We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Rodeway Inn in Encinitas is a little bit out of town in a primarily residential area. Safe to walk around. The room was clean, the mattress seemed new, the sheets were crisp. No stopper in the jacuzzi tub (but with the drought it is probably just as well). Area highlights: proximity to a fabulous French bakery and the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn1038
Iowa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

My second stay almost a year to the day from my last visit, and it's still good. Quiet, unassuming, and clean. They deal with a nice clientele and keep it simple, i.e, a good nights rest for comparatively little money (by Encinitas standards). There is zero fancy factor, no pool, no real amenities, but a good location.

Helpful?
Thank kcps1150
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Encinitas yet again! We are thrilled to hear we were able to deliver the same clean and comfortable accommodations you expected of us. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is sooner rather than later! We appreciate your kind review! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Great little hotel in Leucadia. We wanted to be close to the beach, but not pay too much. Everything went easily and the staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast/coffee was better than most. I would definitely stay here again if returning on a budget.

Helpful?
Thank Judy R
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Rodeway Inn Encinitas. Thank you for your encouraging compliments to our staff and our accommodations! We strive to provide great value at an affordable price and are happy to hear we succeeded with you! Come back soon to enjoy the beautiful beaches! More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

+ The room was very spacious and very clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The place is nice, very close to all the attractions of Carlsbad and San Diego. - I wish they served breakfast, even if it costed additional price.

Helpful?
Thank Dorina Z
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with us. We are glad you found our rooms to be clean, comfortable and spacious! Though we do not offer breakfast onsite, our team is always happy to recommend good restaurants nearby. Thank you for choosing Rodeway... More 

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Rodeway Inn is what it is, a budget friendly hotel on the 101 Highway close to Encinitas. If you stay during the week, its inexpensive and well worth the $. However the weekend rates can sometimes triple, which I know all hotels do but at $190.00 per night, you can stay in a much much nicer hotel else where. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and detailed comments. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent travels. Rodeway Inn Encinitas is committed to providing great value at a bargain price. We agree that our prices do increase on weekends but we strive to remain competitively priced in our market. Located near three different golf courses, beautiful beaches... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Good place to stay a night or 2. The new recepcionist girl in the am time was very nice, the place was very clean, its more then i was expecting. Angelic, front desk was a very nice person even though i didnt get to know her personally but was very helpfull she even followed thru with my issues about changing... More 

Helpful?
Thank camis1403
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

Cleanliness is a priority for us and we are happy to hear you noticed! We take pride in the hard work we do and it is an honor to be recognized by our guests. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our team members were able to accommodate all of your needs. We will pass... More 

Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

Clean, simple rooms with all amenities. Highly recommended if you're looking for a mid-budget stay in north county. Stayed here for a solo surf retreat and was very pleased. Clean sheets, Full bathtub, free wifi and a small fridge and microwave. Couldn't ask for much more for the price and location.

Helpful?
Thank jacksondatasvcs
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to hear back from our guests. We thank you for your encouraging words and for choosing Rodeway Inn Encinitas during your recent surf retreat! We are definitely privileged to be located so close to the beautiful beaches. We hope you visit us again soon for any upcoming retreats! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

This is a very nice hotel for the money. it is very budget friendly. It is a little hard to find because it is tucked away on a busy street. It was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but is was well maintained. It is close to the beach (about a 15 min walk). We would stay there again. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank 598gailt
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

Congratulations on the silver anniversary! We feel honored that you chose Rodeway Inn Encinitas to celebrate your special day. Thank you for the wonderful review. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Adequate hotel with a good price in Encinitas. Only 4 or 5 blocks from the beach. Clean, quiet. Only problem, refrigerator in room did not work well....never got very cold. Books up every night, parking is tight.

Helpful?
Thank Crlocal
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

Providing clean and comfortable accommodations at an affordable price is important to us here at Rodeway Inn Encinitas. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as our quiet and clean rooms. We apologize that your refrigerator was not properly working. We encourage guests to notify us of any issues they may have so... More 

California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

I had contact with three different people at reception. First one was the actual owner, and she wasn't friendly and provided me with poor customer service. Seemed as if it was work to deal with me. Second woman, was very nice, and last a guy who assisted me but wasn't the best at customer service. PROS: Free parking, coffee, orange... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sherides-reviews
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very helpful to us. It saddens us to hear you felt you were not treated properly by one of our team members. Typically all of our team members are known for being courteous, friendly and professional. We apologize for the trouble you had with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas - Legoland Moonlight Beach
1.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
6.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Address: 1444 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-1443 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Price Range: $72 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay