We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

American Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
American Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

i reserved a room on Priceline.com Priceline selected the wrong date and i didn't catch it and made the reservation. After i selected Submit i realized the mistake and called priceline they told me to go and ask if they can change date at the hotel.. i walked up to Check in at 4AM when i got there and they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

This was a horrible experience from start to finish. I checked in with my service animal, and had already alerted the hotel ahead of time that I would be bringing him. The owner refused me service, and would not listen when I tried to share that Federal Law protects a disabled person's right to travel with their Service Animal. This... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle F
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

This place is really nice and the rooms are very nice inside. The only down side is you can hear the street and everything outside or in the next room. Good for families and singles. HBO, Wifi and other channels. Try the lemon raviolis, they are amazing Rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, tv, ironing board, and desk.

Helpful?
Thank halley l
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments and for taking a few minutes of your busy schedule to review our newly remodeled Downey property. As you were able to see, all our rooms have been newly updated with a flat screen television, microwave, Iron, Ironing board and personal coffee maker. The hotel also offer free Wi-Fi and parking to all its... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for the weekend. Couldnt here the guy either all i heard was the room number... but what matters to me is the room. And me and my wife loved the room it was nice, clean, and comfortable. The guy does walk around but all we did is closed the curtains, simple solution. Will stay here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel R
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at American Inn. We are happy to hear that you found our newly remodeled rooms to your liking and that our housekeeping service was exceptional. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi, as well as our parking. As you were able to see,we... More 

Southern CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Ok BEWARE of this creepy place. I really gave them 0 stars. Yes like the other p[person said the owner is creeping around all hours of the night because he is a pervert. My daughter stayed here and was frightened to death. The owner actually made advances to her and spoke sexist remarks. She just said get out of here... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank BunnySouthernCA
Downey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

The room was very clean and nice, but the service was terrible. The man at the counter was very rude to my boyfriend and I, he even told us "If I see another person going into your room, I'm gonna charge you".

Helpful?
1 Thank Bre877657
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while staying at American Inn. Your feedback on your experience at our Downey property has helped us tremendously in the retraining of the customer service we offer at American Inn. We truly hope that you were able to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms, which come furnished with a flat screen television,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to relax for a week, after hours of browsing for a nice place for less than a hundred dollars a night, we found one. When we arrived, we were both a little disappointed at first sight. It's very different from other places we had even e'er stayed at. But, as there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ray c
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at American Inn. We are glad to hear that our property exceeded your expectations. As you were able to see our newly remodeled rooms come fully furnished with a flat screen television, microwave, fridge, Iron and Iron board. We also offer free Wi-Fi and parking. Please know that... More 

Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

did not care for the office area where you check in, but overall a good value for a clean, newly remodeled room with a comfortable bed and good space to put your luggage. complete with small refrigerator and microwave.

Helpful?
Thank celia2718
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Downey property. As you were able to see, our recently remodeled rooms come with a flat screen television, microwave, fridge, coffee maker. You will be happy to know that we are located near many shopping centers, major freeways, so going to such places like Disneyland or Universal Studios... More 

Santa Maria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Have stayed here before and it was fine for the price. Stayed again for Christmas holiday and very disappointed! Owner/manager stands behind a very thick glass window at check-in and you can't hear him talk, all I heard was room 102 as his slid the key under the security opening. He was not friendly at all and lacked customer service... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia B
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for deciding to stay at American Inn during the Christmas season. We are happy to hear that you are a returning guest. We also apologize for the experience your encountered during your most recent stay. Please know that ever since your review, we have spoken with the person that checked you in and have retrained this person. Now,... More 

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The rooms were very nice, modern and clean. The only con was there was an odor in the bathroom from the fan whenever you turned it on. The beds were comfortable. The location was great. If I remember, In-n-Out burger was really close. A great value.

Helpful?
Thank slgt13
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on our Downey property. We are happy to hear that you liked our newly remodeled rooms, and that the beds were comfortable. We hope you were able to enjoy our free Wi-Fi, as well as parking. Yes, we are located... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
0.4 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#2 of 8 in Downey
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Near Downey Studios
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about American Inn

Address: 12644 Lakewood Blvd, Downey, CA 90242-4598
Location: United States > California > Downey
Price Range: $83 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Downey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay