We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 492: English reviews
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I use this hotel annually as it is the host hotel for an event I participate in. The rooms are adequate but the beds are tiny. The front desk service is, sometimes, non-existent. Parking during the event week-end is a mess - they need some controls. If another hotel were available, I would use it. This one ranks as a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David D
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We are always working on making our guests experience an enjoyable one. Some of your complaints are a bit confusing though. More 

Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This review was difficult to complete as I had two opposing experiences at this hotel. Our stay was for 3 nights. The first night's stay was MISERABLE due to the air conditioning not functioning and an extremely foul smell in the room. The 2nd and 3rd nights were wonderful as we were provided a different room. Upon the initial check... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda L
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

I am so sorry you ran into some difficulties during your stay with us. Please feel free to call the hotel any time. More 

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just stayed here over the recent Labor Day weekend. We had such an enjoyable stay! The rooms are very spacious and we had a lovely kitchenette (with slab granite countertops!). Our large deck had ocean views and the fitness center was conveniently located just 2 doors down. Their pool area is beautifully landscaped and is serenely quiet (most people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear about your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. More 

Beaverton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I lived in Encinitas for 21 years, but recently moved to Oregon. Upon my visit I knew I would stay at this Best Western. The hotel exceeded my expectations and I had a wonderful experience. The rooms have been remodeled, very comfortable with easy access and unbelievably clean. The breakfast was very nice and the location is a cabana off... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jane P
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Danville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sadly, my family and I choose other places to stay in San Diego each month. This was our "go to" hotel where we've stayed ~10 stays/year. They've had a management change for the worse! I've spoken to Vicki on more than one occasion and she didn't seem to care at all that we've stayed here for over 12 years! Many... More 

Helpful?
Thank P M
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay was disappointing. We do care about you and we will continue to work towards meeting everyone's expectations. More 

Altadena, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am physically disabled and was surprised at the wonderful ADA room accommodations as the room was huge with separate toilet/shower room and included a little kitchenette with bar counter. Only glitch was the high bed (not in ADA guidelines) for which I had to have my caregiver help me up along with my little stool. TV stations great and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Clean hotel, friendly staff. Had some issues with housekeeping (didn't clean room one day as they leave at 4pm). Breakfast choices basic but filling. Great ocean view from balcony and relaxing pool/jacuzzi. A simple upgrade on the balcony furniture would increase value. Furniture was rusted, stained and broken. However, we would return as location is ideal and bedroom comfortable. Upgrading... More 

Helpful?
Thank wtraveler101
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time you review our property. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Seattle, wa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

I love that I felt like I was staying at my own condo rather than a hotel room. The grounds are peaceful and beautiful, the sunsets are amazing from the balcony, and you can walk to the beach in 5 mins.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. Thank you. More 

Kelso
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for my sons baseball tournament. In fact it was the whole team and parents staying here. They "lost" the coaches reservation, so he didn't get the group rate and they wouldn't buge about it. It was so infested with ants that 3 families actually left to stay at another hotel. There were ants in our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina O
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

We certainly appreciate your comments and concerns and we are sorry for your disappointment. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

They are spending alot of money on their pool upgrades so it looks good on their website however they are neglecting the serious ANT PROBLEM they have and the very inconsistent wifi problem they have. In addition, the pullout sofa is ripped and very uncomfortable. No where near the money they charge. We were staying here with several other families... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacktravel00
Vicki H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. You can be assured that we are doing everything we can to correct the problem. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
6.5 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach

Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-3625
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Price Range: $138 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay