We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach

Visit hotel website
Traveler (90)
Room & Suite (55)
Pool & Beach (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach is located conveniently on the top of a hill in Encinitas California, walking distance from Moonlight Beach/Downtown Encinitas, and right off the 5 Freeway. The hotel has a variety room types that include single kings, double queens, and kitchen suites with sofa bed. High speed wireless internet, breakfast, and parking are only a few of the free included amenities included with every stay. A few of the property’s most interesting features include balconies in every room, 26 ocean view rooms, and 10 pet friendly rooms. Recently named among the 20 best surf towns in the world by National Geographic, Encinitas wears its surf history proudly. Located along six miles of Pacific Ocean coastline, the city's eclectic downtown has long drawn surfers and hippies with its unique and dynamic blend of San Diego’s top surf shops, coffeehouses and record stores, not to mention the beaches in Encinitas are coveted by locals as hidden gems.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Hotel deals
684Reviews
123Photos
14Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 235
  • 242
  • 102
  • 66
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is very dated and musty and moldy smelling. The hotel rooms are very overpriced and need to be renovated. There are balconies on the west side but unfortunately there is only a view of the roof of the closed restaurant. Overall we were very disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from BWEncinitas, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Responded 3 days ago
We greatly appreciate you staying with us and taking the time out of your day to review us. You booked what we call a park view room which would offer only a partial view of the ocean if anything-- but remember we are located on the top of a very tall hill so view depends on floor as well. Ocean view and pet friendly rooms are in limited quantities at an additional cost, however if the availability had allowed we would've gladly upgraded you for free. Anyhow the hotel & restaurant is about to undergo a full top to bottom renovation in which everything will be replaced redone such as headboards/furniture, hardwood floors, and everything else that you can think of. We hope you can try us again in the future!
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
Clean large suites with large balconies with water views. Kitchenette adequately stocked with supplies and appliances very clean. Well maintained lovely pool and grounds. Breakfast room by pool made for a lovely setting. Walking distance to Main Street and beach!
Read more
Response from Atul K, General Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Responded Dec 7, 2018
Thank you for the motivating words. We are happy to hear you enjoy staying with us. We will keep working hard to always offer the best service to our guests. Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.
Read more
The beds were comfortable, rooms were huge and parking was adequate. We stayed here just for one night and the area is nice. There are a number of restaurants in this area which was a quick 5 min car ride down the hill.
Read more
They say they have a heated pool and a jacuzzi - but the pool is not heated and the jacuzzi out of order! We have told the staff to fix it and they say they are Working on it, but nothing happens! We had expected more!!!!
Read more
Response from Atul K, General Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
We thank you for your business and apologize for the temporarily out of order pool area. We would like to note the pool area went out of service on Sunday morning due to the all day rainstorms we have been having for the past few days. In addition it rained the rest of the day as well as most of the morning on Sunday, unfortunately, the pool repair was closed on Sunday. Since then the Jacuzzi has been fixed and the pool area is being worked on as I write this response.
Read more
Rooms are spacious and the employees are very nice. My complaint is that the sheets are thin and could be replaced as they are worn out and flimsy. We have stayed here a few times and this is my major complaint.SORRY! It is centrally located and they serve breakfast too.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Is this Hawaii or Encinitas? Pool at Best Western. Behind me is the large room where they serve
This is the room I was given that is "OCEAN VIEW". I've seen the ocean before and they look nothing like the roof tops and trees seen from my hotel room.
Old dried orange peel and frayed carpet next to bed - carpet tack exposed which I stepped on twi
View from the other side - damage to both sides - disgusting!
PreviousNext
12345611
Hi Jessica, Thank you for your question. We are a pet friendly hotel. Have a great day.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello Pinsey60, The majority of our rooms do face north. So for most of the day the balconies are in shadow, but we also have a public sun deck on or second floor that is in unhindered by shadow. Our pool is usually in shade from the early morning hours until around high noon. Jonathan W. Assistant General Manager
0 votes
Our hotel does on ongoing renovation. During the off season, several rooms are taken out of service for renovation.
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes, we have lift chairs at the pool and Jacuzzi.
0 votes
Show all answers
how close is the train station from your hotel
The Coaster station is about a block away. The closest Amtrak is in Solana Beach. Which is about 10 minutes from the hotel.
3 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Top floor is KING only. Queens are on the 2nd and 1st floor."
"Ask for a room with a view!"
"Ask for a room with a view"
"King size bed had separate area."
"If looking for a room with a ocean view, make sure you ask "Will we be able to see the ocean from inside the room?""
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western encinitas inn & suites at moonlight beach hotel encinitasbest western encinitas inn and suites at moonlight beachbest western encinitas hotelencinitas best western
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaEncinitas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing