park (9.8 miles).
Is Escondido Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.